Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tourism Ireland wanted Buckingham Palace lit green for Paddys day

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,630 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

I'm not going to wash for the next 2 weeks and turn my man sausage green. Hopefully RTE will air it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,091 ✭✭✭Antar Bolaeisk

Ava_e wrote: »

Not really since there's going to be a lot of international landmarks lit up green on the day.

There was no harm in asking, worst she could say was no, which she did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Quango gobsh1tes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 241 ✭✭Ava_e

Not really since there's going to be a lot of international landmarks lit up green on the day.

There was no harm in asking, worst she could say was no, which she did.

Maybe, but she doesn't light it up in different colours for national holidays even within her own country e.g. St Andrews day, St Davids Day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

did they send letters to the queen of holland and the king of spain too? both of them mean as much to Ireland as the other foreign monarch

Might have sent a letter to the King of Spain as they're lighting up the Tower of Hercules in Galicia in Spain.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Would we be happy to see the Cross of St George emblazoned on Aras an Úchtarain on the 23rd of April?

It was a daft request.

But then almost everything that surrounds St Patrick's Day repulses me.

Ava_e wrote: »
    Maybe, but she doesn't light it up in different colours for national holidays even within her own country e.g. St Andrews day, St Davids Day.

Buckingham Palace was really too big a request, they probably should have tried something smaller or another London icon not directly related to the royalty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,180 ✭✭✭hfallada

It's a bit tacky lighting a royal palace up with green lights for st Patrick's. You can see why she would say no. It's different for a bank or a statue but it's someone's home

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,237 ✭✭✭ceegee

Should have asked for Belfast city hall to be lit up. Would be worth it just to see Frazers reaction

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭GalwayGuy2

Buckingham Palace was really too big a request, they probably should have tried something smaller or another London icon not directly related to the royalty.

Isn't the river Thames already green? :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 241 ✭✭Ava_e

Yep, they lit up the London Eye green.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,050 ✭✭✭token101

Quango gobsh1tes

They're essentially a marketing company and they're doing their job fairly well if they've managed to get lots of world landmarks lit up for the day. I think it's a really good idea to market a tourism firm in every corner of the world where there will a ****load of tourists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭Maire2009

They still got a bit of publicity out of it so main aim achieved.

Okay so Paddy's Day is tacky and exploited but so what? The tourists lap it up and the tourism board are right to go to town on it. Same as Arthur's Day - whoever came up with that is a marketing genius.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

The queen is probably a bit green around the gills herself.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 862 ✭✭✭Grand Moff Tarkin

Why should she be expected to turn her show house green for a p**s up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,156 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

How could they.... After the 800 years she oppressed us?

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

This should be posted in the Hibernophobia thread :pac:

Nah not really. Was a pretty silly request to make imo. Does anyone really believe that shining a green light on a few buildings for one day of the year has any impact on tourism numbers here? ffs

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 862 ✭✭✭Grand Moff Tarkin

How could they.... After the 800 years she oppressed us?
    To judge how we have managed things on our own for the eighty odd years you would not be far wrong in saying the English saved us from ourselves for eight hundred years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

To judge how we have managed things on our own for the eighty odd years you would not be far wrong in saying the English saved us from ourselves for eight hundred years.

Yeah, the famine in the 60s that killed over a million of us showed we really are our own worst enemies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Ruudi_Mentari

The place tends to be 'lit up' with all manner of tacky events so why not put a light on, return the gesture. What was truly cringe was what we has to play host to when yer wan had a visit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Maire2009 wrote: »
    They still got a bit of publicity out of it so main aim achieved.

Okay so Paddy's Day is tacky and exploited but so what? The tourists lap it up and the tourism board are right to go to town on it. Same as Arthur's Day - whoever came up with that is a marketing genius.

This.

It was never going to happen really but somehow we find ourselves talking about it. I'd imagine there are people in London talking about it too and considering spending a bit of money on a holiday here or on buying one or two bits of Irish goods.

