Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Six held after alleged assault on garda

• 11-03-2013 5:02pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭

Horrific and vile attack. Reading from The Star today it said that as soon as they got out of the patrol car and entered the house they where set upon with a razor blade cutting one Garda from the top of face down to and cutting his lip. He will need facial/plastic surgery and not to mention the mental stress it will cause.

Hope he makes a full recovery.
    http://www.rte.ie/news/2013/0310/375968-gardai-dublin/
    Six held after alleged assault on garda
    Six people were arrested following an alleged assault on a garda in Dublin in the early hours of this morning.

Gardaí were called to a house at Redwood Lawn in Tallaght at around 4am after a disturbance at the property was reported.

A garda suffered a serious facial injury during an incident at the house in which gardaí were confronted by a number of people.

The injured garda was taken to Tallaght Hospital for treatment and was later discharged.

Four men and two women, aged in their early 20s to early 50s, were arrested and held at Tallaght Garda Station.

They have all since been released without charge and a file is being prepared for the Director of Public Prosecutions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,381 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

****ing disgusting attack, and one that seems possibly deliberate and intentional. No amount of money will ever make that member feel better, and i wouldn't be surprised if it had long standing mental affects.

I'm losing faith a little more each day in this country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭WilcoOut

thin blue line is even thinner when you read in the herald '4 patrol cars from all over the city responded'

only 4?

from all over the city?

shouldnt a district the size of tallaght have 4+ on at anyone time?!?!??

i hope that member and his colleagues make a full recovery and the full extend of the law is hammered upon those guilty of such a heinous and cowardly crime

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

WilcoOut wrote: »
    thin blue line is even thinner when you read in the herald '4 patrol cars from all over the city responded'

only 4?

from all over the city?

shouldnt a district the size of tallaght have 4+ on at anyone time?!?!??

i hope that member and his colleagues make a full recovery and the full extend of the law is hammered upon those guilty of such a heinous and cowardly crime

I think that meant to say 40 from all over the city, seems the 2 Armed Units showed up and put an end to the madness.

msg11 wrote: »
    I think that meant to say 40 from all over the city, seems the 2 Armed Units showed up and put an end to the madness.

The assistance call went out across the DMR. Everybody made their way there. Stand down was given before they all arrived.

Don't think the armed units had anything to do with it. Sheer numbers of uniforms did the job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭WilcoOut

foreign wrote: »
    The assistance call went out across the DMR. Everybody made their way there. Stand down was given before they all arrived.

Don't think the armed units had anything to do with it. Sheer numbers of uniforms did the job.

thanks foreign

tough night

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭Zambia

All been released? That's ****ed the bloke with the blade should be on remand at least

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,562 ✭✭✭kub

Zambia wrote: »
    All been released? That's ****ed the bloke with the blade should be on remand at least

This is Ireland, typical judicial madness or is it vested interest? I can never decide.

Best of luck to that unfortunate Garda, hope you make a good recovery. I just hope the old saying, 'what goes around comes around is true'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,780 ✭✭✭carzony

Just listening to adrian kennedy tonight, The owner of the house this attack took place in was on the show and his neighbour. According to them the guards were extremely aggressive, taunted and attacked him and his son as soon as they entered his home.

He wouldnt confirm who attacked the guard because apparenty it's a matter for the ombusman and solicitors ect....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,796 ✭✭✭✭Jamie2k9

carzony wrote: »
    Just listening to adrian kennedy tonight, The owner of the house this attack took place in was on the show and his neighbour. According to them the guards were extremely aggressive, taunted and attacked him and his son as soon as they entered his home.

He wouldnt confirm who attacked the guard because apparenty it's a matter for the ombusman and solicitors ect....

As we all know two sides to every story, I also heard and if you listen back you will see that he changed a little detail in the story during the talk and I don't think Adrian picked him up on it.

The person talking was telling a very selective story IMO and although I believe some of what he was saying something is missing....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Just look at the fm104 facebook ,
    50+ garda cars and vans smashed there way into the house and attacked everybody there including pepper spraying an austic girl aged between 9 and 13 apparently the family couldn't agree how old she was,and of course typically the family are dead sound and are getting fitted up by the garda

Hope the family get evicted from the house scum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭jolter

msg11 wrote: »
    Horrific and vile attack. Reading from The Star today it said that as soon as they got out of the patrol car and entered the house they where set upon with a razor blade cutting one Garda from the top of face down to and cutting his lip. He will need facial/plastic surgery and not to mention the mental stress it will cause.

Hope he makes a full recovery.

fcuking scum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭heartseeker

Why even give a guy like that the platform to defend himself!he should be left to answer questions in court!!uote=jolter;83623654]

fcuking scum[/Quote]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,981 ✭✭✭Paulzx

carzony wrote: »

Ahhhhh.......I can see why they slashed the face off the guard now. At least they didn't do it for no reason............

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭monkeypants

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,028 ✭✭✭anthony4335

How is this correct "Six held after alleged assault on garda" . surely the assault is not in question. Maybe this will end some of the crap that the government is doing to the force. I hope something awful happens to the piece of dirt that did this to that garda.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,195 ✭✭✭goldie fish

An assault is alleged until someone is found guilty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,789 ✭✭✭slavetothegrind

good to know that someone who will slash a person like that, nevermind a Garda in the course of his/her duty, is fit to roam the streets for the next months before the dpp get around to it.

I feel better as a citizen that our justice system protects us this well.

Best wishes to the garda who was hurt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 805 ✭✭✭SB2013

good to know that someone who will slash a person like that, nevermind a Garda in the course of his/her duty, is fit to roam the streets for the next months before the dpp get around to it.

I feel better as a citizen that our justice system protects us this well.

Best wishes to the garda who was hurt.

Not only is he fit to roam the streets but they were given a platform on the FM104 show, and from what I hear the Indo as well, to explain how it was all the Gardas fault. The Ombudsman has also taken up heir cause to investigate the behaviour of the Gardaí. It boggles the mind.

Seems to me that most of this country has the wool pulled over its eyes in relation to the levels of crime and just how dangerous some of the people out there are. Maybe it's time they were shown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,554 ✭✭✭donkey balls

What about the Gardai who had boiling oil thrown over them did he ever recover ?
    http://www.joe.ie/news-politics/current-affairs/garda-suffers-burns-in-horrific-hot-oil-attack-0013724-1