Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ras Luimni Sunday

• 07-03-2013 5:25pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 830 ✭✭✭

Anyone doing this? I don't see a thread anywhere on it and it's usually very popular.
    The weather is to be cold and dry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 604 ✭✭✭Pawlie

Add a nice strong SSE wind too :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 830 ✭✭✭Slo_Rida

Pawlie wrote: »
    Add a nice strong SSE wind too :eek:

I did the loop Wednesday and the wind was a hindrance about 80% of the time. I uploaded the segment from the sharp left at the street in Caherconlish to the finish line. It's just under 1km with a dig at the start then a flat run-in:
    It's called Ras Luimni Finish.

On Strava btw

Slo_Rida wrote: »
    I did the loop Wednesday and the wind was a hindrance about 80% of the time. I uploaded the segment from the sharp left at the street in Caherconlish to the finish line. It's just under 1km with a dig at the start then a flat run-in:
    It's called Ras Luimni Finish.

On Strava btw

Nice one,yea wind is gona be tough when head east and north on course....

Finish looks good and tough too :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

Nice one,yea wind is gona be tough when head east and north on course....

Finish looks good and tough too :eek:

Good luck Pawlie, I for one am certainly looking forward to another race report!

DirkVoodoo wrote: »
    Good luck Pawlie, I for one am certainly looking forward to another race report!

Thanks.....I will give reporting a miss considering my last one upset so many professional cyclists on this,I reckon their bib shorts are still in knots :D

And you just keep giving the hits...I love it! Knickers in a knot...haven't heard it in years!

Lol only banter surrrrrrrre :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 282 ✭✭dedocdude

Ignore the haters @Pawlie - do your report - especially if u get a result

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭Esroh

Pawlie
    If You Ride It, Write about it.
    There's a fair few fellas who have made a few bob writing about riding their bikes lately.

Esroh wrote: »
    Pawlie
    If You Ride It, Write about it.
    There's a fair few fellas who have made a few bob writing about riding their bikes lately.

Are you suggesting Pawlie recently won the TdeF? Or snorted ped's with Lance? Only messing...looking forward to your report too P.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 328 ✭✭jimbo28

Jaysus pawlie for your own sake i hope you win lad :D.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 328 ✭✭jimbo28

@Esroh- Are u and the team headin to limerick this weekend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 426 ✭✭High Nellie

A Go On, Go On .... I might end up reading about myself ... :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭Esroh

jimbo28 wrote: »
    @Esroh- Are u and the team headin to limerick this weekend.

I think they are heading for Loughrea(A4's). But like last week we could have lads all over the place. I would never inflict myself on those who pay for a open licence:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,923 ✭✭✭wav1

Cant wait....Rough Ride 2

I believe A4 race was won by Barry Meehan of Worldwide Cycles - will post any others results i find - any racers there today might stick up the results. I'm sure the other races are still on.

Cathal Moynihan of Tralee wins A3

Sean Lacey - Acquablue - wins main event

If Hitler was around today and planning to invade limerick he would have thought twice as it was a war out there today with the rain and wind.......

Race was very good and hard,a few of us tried breaks but to no avail as the wind was causing havoc,bunch was split in last loop,I think Barry and 3 others broke away after last 2nd last left turn on last loop,I didn't see it at once and only copped they where a4's with 5 km to go,thought they were A3's as a good few where dropped and as we past them the just hung around at the back,once we realised they were A4's we upped pace and effort,coming into final corner sitting about 6th in chasing bunch a chap hit the deck and another hit the wall or curb trying to avoid it,as we were flying up over the little hill I knew I was fighting for 4th place and when I went to sit down my saddle flew off seat post and that was my race run.

Really enjoyed it as it was an attrition of a race and well done to Barry on a smart winning move.

Congrates to my club mate Mark Nugent on getting 4th in A1 race and too my mate Trevor Robinson from the Comeraghs on getting 3rd and most important points to be upgraded to A2.

Hope no one is offended reading this report :-)

well done Pawlie - thanks for the other placing info - Nugent has some class about him and Im surprised its taken this long for Trevor to get to A2 - good honest rider - you wil have to do the Biz in Carrick next week - that finish can suit a strong rider if you keep your head and dont go too early.

Anyone that wasnt at the race here are some stats for the speed etc for the A4's,do take into account that it was neutralized for the first 6km (dunno why and people still managed to crash into one another during it).

It was so cold,wet and windy just like Newbridge I believe.

