Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Race entry fees [Again]

• 27-02-2013 10:50pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 524 ✭✭✭

Yup, I know it's been done to death but some of the entry fees for events are now bordering on the insane.
    It might be that I'm having to watch my spending more this year and am being selective on what event I will do vs those I would like to do but;
    There is an event that I would be interested in doing, over 2 days, on a public walking route(s) and it's self sufficient as far as I can see.
    So I can head up the country any weekend I fancy, book a B&B mid way and carry my own supplies (sounds like a great trip to me) or pay over a ton to do it on a pre-determined date, with other like minded individuals.
    So I get , company, an official time, a medal and a tee-shirt etc, but what else?
    Transport? refills of water? Craic?
    How is the cost justified? :confused:

By that logic you can all come to North Cork and give me, let's say fifty quid, and you can knock yourselves out along the blackwater trail (You will be signing a waiver before you start :).)
    I won't provide you with anything, I'll drop you to the start point and collect you at the end, maybe.
    I've a few old tech tops, be grand.

Seriously, am I missing something?
    I understand the "pedigree" of the organisers, and I'm in no way knocking the event, but it seems a bit excessive to me.
    For the record, I would like to do it, it was a challenge I had in mind as a long solo trip but family life is getting in the way priority this year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,029 ✭✭✭Pisco Sour

Yawn. If you dont like the price of something then do what any human does for any product or service - seek an alternative which provides better value.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

b.harte wrote: »
    Yup, I know it's been done to death but some of the entry fees for events are now bordering on the insane.
    It might be that I'm having to watch my spending more this year and am being selective on what event I will do vs those I would like to do but;
    There is an event that I would be interested in doing, over 2 days, on a public walking route(s) and it's self sufficient as far as I can see.
    So I can head up the country any weekend I fancy, book a B&B mid way and carry my own supplies (sounds like a great trip to me) or pay over a ton to do it on a pre-determined date, with other like minded individuals.
    So I get , company, an official time, a medal and a tee-shirt etc, but what else?
    Transport? refills of water? Craic?
    How is the cost justified? :confused:

By that logic you can all come to North Cork and give me, let's say fifty quid, and you can knock yourselves out along the blackwater trail (You will be signing a waiver before you start :).)
    I won't provide you with anything, I'll drop you to the start point and collect you at the end, maybe.
    I've a few old tech tops, be grand.

Seriously, am I missing something?
    I understand the "pedigree" of the organisers, and I'm in no way knocking the event, but it seems a bit excessive to me.
    For the record, I would like to do it, it was a challenge I had in mind as a long solo trip but family life is getting in the way priority this year.

I assume you're talking about stonemad? I guess you can say the same about any race. Why pay 20 quid for a 5k when you can go out and run a 5k TT for free(and now you can as a race with park run) get 15 people together and do a 10k for free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭TFBubendorfer

If that's the event you are referring to, the ultra option is €130 for 2 days, or €65 per day, which seems pretty standard to me.

Not sure if that's insane or if I have have gotten used to being ripped off. :confused:

There are a couple of races I don't do any more - a certain half marathon close to me charges €50 and all they provide are two water stations on the course and a finishers's t-shirt and medal. It's up the each and every one of us if we accept the price or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,643 ✭✭✭ThePiedPiper

Insurance, marshalling, signage, advertising, logistics, prizes, postage, office expenses, tech T-shirts, bananas, sandwiches, bottles of water, etc. etc. The list can go on and on.

I would agree with you though, that a lot of events are too expensive, I try and stay away from them if they are. For instance, I will never take part in a half marathon for €40 or more. I've justified paying €25 for a 10k in the past, just to support local events, but thats too steep also. And, unless its a major marathon, I've a problem with entry fees approaching €100, when London/Seville were between €20 and €30, and a couple others I've done less than €50.

Vote with your feet. If its too dear, don't do it. If enough people have the same attitude, the cost will eventually come down, ala what happened with the National Halfs for this year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 524 ✭✭✭b.harte

Pisco Sour wrote: »
    Yawn.
    And good day to you too, sorry for boring you with what could have been a discussion, albeit again, on the pricing structures of some races.
    If you dont like the price of something then do what any human does for any product or service - seek an alternative which provides better value.
    Is that not what I was suggesting in my OP? Specifically with the route of this event, it is possible to do it any time for a lesser cost, or were you too bored/tired/whatever to see that?
    I assume you're talking about stonemad? I guess you can say the same about any race. Why pay 20 quid for a 5k when you can go out and run a 5k TT for free(and now you can as a race with park run) get 15 people together and do a 10k for free.
    Yes, and thanks for seeing what I was getting at, that's exactly what I was saying. What bothers me about this particular event is that it is for the most part it's on a national way-marked trail so traffic issue should be minimal. (I'm open to correction as the route isn't published yet) I can't understand why the cost is so high and even additional charges for what I would consider to be essentials for an event like this.
    If that's the event you are referring to, the ultra option is €130 for 2 days, or €65 per day, which seems pretty standard to me.

