Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What have you planned for Paddy's Weekend?

• 15-03-2013 9:03am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭

Saturday: I'I be collecting a few tonne of fertilizer in local merchants. Hopefully get to spread some if not all of it. Check a few fences.

Sunday: Day for the high stool :D

Monday: Cattle test. Planning on making up a frame for chain harrow while I wiat patiently:rolleyes: for the vet to arrive. Zero cattle out so far, but after a 'farm walk', I might let out a few after reading on Wednesday.

Well that's 'the plan' anyway!

So any mad plans yerselves?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭Grecco

I`m off to SixmileBridge Mart on Saturday. Its usually a good place to pick up cattle at farmers prices ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Going to a 21st tonight. Frightening really the girl in question is the daughter of a good friend, she was born when we were in college:eek:. It's one of those milestones that confirms for certain that your youth is gone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

Going on an early morning charity cycle tomorrow and will do some general farm work in the afternoon.

Have a new polytunnell sitting in the garage and hope to get it assembled and the frame dug into place by monday evening. Hopefully we will be able to start planting in it over easter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,266 ✭✭✭Dozer1

Hope to chance some fertilizer on Saturday depending on the ground
    might head to the mart just to see how things are there

Like Reilig herself has a glasshouse in in the garage for a few months so that on the cards for Monday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭JohnBoy

Tractor mounted saw coming to cut the hedge around the house (should really have used a hedge clippers for the last 7 years) on saturday morning, cleaning up after him will keep me entertained for a share of the weekend anyway if it's dry.

kids are in the village parade on sunday, my folks might be coming for dinner.

need to paint the skirting boards in our bedroom and probably will do some work on the 4600 too.

Gotta find time for a few bottles of miller too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 859 ✭✭✭jomoloney

most of the family are away so won't be much free time ... heifers calving and ewe lambs lambing

using the jeep to tow a float in a couple of local parades on sunday , local butcher is doing the horse meat theme , has 2 beautiful miniature ponies , and they will have props. "please don't put me in a burger" etc among other things , my daughter will be dressed as little bo peep and bottle feeding a pet lamb... at least the jeep got a good washing :D

sold 23 hex yearling bullocks jn the yard , they have to be delivered Monday

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

I have been fairly wrecked for the last few weeks. Working long days without a break. I have a planned day off today, but I've a list of things to do. This sick calf really threw a spanner in the works.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

Official 48hr strike starting tomorrow at 9.30am here. heading for the pale this weekend, dont get away often so will be hell for leather, might have to explain that I have to go to the mart on Monday morning:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭nashmach

Official 48hr strike starting tomorrow at 9.30am here. heading for the pale this weekend, and back for the mart on Monday :rolleyes:

Hadn't you down as the GAA type Bob :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

nashmach wrote: »
    Hadn't you down as the GAA type Bob :D:D

Did you assume I was in Rome this weekend at the Stade olympique de Rome:D, Would have went but would have had to miss a bank holiday Mart. No chance;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭nashmach

Did you assume I was in Rome this weekend at the Stade olympique de Rome:D, Would have went but would have had to miss a bank holiday Mart. No chance;)

If you were going to Rome, I would have said you'd be going to Saint Peter's :D:D.

Must be a bit cheaper on bank holidays :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

work:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

pakalasa wrote: »
    I have been fairly wrecked for the last few weeks. Working long days without a break. I have a planned day off today, but I've a list of things to do. This sick calf really threw a spanner in the works.
    Same as pak, I'm sick of arising with cows calving the last couple of weeks. Things aren't going as smoothly as other years but we are keeping them alive all the same. Have my first football game in 3 years on Monday and I'm looking forward to it :D

I hope for your sake you've been training. I did that about ......:o years ago and the first couple of games nearly killed me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭iverjohnston

Sheep lambing, going to knock up a few more single pens tomorrow, hopefully give a tank of slurry a whirl as well. Monday have to investigate a tractor clutch which suddenly is not biting till the pedal is up to the last inch of travel:(

I hope for your sake you've been training. I did that about ......:o years ago and the first couple of games nearly killed me.
    Have a few sessions done alright and was playing Astro turf over the winter so I don't think I'll be too bad, still a long way off when I was in my prime though.

still a long way off when I was in my prime though.

Aren't we all.:(

So long as you make up for your lack of speed with plenty of violence and intimidation you'll be grand, what goes around comes around. I found you generally ended up marking another vet who was in it for the same reasons as yourself and the crack was usually good as long as everybody could take it as well as give it.

