Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Speed limiter on car i just bought?

• 28-02-2013 9:46pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭

Hi i just bought a 1996 automatic nissan March jap import but the NCT is due up at the end on 9th March 2013.

The guy i purchased it from says that he put a speed limiter on it because he did not want his wife driving to fast so the limiter only allows the car do up to 80 miles per hour. I took it for a test drive around the town and everything seemed fine. Im from Dublin and this car was in Galway. So i get on the motorway back to Dublin and when i accelerate it begins to fall back in speed and then the check engine light and battery light comes on and the car loses all power.

I pulled over to the hard shoulder and started the car up and it happened again. I rang the guy i got he car from and he asks if i went over 80 and said that it was due to the limiter he mentioned. As he had not gone into much detail about the limiter at the time, I thought he meant he had previously had the car like this as he had mentioned that the wife got the car whilst learning to drive.

It is actually around 90 klm/hr that the car encounters these problems. So it does seem to be that he is telling the truth and advised me that i would need a mechanic to remove it.

Does anybody know if a limiter would cause a car to stall like this and how can I get it fixed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

saywhat.jpg

• Site Banned Posts: 166 ✭✭Cash is king

A micra driving fast! Now thats a new one on me!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Private or dealer?

A lot of JDM cars have limiters that cut in at a certain speed and when you hit the set speed you get a drop in power and normal service resumes once you go back below said speed.

What you're experiencing sounds well different and I find it hard to believe the seller installed an aftermarket limiter to slow his woman down - in fact if what he's saying is true you should have walked away from it.

Actually either way you probably should have ran dude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭Mick ah

Sounds fishy to me to be honest.

All jap cars by law have them (in Japan) some of them still have them when they arrive here.

However they don't just fvck your car like that. They just stop out going over a limit.

I reckon you just got a lemon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 196 ✭✭navara man

lightspeed wrote: »
    Hi i just bought a 1996 automatic nissan March jap import but the NCT is due up at the end on 9th March 2013.

The guy i purchased it from says that he put a speed limiter on it because he did not want his wife driving to fast so the limiter only allows the car do up to 80 miles per hour.
    80 miles per hour in a 96 nissan and you want to go faster :eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

You've been had. Simple as that.

90kmph is only about 55mph.

Unlikely you'd get anywhere, but if it was me, I'd call him and record the call, play dumb and get him to tell you more about the limiter etc, when he got it fitted etc. he knows well the car is faulty.

Also I'd be curious as to how long the seller had the car for.

Stick the reg in here for the craic
    https://www.motortax.ie/PSE/start.do;jsessionid=0aa0114730d82b8022fac6494a2cb32dd3937bac1384.e38PaNaSbh0RaO0LaxaPe0?page=welcome

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭lightspeed

navara man wrote: »
    80 miles per hour in a 96 nissan and you want to go faster :eek::eek:

Id be happy enough with 80 miles an hour but it looks like he meant that i cant go over 80klm/hr. I was able to see my exact speed using my gps and it started to act up when it got to 88 Klm and would lose all power when it gets past 95klm/hr. What else could be the problem?

I probably should have been less trusting and asked more questions. He showed me on the NCT certificate that it was only at 51000 miles and that it is now at just over 56,000 miles. He was a foreign guy who said his wife used the car while she is learning to drive and just used it around the town to shopping and take his child to school.

Im not sure if i have much of a comeback on this. From what i read, its illegal to sell a car that is not road worthy under the sale of goods and supply act which includes car sales from a private individual. The Citizens advice website states that a buyer of a vehicle that is not roadworthy should contact the Gardai.

Does anybody know if i would need to take to a nissan dealership to have the problem looked at or would most local garages know how to fix the problem?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 405 ✭✭shooter88

That guy is long gone..sorry to say

• Closed Accounts Posts: 677 ✭✭✭dougie-lampkin

I rang the guy i got he car from and he asks if i went over 80 and said that it was due to the limiter he mentioned...