Not sure if that's insane or if I have have gotten used to being ripped off. :confused:
    I agree in part about the day cost being similar to other events, again my main point is that from the information available there should be no road closures (which I would guess are a major cost element), the fact that it is billed as self sufficient (to a point) is also strange, it can be done self-sufficient at any time, why pay for the privilege?:confused:
    There are a couple of races I don't do any more - a certain half marathon close to me charges €50 and all they provide are two water stations on the course and a finishers's t-shirt and medal. It's up the each and every one of us if we accept the price or not.
    Absolutely agree with you on this, I've been lucky/clever in that I've managed to avoid some events based on what I've heard / read / seen.
    Insurance, marshalling, signage, advertising, logistics, prizes, postage, office expenses, tech T-shirts, bananas, sandwiches, bottles of water, etc. etc. The list can go on and on.
    Thanks, that's exactly what I was enquiring about, I've often wondered and now I know, good stuff.
    I would agree with you though, that a lot of events are too expensive, I try and stay away from them if they are. For instance, I will never take part in a half marathon for €40 or more. I've justified paying €25 for a 10k in the past, just to support local events, but thats too steep also. And, unless its a major marathon, I've a problem with entry fees approaching €100, when London/Seville were between €20 and €30, and a couple others I've done less than €50.
    Yeah, It just seems strange how full (or even over subscribed) some average events are with a premium price. :confused:
    Vote with your feet. If its too dear, don't do it. If enough people have the same attitude, the cost will eventually come down, ala what happened with the National Halfs for this year.
    Yeah, with you here as well.

So, who would like to do the barrow navigation as a boards outing? Dates flexible...:D
    Or just come to cork, the blackwater way is colouring up nicely now. :D
    Or there's the Kerry way....heard there's a good local guide knocking about these parts.:pac:

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

When it comes to costs the bottom line is nobody forces you to enter,

Sure races vary in price, take Portumna Marathon which is 40e versus Connemara or Dublin which are 70e, difference with Portumna whilst it is a very well organized event and in my view good value its on a closed loop versus public roads for the other two events so its cheaper to organize.

In saying that I personally think if you look at say Dublin versus the likes of Connemara, Connemara is actually great value, you get transport to/from the event, there's tonnes of stuff to eat when you finish and you get some cracking views.

However Connemara is bad value for a half marathon at 70e but better value for a Marathon and even better for the Ultra because thats also 70e :)

Bottom line is look around and vote with your feed and choose what you believe to be good value,

Stonemad, yeah it seems expensive but again it depends what your into at the end of the day. I'd likely give it a crack only for I won't be around that weekend...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 215 ✭✭The_Nipper_One

What would happen if you turned up to an event and just ran it with your own timer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,119 ✭✭✭✭event

well without a number id imagine you will be removed from the course

event wrote: »

But as long as it's not on private ground how would they manage that?

Say for instance a street race in a town, they wouldn't have the authority to remove you from a public place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 524 ✭✭✭b.harte

What would happen if you turned up to an event and just ran it with your own timer?
    event wrote: »
    I was thinking that, it is open trail as far as I'm aware so I can't imagine any action could/would be taken.
    Having said that, it can be done any other time, if you were to rock up on the day it would be bad form IMO.
    Sort of like showing up for a swim in the river when tri-athy is on, possible noting illegal about it but it would be just acting the maggot.
    There may be a H&S angle, danger / menace tot he public etc.
    A bit OT seeing as the thread is about the entry fee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 982 ✭✭✭pc11

Yawn. If you dont like the price of something then do what any human does for any product or service - seek an alternative which provides better value.

If you don't like the topic of a discussion then do what any human does - seek an alternative topic or forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

But as long as it's not on private ground how would they manage that?

Say for instance a street race in a town, they wouldn't have the authority to remove you from a public place.

Actually, the stewards in Dublin marathon pull people off the course all the time.
    I can't confirm stories that people running without a number are dragged down an alley and beaten up, but I dearly hope they are true.

RayCun wrote: »
    Actually, the stewards in Dublin marathon pull people off the course all the time.
    I can't confirm stories that people running without a number are dragged down an alley and beaten up, but I dearly hope they are true.

Is it legal for them to do it though?
    Say for instance you were to put up a fight to stay on the street, and they forceably remove you, would you then have grounds to press charges for assault?

Not that I'd ever do any of this of course, I'm just curious from a legal standpoint. I mean I run 2 times a week on a trail where there are paid events, and I'd hate to think that if I happened to turn up one day when there was an event on, I would be prevented from running as I normally do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,402 ✭✭✭ger664

Is it legal for them to do it though?
    Say for instance you were to put up a fight to stay on the street, and they forceably remove you, would you then have grounds to press charges for assault?

As the roads are closed I would assume that they can legally remove you. If you put up a fight no doubt the matter would dealt with by a on duty Garda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭Hard Worker

ger664 wrote: »
    As the roads are closed I would assume that they can legally remove you. If you put up a fight no doubt the matter would dealt with by a on duty Garda.

An event plan for a major mass participation event would be agreed by the Gardai and the Local Authority. Part of that plan would include the fact that anyone taking part would be registered to do so. They would then be covered by insurance etc. Paying for a road closure means that the road is "private" for the duration of the closure. If the Dublin Marathon ( or any marathon ) allowed unregistered runners into the finish, there could be chaos. That's why they are removed from the course close to the finish line. Anyone who refuses to obey that request from the stewards would be removed by a member of An Garda Siochana.

Ahh I understand now. So it's almost like the organizers rent the road for a time and it officially becomes theirs for the purposes of the race. Interesting, thanks.