Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

weak calf tips needed ASAP

• 24-02-2013 8:49pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 858 ✭✭✭

Evening all. We have a little lim heifer half of a set of twins. She was born a very small calf about a week ago. She got a touch of scour(mother was vaccinated with trivactin 6 cos sould'nt get rotavec:mad:)2 days ago and with treatment she has now dried up to a soft pasty dung but she is extreemly weak so much so that she just made it onto her feet tonight. Just wondering has anyone got any tips to give her a quick boost.Gave her tonavet min + vit supplement with a lectade this morning but its down hill she's goin. All replies MUCH appreciated!!! Thanks in advance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

give another lectade and put calf under a red light.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 386 ✭✭monkey8

Standing calf raises will strengthen them up in no time!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭1chippy

If the tonavet and lectates are not working, id chance a shot of vitaplex and draxxin but thats just me , im by no means a vet. if she keeps getting slack id be calling the vet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

Is she Sucking the cow or how is she feeding, did you hold back feeding milk when she had scour?
    Lectate and vits are essential, she should be getting 4-6 litres of fluid a day to keep her hydrated, but there is no feed value in electrolytes, the ideal scenario is to give the electrolyte 15-20 minutes before the milk feed.
    How about temperature, it's amazing how a high temp will set such a small calf back by.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 539 ✭✭✭morebabies

Try glucose and raw eggs mixed up, as in a small bit of glucose and one egg mixed together to line the stomachs and give her a bit of energy. Also as above poster suggested, infra red lamp is a must.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,248 ✭✭✭Good loser

Could she be a Schmallenberg calf? Hope not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 592 ✭✭✭maxxuumman

I find Effydral tablets brilliant , for energy . They have brought calves back from the dead for me. One or two of those during the day and continue with milk. Another thing is Norodine tablets, are great to soak up scour. They are supposed to be the same as Synuloux tablets, but I find they alot better. They are an antibiotic, but they also have the same drug as Intertrim, Intertrim is great to restore the cilli in the calves stomach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭grazeaway

yeah, plenty of lectade and there is also a very good gel (cant rememeber the name off hand). we give them tablet and a shot of the gel. Also a bottle of barium selatnate is handy to have too, a 2ml dose will give them a vitiman boost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 858 ✭✭✭tismesoitis

Good loser wrote: »
    Could she be a Schmallenberg calf? Hope not.

jaysus hope not don't think so her bro is flying!! went at her hard last night 15 more cc tonavet with a lectade mixed with half milk half water. went to set up red lamp over her and feckin thing not working has'nt been out since our milking days (6 or 7 years back) so robbed a little blow heater from the brothers bedroom in d home place and hung it over her instead.went out to her this morning and she was standing behind the gate mad to get to the mother. opened the gate and straight to the tit she went... nice way to start the day!!!Not just out of the woods but well on the way!!
    Thanks for the help lads and whelan 1 lesson learned,will know a little more next time.the beauty of Boards eh??