Win win for the price of a stamp.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭ITS_A_BADGER

They could have asked to light up Big Ben instead of her gaff

No consideration of how merely swapping out a few exterior bulbs for the evening might be percieved as a massive step? On a par with her own recent trip, over here.. means nothng, yet means the world

A simple return gesture your 'grace'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,678 ✭✭✭Crooked Jack

Lit green? Nah, a bit cringey. id like to see it just plain lit though :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 646 ✭✭✭mccarthy37

Do they want poor auld Willie Frazier to blow a gasket completely.

request that she spew us some projectile green for paddies day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Einhard wrote: »
    Yeah, the famine in the 60s that killed over a million of us showed we really are our own worst enemies.

To be fair during the potato famine, the english parliment passed plenty of laws for public works etc. It was the feckers who were in the country who were bastards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,227 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

did they send letters to the queen of holland and the king of spain too? both of them mean as much to some Irish people as the other foreign monarch

fyp :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

This should be posted in the Hibernophobia thread :pac:

Nah not really. Was a pretty silly request to make imo. Does anyone really believe that shining a green light on a few buildings for one day of the year has any impact on tourism numbers here? ffs

Yes it does. It boost the international profile of the country. You have to be aware of the place before you seek to visit it.

Every other small nation is envious of the attention Ireland gets on St Patricks day. How many other small countries get a face to face meeting with the US president on an annual basis?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 132 ✭✭BigGrayKettle

I'm sure most people with any knowledge of consumer insights and influences would say yes, yes it would have an impact on tourism numbers here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I'm sure most people with any knowledge of consumer insights and influences would say yes, yes it would have an impact on tourism numbers here.

Show me the evidence so. Visitor numbers from the UK actually dropped following the Queen's visit... despite how people believed the opposite would be true.

And I'm not doubting that St. Patrick's Day is important for Ireland.. I just think it's silly and a little desperate to be asking foreign governments and monarchies to 'paint' their building green on the day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 132 ✭✭BigGrayKettle

Show me the evidence so. Visitor numbers from the UK actually dropped following the Queen's visit... despite how people believed the opposite would be true.

There was a report published into the UK situation recently. Primary reason for a decrease in inbound figures is down to a highly depressed domestic economy in the UK, and an off-spin of this, a shift in holiday destination trends in the UK. I'm not going to go posting links to the plethora of academic literature relating to brand recognition and awareness when making a purchase decision, such as holiday destination to serve as evidence.

I can't imagine the cost involved is very significant so it can't be anything but positive I'd think. I remember last year seeing good coverage in the foreign press on it which in a way is low cost advertising for the country!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,227 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Yes it does. It boost the international profile of the country. You have to be aware of the place before you seek to visit it.

Every other small nation is envious of the attention Ireland gets on St Patricks day. How many other small countries get a face to face meeting with the US president on an annual basis?

.. and then you become aware of the costs involved, before deciding to go somewhere else for an awful lot less.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,388 ✭✭✭markpb

ejmaztec wrote: »
    .. and then you become aware of the costs involved, before deciding to go somewhere else for an awful lot less.

Ireland is nowhere near as expensive as it used to be. Hotel and restaurant prices have fallen dramatically.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

ejmaztec wrote: »

Or you want to go but your grannies cat has kittens and you have to stay at home to look after them.

You totally missed the point, most people who think of Ireland as a holiday destination won't come here for some reason or another. The lighting of monuments in green is to get people thinking of Ireland as a destination, things like cost are important but secondary.

It wouldn't matter how cheap you are as a destination if nobody has heard of you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭Wattle

We could have requested Sellafield but that's probably glowing green already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭Henlars67

I don't get why anyone celebrates St Patrick's Day.

St Patrick brought the catholic church to Ireland and we all know how that turned out.

Nothing to celebrate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,676 ✭✭✭AllGunsBlazing

Henlars67 wrote: »
    I don't get why anyone celebrates St Patrick's Day.

St Patrick brought the catholic church to Ireland and we all know how that turned out.

Nothing to celebrate.

Christmas day must be even worse for you. I mean that was the day that the bloke who inspired the creation of the church itself was born. And we all know how that turned out.....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭gallag

London lit the tower and the eye green on request, not good enough?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,284 ✭✭✭StewartGriffin

How many other small countries get a face to face meeting with the US president on an annual basis?

Heartwarming!
    Disney Heaven.
    The small fry and the big cheese!
    How many Small countries get to meet the US PRESIDENT, not just kissing his ass, but Face 2 Face?
    This small minded, "Yes Sorr" attitude makes me sick.