Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Machete Kills

• 07-03-2013 3:24pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭

Here's the teaser poster, and 4 character posters for the sequel to Machete, Machete Kills. The film is released in the US on September 19th, but no Irish date has been provided yet.

tumblr_lz4ysekUmJ1rndwe9o1_1280-300x443.jpg machete-kills-gaga-poster-300x441.jpg tumblr_m7ze3cPdnk1rndwe9o1_1280-300x437.jpg tumblr_m924bbXCtJ1rndwe9o1_1280-300x441.jpg machete-kills-character-poster-vergara-300x447.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

first one was sh1te, can't this Grindhouse thing die already? Tarantino and Rodriguez like bad 70's movies,we get it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,886 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

krudler wrote: »
    first one was sh1te. awesome

FYP...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,283 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Ah god damn it,lady gaga better get her gaga out in this one, Steven Seagal made the first one great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭don ramo

Sarxos wrote: »

machete-kills-character-poster-vergara-300x447.jpg

the only reason you need to see this movie:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,200 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Should I know who Marko Zaror is? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭don ramo

Basq wrote: »
    Should I know who Marko Zaror is? :confused:
    all the films youve seen and youve never seen mandrill, for shame:p:p:p:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,200 ✭✭✭✭Basq

I think I've seen a porno called 'Mandrill'..

.. actually, no.. there was a space in the title.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Sarxos wrote: »
    The film is released in the US on September 19th, but no Irish date has been provided yet.
    It's usually about 6 hours after it's realised in the first cinema.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,396 ✭✭✭whomitconcerns

it was a great film the first one! Cant wait!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,535 ✭✭✭Raekwon

If it's anything like the first on then it'll be great fun.

Oh, and it also stars Alexa Vega......sold!

AlexVegaMacheteKills-OnsetPHbig2.jpg&w=442&h=

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Great stuff, cant wait :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Dermighty

Savage!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭Vorrtexx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

lol, "and introducing Carlos Estévez!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 539 ✭✭✭iDann

Lady Gaga will really prove herself in this film I'd say, it should be an awesome film

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

For me Machete could have been brilliant but for its over reliance on CGI,the scene at the end with the motorbike for example looked bloody woeful.

Movies like this are obviously tongue in cheek so treat it like Hobo With a Shotgun,ridiculously OTT gore but with man made effects,fans of this type of movie in general don't care for silly set pieces like I mentioned above.

Hopefully this one will be more practical in its approach.

Necronos wrote: »
    For me Machete could have been brilliant but for its over reliance on CGI,the scene at the end with the motorbike for example looked bloody woeful.
    I thought that was half the appeal, it was supposed to look like a cross over between comic and B-movie. I think it carried that off very well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,076 ✭✭✭✭bnt

Trailer #2:

"We're going to need the Double-Ds ...!"

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Dermighty

Craptastic :D

Went to see a late showing of this last night and while I much preferred Machete Kills to the original that's only because both Mel Gibson and Demian Bichir were obviously having a blast. They managed to make the film watchable though you have to wonder just what Rodriguez was thinking when he cast Charlie Sheen, Antonio Banderas, Walton Goggins, Cuba Gooding Jr., William Sadler and Vanessa Hudgens and then gave them absolutly nothing to do. Goggins and the others were onscreen for such a short period that if you looked away you'd miss them. Lady Gaga who was absolutely terrible got more screen time than the rest combined. Really can't see what the appeal is about her as she's not all that amazing to look at and her acting talent is nonexistent.

Plot-wise it was a hodgepodge of a dozen better films and once again the decision to utilise cheap green screen and CGI that would have been dated in the mid 90s made the whole thing feel like something a few friends cooked up in their garage. That the film cost $20 million is something of a mystery as there's not a hundredth of that onscreen. The far superior, shot in a garage by a few friends Manborg looks a hundred times better than Machete Kills yet was shot for around $1,000. It's rare to find such a poorly made film as Machete Kills getting such a wide release. There's not one area in which you could call it competent and as I said already the only reason to watch is for Gibson and Bichir who realise that they're starring in a piece of crap and as such just have a little fun. It's kind of sad to look at Robert Rodriguez's filmography and realise that the closet thing to an intelligent, adult film from him has been Spy Kids 4.

