Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Modified car = Pulled over more often?

• 04-03-2013 1:16pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭

Title says it all really.

Do you find that driving a modified car gets you pulled over more often, or that at a checkpoint you get a stricter check than cars that aren't modified?

I know that ''modified'' is pretty vague and general, but you get the gist of it.

So from experiences or opinions, what do ye think? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

In my opinion, the dickhead minority within the modified car scene spoils it for everyone and so you all end up being treated with a level of suspicion by the gardai.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

No, i think once you're driving correctly, you're left alone. i'm sure the gardai can spot a mile off a dodgy car, or a dodgy driver for whatever reason. once you're confident and your car is legit in my opinion you're hassle free.

I'm always driving some sort of boy racer ****heap and i cover a fair mileage and the last (and only time really) i've been pulled in was when i had done something wrong.

driving a glanza, probably one of the most prejudiced cars in the country the last year and never had a word said to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,106 ✭✭✭dar83

Not been pulled over once, apart from 3 days after I'd gotten the car when I had no tax yet and it came up on their NPR as they were sitting behind me at a set of lights...

As said above, unless you're driving something that draws attention to it in normal driving conditions (i'm looking at you Buddyclub Honda crew :P ), or else driving slightly dodgily, you should be fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

no, never and I have a loud enough exhaust on my white FTO, but every time I see blue lights in the background I think 'here we go' but they always pass me by.

There was one time last week I was almost home and a Garda car followed me for a while, At the time I could only see its headlights and I thought it was a boy racer messing so stopped to let him pass me but they stopped also, then I pulled into my garden and could see it was a Garda car, they just drove off after that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭JimmyCrackCorn

My record was 4 times in 3 days. It was more likely the car was different at the time and they had never seen one.

Once your polite mannerly and don't have a chip on your shoulder iv never had any issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭eg6 vtec

in the 12 or so years I'm on the road i think i have being pulled only a hand full of times, if you drive like a twat you have it coming to you i tend to drive like a granny (so I'm told) when on my normal commute to and from work maybe on my weekend trips to carlow i will open it up on the motor way often passing Garda cars and i have never had a problem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

If you've got a loud exhaust expect to get pulled or singled out at a checkpoint.

Stereotypes exist for a reason so I can't say I blame the Gardai but at the same time you can get some serious plonkers in 'sensible' cars that act like 14 year olds on the road but have been driving for 20+ years.

If you act like a twat, don't expect the Garda to be kind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭ljpg

was working night shift with a company back in 2010 for a year,i'd be travelling home at all hours,anywhere between 2 and 6 in the morning,was driving a mitsubishi evo at the time,got the blue flashing lights around 30 to 40 times that year,got to the stage where if i met a cop coming the opposite way in a town i'd just pull in as i knew i'd be pulled anyways,always the same question "where are ya going to at this time",everything was up to date on the car so never was done for anything!!!!i was also tailgated out of a town i use to go through every night,followed me for about 5 miles at 80kmph sitting 3 inches from me back bumper,when they finally overtook me it was a traffic core car with 4 cops in it gawping out the window at me,shower of pricks!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 Shaunie306

I only had an issue in my MK2 golf GTI because it had a silly loud exhaust when I first bought it, Currently driving a low enough E39 530d with either no front plate or a small bike one because the front is flush after buying a new bumper and never have an issue, Then again I dont drive like a plonker and you wont find me doing 'laps' of the town like the Honda now TDI golf brigade with there annoying BOOO exhausts, What a load of spanners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 JohnC83

I have no problem with the cops but they do pull modified cars over more than regular cars. Modified cars have a bad name associated with them and due to a small minority they always will. Once your cars is properly taxed, insured and nct'd then so what if you get pulled over. I used to get pulled over a bit in my Skyline but its not like it was everytime I drove. Once you are polite and have everything in order they will send you on your way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭michealkirwan

i had a gt turbo for a long time and got stopped once once at a checkpoint they are just curious to what it is, mine stood out a little but was grand. have a skyline r33 now and they dont look at it either never get stopped

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,565 ✭✭✭✭Tallon

I've been pulled over a couple of times, and been apologised to be the Gardaí, presumably on account that I don't look like a scumbag

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭focus_mad

Found that I got pulled quite a lot in the GTi that I had (In fairness I did have orange alloys!!!!)

But I used to get the whole 'do you work?', 'where do you work?'. Had a tool kit in the car for work one day when I got stopped and was quizzed over why I had stanley blades in the tool kit.

Seems that some garda have fuk all to really be at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,549 ✭✭✭Titzon Toast

I've literally just bought a Celica yesterday morning and I'm definitely expecting some Garda attention in it soon enough. It's been slightly and fairly tastefully altered on the outside to make it a look a bit more moody by it's previous owner.

I've no doubt that it will raise the odd eyebrow of a keen eyed young bucko in blue some day. I'm in my thirties with all the correct bits of paper in the window but that won't stop them.
    I'll just have to be very careful about where and when I decide to put my foot down! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,565 ✭✭✭✭Tallon

Any photos?

lol. I've literally just posted two pictures in the thread for them here.
    I've just joined up here after hearing so much about the place from my pal. It's a great spot isn't it?!

I'm trying to get the Forza Motorsport thread back to life too. I'm a Forza addict...:D

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

I never get pulled over, which is sadly a definitive sign I've joined the ranks of the old farts. When blokes around 20 ask "is that your car mister. Cool", I'm thinking yay at the cool part, but it's the "mister" that kills it, so I reckon better measure myself up for a souped up, low slung and stanced hearse. With Tein barely street coilovers and ICE :D

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

I'll never forget the first time some kid called me "mister" either. I think I gave him both barrels over it too!

Like that, I'd like to think that being older might actually start to work in my favour for once. lol.