Roll on next Sat & Sun :-)

http://app.strava.com/activities/43911171

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,460 ✭✭✭lennymc

jaysis Im glad im not racing down there - look at the average speed!!

http://app.strava.com/segments/1079212

Pawlie, that's a pretty sh!t report...no drama :D
    Regarding the breaks, I was in 3 'attempts'. 2 of them I was in kind of by accident. I was always in the front 10-20 riders but I got tired of being boxed in by fellas hairing up the wrong side of the road and then swinging in for fear of getting to the front of the group! So the first time, I went out to the very outside, rode hard for the front and went right to the front (intending to just work for a bit) but obviously I didn't slow down to the groups pace and a couple of lads joined me and it became a break. It didn't last! And another time with you Pawlie when you and that big guy from Planet tri tried to get away, I was in the process of making my above maneovre again and so I used my momentum to go with ye, again noone else came and it died.
    But to be honest, I don't think we tried hard enough (not that I was really up to the challenge anyway). I think we needed to go further up the road and faster and THEN ride steady and hard and hope for someone to come along.
    I also tried on the main road back to Caherconlish but I was out of my uncomfortable zone already! For the record, my legs gave in half way through the second lap and I just got into a group of about 12 and a few of us worked our way home. Miserable enough conditions but a good race.

Pawlie, that's a pretty sh!t report...no drama :D

Lmao here :D

Yea we could have maybe tried harder,but it was hard to judge is especially with that wind and rain at times,was a great race,but this crack of lads flying up other side of the road has to stop,at one stage the guys on motorbikes where having trouble coming up and a couple times cars could get up,
    some one is seriously gona get hurt,like the messing going on even in the neutralized zone was crazy.........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,662 ✭✭✭ericzeking

If Hitler was around today and planning to invade limerick he would have thought twice as it was a war out there today with the rain and wind.......

Race was very good and hard,a few of us tried breaks but to no avail as the wind was causing havoc,bunch was split in last loop,I think Barry and 3 others broke away after last 2nd last left turn on last loop,I didn't see it at once and only copped they where a4's with 5 km to go,thought they were A3's as a good few where dropped and as we past them the just hung around at the back,once we realised they were A4's we upped pace and effort,coming into final corner sitting about 6th in chasing bunch a chap hit the deck and another hit the wall or curb trying to avoid it,as we were flying up over the little hill I knew I was fighting for 4th place and when I went to sit down my saddle flew off seat post and that was my race run.

Really enjoyed it as it was an attrition of a race and well done to Barry on a smart winning move.

Congrates to my club mate Mark Nugent on getting 4th in A1 race and too my mate Trevor Robinson from the Comeraghs on getting 3rd and most important points to be upgraded to A2.

Hope no one is offended reading this report :-)

That explains a lot regarding the chase if some people didn't know there was a break gone... I found it frustrating that it was the same 5 or 6 doing turns when the break was only a couple of hundred yards up the road, thought that they could easily have been reeled in with a little more cooperation.
    Rolled in wit the bunch...delighted with the days work and even had my first breakaway experiences even if they were ill-fated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 751 ✭✭✭Arthurdaly

So the Ras Muhan front bunch finish is still on?

Arthurdaly wrote: »
    So the Ras Muhan front bunch finish is still on?

Nah, Pawlie's a rubbish rider, he's too heavy for cycling IMO. I was talking to him in the group yesterday and he could hardly catch his breath to chat.
    Forget about it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 Canyonaero

Cheers Paul - Just glad to be on the upgrade now to be honest. It was a hard, hard days racing. Fair play to all involved. Makes interesting reading that 6 of the first 8 home in the A3 event were juniors, the exception being myself and the winner, who in fairness deserved the win on the day. He was bravest into the last left hander and by far the strongest on the hill.

Some photos here http://www.irishcyclingphotos.com/?p=11048

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 945 ✭✭✭CaoimH_in

A4 race report by winner Barry Meehan. I was in the points and get a positive mention on Barry's blog. Happy days! Super day of racing: so glad to get some positive racing from the off. Great organisation, great soup, and fun parcours.

http://worldwidecyclesblog.com/tag/ras-luimni/

CaoimH_in wrote: »
    A4 race report by winner Barry Meehan. I was in the points and get a positive mention on Barry's blog. Happy days! Super day of racing: so glad to get some positive racing from the off. Great organisation, great soup, and fun parcours.

Well done. The Nenagh lads lined the front of the A4 group before we took off...it looked more like a Nenagh race than a Limerick race! Hope there's a foto somewhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 426 ✭✭High Nellie

CaoimH_in wrote: »

Ya, super organisation - fair play to all, especially the guys standing at crossroads all day in the wind and rain.