Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

No hot water after Small DIY job?

• 05-03-2013 9:32am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,013 ✭✭✭✭

Any help greatly appreciated lads, fitted a new kitchen worktop with a lad that was recommened to me. In order to take out the sink he went up stairs and turned off all the valves and closed the levers in the hot press. All was grand until the rads would not work and toilets would not flush after job was finished.

I have 3 red wheel valves, one on each pipe coming into the tank (2) and one at the tank connected to it and one lever across from that.

My problem is this, I have got as far as I can have all the rads on fine with no hot water or hot water and some of the rads not working by trail and error opening the valves.

Really dont want to call a plumber for what I think is a simple fix but just cant nail it

Any taughts???? :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,097 ✭✭✭Dtp79

Wonda-Boy wrote: »
    Any help greatly appreciated lads, fitted a new kitchen worktop with a lad that was recommened to me. In order to take out the sink he went up stairs and turned off all the valves and closed the levers in the hot press. All was grand until the rads would not work and toilets would not flush after job was finished.

I have 3 red wheel valves, one on each pipe coming into the tank (2) and one at the tank connected to it and one lever across from that.

My problem is this, I have got as far as I can have all the rads on fine with no hot water or hot water and some of the rads not working by trail and error opening the valves.

Really dont want to call a plumber for what I think is a simple fix but just cant nail it

Any taughts???? :(
    Is there a wheel valve on the bottom of your cyclinder on the coil? If your not sure post pics

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,013 ✭✭✭✭Wonda-Boy

Yeah, there is one wheel valve about an inch from the tank on that pipe. All the valves 3 in total are OPEN and the lever is in line with the pipe vertically so I am assuming that it is open.

The setup is pure gas boiler that heats my water and the rads...no other equipment is involved. The thermostat is on the boiler to control the heat settings up and down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,257 ✭✭✭Pete67

Fully close the valve on the coil return, and then open it about 1/2 to 3/4 turn. If it is fully open almost all circulation from the boiler goes through the coil (path of least resistance) and none to the radiators. If it is fully closed no flow goes to the coil and you get no hot water. It's called a balancing valve for this reason - you need to balance the flow to get circulation to both radiators and hot water cylinder.

Pete67 wrote: »
    Fully close the valve on the coil return, and then open it about 1/2 to 3/4 turn. If it is fully open almost all circulation from the boiler goes through the coil (path of least resistance) and none to the radiators. If it is fully closed no flow goes to the coil and you get no hot water. It's called a balancing valve for this reason - you need to balance the flow to get circulation to both radiators and hot water cylinder.

Lovely stuff, I will try that tomorrow 1st thing. Sorry for the late replay I was painting the house all day.

Many thanx for the reply.

@Pete67

Worked a treat!

Thanx a million, I did not know that was a balancing valve TBH. Learn something everyday......

Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,257 ✭✭✭Pete67

No problem, glad it worked out.