Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Science NUIG

• 26-02-2013 6:47am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34

Im in Leaving Cert here and wanted to know a bit about the general and specific science courses in NUIG ? like hours, is the maths difficult (I do ordinary maths) and generally what the general science course is like ? I think the points for it last year was 380 ? but think that will rise :/ thanks :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,159 ✭✭✭mrkiscool2

Im in Leaving Cert here and wanted to know a bit about the general and specific science courses in NUIG ? like hours, is the maths difficult (I do ordinary maths) and generally what the general science course is like ? I think the points for it last year was 380 ? but think that will rise :/ thanks :D
    I'm in 3rd year of it at the moment, it's grand like. First year can be between 18-24 hours of lectures and labs a week, plus study. Maths is easy enough, unless you plan on keeping physics on you can take a "pass" maths lecture in NUIG. It's also improved since my 1st year, as in you have semester exams instead of one final exam for the whole year like I had in my 1st year.

I'd recommend it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 chocice94

I'm in first year now, its great craic! im only in for an hour in friday and get off at one on a tuesday. Like any other course ur gonna have to put a bit of work in but its not a lot !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 BarrysTeaBag

Sound out lads !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭mockshelp

Chemistry tutorial on Friday straight after Physics lecture in Darcy Thompson Theatre (beside O'Flaherty theatre). It's way better than wednesday chemistry tutorial. It's a different person who does it. She's REALLY good. She goes through the tutorial questions in way more depth and I actually learn so much by going. (I never learn anything on wednesday tutorial he goes through the questions too quickly.) They are going to cancel it if more people don't start coming so I thought its worth a try to post here to get a few more people to come.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭KKBL

It's exactly 19 hours a week based on lectures and labs, so you have lots of free time :) Tutorials are optional. You'll probably feel the need to attend a maths tutorial every now and then, and if you didn't do Chemistry for LC then you'll probably want a weekly tutorial in that. Most people find chemistry to be the hardest subject to take on in 1st year. Maths is grand, I was worried about it before I started in September but it's not worth worrying about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭matthew2008

anyone doing/ever did the physics part of this course after sitting pass maths in the leaving? is it do-able or a jump too big?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 608 ✭✭✭Cocolola

Yep I did pass maths and failed Phys/Chem and I was dreading it but the Group 2 lecturer, Mark Lang is an absolute legend and managed to turn Physics into one of my favourite subjects this year!

There isn't really much complicated maths, it starts out with easy enough equations which you use throughout the course and a lot of them are quite similar to each other. There's a lot of online resources that you get access to that are a great help. Even most of the homework questions come with little tutorials on how to do them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 755 ✭✭✭sea_monkey

i did pass maths in the leaving cert 4 years before i did science in nuig.
    got a C3 in the leaving cert.

i found the lectures to be very bad but i think that was because i hadn't a clue what was going on, even the most basic parts.

ended up doing past papers and using khanacademy.org and JMT on youtube.
    got 65% in both math papers. I would stress the past papers part as they dont change at all.

the physics i found to be the easiest. ended up with a 75% in that so i'd say not to worry about your current knowledge and just put the work in.