Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Giving the bookies clerk a tip?

• 04-03-2013 4:49pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,494 ✭✭✭

Do any of ye give a small tip to the clerk in your local bookies?
    I usually do if I have a reasonable win and some fellas think I'm mad.:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,451 ✭✭✭Overthelast

Have done on a few occassions when clicking a large double/trixie or treble. Unfortunately, its been a while since tipping was the problem :D. Usually would lob the teller €20 or something. They politely refuse (indicating it may be rare they get tipped). I walk out & leave the cash with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Nope and I probably wouldn't. Lose enough money as it is without giving it away.:pac:

I frequent one bookies shop mainly, gave each of the full timers a card the last two Christmas' with €20 in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

Thinly veiled im winning loadsa money thread :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

Of course given I had won a reasonable sum. The way I see it, it's not an easy job (takes a lot to get someone barred so often they have to just sit there and take abuse from clowns), so it's nice to show them that they are appreciated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,494 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

Slattsy wrote: »
    Thinly veiled im winning loadsa money thread :D

Even more thinly veiled, I get great info in return!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭bobo the clown

I used to work in a bookies while studying in Scotland. I would get tips most days I worked. There was one guy in particular. He obviously had no concept of money. Eg. He would put £800 pounds into a machine and collect £750. Then give me £20 out of his winnings. Practically paid for my night out though so wasn't complaining.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,132 ✭✭✭SRFC

Do they give you a few quid when you do your brains in the shop one day and get cleaned out? No so why would you give them money its they're job ffs suppose ye all tip the bus driver aswell :rolleyes: I wouldnt give them the steam of my urine unless they regularly done me favours with bet quieries and went beyond they're job description and out of they're way other than that I wouldnt tip them a cent few of them are known to under pay and help themselves to a nice tip from time to time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭ste2010

I used to work in a bookies while studying in Scotland. I would get tips most days I worked. There was one guy in particular. He obviously had no concept of money. Eg. He would put £800 pounds into a machine and collect £750. Then give me £20 out of his winnings. Practically paid for my night out though so wasn't complaining.
    Sounds like money laundering to me..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭ste2010

SRFC wrote: »
    Do they give you a few quid when you do your brains in the shop one day and get cleaned out? No so why would you give them money its they're job ffs suppose ye all tip the bus driver aswell :rolleyes: I wouldnt give them the steam of my urine unless they regularly done me favours with bet quieries and went beyond they're job description and out of they're way other than that I wouldnt tip them a cent few of them are known to under pay and help themselves to a nice tip from time to time.
    I was dying to see what you wrote when I seem you last commented on this and I'm not surprised by what I'm reading :D
    I just ride the life out of the girls behind the desk. They prefer that than getting a tip

ste2010 wrote: »
    I was dying to see what you wrote when I seem you last commented on this and I'm not surprised by what I'm reading :D
    I just ride the life out of the girls behind the desk. They prefer that than getting a tip

:D You must be lucky having decent looking girls behind the counter the local manager in mine wouldnt look out of place in a morgue :pac:

Been short changed and not allowed a bet on when 2 seconds late so dont give them a cent as a rule,I collected a a bigish bet in cash out of boyles in Finglas last month and I waited until they handed me the money and counted it to the last penny to be sure,they think when its a bundle you wont notice :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 974 ✭✭✭decky1

have a daughter work'in in a bookies it just gives them a bit of a boost if someone is kind enough to to tip them makes them feel good same as a waitress of anyone providing a service----it's not a big pay'in job with lots of abuse at times---as for yer man 'SRFC' i'm sure they would'nt use theirs [urine] if you were on fire --'big man'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,289 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

You are such a nice person.

You lads must be cleaning up punting being able to throw profits away to complete strangers :rolleyes: I'd rather donate money if that was the case to a charity I support these people have jobs they're not charity cases they dont save live lads ffs they sit in front of a computer all day ffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,624 ✭✭✭bassy

You lads must be cleaning up punting being able to throw profits away to complete strangers :rolleyes: I'd rather donate money if that was the case to a charity I support these people have jobs they're not charity cases they dont save live lads ffs they sit in front of a computer all day ffs.

