Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

north tipperary spaniel classes

• 10-03-2013 6:55pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭

well lads any boardies go to the spaniel classes in thurles this morning i know snipe02 did and myself too. if so what did ye make of them. i spoke to one lad there who sid he visits this site if u know who u r send me a pm think u said u were from galway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭snipe02

charlie10 wrote: »
    well lads any boardies go to the spaniel classes in thurles this morning i know snipe02 did and myself too. if so what did ye make of them. i spoke to one lad there who sid he visits this site if u know who u r send me a pm think u said u were from galway.
    ye as charlie10 said I was there. I was the lad pushed in the back when wer man was lookin for a volunteer thanks Charlie . But want to say id recomend them to anyone on here with a young spaniel its really only kicking off info is on their website

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,147 ✭✭✭dev110

Where are these advertised? I'd like to go to a few of them and see what they're like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭charlie10

meet in thurles in two weeks time at 8.45 in the anna hotel i think it is bring 50 squid it will be the best 50 u ever spent goes through every level of dog and a good outlet to meet fellow hunter/triallers

we even got a look at the infamous tearsol flash which is a well trained polished animal,wouldnt mind having him on my team #wishlist!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 125 ✭✭fitzy_fitzy

ya i was there also, didn't have my springer with me though thought it was just for the handlers.
    Will be bringing her the next time.
    Very intersting, the lads seemed to know there stuff.
    Seems to be more for trialing lads rather than shooting men.
    Some lovely dogs up there.

i agree fitzy to a point about it being aimed for the trialing lads but aspects of there training comes in handy in the field i.e stopping dog and casting him to a downed bird maybe on the far side of ditch, i like a dog that can be controlled and steered when required, the quartering of the ground i personally dont like cause i want my dogs in/on a ditch. but handy techniques can be picked up from that pat brennan lad and is a good man to explain something and the proof is in his dog . also sean moriarty tells it like it is and was open to tell us that he too has problem dogs and had one with him and showed how he rectified her problem

Ya totally agree Charlie
    I learnt a nice few things already.
    Simple little things.
    The one thing I took from it was that the lads train there dogs in groups, which is excellent for the dogs steadiness.
    This is rare enough with shooting lads I would imagine.
    Alot of shooting men would say That they don't want a dog to do tricks, all the want is a springer to eat cover.
    I like the idea that a dog can be controlled, be steady and eat cover
    How about pat's dog, sat there for a half hour no budge with everything going on around him
    Time and patience main ingredients for a good dog

i agree with u fully the group thing is definetly worth a try . nothing tests a dogs steadyness more than another dog running for a dummy. group training might be something other board lads might think of. me and snipe02 have been talking about lads meeting up with there dogs to see what they have and what they are made of. and maybe sitting down after for a coffee and chat:confused:

Ya sounds likes a good idea.
    Maybe there might be a few interested I am anyway.

ya i was there also, didn't have my springer with me though thought it was just for the handlers.
    Will be bringing her the next time.
    Very intersting, the lads seemed to know there stuff.
    Seems to be more for trialing lads rather than shooting men.
    Some lovely dogs up there.
    howya fitzy lookin forward to meetin ya at the next session . that little bitch I had is out of holly drive Theo like yer own bitch how is she goin for ya

Ya looking forward to meeting yourself and Charlie.
    She is going well, im happy with her.
    Bought her fully trained!!
    But looking at some of those the dogs the weekend, im not so sure.
    She is very bidable and full of drive.
    I wont know until next season was she worth the money.
    Not sure what to make of Andrew from Casltegal, part of the agreement was i could get her covered by one of his stud dogs next year. A week later they were all sold. When it comes to dogs you can trust anyone i think even if they are recommended by other lads on this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭lb1981

Ya looking forward to meeting yourself and Charlie.
    She is going well, im happy with her.
    Bought her fully trained!!
    But looking at some of those the dogs the weekend, im not so sure.
    She is very bidable and full of drive.
    I wont know until next season was she worth the money.
    Not sure what to make of Andrew from Casltegal, part of the agreement was i could get her covered by one of his stud dogs next year. A week later they were all sold. When it comes to dogs you can trust anyone i think even if they are recommended by other lads on this.[/QUOTE/]

