Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Which roadbike circa €1200

• 15-03-2013 12:58am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 800 ✭✭✭

Sorry if everyone is tired of these threads, just looking for some expert advice from those with more knowledge than me.

Ideally I'd get the Canyon Roadlite AL 6.0 but I don't think I'll be able to for the BTW with the employer in question.

I've picked a few from a day of research, maybe you could suggest others or just tell me which you would go for. Looking for a decent groupset - Canyon stands alone with value here and I cant find a full 105 set in my budget elsewhere.

Here are some I've been considering:
    Boardman Road Team

Price 1250

Frame Material: Alloy
    Forks: Carbon

Brakes: Tektro R580 Dual pivot

Shifters, Front & Rear Mech: Shimano 105
    Chainset: FSA Gossamer BB30

Wheels: Mavic Aksium

Handlebars: Boardman alloy anatomic
    Stem: Boardman alloy
    Seatpost: Carbon Boardman
    Saddle: Boardman black with cro-moly rails

From Eurocycles:
    Corratec Dolomiti 105

Price €1259

FRAME Pro Size System Technology, Alloy 7005
    FORK Dolomiti
    REAR DERAILLEUR Shimano 105
    FRONT DERAILLEUR Shimano 105
    SHIFTING LEVER Shimano 105
    BRAKE ZZYZX R540
    CRANKSET Shimano FC-R565 Hollowtech
    WHEELSET / HUBS ZZYZX Race Attack 2.0
    TIRE Continental Ultra Sport
    SADDLE Corratec Road STEM ZZYZX Alloy
    HANDLEBAR ZZYZX Compact Road Bar, 6 Series. 420 C/C.

Also
    CORRATEC DOLOMITI ULTEGRA

PRICE: €1249

Frame Pro Size System Technology, Alloy 7005
    Size XS(46)-S(48)-M(50)-L(55)-XL(60)
    Fork corratec Dolomiti Fork
    Rear derailleur Shimano Ultegra 10 Speed Grey
    Front derailleur derailleur Shimano Ultegra
    Shifting lever Shimano Ultegra ST-6700 STI
    Brake Tektro Tektro R540 Calipers Pair
    Crankset Shimano Non series FC565-L Chainset Black
    Wheelset / Hubs ZZYZX 24H/28H
    Tire Continental RR Grand Prix Folding
    Saddle Corratec 2012 Road
    Stem ZZYZX
    Handle Bar ZZYZX Carbon MTB Flat bar

From Wiggle (not sure yet if I can use them)

FELT Z85 105

Price: €1200

Felt Superlite Aluminium Frame
    Felt UHC Performance Carbon Fork
    Shimano 105 Groupset with a FSA Compact Chainset
    Mavic/Felt Wheelset
    Felt Bars, Stem and Seat Post
    Felt All Weather PRB Tyres (700x23c)
    Road
    Frame Material: Aluminium Alloy
    Wheel Size: 700c (622)
    Fork Material: Aluminium Alloy
    Model Year: 2013
    Brake Type: Caliper
    Chainset type: Compact
    Groupset Manufacturer: Shimano
    Unisex
    Cable Routing: External

Would appreciate any feedback and/or other suggestions.

Thanks a mil!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 265 ✭✭markens2

I know approx fook all about bikes. I bought the Felt z85 about 4 months ago and love it. I got mine in Wheelworx. I hadn't cycled since I was about 14 so it was strange for me but I have to say I am delighted with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭BofaDeezNuhtz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,685 ✭✭✭triggermortis

My wife just bought a 2012 model of the Corrotec you listed from Eurocycles and it was €999, so maybe ask if they have any 2012 models left. Have you looked at Rose bikes? Another German brand that only sell online but are as well specced as the Canyons and they are selling off 2012 models at a discount

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,131 ✭✭✭Dermot Illogical

I recently was in the same position and got a Bianchi Via Nirone 7 with Shimano 105. Very happy with it. Beautiful bike, and comfy as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 206 ✭✭loinnsigh

+1 for the Felt Z85. Bought it a year ago as my first road bike, so I guess I've no frame of reference (no pun intended) but I love it. I'd say Wheelworx would price-match that Wiggle price for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 800 ✭✭✭faigs

Believe me I have studied that thread enough! Table is very handy but dated now and prices have changed. Very hard to get something around €1000 - €1200 with 105 groupset.

loinnsigh wrote: »
    +1 for the Felt Z85. Bought it a year ago as my first road bike, so I guess I've no frame of reference (no pun intended) but I love it. I'd say Wheelworx would price-match that Wiggle price for you.

I was in Wheelworx yesterday, they said they have nothing for me in my budget with 105, cheapest was a Trek at around €1400. Felt are pulling out of Ireland apparently :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

I was in halfords the other day getting lube and was looking at the Carrera Virago. Carbon frame, 105 gearing, mavic CPX22 wheels. Its an absolutely beautiful bike in the flesh (it doesn't look half as good in the pictures on the halfords site) Price - €1249. I recommend you go and look at one in person, unfortunately halfords wont let you test ride a bike in the car park but if i were in the market for a bike with your budget, its the one i'd go for.

Virago

CJC999 wrote: »
    I was in halfords the other day getting lube and was looking at the Carrera Virago. Carbon frame, 105 gearing, mavic CPX22 wheels. Its an absolutely beautiful bike in the flesh (it doesn't look half as good in the pictures on the halfords site) Price - €1249. I recommend you go and look at one in person, unfortunately halfords wont let you test ride a bike in the car park but if i were in the market for a bike with your budget, its the one i'd go for.

Virago

Thanks, I was actually looking at that the other day. The mechanic there was saying the parts like wheels etc weren't as good as on the Boardman so it was coming in at around the same weight and the Boardman Road Team was probably better overall.

I might try use my Axa Plus card to get the 15% off and use the bike to work and then might be able to stretch my budget to the Boardman Team Carbon. Seems like a really nice spec!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 141 ✭✭paddlepop

I recently was in the same position and got a Bianchi Via Nirone 7 with Shimano 105. Very happy with it. Beautiful bike, and comfy as well.

can i ask where and how much? am also looking for a Bianchi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

That Rose is a slick looking machine. If it were my money, I'd be seriously consider that,.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

Ribble Sportive 7005, 105 Black Compact groupset, Mavic Cosmic Elite wheelset, €1207.

That's where my money would go.

On the website here.

Review here.

Well, really I'd buy the Ribble Reynolds 525 because it's sexy, but the sportive is a lovely frame too.

Ribble looks great. I ended up with the Boardman Road Team Carbon in the end lads. Really happy with it. It was out of my budget but on Easter Weekend they took 10% off the €1625 asking price, and I got a further 15% off with my Axa card, bringing it to €1240. Then another €510 off with BTW scheme. So just over €730 for a full carbon frame with full 105 groupset, ever since I've been spending loads on accessories of course! :o

1AAAEFC7A52B487CA57C36E5CBBAB523-0000359096-0003223906-00800L-3C0758CE6BBB4C9EA8CB31F4CB62127D.jpg

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

For the price you paid in the end it's a fecking bargain.

Well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,131 ✭✭✭Dermot Illogical

Be careful bending the power lead up against the wall like that. It can be a pain finding replacements.
    faigs wrote: »

1AAAEFC7A52B487CA57C36E5CBBAB523-0000359096-0003223906-00800L-3C0758CE6BBB4C9EA8CB31F4CB62127D.jpg