Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tipperary vs Kilkenny (Semple Stadium 10/03/2013)

• 08-03-2013 2:15pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 562 ✭✭✭

What are everyone's thoughts? Jeez, Tipp could really do with the win, think they've lost to Kilkenny 4/5 times now since that All-Ireland final win. Strong team starting with all the old reliables being rolled out. Kilkenny yet to announce a team as per usual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 646 ✭✭✭mccarthy37

Well I will be at the Waterford v Cork game but this is really a mouth watering clash especially after both of these teams have lost their first game. Kilkenny will be favorites as they have been almost since Brian Cody has taken over and that is some tribute. Tipp could turn them over this time though. They looked very tired playing Cork but two more weeks of training should stand to them. Its a hard one to call maybe it could end in a draw. Two great games to look forward to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭StephenHendry

Big game for us, losing to clare in the waterford crystal final and then being hammered by cork first round, we could do with a win obviously but we need to avoid another bad defeat against kk

Tipp team expected to start-

Tipp SH v Kilkenny: D Gleeson;
    P Stapleton, P Curran, M Cahill;
    Padraic Maher, C O'Mahony, D Maher;
    A Ryan, B Maher (Capt);
    N Mc Grath, L Corbett, J O'Brien;
    J O'Dwyer, E Kelly, P Bourke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭PaulKK

Kilkenny team

David Herritty;
    Paul Murphy, JJ Delaney, Conor Fogarty;
    Tommy Walsh, Brian Hogan, Paddy Hogan;
    Lester Ryan, Matthew Ruth;
    Mark Kelly,Richie Power, Eoin Larkin;
    Aidan Fogarty, Colin Fennelly, Richie Hogan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Amprodude

I expect Kilkenny to win by 5-6 points. Could be wrong but they will be wounded after their first defeat and thats when they are at their most dangerous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,098 ✭✭✭randd1

Comordha wrote: »
    What are everyone's thoughts? Jeez, Tipp could really do with the win, think they've lost to Kilkenny 4/5 times now since that All-Ireland final win.

Tipp haven't beaten Kilkenny since the 2010 AI final. They've played four, lost four, by a cumulative 37 points. If ever they need to beat Kilkenny, now is the time.
    Strong team starting with all the old reliables being rolled out.

Aye, I reckon they need the old reliables out to beat Kilkenny, Kelly especially. They are not the same team without Kelly in there, he's the main man to get them fighting. The young lads need him there to set the attitude.

Looking at the Tipp team, Its clear that by going with the old reliables O'Shea is gunning for the win as beating Kilkenny will steady the ship and release a bit of pressure.

I'm also wondering though does it mean he doesn't trust the likes of Noel McGrath to stand up as a leader in the side? In my view, Corbett, Kelly, O'Mahony and Curran would have been better off being rested for the league and have them coming fresh for the championship and have a real crack at it. But if they have to rely on them to come in to win a league game, even if it is against Kilkenny, it doesn't really strike me as belief in the panel.
    Kilkenny yet to announce a team as per usual.

Kilkenny don't announce their team until the Friday before a match at 9. Always have, like clockwork.

Both teams need the win but i think perhaps Tipp's need might be that little bit greater tomorrow so i fancy them to edge it. All eyes will be on them tomorrow to perform. Its the very least their supporters deserve. Cork 2 weeks ago was a shambles. They surely are better then that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,505 ✭✭✭wicklowwonder

Is this on TV today?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭IanVW

Deferred coverage on tg4:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭paddy no 11

Only seen bits of this the ref seems to be having a shocker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Amprodude

Amprodude wrote: »
    I expect Kilkenny to win by 5-6 points. Could be wrong but they will be wounded after their first defeat and thats when they are at their most dangerous.

I was very wrong and fair play to Tipp, great performance and good win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 266 ✭✭kilkenny12

Only seen bits of this the ref seems to be having a shocker

Absolutely shockin! Tommy did nothing wrong and got the second yellow, not too sure about Noel Mcgraths second yellow either, Ger Aylward was fouled in extra time and the free would have leveled it. Awful sad!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,503 ✭✭✭Tipperary animal lover

Yeah agree with you there, the ref was shocking and sendings off were wrong especially tommies 2nd yellow card, but I think tipp needed this win more than kk, the league really opened up after this weekend, just shows how siht tipp were against cork last time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 8on the 1st

while both sending offs were wrong,noel mcgraths was worse.his 1st yellow was got because of joyce ducking into a shoulder which is his own fault and the 2nd was got for richie power pulling the helmet off him which can be seen clearly on the telly.at least only 1 of walsh's was a poor decision,the 1st one was warranted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,963 ✭✭✭Meangadh

Ref was all over the place, especially with the two sending offs. Neither player should have been gone.