Where the dogs hunting at the classes or just obeying commands, i have seen it many times you go looking at dogs and they will do hand stands for the owner but when it comes to shooting they wont go into ditches or retrieve a runner, just dummies and cold game and quarter fields especially trialing dogs.
    A couple of lads in my club are on the Irish team and every time you see them at a meeting or out they have a gang around them telling them hero stories about the dogs, i have seen them dogs in action they are only good for quick bursts for a few minutes and then they are ****ed.
    You have to be careful with dogs when buying them or getting them serviced you really need a good demo from the dog ,there are two lads who are commenting on this thread and i know i could take their word before i seen there dogs as i have dealt with them with buying stuff on here Charlie10 bought a box off me and snipe02 sent me dvds for free!!!!!! but the amount of lads out there that would do you for a few euro is unreal.
    Me own da was done years ago by a lad in the club selling a springer who knew we were stuck as our 2 dogs had to be put down in the space of a few months *****luck, it worked out in the end as we got good pups out of her but one of our seasons was a right off, so just be very careful who you get a service from.
    I wouldn't worry what them other dogs were doing at the classes ,once your dog will hunt for you and retrieve what you shoot what more can you ask for.
    If you want to get into the trialling just be warned it will dent you pocket and it is very cliquey,it can be hard just to get your dog a run out in some trails, your face really has to fit some times.

Don’t get me wrong , I am very happy with her.
    But whether she is as good as Andrew Said only time will tell.
    Heard the trialling can be a bit like that alright, but I have to say the lads that were they last weekend seemed very friendly and down to earth.
    As one of the lads said, he was a shooting man first and trialling man second.
    It doesn’t matter how good your dogs are, if the pheasants are going to be as scarce as they were last season.
    Decided to buy some myself this year. Looking at putting some feeders out over the next couple of weeks.
    Was thinking getting some off the guy who advertised on the shooter digest.
    €5 for adult cocks and €7 for hens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭EPointer=Birdss

Lads I would be hesitant about commenting on people's personal situations on public forums.
    Furthermore if you part with your money when buying a dog trained then I don't see how you can get done unless you dont really know what your at. At which point you bring someone who does to help prevent it.

Seems off topic to me TBH for what is an interesting thread.

I would also say the classes sound useful but as said above dont think your own dog isn't what you need because it doesn't do trial level obedience.

Undoubtedly you will pick up tips & tricks that can be applied so 50 quid seems very reasonable

I think you might be referring to me Epointer.
    I don’t think I mentioned anything personal about the man in question.
    It is common knowledge that he sold all he dogs.
    He did so on boards.
    Off the topic I will give you that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭EPointer=Birdss

I think you might be referring to me Epointer.
    I don’t think I mentioned anything personal about the man in question.
    It is common knowledge that he sold all he dogs.
    He did so on boards.
    Off the topic I will give you that.

I'm not aiming at anyone & genuinely not starting an argument.
    I said what I said & so did you. I'm not having another debate on boards.

Take the advice or don't - your decision.

lb1981 thanks for the kind words i am a man of my word as u said as too is snipe02 . tearsol flash was put to cover on the day in question now i didnt see him going but snipe02 said he was a serious animal in cover and was destroyed when he came out and coming from snipe02 who without doubt has one of the best cover bitchs i have seen to date and for him to say tearsol is good he must be good. i understand what fellas mean about trial dogs vs shooting dogs. trial dogs dont make more than 20 mins cause they are sprinters not marathon runners but any dog still needs manners and training in my opinion ie walking to heel,stop whistle,nice delivery to hand ,steady,are all things i like/want in a dog . building stamina is up to the handler. so if a trail dog has it all but will only run 30 mins thats not the dogs fault but the handler/trial man.

Charlie were you one of the lads who had hand up who would be interested in trialling?
    I haven't been to springer or lab trials.
    Was thinking of buying Paul French video of irish springer championship.
    There must be a nice buzz having your dogs compete.
    Went up to kinnity two weeks ago to Pointer and setter trial as spectator, thought it was class. The lads involved there were very welcoming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,549 ✭✭✭Vizzy

Charlie were you one of the lads who had hand up who would be interested in trialling?
    Went up to kinnity two weeks ago to Pointer and setter trial as spectator, thought it was class. The lads involved there were very welcoming.

Brother was at it also.
    What did ya think of the Gordon ?

no i didnt for the simple fact i am in two minds,ill do the basics with him and decide then he has the hunt so ill see. which one were u any distintive clothing

Ya jim Sheridan's dog, lovely looking dog.
    Didn't get the result, as I went after first round.
    Lad with me was in a rush.
    Do you know who won?
    Some lovely looking dogs.
    It was reassuring to see how some of the dogs didn't do as they were told.
    Even the experts struggle some times.
    There was an English setter who had lovely run, he backed two false points and had also the first find of the day. Lovely to see!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 glenmax

hi...couldnt make it to thurles ..dissapointed...but im interested in ur idea of meeting up with some springers...do u have dates for next meeting ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,549 ✭✭✭Vizzy

fitzy,
    were you up on the Saurday or the Sunday ?
    If it was Sunday(the Novice trial),then the Gordon belonged to the brother(I think that there was only one there).
    Not sure who won but the brother was second with his English setter.