2jca6th.jpg

You either need to see a good auto electrician or Keanu Reeves.

Contacting the Gardai won't help your case, it's not illegal for him to sell an unroadworthy car since he's not a dealer. You have no recourse with the seller, he's even told you that the limiter is fitted. It will take a decent auto spark no more than 10 minutes to disconnect the thing.

Do you reckon i would be better looking for an auto electrician or taking it to a nissan garage to diagnose the problem?

Id be happy enough with 80 miles an hour but it looks like he meant that i cant go over 80klm/hr. I was able to see my exact speed using my gps and it started to act up when it got to 88 Klm and would lose all power when it gets past 95klm/hr. What else could be the problem?

I probably should have been less trusting and asked more questions. He showed me on the NCT certificate that it was only at 51000 miles and that it is now at just over 56,000 miles. He was a foreign guy who said his wife used the car while she is learning to drive and just used it around the town to shopping and take his child to school.

Im not sure if i have much of a comeback on this. From what i read, its illegal to sell a car that is not road worthy under the sale of goods and supply act which includes car sales from a private individual. The Citizens advice website states that a buyer of a vehicle that is not roadworthy should contact the Gardai.

Does anybody know if i would need to take to a nissan dealership to have the problem looked at or would most local garages know how to fix the problem?

There's your problem right there - flux capicator is wankered.

EDIT: I see you said 88kmph not mph, must be something different so. ;)

Would the flux capacitor explain why it is only a problem when it gets to a certain speed?

I drove it home and kept it at 80 klm and it was running perfect at that speed. So im quite confused if it is something that i need an auto electrician to look at or should just assume ive been had and diagnose the problem. Im assuming that parts for a 1996 nissan micra could b easily found in a scrap yard and the car repaired cheaply enough. I only paid €600 for the car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,514 ✭✭✭TheChizler

What's the horsepower of the car OP? You need about 1.6 M, about 1.21 GW for correct operation at those speeds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Unless you bought the car next Tuesday then its unlikely to be the flux capacitor

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 7,730 Mod ✭✭✭✭delly

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Unless you bought the car next Tuesday then its unlikely to be the flux capacitor

Lads, I don't think a flux capacitor would cause this at all, namely because a car of that age wouldn't have one. I could be wrong, but I think 1985 was the last production year that they were added and the car is way younger than that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,944 ✭✭✭pete4130

colm_mcm wrote: »
    You've been had. Simple as that.

90kmph is only about 55mph.

Unlikely you'd get anywhere, but if it was me, I'd call him and record the call, play dumb and get him to tell you more about the limiter etc, when he got it fitted etc. he knows well the car is faulty.

Unfortunately I think you have to inform someone if you are going to record a phone call if you want to be able to use it as evidence. Thats the reason you can't get smart phone apps to record your calls.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭12gauge dave

Just bring it to a local garage in your area and get them to have a look its all you can do mate.

Every jdm car i had wouldnt hit the limiter till 190kmh speed would fall back for a second the car wouldnt shut off or anything

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,578 ✭✭✭monkeysnapper

Would the flux capacitor explain why it is only a problem when it gets to a certain speed?

Make sure when you get it fixed its done properly because if its a itamitant problem you don't want it breaking while your on a journey because there might not be anyone alive who can fix it ;)

Worst case scenario there's always a bit of lightening, although you never know where it's gonna strike.

If i take it to a garage and the problem is expensive to fix, do you reckon the car could be deemed not road worthy amd so i could just call the gardai and say to them ive been sold a dangerous car that not fit for the road. However, given that the NCT is not up until the middle of March 2013, is that not even an option?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

I doubt that this world be enough to deem the car unroadworthy; that would usually refer to a car that has a dangerous defect (as in a potential safety issue) or one where the car has a critical defect (where it is not capable of running at all).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭thecomedian

If i take it to a garage and the problem is expensive to fix, do you reckon the car could be deemed not road worthy amd so i could just call the gardai and say to them ive been sold a dangerous car that not fit for the road. However, given that the NCT is not up until the middle of March 2013, is that not even an option?