I also think the art of ground hurling is seriously depleting- a really horrible day and both teams insistent on trying to rise it, with the ball slipping all over the place, resulting in big bunches of players poking at the ball trying to get at it. And then when they eventually rise it, puck it into oblivion, not having a look first. Maybe it was just cos of the weather, but I found it frustrating at times.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,192 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

Ref was terrible, a lot of the players on both sides were very bad, the weather was awful. KK now bottom of the league. Not the greatest day I've had supporting Kilkenny.

Thought Lester Ryan was good though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,843 ✭✭✭jluv

Wadding is a terrible reeferee and was really witnessed today. The sending off on both sides were questionable. A lot of things(especially during the melee after Tommy Walshe foul) went unpunished. Man looks unfit to me. Tough conditions to be playing under today without having to deal with a ref not up to the game. No problem with the result as two great teams gave it their all in tough conditions. Love hurling season!

Meangadh wrote: »
    Ref was all over the place, especially with the two sending offs. Neither player should have been gone.

I also think the art of ground hurling is seriously depleting- a really horrible day and both teams insistent on trying to rise it, with the ball slipping all over the place, resulting in big bunches of players poking at the ball trying to get at it. And then when they eventually rise it, puck it into oblivion, not having a look first. Maybe it was just cos of the weather, but I found it frustrating at times.

Eamon Cregan made great points recently about the 'scrum' becoming too prevalent in hurling these times. Granted the ball may not have travelled far by today's conditions, but no matter what the weather it would seem that teams are intent with trying to rise the ball. Continuous digging for spuds.

adrian522 wrote: »
    Ref was terrible, a lot of the players on both sides were very bad, the weather was awful. KK now bottom of the league. Not the greatest day I've had supporting Kilkenny.

Thought Lester Ryan was good though.

Lets be honest now id say come the business end of the year id say ye'll be in a better position then us.
    Bad weather but the league is very competitive this year. Ye'll more than likely win the next game or two in any case and i don't think ye've even played in Nowlan yet. Makes a big difference to play in a home setting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 562 ✭✭✭Comordha

Was at the game. Atmosphere was good apart from a bunch of KK mouths behind me. continuously harping on about Corbett. They must still fear his potential if they feel the need to bad-mouth him all of the time. Tipp deserved the win. Was very impressed with Conor O'Brien, Paudie Maher and Brendan Maher. KK were very weak in Midfield.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,192 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

Lets be honest now id say come the business end of the year id say ye'll be in a better position then us.
    Bad weather but the league is very competitive this year. Ye'll more than likely win the next game or two in any case and i don't think ye've even played in Nowlan yet. Makes a big difference to play in a home setting.

Well we only have 2 home games this season, Waterford and Cork. We also still have to play Clare.

A bit of pressure now to get a few wins to avoid a relegation game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,963 ✭✭✭Meangadh

Atmosphere was good apart from a bunch of KK mouths behind me. continuously harping on about Corbett. They must still fear his potential if they feel the need to bad-mouth him all of the time.

Sure you've eejits in every county unfortunately. At a league match a few years ago again Tipp v KK and I was in the terrace listening to the most horrific stuff being shouted at Tommy Walsh and Henry Shefflin from Tipp fans. Worst thing about it was kids around these so-called fans hearing the awful language and bile they were spouting. Disgraceful- and I've no doubt every county has lads like that. Sad really.

But as regards yesterday's match, was good to have some excitement in the game, but it would have been nice to have better weather cos I think that would have opened play up a bit. Looking forward to a few sunny days on Jones' Road in a few months, fingers crossed!

