Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Recommend me some cycling shoe covers

• 13-03-2013 09:08AM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭

Broke the zipper on my shoe covers a few weeks ago and have gotten by ok without replacing them til now. My new shoes however are getting ruined without them so I'm looking to pick up a pair (or two) of shoe covers, in Dublin or online.

I'm not looking for the big heavy duty windproof/waterproof things, I just want something to keep my shoes out of direct line of fire of road grime. Ideally a pair of those light lycra or cotton sock things that you pull over your shoes, without a zipper.

Looked in a few places in Dublin and didn't see them, anyone know where I'd get some, or can you recommend a particularly good pair you've used online?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭mickeycav

snap, just bought some bbb show covers & both zips have gone within a month so in the same boat as yourself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,246 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

SockGuy Cordura are the best I've used, but they seem to be widely discontinued.

http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/Models.aspx?ModelID=48904

Sidi ones look good but are very thin.

Cover socks don't last very long, a month of daily rides at best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,279 ✭✭✭kenmc

Assos ones were cheap enough in cycle surgery in dundrum when I needed some a couple of years ago - 14 quid or something. Sock guy ones were cheap also on wiggle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,440 ✭✭✭cdaly_

mickeycav wrote: »
    snap, just bought some bbb show covers & both zips have gone within a month so in the same boat as yourself

I reckon ye are zipping them wrong. You need to pull the zip sides together by hand instead of using the zip runner to pull them together. I wrecked a zip this way in the past but always do the by hand thing these days and mine are holding up grand...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,481 ✭✭✭TheBlaaMan

I have these http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/Models.aspx?ModelID=45049 and they are brilliant IMO

To avoid busting the zips try the following:

1. BEFORE you put on your shoes, pull the shoe covers over and above your ankle. Pull up zip and seal the flap at the top when there is no tension/stretch on the covers.
    2. Now put on, fasten your shoes.
    3. Pull down zipped up shoe covers over the heel and then stretch the front of them over the toes - there is easily enough elasticity in the BBB ones to allow for this.
    4. Lastly, do up the velcro strap under the shoe.
    5. Enjoy toasty toes while on your spin..and long-lasting shoe covers

You are welcome.... :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭colm_gti

Got a good year out of my last ones, they broke from over use, not from bad technique ;)

I'm not a fan of cycling with cement briks on my feet, so the heavy duty ones don't appeal to me, and I don't really suffer with cold toes, I just want something to keep my shoes looking clean, and for that all important aero advantage :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,510 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

PRO H2O Tarmac: Light and warm, waterproof in anything but a biblical downpour:

http://road.cc/content/review/11124-pro-tarmac-h20-overshoe

I also have some Pearl Izumi Overshoes which I have yet to try out but are totally zipless!

http://shop.pearlizumi.com/product.php?mode=view&pc_id=50&product_id=1740299&outlet=&color_code=021

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,246 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

DirkVoodoo wrote: »
    I also have some Pearl Izumi Overshoes which I have yet to try out but are totally zipless!

http://shop.pearlizumi.com/product.php?mode=view&pc_id=50&product_id=1740299&outlet=&color_code=021

Crotchless too, by the look of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,510 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

Lumen wrote: »
    Crotchless too, by the look of them.

I got the white ones, they look a little less like S&M gear!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 549 ✭✭✭Kav0777

They're not PRO anymore, now shimano:

http://www.ribblecycles.co.uk/sp/road-track-bike/overshoes-shimano-tarmac-h2o-road-overshoes/shimzosh205

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,830 ✭✭✭doozerie

I have a pair of the PRO H20 Tarmac and my experiences of their water repellency are not so great as that. They certainly delay water getting in, but I've had soaked shoes in less than biblical downpours. I do like them though, I just reserve them for milder wet weather as I generally find them less warm than neoprene in cold weather. They are quite visible too (I have the white ones) which is a bonus on bleak days.

I also have a pair of those same Pearl Izumi ones. I've used them once only, and like them, but my ones are a very snug fit and because of how thin they are they feel quite fragile when dragging them on and I wonder how long they'll last. I think my shoe size was at the limit of their size range and their relative lack of stretch makes for a tight squeeze - probably good for aerodynamics, but jaysus you need to allow an extra few minutes to get them on before climbing on the bike! They look like they should repel water too, and perhaps they do, but the time I wore them it was very wet and my feet were soaked within the first few kilometres.