Forget about the gardai, and forget about going back to the seller (If it was a private sale). You have no comeback.
    Bring it to a Indy garage.

If only there was a way you could go back in time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,058 ✭✭✭AltAccount

The car is already not roadworthy IMHO.

Call him and ask him for the name and number of the guy he used to fit the limiter, because you want it removed.

If he gives you a name, then go and get it removed and hopefully it'll drive fine.

If he starts hemming and hawing, call him on his bullsh1t and tell him you're on your way to get your money back, and if he won't give it to you, you'll call the Gardai.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,857 ✭✭✭langdang

CVT box, hmmmm...
    Don't think sounds like an actual limiter that anyone competent or sensible would fit.
    Based purely on my reservations about CVT autos (ok, some newer ones might be fine but..) I'd guess you have a gearbox issue that coincides with a certain load or CVT gearing. I don't think it would constitute "dangerous unroadworthy" but you have been had. My opinion fwiw

AltAccount wrote: »
    The car is already not roadworthy IMHO.

Call him and ask him for the name and number of the guy he used to fit the limiter, because you want it removed.

If he gives you a name, then go and get it removed and hopefully it'll drive fine.

If he starts hemming and hawing, call him on his bullsh1t and tell him you're on your way to get your money back, and if he won't give it to you, you'll call the Gardai.

And what is the OP going to say to the gardai?

Correct me if I'm wrong, but the seller sold an unroadworthy car, they knew the issue existed, they didn't properly disclose the issue.

Whether the seller is trade or private, afaik what they've done is against the Sale of Goods and Supply of Seevices Act.

Correct me if I'm wrong, but the seller sold an unroadworthy car, they knew the issue existed, they didn't properly disclose the issue.

Whether the seller is trade or private, afaik what they've done is against the Sale of Goods and Supply of Seevices Act.

You would have to go to a civil court.
    Something could have broken in the time the op got it (I'm not saying it did). Very hard to prove anything, the seller could deny it and say he knew nothing about it.
    If the car was very dangerous he might have a case but it isn't.

You would have to go to a civil court.
    Something could have broken in the time the op got it (I'm not saying it did). Very hard to prove anything, the seller could deny it and say he knew nothing about it.
    If the car was very dangerous he might have a case but it isn't.

You think a car that spontaneously loses power at motorway or overtaking speeds isn't very dangerous?

The seller can say it was running ok when he had it.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,858 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

No evidence that car is unroadworthy. It won't go fast but that isn't necessarily a dangerous thing.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,858 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

...if its a itamitant problem....

Wut? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,857 ✭✭✭langdang

Wut? :D
    I think it's a mixture of itinerant and intermittent. Certainly not the type of problem anyone would want with their car!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

I think the OP needs to find out if the story about the limiter is true before deciding what course of action to take. For what its worth it sounds to me like the story about a limiter is complete horse****, and that there is just a defect in the car where it loses power at a certain speed, but the OP needs to confirm that before going any further.

If it is the case that there is no limiter then the OP can look to persue the seller for not disclosing the defect. However, proving that the defect existed in the car prior to sale, and also that the seller was aware of the defect, could prove difficult. If the OP has nothing in writing about the story spun about the limiter and power loss then it might be a hard one to prove if the seller denies everything and says that the car was running fine when he had it.

OP, just out of curiosity did you not take the car for a test drive before you bought it? Did you not get someone to look over it for you? Seems a very odd thing to me to buy a car with such an obvious limitation; be it intentional or through a defect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,529 ✭✭✭recyclebin

The seller told him lies about the speed limiter. A speed limiter does not throw up engine and battery faults. There is obviously something wrong with the car and he made up the story about a speed limiter.