A special mention must go to 'the flying nun' Sister Patricia Wall, who on her 76th birthday is going to do a skydive for charity

http://www.tipperarystar.ie/news/local/sr-patricia-takes-to-the-sky-1-4841983
    Sr Patricia Wall - The Flying Nun

Published on Friday 1 March 2013 10:38

This May, if you look to the sky, it is possible that you just might see the hand of God guiding one of his servants to ground as Presentation nun Sr Patricia Wall completes her sky dive.
    The reasons for her taking such a brave step are close to her heart as she is hoping to raise E150,000 for the charity Aware along with a number of local projects she is involved with.
    Since news of her sky dive appeared in the national newspapers this week, Sr Patricia has been on radio with the John Murray Show, Tipp FM’s Seamus Martin and Today FM’s Ray Darcy Show. TV3’s Vincent Browne highlighted her cause on his show during the week and it is hoped she will be on the Today show on International Women’s Day, Friday March 8th. She will be in Semple Stadium on Sunday next March 10th when Tipperary take on Kilkenny and will ask the counties to join together in supporting her fundraising efforts for her charities so you can catch a glimpse of the Flying Nun in person.
    Sr Patricia, who turns 75 on Saturday, joined the Presentation Sisters in Thurles when she was 17. She trained to be a teacher with the Presentation and has worked in Tipperary, Kilkenny and Dublin. She was Principal of the Presentation Secondary School in Ballingarry from 1980 to 1983. She also travelled the world with her vocation bringing her to places such as Zimbabwe and New Zealand. In fact, it was while Sr Patricia was in New Zealand that she experienced a deep depression. She was in her late 20’s and very far from home. In those days she said if “you went that far away it usually meant you may not come back”. However she sought help from a doctor and through counselling along with a leave of absence from the convent, Sr Patricia returned to full health and was soon back in her habit and religious way of life.
    Along with her own experience of depression, Sr Patricia has seen first hand how this illness can affect those living in rural Ireland and that is why she wants to help Aware. They have support groups all over the country and their “Beat the Blues” campaign which is aimed at secondary school students from Transition Year to Leaving Certificate, is very important due to the increase in teenage suicide and the many problems facing young people these days. Aware has many services available and more information can be found on www.aware.ie or 1890 303 302.
    She retired from teaching in 1997 and since then has been very much involved in a number of community projects around the county. It was through her involvement with one such project, the Ballynonty Memorial Garden, that the idea of doing a sky dive came about as four members of their committee raised a large amount of money when they did their sky dive. Now with her strong fundraising committee in place, Sr Patricia can focus on preparing herself for the sky dive. She is fit and well as she has always been involved in sports, no doubt influenced by her brother Tony, a former All Ireland winning captain with Tipperary who also wrote the first comprehensive book on coaching in the GAA.
    Sky Dive Ireland has been a huge support to her giving her plenty of advice about what she can expect. When asked what prayer she will be saying as she jumps out she is unsure but as they switch off the engine for a few minutes to capture the sound of the sky divers reaction, Sr Patricia is “hoping a prayer will come out!”
    Sr Patricia has the all clear from her Doctor and the full support of her family, her order, the community, her friends and after all the media attention the whole country. The story of the Flying Nun as she is now known will continue until this summer when she takes to the sky in a bid to encourage all to dig deep and help her worthy charity and causes.
    For more details you can find her on facebook – www.facebook.com/theflyingnun2013. To donate you can either go online to www.mycharity.ie/event/theflyingnun or through AIB Fethard, sort code: 93-52-04; account number: 23184576; account name: Sliabh Ardagh Rural Development Aware Sky Dive. Remember, you can see Sr Patricia this Sunday in Semple Stadium where members of her team will be asking for your help in fundraising for these worthy causes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 453 ✭✭earlytobed

Brilliant header for the first Tipp goal.
    Its a skill not seen enough on hurling pitches these days:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,002 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

earlytobed wrote: »

Yeah it's terrible to see these skills going out of the game. I blame Cody for the filth he invented in 1999, since before which Niall Quinn could still have had a future in the game, but he was afraid of Noel Hickey, the first dirty half back in the history of the sport.

earlytobed wrote: »

Niall Quinn is related to a different set of O'Dwyers from Killenaule, but he would be proud to call Bubbles an honorary relative of his with that finish :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,733 ✭✭✭Grats

Presume both Tipp and Kilkenny will appeal the ridiculous sending offs by Wadding? If Croke Park had any cop-on they would just rescind them and wrap Wadding on the knuckles for his incompetent display - and not for the first time. The players ought to feel peed off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 562 ✭✭✭Comordha

Looks like the League Final could be repeat of this game. Wonder how both teams would fare then with KK still nursing injuries & being without Cody.