Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Usher IRC St. Patricks Day Race Dunboyne

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,450 ✭✭✭Harrybelafonte

Looks to be an "weather-challenged" day out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭Hmmzis

The weather forecast looks a bit windy and cold. No rain though.

Looks like fun, what better way to clear out the remnants of a chest bug than a bit of cold Sunday morning's racing :).

If the wind direction will really be NW then a break might survive after the last lap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭colm_gti

I'm within spitting distance of the start line, it'd be rude of me to miss this one! Distances are starting to get favourable too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,460 ✭✭✭lennymc

Crosswinds are your friend! Put it in the gutter :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,032 ✭✭✭FrankGrimes

I'm in Mos Def!

colm_gti wrote: »
    I'm within spitting distance of the start line, it'd be rude of me to miss this one! Distances are starting to get favourable too!

after race party in colm's gaff!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭pprendeville

lennymc wrote: »
    after race party in colm's gaff!!

I second that. Have a few silly questions as I don't know the course.Does this finish at the green or the red marker or on the map and do we go clockwise or anticlockwise on the lap?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,138 ✭✭✭buffalo

I second that. Anyone got a strava link for this?

No, he's got a privacy zone set up around it. We'll just have to follow him home.

Here's a MMR for the A3 circuit, should give you an idea pprendeville: http://www.mapmyride.com/routes/fullscreen/180639204/

That includes the new finish, but is unofficial.

buffalo wrote: »
    Here's a MMR for the A3 circuit, should give you an idea pprendeville: http://www.mapmyride.com/routes/fullscreen/180639204/

That includes the new finish, but is unofficial.

Cheers, perfect. So we're going anticlockwise. Might give a spin out to this in the morning and check it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,400 ✭✭✭Caroline_ie

I am in Clonee and it just started snowing ...

Been snowing since I woke up in Ashbourne...had planned to spin over to sign on but I'll be taking the car now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,992 ✭✭✭Plastik

Snowing!? Ah here, leave it o...

Pity this wasnt on yesterday. Perfect conditions.

Ok that snow is pretty thick now so going to skip this. Not worth the risk. Turbo session it is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭bcmf

Good luck to ya all racing in that

Looks like the constant barrage of snow is winning out here, it's sticking pretty well!

Well I'm going to head out anyway, if nothing else it'll be a bit of training. Just take it handy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 365 ✭✭Pablo Rubio

PCY112.hamp.opener_prevalt.jpg

Trying hurriedly to dry my thermal jacket just taken outta the washing machine!!!!

i woke up this morning with the flu :( Id rather be racing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭BMcCrystal

On the m1..snowing really bad and sticking.. Any sign of the sun in dunboyne ? Is it still on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,400 ✭✭✭Caroline_ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 278 ✭✭littlemsfickle

Was looking forward to this, but given the conditions I think I'll give it a miss...as said, pity it wasn't yesterday.

Just learned it's cancelled due to the snow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 403 ✭✭MadHatter

Just been into sign on. Race cancelled. Probably for the better as its still snowing heavily out here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,581 ✭✭✭uberwolf

is this 100%??

EDIT: confirmed on Irish Road Club facebook page

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,010 ✭✭✭velo.2010

Spoke with the head commissar. He said it was as much an issue of visibility for cyclists and motorists than the snow not clearing/melting in time for the racing. Obviously they have to make the call early and they did so before sign-on commenced.

As it was when I left, the snow was sticking on the main roads so you could imagine the state of the quieter rural back roads around there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,971 ✭✭✭fat bloke

Thanks be to jaysus. Weather was getting worse and worse as we drove Northbound in the car. Wasn't looking forward to popping my 2013 race cherry in those conditions

At least I won't have to clean my bike for the third time this week I guess :rolleyes:

Met two clubmates in the Phoenix Park to roll out. They gave up around Blanchardstown, I pushed on. Another clubmate caught up with me just before Clonee, said some guy told him race was cancelled. Wasn't 100%, no harm pushing on to sign on to see. Passed a couple of cars with bikes going the other way after Clonee, but it was only when we hit Dunboyne that any of them bothered to roll down their windows and confirm the message.

Clubmate went on to do some training on the course - I turned tail and fled. Now under the covers after a hot shower! Bring on the women's rugby and MSR!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 clashextra

Felt like a wuss earlier for deciding not to travel down but less guilty now! Sick of this bleedin' weather.

I just hope the weather for the Des Hanlon is better than today. Would hate to miss two planned races in a row.

They could've bussed us over Dorey's Forge, and just let any breakaways keep their margin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,992 ✭✭✭Plastik

Very disappointed that it was cancelled but there was no way it could have run on schedule this morning given the weather out there. Back in Greystones however I'm just back in from a couple of hours in balmy 7degrees, no rain, dry roads ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,450 ✭✭✭Harrybelafonte

Plastik wrote: »
    Very disappointed that it was cancelled but there was no way it could have run on schedule this morning given the weather out there. Back in Greystones however I'm just back in from a couple of hours in balmy 7degrees, no rain, dry roads ...

It got worse and worse the closer to Dunboyne I got. Knew it was more than likely cancelled when arrived to less than 20 cars present. Car park surface was slippery, so I'm pretty glad they didn't push it.

Makes me wonder more about the sense of pre-registration.