Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Former politician held on suspicion of conspiracy to murder

• 28-02-2013 9:57pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭

A former public representative was tonight being questioned by gardaí in Cork after he allegedly tried to hire a hitman to murder three people involved in an investigation into his financial affairs.

The man was arrested at his home outside Cork city this morning on suspicion of conspiracy to murder the three people. Detectives arrested him under section 50 of the Criminal Justice Act which allows gardaí to detain suspects for up to seven days.

The man was brought to Gurranebraher Garda station where he was questioned about an alleged plot to murder a garda, a Revenue official and an accountant who had all been involved in a criminal investigation into the man’s business affairs.

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/breaking/2013/0228/breaking52.html#.US_GbOgjNRY.twitter

Surprised there hasn't been a thread about this already. Best get a good stock of popcorn in!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 115 ✭✭lockon...

So half of Sinn Fein are suspected of being murderers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭Fromthetrees

I hired a hitman about 2 weeks ago. :cool:

In a ps3 game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

lockon... wrote: »

Aye.. and maybe one of them was tonight arrested... or not!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Sounds like a normal day in Mexico

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

Sounds like a bad Tarantino plot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/breaking/2013/0228/breaking52.html#.US_GbOgjNRY.twitter

Surprised there hasn't been a thread about this already. Best get a good stock of popcorn in!

....could be some county councillor we never heard of....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,665 ✭✭✭Tin Foil Hat

Aye.. and maybe one of them was tonight arrested... or not!

Not SF.
    Not well known at all actually, but his auld fella would be well known in Cork NC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,445 ✭✭✭jd83

Now im not going to reveal my source. But I heard that Mary Harney may have murdered a kebab.

R.I.P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,710 ✭✭✭flutered

no, this guy is not sf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

Where does it mention Sinn Fein? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

What exactly falls under the heading of public representative? Is it just TD's and councillors?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

I thought *bleeeeep* was in trouble before for trying to get *bleeeeep* killed, the little bollox

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,445 ✭✭✭jd83

Chucken wrote: »
    Where does it mention Sinn Fein? :confused:

I think the poster meant "sure" instead of "so" and rightly so!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,821 ✭✭✭Markcheese

Nodin wrote: »

Ah sure where would the fun be in that ...

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,710 ✭✭✭flutered

it all over twitter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

flutered wrote: »
    it all over twitter.

Ah. It must be true then

Nodin wrote: »

If unfounded and wild speculation on Twitter etc is anything to go by; it looks that way alright! Interesting none the less.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

If it's who I hear it is, naming him would mean it wouldn't even make the Cork news, never mind national news.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Markcheese wrote: »
    Ah sure where would the fun be in that ...

...odds are if you made it to the dail, you're far too cute a whore to be caught like whoever yer man is.

Anyone who knows who this guy's dad is should read his wiki page before it gets changed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

Anyone who knows who this guy's dad is should read his wiki page before it gets changed.
    Any chance of a PM tip off?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

He's in his 30's. Source: Gardaí statement.

Also:
    Gardaí had previously arrested the man in 2011 when he was working as a financial adviser. On that occasion, the man was questioned about alleged offences under the Criminal Justice Fraud and Theft Act but he was later released without charge.
    -Irish Times.

I still don't know who!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 584 ✭✭✭dizzywizlw

Is it wrong to hope it's Jackie Healy-Rae?

dizzywizlw wrote: »
    Is it wrong to hope it's Jackie Healy-Rae?

Well, wrong county at least.

Too late

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

Too late

Must have just missed it.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,050 ✭✭✭token101

Apparently he has form too.

Edit: Whoever fixed the wiki page never changed the search engine bit! It appears right under the name!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 587 ✭✭✭Planemo

Happyman42 wrote: »
    Must have just missed it.:(
    From the History tab:
    The seat was filled by the co-option of his son [REDACTED], the well known langer and hirer of hit-men

Jesus aren't media blackouts a bit pointless in this day and age!

token101 wrote: »
    Jesus aren't media blackouts a bit pointless in this day and age!

They've all but named him already by mentioning his previous run-ins with the law.

Exactly. Why don't they just go ahead and say his name FFS.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

Ha Ha The thick cúnt, Hope they throw the book at him, Daddy won't be able to rescue him now..:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

True, Everyone here in Cork know's who he is. The same clown's behaviour would remind you of the crooked lawyer in Carlito's Way, Ha. He caught tight by the balls now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 797 ✭✭✭Dwork

It's so hard to hire good help these days. Langer.

Why bother risking legal action when hundreds of chattering voices are saying it online?!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3 Alien vs. Predator

Think this is finally going to push me over the edge and sign up to twitter, how does it work then just search for hashtag cork and see what's trending (Honestly never used twitter before)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

Think this is finally going to push me over the edge and sign up to twitter, how does it work then just search for hashtag cork and see what's trending (Honestly never used twitter before)

I just signed up too over this! Can't wait until work tomorrow morning to find out :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,768 ✭✭✭eyeball kid

I guess we'll just have to wait until tomorrow to find out who this is about! (Not worth signing up to twitter for I think!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Happyman42 wrote: »
    Any chance of a PM tip off?
    David Cameron.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

If he is not transgendered, I'm out.