Plot-wise it was a hodgepodge of a dozen better films and once again the decision to utilise cheap green screen and CGI that would have been dated in the mid 90s made the whole thing feel like something a few friends cooked up in their garage.

thatsthejoke.jpg

ScumLord wrote: »
    thatsthejoke.jpg

Problem is that it's not the least bit funny. I get what Rosriguez wanted to do but he failed miserably. The one thing about the many old grindhouse films that made them what they were was the sheer level of absurdity that ran through them. You never knew what to expect whereas Machete Kills just recreates moments from other better films with no wit or originality. It's somewhat like one of those Not Another films where the filmmakere base all the scenes on trailer snippets. Planet Terror manages to poke a little fun at the genre by bring a few new ideas into the mix but Machete Kills just goes through the motions. It's an Asylum production only it actually looks cheaper than your average Transmorphers or Atlantic Rim

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭snausages

If a movie that's meant to be bad ends up being bad, does that make it good?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

snausages wrote: »

The whole point of "so bad they're good" movies is not setting out to make a crap film in the first place.

snausages wrote: »

If you set out to make a bad film then you've failed. There's this ridicolous recent trend where some talented filmmakere have made utter crap as some homage to the trashy films we grew up on. Now I'm all for a good bad film but the reason something like Plan 9 From Outer Space is so much fun is because its evident that everyone involved gave it their all. They set out to make a good film but somewhere along the way it went wrong. There's a charm to the film that you can't capture by deliberately making it bad. Sharknado is a great recent example of a film made to be bad that's just bad and completely charmless. Older Sci-fi originals such as Boa vs. Python are a lot of fun because they're ridicolous set ups that are played straight. Those behind it set out to make a fun film and succeeded whereas Sharknado just feels like some by the numbers marketing initive to drum up as much headlines as possible. It's just not fun in any way and is really rather boring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,014 ✭✭✭✭Corholio

If you set out to make a bad film then you've failed. There's this ridicolous recent trend where some talented filmmakere have made utter crap as some homage to the trashy films we grew up on. Now I'm all for a good bad film but the reason something like Plan 9 From Outer Space is so much fun is because its evident that everyone involved gave it their all. They set out to make a good film but somewhere along the way it went wrong. There's a charm to the film that you can't capture by deliberately making it bad. Sharknado is a great recent example of a film made to be bad that's just bad and completely charmless. Older Sci-fi originals such as Boa vs. Python are a lot of fun because they're ridicolous set ups that are played straight. Those behind it set out to make a fun film and succeeded whereas Sharknado just feels like some by the numbers marketing initive to drum up as much headlines as possible. It's just not fun in any way and is really rather boring.

Agree completely.

I hate this trend of films that are made bad, bad to watch and still get labelled as somewhat good. Wasn't a fan of Machete at all. It felt like the fun is forced on you in a terribly made way. It reminds me of the Family Guy scene with the guy showing the stranger the pictures of his family and slapping him in the face with his wallet

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,019 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

The Grindhouse thing was a bit of an 'oh, I get it' joke back in 2007, was pretty much immediately time to move on. Tarantino mostly got it out of his system, but Rodriquez is, almost seven years later, just riffing on a joke that wasn't particularly interesting in the first place. There's so many layers of irony going on it has just turned into a self-aware self-parody that isn't in the slightest bit aware of just how limp the whole 'bad on purpose' schtick is. Rodriquez has had a dreadful career since his early days, the odd decent flick like Sin City almost accidental.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,029 ✭✭✭salacious crumb

Saw this on Saturday, I along with the rest of the cinema laughed our asses off the whole way through. Can't wait for the next one.

Leave your brain at the door, obviously ;)

Oh, and if you happen to have an old pair of red/green 3D glasses, bring 'em along. I wish I had :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,014 ✭✭✭✭Corholio

This has been a huge bomb in the US. Only took in $3.8 million on opening weekend. One of the worse openings ever for such a wide release (2500 cinemas)

To compare, Runner Runner, which has been out for weeks, took in $3.7 million last weekend.

I certainly won't lose any sleep on this being a huge flop.

Actually I think in one scene
    Sofia Vargera calls Vanessa Hudgens "Vanessa", don't know if it was on purpose though, kinda like Luke Skywalker calling Princess Leia Carrie after he blew up the Death Star

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 895 ✭✭✭crybaby

Saw the trailer for this, it looked beyond bad can't believe it actually got a cinema release

That's the whole point of it....

Problem is that it's not the least bit funny.
    I'll have to wait and see but as long as it's along the lines of the first one I should like it.
    Sharknado is a great recent example of a film made to be bad that's just bad and completely charmless. Older Sci-fi originals such as Boa vs. Python are a lot of fun because they're ridicolous set ups that are played straight.
    Sci-fi are the masters of nonsense now. The fact is though they produce a massive amount of these films with the intention of mimicking the success of Mega shark vs.. Was it a giant octopus?? They produce so many that one eventually gets it right and becomes a bit of a cult classic. Although they've pretty much killed the style by overdoing it. Maybe Machete has just came a day late to the party.

