Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leniency on commerical for private runs

• 10-03-2013 10:25am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37

Im in the market for a pickup at the minute for my business. And probably like a lot of sole traders/ small businesses, this pickup is genuinely my work vehicle but I can definitely see it getting the odd bit of use for non-work related things from time-to-time.

Obvioulsy wouldnt be ripping the piss with it, but just been that its a pickup a I could see myself ending up going up the mountains to get firewood every now and then or if the missus wanted something in town like a new warddrobe just say, I could myself going up and collecting it. Or if the dog ever had to go to the vet would rather stick him in the back of the crewcab and not having to worry about getting the good car wrecked etc..

Just wondering if I got stopped doing a private run in a commercial is there any kind of leniency at all? Like I said I wouldnt be ripping the piss and dropping the kids to school and then go do shopping kinda thing. Literally would be only a handful of runs per annum.

Thank you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭stoneill

I've been driving a pickup for personal reasons now for 4 years - passed through several checkpoints, even ones with customs checking for back seats. Never had any problems, just waved on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,728 ✭✭✭George Dalton

I have driven many vans all over the country for various uses and have never once been stopped or asked about business vs personal use. I don't know of any instance where anyone has been fined under that law either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

What's the story with taxing them commercial these days. What do you need or do they even question it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

strictly speaking you should only use it commercially, but in practise everyone uses vans for whatever and the chances of getting caught are as near to zero as makes no odds. When the Gardai can't even make everyone get tax and Insurance, I can't see this is going to be high on thier agenda somehow

corktina wrote: »
    strictly speaking you should only use it commercially.........n thie

Strictly speaking that's not true, hence why private use of lgvs attracts bik for many. That coupled with appropriate controls on taxing lgvs makes a decent ish system, not perfect or abuse free but decent ish.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,659 ✭✭✭✭dahamsta

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    What's the story with taxing them commercial these days. What do you need or do they even question it?

Depends on the motor tax office. Cork requires you to sign a doc saying you'll be using it exclusively for business. It's a nonsense.

Dupe, sorry.

So all you need to do is sign a form, no Garda stamp or anything? Is it ok to do this for what is essentially a private vehicle but used only to get to and from work?

Thats the exact opposite of what's ok ;)

RoverJames wrote: »
    Thats the exact opposite of what's ok ;)

Why though? If you are a carpenter driving a commercial jeep with tools in the back that's ok but if you are an office worker driving yourself to work (where the person is the actual 'tool'!:pac:) in a commercial jeep it's not?

So all you need to do is sign a form, no Garda stamp or anything?

I actually can't remember now if I got it stamped or not, but it makes very little difference, the Garda pays as much attention to it add the OTR form. (And it's not his job to, all he's doing is witnessing your "promise".)

dahamsta wrote: »
    I actually can't remember now if I got it stamped or not, but it makes very little difference, the Garda pays as much attention to it add the OTR form. (And it's not his job to, all he's doing is witnessing your "promise".)

And you didn't get asked for a VAT number or proof of employment or anything?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,783 ✭✭✭carzony

And you didn't get asked for a VAT number or proof of employment or anything?

My mate bought a van last week and he had to fill a form out, It just required a Vat Number and I think he had to explain what he wanted the vehicle for..

He is unemployed and prefers a van to a car so he had no vat number and no proof of employement.. He simply used a Vat number from a mcdonalds receipt and just said he was a cleaner and the Guard stamped the form and asked a few basic questions I think...

Why though? If you are a carpenter driving a commercial jeep with tools in the back that's ok but if you are an office worker driving yourself to work (where the person is the actual 'tool'!:pac:) in a commercial jeep it's not?

I think its a fairly looney system as I reckon the once its taxed for what it is that should be the end of it but I reckon its due to the premise that travel to and from your normal place of work is considered private use, so if that's all you use a commercial yoke for its considered private use and not business use.

A carpenter etc would generally not have a normal place of work, they may well have somewhere they are based but any lad working in say a joinery would generally have his tools at work, much like how mechanics usually don't carry their shtuff about with them.

carzony wrote: »
    My mate bought a van last week and he had to fill a form out, It just required a Vat Number and I think he had to explain what he wanted the vehicle for..

He is unemployed and prefers a van to a car so he had no vat number and no proof of employement.. He simply used a Vat number from a mcdonalds receipt and just said he was a cleaner and the Guard stamped the form and asked a few basic questions I think...

So he lied to a garda and supplied a vat number of a company that he doesn't own or work for ?

Yep, A good few of the lads I know do it.. I think as long as the form is filled in and you can answer the questions they don't care. I couldnt believe how easy it was. From what I have been hearing though they are gonna be clamping down on this stuff very soon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,158 ✭✭✭kirving

Yeah, and if someone from Revenue reads this thread your mate will be the first to be caught. *Open Database>Search>McDonalds>Cleaners>Vehicle Type>Van* Easy! ;-)

i'm sure revenue will find a lot of vans registered there, I know of atleast three :eek::eek:

I think its a fairly looney system as I reckon the once its taxed for what it is that should be the end of it but I reckon its due to the premise that travel to and from your normal place of work is considered private use, so if that's all you use a commercial yoke for its considered private use and not business use.

A carpenter etc would generally not have a normal place of work, they may well have somewhere they are based but any lad working in say a joinery would generally have his tools at work, much like how mechanics usually don't carry their shtuff about with them.

Ok, fair enough. So if I was doing something like say computer repairs or something like that that where I would need to travel to different sites but not necessarily need tools it would be ok in that case but again not for the the office worker solely travelling to and from work?

