Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

.243 rifle

• 04-03-2013 8:38pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 133 ✭✭

I'm considering getting a new rifle. Was looking at a marlin xs7 in .243 for foxes but with the intention on getting into stalking for the next season. Would I have much trouble in getting the licence? I already have a .17hmr which I intend on keeping.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭One shot on kill

Once you have land you should be ok I'm in the exact same boat as yourself. I was gonna look at the ruger American in 243 for 595 its good value.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 133 ✭✭Sean Mullen

Once you have land you should be ok I'm in the exact same boat as yourself. I was gonna look at the ruger American in 243 for 595 its good value.
    Where abouts did you get that price, I was going with the marlin because of the price and my 17 is a marlin and no problems with it.

I got it in thurlus there today I'm fairly sure that's what it was anyway. Talagh rod and gun hand a savage up there for 700 and there was a deal of scope gun sling and slip for 999. What price was the marlin.

It is 507 new, from duffys in Galway but I looked on guntrader.ie and its there for around 480 I think

That's not bad infairness. Are they any good.

Look I suppose we can always spend thousands but I'm trying to get into it for the first year this year so obviously don't /can't spend big money till I know I'm going to stick it and see if its for me. Ye know yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,759 ✭✭✭cookimonster

I have the Xs7 and the mate has the Savage Axis, both are entry level guns that shoot well out of the box.
    Regarding the price, some of the rifles are priced cheeper as they don't come with rails, the Xs7 was dearer than Axis but it came with a Picatanny Rail.
    I've taken deer and fox with mine todate along side more expensive guns, no problems.
    By the way I got my gun licence issued for foxs without the need for a deer licence, got that at a later date.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭.james1984

no bother gettin licence for it but you will need a stalking permit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭deano2882

hav marlin .22magnum meself was on lookout for .243 for same reason foxes and looking to get into stalking also but wanna keep shotgun and magnum im in gun club and have land/permissions outside gun club also to shoot so hopefully shouldn b a bother or wil it??.mite swing into duffys tomor for a look at tht if nice mite get hm order one 4 me n get show on da road wiv it???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭.james1984

you will need a stalking permit b4 they will licence a 243. reguardless of being in a gun club or anything else

• Closed Accounts Posts: 649 ✭✭✭steyrman2

.james1984 wrote: »
    you will need a stalking permit b4 they will licence a 243. reguardless of being in a gun club or anything else

Hi your wrong on the above post it all depends on your superintendent 2 lads i shoot with dont have a stalking permits for there .243s the have them for fox shooting .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,279 ✭✭✭4200fps

You don't really. I got mine without a deer licence. If you have good reason for one you should get it. Foxs is not a good reason. As styerman said its all down to the super too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 671 ✭✭✭Feidhlim Dignan

i know the ruger and marlin a nice rifles for the price, i handled them both a few weeks ago in duffys. but for the same price you could pick up a use CZ or maybe a older mauser or styre for the same price and there a much nicer rifle. built o work and last, the CZ can shoot too i got mine for 600 with t8 rings and sling and it 3/4 inch at 100m. just a thought

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 Player32

I have an old Steyr from my dad in that calibre, still works perfekt!

The regulations in Ireland are even more stupid, than in Austria :D

i know the ruger and marlin a nice rifles for the price, i handled them both a few weeks ago in duffys. but for the same price you could pick up a use CZ or maybe a older mauser or styre for the same price and there a much nicer rifle. built o work and last, the CZ can shoot too i got mine for 600 with t8 rings and sling and it 3/4 inch at 100m. just a thought

Your prob right but ive been ringing around there some 243's out there but not really for that money I seen a cz for 350 but the guy told me he I one sentence.

It's a good gun but I haven't checked the barrel. There is a few marks on the stock noting to be worried about. It's only in it might look rough but its a good gun. Ill check the barrel and ring you back.

I wasn't blow away with confidence like. Maybe for that money going new at least you know what your getting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 Player32

The CZ is a very good gun, for a cheap price. I would try it, cause I don't fancy the trigger. With a trigger tuning and fitting scope, a very good choice for starting!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,759 ✭✭✭cookimonster

Nope, see post number 7, as said its down to the Super.

super here not bad he dnt lik silencers n can b bit slow but after tht he grand enough...it majority vote towards not needing a stalking permit so headin galway today gonna hav a look in duffys and corrib and see and get show on road if i like wat i see...all he can say is no ya need permit and go for it then worth a try wiv out permit just to see wat happens....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,008 ✭✭✭TriggerPL

Not true u will get .243 licence if you can show gud reason for it . Just easier if ya get a deer permit

It is 507 new, from duffys in Galway but I looked on guntrader.ie and its there for around 480 I think

got mine on order from barron sports in ennis for e480...i buy all my guns off him as he suits me to run down in evenings when every where else shut... he is a gun smith so any problems and he.ll sort em....
    and i have .22mag in marlin and never had to re zero or any problems since i got it... so tht why i goin wit xs7...

I haven seen or held the xs7 yet held the ruger last week good fit and very pointable. It has a tasty safety aswell. Does he have an xs7 there told hold.

i seen and held it in duffys..but got it cheaper wit gary and always buy guns off him...he has a marlin in .308 to give u fair idea of wat it.ll be like and that...

I ended up getting the marlin x7 in .223, great wee gun. Very good trigger on it. Very comfortable to shoot. Picked it up last Saturday and it shoots half inch groups at 100 yards easily.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 257 ✭✭Ghost.

I ended up getting the marlin x7 in .223, great wee gun. Very good trigger on it. Very comfortable to shoot. Picked it up last Saturday and it shoots half inch groups at 100 yards easily.
    1/2" groups @100 yards:eek: Thats very impressive for the price. A friend of mine is picking one up in .308, he reckons he likes the fit and feel of it too. I cant wait to see if its that accurate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

You'll have to get something else now if you want to stalk deer is the only problem.

That's not a problem, it gives me a reason to tell the woman I need a new gun hahaha

100 yards zeroing after adjusting trigger. Squares are 1" shoot and see targets

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 257 ✭✭Ghost.

That's a great group from such a cheap rifle. If it does that consistently you are onto a winner. What ammo were you using?

Ghost. wrote: »
    That's a great group from such a cheap rifle. If it does that consistently you are onto a winner. What ammo were you using?

Remmys umc hollow point 45grain. Let's hope with good care it will keep it up. Excellent wee gun for the money.