Why didn't you give the car a good test drive in the first place and test out this speed limiter?

You should have rang the seller straight away then the problem occurred. You should ring him now and see what he says.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

I do believe the "or you'll call the Gardai" bit is to be used as a threat to get the foreign national to hand back money to the OP.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 69 ✭✭JackieBurke

the_syco wrote: »
    I do believe the "or you'll call the Gardai" bit is to be used as a threat to get the foreign national to hand back money to the OP.

No actual Gardai will be called.

Back to the OP. In a civil court the burden will be on the OP to prove that the defect was there before the sale and that the seller did not disclose it. That will be a big ask.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,984 ✭✭✭✭kippy

The guy i purchased it from says that he put a speed limiter on it because he did not want his wife driving to fast so the limiter only allows the car do up to 80 miles per hour. I took it for a test drive around the town and everything seemed fine. Im from Dublin and this car was in Galway. So i get on the motorway back to Dublin and when i accelerate it begins to fall back in speed and then the check engine light and battery light comes on and the car loses all power.

I pulled over to the hard shoulder and started the car up and it happened again. I rang the guy i got he car from and he asks if i went over 80 and said that it was due to the limiter he mentioned. As he had not gone into much detail about the limiter at the time, I thought he meant he had previously had the car like this as he had mentioned that the wife got the car whilst learning to drive.

It is actually around 90 klm/hr that the car encounters these problems. So it does seem to be that he is telling the truth and advised me that i would need a mechanic to remove it.

Does anybody know if a limiter would cause a car to stall like this and how can I get it fixed?
    How much did u pay for the car?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 69 ✭✭JackieBurke

He says €600.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

you can record a phone call if you are one of the people on the phone call

lots of phones will record calls; i know iphones wont but thats because you cant record calls in this way in all countries but you can in ireland

the law is its allowable to record a call if one of the parties on the call is aware of the recording

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,944 ✭✭✭pete4130

Tigger wrote: »
    you can record a phone call if you are one of the people on the phone call

lots of phones will record calls; i know iphones wont but thats because you cant record calls in this way in all countries but you can in ireland

the law is its allowable to record a call if one of the parties on the call is aware of the recording

Of course its allowable. Being admissible is another story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,028 ✭✭✭H3llR4iser

Come on, first of all I'd run a test - put the car in neutral, progressively rev the engine up and see if it cuts off roughly at the same RPM it is when doing 88-89kph. If it does, then there is something wrong with the engine itself (could be anything), if it doesn't, then there is something acting up related to the car's speed.

It could very well be that the car has some nasty issue, but I am surprised nobody suggested that the "limiter" might just be some crappy hack job performed by a "johnny mechanic" character. Ask around for a reputable garage and bring it for a check before you call the Garda, the Army or the Transformers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,264 ✭✭✭witnessmenow

H3llR4iser wrote: »
    Come on, first of all I'd run a test - put the car in neutral, progressively rev the engine up and see if it cuts off roughly at the same RPM it is when doing 88-89kph. If it does, then there is something wrong with the engine itself (could be anything), if it doesn't, then there is something acting up related to the car's speed.

It could very well be that the car has some nasty issue, but I am surprised nobody suggested that the "limiter" might just be some crappy hack job performed by a "johnny mechanic" character. Ask around for a reputable garage and bring it for a check before you call the Garda, the Army or the Transformers.

Sure any test drive would get the revs up as high as 100k in fifth.

Other than the battery symbol, the behaviour sound similar to what happened when the mass air flow meter (or was it sensor) was acting up in my corsa. Although I could get to those speeds, every now and again the engine light would come on and it would lose power. Cheap enough to fix.

It's probably not it but I thought it might be worth saying!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,984 ✭✭✭✭kippy

He says €600.
    Hardly worth the hassle of all the legal route-threats-taking to mechanic. Write it off as a cheap lesson learned.