Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Accident & how to proceed...

• 07-03-2013 5:23pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭

The bro had a prang near Dundrum today that'll require a new back door by the sounds of it. He came off the M50 at the Dundrum exit down to the roundabout and stayed in the left lane to continue straight through, up towards the Beacon. A vehicle in the inside lane cut accross to go left at the 2nd exit for Dundrum town centre.

After the shunt, he pulled in as did the other vehicle. As he approached the other driver, they drove away. He has the reg & vehicle type & a business name but here's the rub - his license is outta date & for that reason, he didn't get onto the Guards or insurer there and then.

I'm unsure as to how he should approach this tbh - my inclination would be he just sucks up the repair himself, gets the license renewed sharpish (not driving 'til he has it) and chalks it down to experience. There's always a chance the other party involved could make a claim of course, though their behaviour possibly points to some shenanigans at play.

Any thoughts folks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 884 ✭✭✭cats.life

first thought is idiot brother driving with out of date licence,that in it self is a no no,,so it looks like he will have to foot the bill for door himself.im not saying anymore because there are exspert drivers on here who know all so i will leave it to them.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

cats.life wrote: »
    first thought is idiot brother driving with out of date licence

Believe me, that nugget of wisdom has been already shared.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 256 ✭✭flanders2006

Is that left lane jot a left turn only lane? There are 3 lanes approaching the roumdabout.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,915 ✭✭✭cursai

Suck it up. He has NO insurance without a valid licence. He has no choice and to bring it forward might incriminate himself if a report is made to the Gardai.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

cursai wrote: »
    Suck it up. He has NO insurance without a valid licence.

Yes he does, stop making up shíte.

@OP apply to renew the license asap, and inform the gardaí asap. The longer you leave it, the more suspect it seems as to why you waited. They might not even look for the license, but if they do you can then tell them you're waiting on a renewal without lying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 674 ✭✭✭Dr.Rieux

How out of date is the licence? I could very well be mistaken but I thought it was still valid in the ten years after the expiry date?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭3rdDegree

Dr.Rieux wrote: »
    How out of date is the licence? I could very well be mistaken but I thought it was still valid in the ten years after the expiry date?

I don't think so! Why would anyone renew if that was the case?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 674 ✭✭✭Dr.Rieux

3rdDegree wrote: »
    I don't think so! Why would anyone renew if that was the case?

You can renew your licence between 3months before and the expiry date and 10 years after the expiry date. After that you've to resist theory test and driving test.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

Is that left lane jot a left turn only lane? There are 3 lanes approaching the roumdabout.

That far left lane is the spur towards Grange Road. The other two lanes enter onto the roundabout proper (and also exit as 2 lanes straight through).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 505 ✭✭✭Mikros

It probably depends on who was at fault - if the other driver was 100% in the wrong I would definitely report it to the Gardaí, especially because it was a hit and run.

If your worried about the licence renewal just fill out the forms and send it away and explain to the Guard if he asks that you are renewing the licence and waiting for it back. I assume it is a full licence? Renewing your licence is an administration issue more than anything else - you have a full driving licence for up to 10 years after expiry as said previously.

Either way you would be entitled to claim of the other driver's 3rd party insurance (assuming the other driver has insurance). I would look to follow it up before putting my hand in my own pocket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭ironclaw

Yamanoto wrote: »
    That far left lane is the spur towards Grange Road. The other two lanes enter onto the roundabout proper (and also exit as 2 lanes straight through).

I'd be iffy on that one. The spur is for going down R133. But then the the other two lanes, at least the way I'd see it:

Left Lane: R133 (Correct lane if you missed the Spur) and Dundrum.

Right Lane: Sandyford and M50 Northbound.

I'm going by, in the absence of road markings, second exit or less, left lane. Third exit or more (Which it is) would be Sandyford and thus the right lane. Of course the ROTR state if you going anything other than straight ahead you use the right lane (Because all roundabouts are perfectly symmetrical :rolleyes:)

j&r_roundabouts_leaving-by-later-exit.jpg

And by Streetview, the correct lane for Sandyford is the extreme right.

Roundabout: http://goo.gl/maps/5N1Wt

Streetview: http://goo.gl/maps/D97g5

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,100 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Yamanoto wrote: »
    The bro had a prang near Dundrum today that'll require a new back door by the sounds of it. He came off the M50 at the Dundrum exit down to the roundabout and stayed in the left lane to continue straight through, up towards the Beacon. A vehicle in the inside lane cut accross to go left at the 2nd exit for Dundrum town centre.

After the shunt, he pulled in as did the other vehicle. As he approached the other driver, they drove away. He has the reg & vehicle type & a business name but here's the rub - his license is outta date & for that reason, he didn't get onto the Guards or insurer there and then.

I'm unsure as to how he should approach this tbh - my inclination would be he just sucks up the repair himself, gets the license renewed sharpish (not driving 'til he has it) and chalks it down to experience. There's always a chance the other party involved could make a claim of course, though their behaviour possibly points to some shenanigans at play.

Any thoughts folks?

The fact his licence was out of date has no bearing on the crash, it's not a penalty point offence and I know people who produced out of date licences just to be told to get them renewed, though he could still be prosecuted for the offence.

There's 2 lanes to get to the Beacon from there so technically he's OK, but he should have been in the 3rd lane really. The fact the other driver came from the lane for Rathfarnham, which is clearly marked as left only, and then drove off without exchanging details means that your brother should of course contact the Gardaí and get the other parties insurance details and make a claim. The other driver didn't know that your brother was driving illegally, yet they still drove off.