Well said lad,there must be no resession?.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 698 ✭✭✭lorenzo87

They get paid to take your bets. I don't see them handing you out free bets whenever they get a chance. They'd sooner get a flong up the hole than 20 quid off me.

bassy wrote: »
    Well said lad,there must be no resession?.

The boys on here must be collecting thousands daily to be throwing money back over the counter :pac: Its not often I get a decent bet up so ill be damned if im giving some of the returns back to someone,especially as some not all think its they're own money they're paying you out with judging by the attitudes.

Having a bookies clerk 'onside' is worth more to me than a thousand 'tips' or 'fancies' that I will get here or anywhere else. I also don't have to go to the bother of calculating my winnings before I hand in my docket to collect in case they shortchange me.(And IMHO , getting shortchanged in winnings is a serious problem in a lot of shops)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭faoile@n

So you tip them so they don't rob some of your winnings :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,666 ✭✭✭Howjoe1

faoile@n wrote: »

Maybe not so strange. I tip a bloke to make sure my car is still there when i come out of croke park.

Howjoe1 wrote: »
    Maybe not so strange. I tip a bloke to make sure my car is still there when i come out of croke park.

Them kids dont actually mind your car,Id bet 1.01 if someone was robbing it they would do jack sh*t to stop them save yer money next time.

faoile@n wrote: »

If I'm collecting a winning lucky15 or patent at a bookies where I'm not a regular I will always do the calculation beforehand.I would say that they try to leave me :cool: short by about 5 or 10% very often.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 974 ✭✭✭decky1

shortchange--- shortchange what happens if they give you too much? do you give it back? if they do this it comes out of their pockets and a big fuss from head office. lots of scams to fool staff-- have to be on their toes all the time,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭Gringo180

Ive noticed that myself when ive went to collect a lucky 15 that half of the time they leave me short a few quid, chancers.

They also get to collect any ''sleepers'' after so much time of not being collected so theres a tip in itself,I know a lad he was in the bookies one day losing his bolx was down about 700,bet after bet lost he finally backed a winner and got it all back and when he went to collect it the young lad said its late,he said if thats late then all my losers were late as the bets were going on just on the off,he picked up every docket and got his money back chancers a lot of them staff are,

I've also seen them taking bets of an aul millionaire in the local bookies and he wouldnt put the enhanced odds on so they pocket the extra enhancement off the bet because the owl fella doesnt be watching the screen for enhancements.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 345 ✭✭Me_Grapes

They also get to collect any ''sleepers'' after so much time of not being collected so theres a tip in itself

Bullsh!t.

Me_Grapes wrote: »
    Bullsh!t.

How is it Bs please? so they dont collect bets which havent been paid out?

Or refund themselves any late losing bets that the punter hasnt a clue were late?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 345 ✭✭Me_Grapes

How is it Bs please? so they dont collect bets which havent been paid out?

Or refund themselves any late losing bets that the punter hasnt a clue were late?

Sleepers that haven't been claimed go back to the company. They are certainly not, at least in my experience of working in a bookies, ever pocketed by the clerk. Maybe I'm being naive but I certainly have never seen anything like that happen.

*edit

I'm a punter as well though, and I hate the notion of tipping as a general rule, so I actually agree with your points in regards to tipping the staff. I always feel guilty when a punter leaves a tip behind for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

Gringo180 wrote: »
    Ive noticed that myself when ive went to collect a lucky 15 that half of the time they leave me short a few quid, chancers.

They are not trying to shortchange anyone intentionally. Often it comes down to "human error" when inputting someone's bet into the system e.g. you took 4/1 on a horse that won at 2/1, but the clerk made the mistake of not inputting 4/1 into the system for your bet.

Seriously, someone's not going to risk losing their job for the sake of a couple of euro.

They are not trying to shortchange anyone intentionally. Often it comes down to "human error" when inputting someone's bet into the system e.g. you took 4/1 on a horse that won at 2/1, but the clerk made the mistake of not inputting 4/1 into the system for your bet.

Seriously, someone's not going to risk losing their job for the sake of a couple of euro.

Then how come I felt the returns weren't quite right from one particular clerk
    and since I casually, in a nice way, mentioned that I thought they should be greater--they have been bang on ever since!