The one who left the dog at home.
    Thought the training was for the handlers and they would supply dogs.Dopey me.
    Was there with guy who had grey beard. I had camouflage jacket and cap on.
    Will look out for you the next time. Only started shooting 3 years ago, so these classes are ideal.

Vizzy
    I was up there the Saturday for the open stake.
    There was Gordon there too.
    He had good run, they are scarce enough the Gordon's

had u an elmor fudd hat on fitzy! ha ha
    glenmax i think we need a land owner thats on boards to maybe offer to supply a green field or the likes for fellas to show there dogs in action, arriving on to a field and a farmer looks out and sees ten or so lads outside with dogs unannounced would be an issue.:eek: any one else have ideas on it????????

Glenmax
    Next outing is 24/03/13
    Have to be at anner hotel for 8.45

had u an elmor fudd hat on fitzy! ha ha
    glenmax i think we need a land owner thats on boards to maybe offer to supply a green field or the likes for fellas to show there dogs in action, arriving on to a field and a farmer looks out and sees ten or so lads outside with dogs unannounced would be an issue.:eek: any one else have ideas on it????????
    i might have that sorted ....farmer in our gun club ery good hunting man,will gladly ask for green field.....

good stuff now we need dogs and men its only a way of getting fellas here to meet up for chat and that really im doing this to benifit myself and other lads that are starting off. it would be grand if experienced lads or fellas that have something to bring to the table to come too.:confused:

Don't think so Charlie, there was another guy with that cap on.
    But I'm going more conscious about what I'm wearing the next time.
    Definitely twat I saw a wabbit last Sunday though

Glenmax
    Next outing is 24/03/13
    Have to be at anner hotel for 8.45
    Thanks.....with or without dog....how many sessions will there be....what cost..

good stuff now we need dogs and men its only a way of getting fellas here to meet up for chat and that really im doing this to benifit myself and other lads that are starting off. it would be grand if experienced lads or fellas that have something to bring to the table to come too.:confused:
    Im sure there are spaniel clubs around ...i went to a spaniel trial 2 years ago was interesting some nice guys and dogs...would be nice to get something going that is no pressure but a bit of fun/experience...im a hunter not a trialing man but training is training and getogethers are good for man and dog..

4 classes left, every two weeks, 50 euro and bring ur dog if nothing else he will be socialised

where r u from glenmax

co.limerick...

good stuff we would probably have to get a spot that would suit lads further up the country but its a start anyway

well lads part 2 is over and have to say thought today was up in a heap a bit thought we would be in groups of maybe 4 or 5 and thought it was poor. i find lads maybe arent asking enough questions alot of lads there and very little questions being asked i think if groups were smaller this would eliminate this .some nice looking dogs there and hope there is a champion in the making in one of them. so lads honest opinion what did ye think and what did ye take from it if anything?

have to say I felt it was a bit all over the place can't speak for the other group but the one I was in the trainer left have way through and another lad came in his place this I felt changed the dynamic because he didn't talk to the whole group when lads were trying their dogs so I felt we became distracted your right about the questions id agree. But in saying that I learnt a bit about the right way to teach lefts and rights where the dog goes either direction in a straight line and getting it drilled into my head how important the breeze is . In future I'm going to practice picking the breeze before I do anything with a dog. its something I wouldn't think of a lot but its the most important factor.... so though there were a few negitives there was as many positives and I'm looking to the next have a lot to be working on have to mention also that it was said that hunting should be first before any training had a good chat with my buddy about it on the way home a pups brain is developing and the more hunting it does the more that part of the brain develops so from now on I'll do 15 mins hunting for every 10 training that my conclusion also it wad nice meeting fitzy fitzy there very nice lad showed us his bitch and all .thanks

Ya, the training class yesterday was disappointing. Personally I think the training should be just for the handlers and dogs left at home.
    They could supply dogs from pups to fully trained and spend the four sessions showing us what they do at every stage.
    Maybe next session will be better. Still picked up one or two tips all the same.
    Was nice to meet Charlie10 and Snipe2.