ScumLord wrote: »
    Sci-fi are the masters of nonsense now. The fact is though they produce a massive amount of these films with the intention of mimicking the success of Mega shark vs.. Was it a giant octopus?? They produce so many that one eventually gets it right and becomes a bit of a cult classic. Although they've pretty much killed the style by overdoing it. Maybe Machete has just came a day late to the party.

It's not the syfy channel who are churning out all those Megacreature films but rather the Asylum who then sell them on to the syfy channel. The first few were fun given how bad they were but with Sharknado it went from being bad but fun to being deliberately bad to try and appeal to ironic hipster audiences. By doing so they just sucked all the fun out of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

just back from this now.

i had a BLAST.

I didnt like grindhouse and i didnt go to see the first one of these but there was sod all else out i fancied and the trailer made me think of the ol snake plisken/ john carpenter films from way back when and thats exactly what i got in this.

pure ridiculous over the top action with a great vein of dark humour running through it. i was a bit worried it'd be too gory but its grand. a sorta trashy comicbook action flim and the violence fits that level of fantasy.

my only problem with it was it a tad too long. not much but if it was tightened up abit it wouldve been a perfect late night film to see with your mates after having a few beers in the pub.

as it is though its still very entertaining in a silly way, which is kind of the point of it, and all involved seem to be having a great time. theres lots of nods of the heads to other films and franchies out there and all in all i'd recomend it as a blokes filim. even the "trailer" at the begining for the sequel was fun.

i DO feel kinda dirty when i realised that the girl from spykids is in this all grown up . mother of god she's hot as one of the gun weilding hookers.

7/10 one for the lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,566 ✭✭✭GrumPy

Leave your brain at the door, and you'll really love it.

Great fun!

GrumPy wrote: »
    Leave your brain at the door, and you'll really love it.

Great fun!
    I don't need to go through risky surgery, I have drugs for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭Warper

First off i liked Machete, thought it was brilliant.

Saw this last night and it was anything but. This is trying too hard to be "bad" that it just comes across as that, bad. Really not much to like about this at all. Poor ol Machete is even starting to look bored and tired of all his one word replies. Throw in Lady Gaga, Charlie Sheen et al and bang it all together sure its gotta work - not. A lame lazy and quite honest stupid film.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,126 ✭✭✭Psychedelic

I was planning on going to the local Odeon today for this but it appears they have dropped the film from all their cinemas after only a week! What's the story with that?

I assume it has something to do with the fact that Machete is a critical and commercial flop and people are staying away in their droves. I know that there were three people at the screening I attended and that on more than one occasion during the week the film played to just one person, if even that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

I think it's a shame about the plot because the all the grindhouse films together would have made for a great box set.
    If they had gone ahead with them all that is.

Had a few hours to kill earlier so I threw on Bounty Killer, a low budget post apocalyptic action film which looked a lot like Borderlands the film from the trailers. Have to say that it blew me away and it may very well be one of the years best releases. An old school, post apocalyptic action film that manages to capture the look and feel of late 70s and 80s action while at the same time showing up films such as Machete and Machete Kills for the poorly made crap that they are.

Bounty Killer was obviously made on a tiny budget but it never shows. The set pieces, including a stagecoach shoot out, put everything in Machete Kills and most blockbusters to shame. Every single cent is on screen and the inventiveness on display keeps everything looking and feeling fresh. Whereas Machete Kills tried so desperately to pay homage to genre classics by pretty much lifting entire scenes the filmmakers here do their own thing and it pays off. Sure you can feel the influences but it never feels like it's there simply to wink at the audience.

There's a hell of a lot of better films out there but for a little easy to watch time killer Bounty Hunter is well worth seeking out. It's a bloody, fun filled, romp with some brains and a simple desire to entertain and it's far more deserving of a wide theatrical release than Machete Kills.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 721 ✭✭✭Pixelbastardo

First one was a masterpiece, cant wait for this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

It was not bad, but a little all over the place as far as characters went, I do feel it had the potential to be better but thrash is thrash. Need more violence and nudity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

Only gotten around to seeing this now and I'm disappointed in myself because I loved the first one (grindhouse in general).
    It is what it is but it was the most fun I had watching a movie in a long time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭charlie_says

Fun for the first half, but became just too samey afterwards. Yawnfest.

Violence like anything becomes monotonous if shown repeatedly.

Never saw the first movie, better than this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,928 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

Seen the first one. Loved it.
    Seen 30mins of this, turned it off.
    Sequels. Bah.