Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Star of the Sea AC May 5 K Road Race

• 15-03-2013 8:44am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6

Star of the Sea AC will host our first 5 K Road Race in Stamullen, Co. Meath, on Tuesday, May 28th at 8pm. Entries are €15 online with Precision Timing or on the day at St Patricks GAA clubhouse, Stamullen. Route is along the country roads heading from the village and looping back down again. Refreshments served afterwards. We will have fun races for children under 10 and under 14 on St Patricks running track before the 5k. Goody bags for all and t-shirts for the first 200 entrants. Cash prizes in many categories. So whether youre looking for a warmup for the mini marathon, a speedy challenge, a pb or a fitness goal - this is the race for you! A warm welcome and great hospitality guaranteed!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,682 ✭✭✭pistol_75

Entry for this race is now open on http://www.precisiontiming.net at a cost of €15.

Race is AAI permitted and chip timed. T-shirts for first 200 finishers and goody bag for all finishers.

Prizes for first 5 senior men and ladies and first 2 junior men, junior ladies, O40, O50 & O60. There are also team prizes for first 2 men's & ladies teams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 fuzzywuzzy1

I've gone into the precision timing site but the run doesn't seem to be open for registration yet. Does anyone know when it will open and what the route is?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 Michellerun

Hi there, online entries will be open by the end of the week with Precision Timing. The race will start at St Clares gates, heading up the middle of the three roads leaving Stamullen. Staying right on the road, runners will loop around the little "roundabout" at the top of the road and head back down again, keeping right. We will have the road closed and plenty of stewards to keep the route clear for runners. The race will finish in the village. Car parking, registration and refreshments will be in St Patricks Gaa clubhouse on the clock hill road, about a kilometre from the village.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 fuzzywuzzy1

Thanks for all the info Michelle. Looking forward to it

Theres been a few changes to the the race route, as the road up by Ivan Currans is just too narrow to accomodate runners going up and back down again. The new route will start before the flyover on the Stamullen Road in Gormonston. Proceed over the flyover and through the village, the runners will then run in to St Clares (Redwood), run through the grounds and out at the other end, turn right, back through the village, turn left up the Cockhill Road and end at St Patrick's Gaa Stamullen. This is a nicer undulating route and will suit runners of all levels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 lozen

When you say undulating do you mean hilly??? If so at what km's should we expect these hills? or is the course suitable for a pb attempt?

I wouldn't describe it as hilly. You've got the flyover at about 600 metres, an incline up through the village at about 1 1/2 k, there's a climb leaving St Clare's at 3 k, back through the village and a small hill at the Cockhill Road at 4 1/2 Kim's. if you're local, keep an eye on our Facebook page, we are running the route a few times a week. I will ask one of the lads to put a garmin on it and post it here. It's not flat but you could go for a pb on it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 lozen

Michellerun many thanks. Might give it a go before the night. Cheers.

We now have a detailed map of the route up on our webpage, www.staroftheseaac.com, if anyone wants to check it out.

There is a garmin link of the route here for anyone who wants to check it out.

Just a reminder that this race is on tonight and registration is available from 6pm till 7:30pm. No increase in price for on the night registration so still great value at €15 with a technical t-shirt for first 200 finishers and a good spread guaranteed afterwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,552 ✭✭✭chinguetti

Did this last night and really good event and well done to Star of the Sea. A good course with a hill at the end (my poor legs are fecked after 3 races in 4 days:() and a nice touch of passing through the village twice so a good crowd around cheering us on.

Registration smooth and a nice tshirt to boot for 15 yo yos along with enough food to feed thousands. I have to give a big mention to the chocolate squares:D.

Jaffa cakes and curly wurlys in a goody bag are always a nice touch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 560 ✭✭✭madon

Well done Star of the Sea, was very well organised race and a lovely course. Very good value at e15 and I was delighted to get in in time for a tshirt. Look forward to next year.

Delighted to hear you guys enjoyed it, thanks for the feedback. We did have mountains of food, ( still munching through it), runners were not as hungry as expected!