Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Quality time with the missus

• 08-03-2013 1:36am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭

We had a foxing competition in local gun club last week with count on Sunday, id gotten five during week but wanted to get few more sat night and seeing as my usual lamping partner had gone away for w end with his missus and rest of lads had something on I said id ask my better half to do the lamping for me. No bother she said(after the promise of being brought out for dinner Sunday was arranged:rolleyes:)
    So off we went her with battery pack and lamp and me with rifle and shooting sticks. First field 50yards up road from the house, farmer losing lots of sheep to foxes as his land,massive area, has huge woods at back with deer and foxes coming through it. Into field we go, up over hill, shine lamp and there's fox eating sheep. I sit down behind rifle and sticks, place crosshairs between his eyes squeeze trigger and 187yards away the 55gr from the 220swift does the business, going in his mouth and exiting side of head.

http://imgur.com/NYGGZID,Chaj4Pd,EognHGt,UQ857p5#0

We leave that field and go off to land down beside home place. Its hilly ground with long flats between them. We get up onto hill and give quick scan and there's one 50 yards in front of us he takes off like a bullet so we knock off lamp I take off jacket bundle it on ground and use it as rest for rifle as I know it going to be well over 200 yards if hes stopped. I give squeak with tenderfield whistle, missus turns on lamp and hes sitting down looking at us at over 250+yards away. I place crosshairs on his mouth to allow bullet to drop into his chest, squeeze trigger and hear that reassuring thump of the v max hitting home. Stick rangefinder on him and it registers 276yards. I go out and pick him up and the v max has gone in done its job but blown out his back on way out.

http://imgur.com/NYGGZID,Chaj4Pd,EognHGt,UQ857p5#1

Thats why you really need the safe backstops when rifle shooting. I go back up to the missus and start doing some squeaking with the tenderfield whistle, few minutes later eyes are moving in towards us from the left. I let him come into 80 yards and the swift does the job.

http://imgur.com/NYGGZID,Chaj4Pd,EognHGt,UQ857p5#2

We gather our stuff and head back home but decide to have one last scan in field beside house before we call it a night. There is fox eating different sheep carcass:mad: and as soon as he gets lamp hes like speedy gonzalas into the wood. Id say if this lad saw you light a match hed be gone thats the speed he took off:D. we start walking back towards the gate just flicking the lamp when i catch eyes 50yards away in wood looking at us. Missus lamps him up and I take quick offhand shot and thump another one down. I go to pick him up and missus asks whats wrong with his head, nothing hes just missing side of it.

http://imgur.com/NYGGZID,Chaj4Pd,EognHGt,UQ857p5#3

So job done we head to nearest fence to go home and missus loses half her pants trying to climb over it, I find it quite funny, herself not so much:rolleyes:. All in a productive night, 4 dog foxes dispatched. And get second in the comp so few quid for swift bullets:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,088 ✭✭✭aaakev

Good story pad and nice shootin! I keep seeing the same pic on every link tho?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭One shot on kill

Nice shooting lad well done.

Don't be to hard on the miss's.

I'd struggle to get over a gate carrying the lamp and ghe battery out of the van aswell.
    HaHa

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,008 ✭✭✭TriggerPL

Don't believe ya ! Post up a pic of the missus in her torn pants :-P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭customrifle

You think when you marry a country girl she would be well able climb over a barbwire fence, seemingly not so! She showed some real cat like climbing abilities to get stuck in the first place ha ha. There should be pictures 1-4 in imgur you can click on that if links arent working

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 258 ✭✭Tommy87

Fair play to her! At least she will go out with you, quality time with my misses is sitting watching keeping up with the kardashians or my "favourite" Geordie shore. Ill take your advice and try bribe her to go lamping with me- ill tell her if I wear makeup like those spastic "men" on Geordie shore, she will do the lamp for me!!!! 😝

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

I once took my Missus ferreting and was only in the field and she was moaning about the smell and cow **** around and her feet hurt from the ground being hard
    Feet hurt?
    This is coming from a woman who wears 6 inch heels and dances in them whenever she goes out
    But she had no problem with dead rabbits or holding the ferrets

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭nowwerehurlin

she hardly has a few single sisters does she ?? :p