Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Biological & Biomedical Science

• 11-03-2013 6:57pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,971 ✭✭✭✭

Can anyone give me some info on this course? It's currently my second CAO choice but considering making it my first.

Also, while I'm at it, what's the night life like in Maynooth?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 665 ✭✭✭Alt_Grrr

Its been a while since I've talked to anyone on that course, I remember them in first year,
    a lot of the students in biomed had medicine in UCD down as their first choice.

I'm not sure if anyone here is a biomed graduate, but there has to be biologists on here somewhere....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 130 ✭✭spartacus815

I'm in my final year of the biomed programme. I have really enjoyed it. Some of the modules are really interesting, especially the Immunology ones (Im an immuno nerd :P) and you will get a real deep appreciation for biology. Just be aware... Biochemistry can be hard, since I didn't study chemistry for the LC and I haven't studied chemistry here at all. But, just go to lectures, take notes, do all your assignments and u will be grand. The hours are fairly good (u will have a fair amount of free time :D) and u do extra modules in Biology that aren't open to other people who do biology through general science. If there's anything more specific you want to know, just ask :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,971 ✭✭✭✭peekachoo

Thanks a mill for the info lads! I have a similar course as my first choice right now in UCC but I've been swaying towards NUIM and I'll be changing my CAO when it opens :)
    I don't have chemistry either but am a regular A1 Biology student so I'll take your advice on that!

What kind of career are you hoping to get from your degree?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 130 ✭✭spartacus815

I'm applying for the Immunology masters at Maynooth so hopefully I'm accepted. For careers, I'm not entirely sure yet. Just see where life take me, I guess. :)

good luck with it, hopefully I'll be there in September :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭Boeing777

Chemistry is actually fine providing you work at it. I didn't have Chemistry going into first year and I'm almost certain that I'll be keeping it on next year! :) I'd advise you to think about doing it because it really will benefit you when it comes to Biochemistry.

One thing about Biology this year, they revamped the labs and introduced a TA (Teaching Assistant) system in the labs where each bench had a postgrad student acting as a teacher/tutor during lab practicals. We were essentially the Guinea Pigs and everything was tested on us to see what worked and what didn't. I had some of the most horrendous Biology labs imaginable because of this but after meeting up with the lab coordinator I can assure you that those problems will be ironed out before yous arrive. I could write a book on Biology in NUIM :rolleyes:

Thanks for everything, looking forward to next year :)

I'm a 3rd year science student in Maynooth, and from speaking to other students in the biomed programme alot of them plan on doing the graduate entry to medicine. Not sure what career prospects there is from the programme, as its a quiet broad programme.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭aaabbbb

You should probably be aware, if you already aren't you won't be qualified to work in a hospital lab on completion of the programme. Many of my class didn't until mid way through first year....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭aoifemcg94

Who's starting this course with me in September? So excited! :)

aoifemcg94 wrote: »

Suppose I'm not "starting" the course next year per say but I will be in your class :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 MossB

aoifemcg94 wrote: »

I'm starting this course :D

Does anyone know how many people are going to be in the class ?

MossB wrote: »
    I'm starting this course :D

Does anyone know how many people are going to be in the class ?

There was about 30 when I started 2 years ago so probably around that