Just curious by the way, not being argumentative. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 772 ✭✭✭GTDolanator

I have a van strictly for work,it just so happens to be my only vehicle.I use it for private use too.90% of the use it gets is genuinley of a commercial nature

Ok, fair enough. So if I was doing something like say computer repairs or something like that that where I would need to travel to different sites but not necessarily need tools it would be ok in that case but again not for the the office worker solely travelling to and from work?

Just curious by the way, not being argumentative. ;)

The com repairs would be ok ish but if its a PAYE worker and they own the van there shouldn't be any private use. If its a company van there'd have to be BIK paid, that's 100 per cent ok.

An office worker could have a company van and once the 5 per cent of the OMSP of the yoke is included as notional pay per annum that'd be grand too.

The com repairs would be ok ish but if its a PAYE worker and they own the van there shouldn't be any private use. If its a company van there'd have to be BIK paid, that's 100 per cent ok.

An office worker could have a company van and once the 5 per cent of the OMSP of the yoke is included as notional pay per annum that'd be grand too.

If it's ok for an office worker to have a commercially taxed van supplied by the company I don't see what's wrong with the office worker supplying their own vehicle and taxing it commercially, once it's used to go to and from work only of course. ;)

They can request a company or VAT number but they can't require them; neither are required to run a business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,695 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

carzony wrote: »

hmmm fraud and making false statements, that'll be nice if he's ever caught. Much worse than actually using the van for private use. Bit like the British cabinet minister and penalty points - the charge for lying about it is worse than the offence itself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,695 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

Is it only 5% now, 20 years ago it was 12.5% (showing my age).

If it's ok for an office worker to have a commercially taxed van supplied by the company I don't see what's wrong with the office worker supplying their own vehicle and taxing it commercially, once it's used to go to and from work only of course. ;)

Yep, its a looney system.

The private use of the company supplied van does incurr BIK though so the government get a few quid there. Of course if its a diesel the company would have made savings on VAT on the purchase and ongoing on diesel, repairs etc etc.

A friend is on disability allowance and has ran a van as a daily driver for 10 years without issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭ironclaw

Funnily enough that would be illegal without an investigatory case been opened. Its like those in Revenue dismissed for randomly looking up their neighbours tax affairs etc. Same for Gardai misusing Pulse.

Marcusm wrote: »
    Is it only 5% now, 20 years ago it was 12.5% (showing my age).

Yep, max BIK on a car is 30 per cent now iirc, makes having a 20k fully expensed c ar remotely perk ish even with no business miles on higher rate of tax :)

A friend is on disability allowance and has ran a van as a daily driver for 10 years without issue.

Why do they bother? They don't pay tax! :eek::eek::eek:

Apologies, I phrased that wrong, he's on the social welfare payments for folks who can't work, he's not disabled. He's not fit for work though.

Sound.

So anyhow my understanding is, enforced or not, that it is illegal to tax a privately owned vehicle that you use solely to travel to and from work in as a commercial while perfectly legal if the vehicle is supplied by the company? Correct?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,055 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

On a similar topic - most SPSVs are commercially taxed but many owners remove the roof sign and use them as private family cars when not working. Is that illegal?

So anyhow my understanding is, enforced or not, that it is illegal to tax a privately owned vehicle that you use solely to travel to and from work in as a commercial while perfectly legal if the vehicle is supplied by the company? Correct?

Yep, once bik is paid on the company yoke, illegal is probably not the description though, dunno what the proper term is tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭TrailerBob

The whole issue is a nonsense. Im part of an amateur drama group, we bought a van for hauling stuff to shows. i went into the tax office to tax it, only option was private tax.. spoke to the supervisor and thats my lot. Not VAT registered, so apparently its not business use... even though it will only ever be used in connection with our 'business' ....very unhappy...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

The Act which sets a schedule for different tax classes and their price, doesn't limit use of commercially taxed goods vehicles only to commercial use.
    Once vehicle is used mainly for commercial purposes, it's not against the law to use it odd time for other use (f.e. private).

Strange thing though is that some motortax offices require people to sign declaration stating that vehicle will be used only for commercial purposes (no private use) as there are no law backgrounds to require such declaration.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 405 ✭✭shooter88

Op Iv been drive a commercial since I was 18 and have been all over the country day and night and never asked was I working the insurance didn't even ask where I was working when another driver reversed into me, strangely enough iv been stopped more in the car..if your a sole trader like me really they can't do anything about you collecting a wardrobe if you say your getting paid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 891 ✭✭✭doctorchopper

TrailerBob wrote: »
    The whole issue is a nonsense. Im part of an amateur drama group, we bought a van for hauling stuff to shows. i went into the tax office to tax it, only option was private tax.. spoke to the supervisor and thats my lot. Not VAT registered, so apparently its not business use... even though it will only ever be used in connection with our 'business' ....very unhappy...
    Go to a different tax office and put down your pps number where they ask for a vat number.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭meathstevie

Can't see a VAT number being a requirement as it's not required for a business below a certain level of turnover or for certain types of business that are VAT exempt.

Can't see a VAT number being a requirement.........

It shouldn't be :)

http://www.environ.ie/en/LocalGovernment/MotorTax/PublicationsDocuments/FileDownLoad,23874,en.pdf

The income tax registration number is not necessarily a VAT number.

TrailerBob wrote: »

While I don't disagree it's a nonsense, amateur is by definition not a business.