Aren't we all.:(

So long as you make up for your lack of speed with plenty of violence and intimidation you'll be grand, what goes around comes around. I found you generally ended up marking another vet who was in it for the same reasons as yourself and the crack was usually good as long as everybody could take it as well as give it.
    I wouldn't be afraid to lean in a bit in the tackle anyway, tis only junior a so it should be alright.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

will just see what happens, dont plan much anymore, ended up in hospital for the night with youngest fella last st patricks day:o going to cook my turkey though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

Dehorning calves and replacing missing tags tomorrow , young lad is riding a horse in the parade sunday , bit of fencing monday and then porter monday evening :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

We'll be at the parade as the girls are walking with their dance groups.
    But I'll not be hanging round the town throwing money across the counter, it's too hard earned for that.
    Monday depends on the weather. I'm thinking walk on the beach.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

This is the first Patrick's weekend that I can remember that I'm not working. I'm off the few days. I'll do something with the young lads. They want to go fishing one of the days!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 817 ✭✭✭Mulumpy

Working the next three nights 12 hour shifts plus farming during the day. The joys

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

Mulumpy wrote: »
    Working the next three nights 12 hour shifts plus farming during the day. The joys

Oooh. I did that for 13 years.
    It's **** and bad your health too.

I have it up for fear of my health. Then the day I left a twat in a transit tried to drive across me head on and wrecked me back and neck permanently.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,754 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Sheep lambing, going to knock up a few more single pens tomorrow, hopefully give a tank of slurry a whirl as well. Monday have to investigate a tractor clutch which suddenly is not biting till the pedal is up to the last inch of travel:(

Let me guess, a fiat?;)

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 817 ✭✭✭Mulumpy

bbam wrote: »

Oooh. I did that for 13 years.
    It's **** and bad your health too.

I have it up for fear of my health. Then the day I left a twat in a transit tried to drive across me head on and wrecked me back and neck permanently.
    I know its madness but too hard to give up the few pound to farm full time.

moy83 wrote: »
    Dehorning calves and replacing missing tags tomorrow , young lad is riding a horse in the parade sunday , bit of fencing monday and then porter monday evening :D
    I hoped to be finished for one o clock today , but with one calf left to dehorn didnt they open a gate in the pen and about thirty cows, calves and heifers bombed down the lane towards the main road . The God of cows must have been smiling on me because someone had a gate left open into one of the fields and they all headed in there .
    They are in there now putting clods to the sky , so Ill have to give them a bit of time to settle down before getting them back in :rolleyes:
    You cant plan for this type of weekend work , but at least anyone looking over the wall off the road will say Im the first one in this village with cattle out :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,704 ✭✭✭dar31

though a good mornings work would cure a hangover... not so... feel a bit shook.
    sofa, fire, rugby.
    then we are off to dublin with the 2 oldest girls to see girls aloud... cant wait:(:(
    go for a nice itialian before hand.
    tomorrow, milk early, out on push bike for a few hours, then bring kids to parade, they are marching in it with cubs/beavers

although pub, pints and rugby might be a better idea;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

took the day off more or less:rolleyes:soccer with the two lads in the morning and then took them all to see a car rally in the afternoon.tomorrow their cousins are around and will go see the parade.could not be better

ConnorG! wrote: »
    Jaysus but farmers are smelly bogger phucks ! You won't be getting any non bogger hole anyway
    Bet you we will , sure women love a bit of silage on their pillow in the mornin

ConnorG! wrote: »
    Jaysus but farmers are smelly bogger phucks ! You won't be getting any non bogger hole anyway

Define bogger, I dare ya:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭mf240

moy83 wrote: »
    Bet you we will , sure women love a bit of silage on their pillow in the mornin

That was like the bachelor farmer that was having no luck with the ladies, so his friends advised him to have a good scrub up and splash on plenty of oi de brute.

They went out that evening and sure enough a nice lady showed an interest and they went out dancing.

While they were dancing the farmer asked "can you smell the brute"

"No" she replied "but I can feel him" :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,704 ✭✭✭dar31

paddys morning

245327.jpg

245328.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 859 ✭✭✭jomoloney

dar31 wrote: »
    paddys morning

245327.jpg

utter bliss, ...
    saw this pic earlier and have singing the old carpenter's number since, (the beer probably helped)
    I'm on the top of the world lookin' down on creation
    And the only explanation I can find
    Is the love that I've found ever since you've been around
    Your love's put me at the top of the world

I wouldn't be afraid to lean in a bit in the tackle anyway, tis only junior a so it should be alright.

Well were you long in A&E?:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

how's all the heads this morning?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,217 ✭✭✭Viewtodiefor

whelan1 wrote: »

Sore!

Grand, Saturday was a whole other story. I got a second look at the spring rolls and everything:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

Sore but good night out. Unfortunately I have a guy doing a few jobs welding. Rang me want to come over today to do it as he is busy for the week. So no lie down on the couch today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

had a training camp in Sutton. (sprinting on a beach is hard going). some of our cars including my own were robbed. No phone which is a pain and have to wait for replacement cards before I get a new one.:mad:

Much more serious is the fact that I gave one of the lads a lift to dublin and his laptop with his final year project was in the boot of the car.

Well were you long in A&E?:eek:
    Haha, bit stiff now but that's the height of my injuruys, won by a point and all :D

That's what's any good.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Great to see a bit of life about the place and a half decent crowd in every pub. It was like pre recession again for a day. Bumped into a few heads that hadn't seen in a while. A feed of Supermac's and off home to bed!