Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

HCAP question

• 09-03-2013 7:17pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 363 ✭✭

Doing HCAP shortly. Was reading training manual, good bit of useful and interesting stuff there, also a lot of stuff to remember as in latin names desease names etc. Someone said that you could use your own notes during the test, just wondering if thats true? (:D) Also is it the test kind of exam with a, b, c answers or what? In other words is it hard to get it passed? Thanks lads

• Closed Accounts Posts: 258 ✭✭silverfox1

zlezlius wrote: »
    Doing HCAP shortly. Was reading training manual, good bit of useful and interesting stuff there, also a lot of stuff to remember as in latin names desease names etc. Someone said that you could use your own notes during the test, just wondering if thats true? (:D) Also is it the test kind of exam with a, b, c answers or what? In other words is it hard to get it passed? Thanks lads
    It's a multi choice test. As far as I can remember there is 40 questions and you have to get 32 right to pass. Handy enough once you read the manual. Keep in mind minimum energy requirements for bullets, disease recognition and season dates and you'll be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭One shot on kill

What is the hcap for lads I know for shooting deer but when do you need it or who looks for it is it the Garda or is it coillte or one of these.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 woodcock 52

The Hcap is required to shoot deer on Coillte forestry. There are sample Hcap multiple choice questions on the web if google hcap should bring them up for you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 141 ✭✭ah sure !

as said above it is easy as long as you read the manual but i doubt you can use your notes though.
    Open season dates always come up so learn them.
    Learnt many things when going through the manual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 30cal....

well lads as sad above read threw your book and you will fly it when you have an interst in what your reading you will take it all in....good luck with it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭Fallow01

50 multiple choice questions you must get 40 correct to pass and go on to the range test at the Midlands Rifle Range.

Lots of guys I know who don't stalk on Coillte land also did it to improve their knowledge