Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tell us about your race today.

• 24-02-2013 5:13pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 945 ✭✭✭

Howdy,

Was racing today in Loughrea. Really well organised by West Coast Wheelers,

It was a simple one for the a4s: lumpy with a single climb. Usual rubbish for the peloton, shakey, shouty, nervous, unconfident, and it pretty much guaranteed for crashes. I couldn't wait to get to the climb, set a pace, and hope it was long enough for me to take KOH, and hopefully break up the bunch to leave behind the less experienced and rubbish. It didn't happen like that. Arriving toward the foot of the climb I was visibly delighted. It was quite steep and seemed that it would go on long enough for me. (I was really scared in the bunch, I just couldn't trust anyone, shouting rubbish and CONSTANTLY braking). But all of this was torn asunder by one chap whose chain came off and instead of putting his hand up and freewheeling, went hard on the brakes and I ran straight into him and fell into a ditch. I exchanged words with this chap, explaining with expletives what he should have done, what he did do, and what I thought of him. And because of that he wanted to fight me (chest bumping me and other rubbish). The stewards told us to cycle back to the group: which I did. The pace was easy, but I lost like 15-20 seconds on the bunch, so by the time I got to the top of the climb I was toward the front, when I should have been making a breakaway, and contesting a KOH.

I was bloody mad. It spoiled my day: the only thing I'm good at I was prevented from doing. :(.

Plenty of crashes, mostly from stupidity, our club lost 4 members to crashes today! All from the faults of others: taking out wheels. :(

How did your race today go?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,365 ✭✭✭Lusk Doyle

Your club lost four members today? Did they die?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭Eamonnator

CaoimH_in wrote: »
    Howdy.

I was bloody mad. It spoiled my day: the only thing I'm good at I was prevented from doing. :(.
    How did your race today go?

No. You're good at giving out as well, and seemingly, you weren't prevented
    from doing that. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 945 ✭✭✭CaoimH_in

Well, they crashed and their race was over ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 511 ✭✭✭531

'.........I exchanged words with this chap, explaining with expletives what he should have done, what he did do, and what I thought of him. And because of that he wanted to fight me...'

Down with that sort of thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭Zyzz

Cyclists fighting? AH HEYOURRRR

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,460 ✭✭✭lennymc

without wanting to sound like an ass, what you describe sounds like a racing incident. You were going up a steep hill, the chaps chain broke. If your going up hill even a small dab of the brakes will stop you. Maybe he should have reacted differently. Maybe you should have reacted differently (IMHO squaring up to people is not worth it, eventually you will meet a nutter!!).

IIRC this was your second race, (ned flanagan last week being your first) so I think its a bit unfair calling A4 racers rubbish and questioning their experience, id wager a lot of them have a similar amount of experience to you, and quite a fair few of them have more. If you are worried about the riding in the peloton go towards the front of the pack, a lot less erratic riding happens there. You are a lot less likely to be involved in any argy bargy (until there is a sprint) but it takes a good bit more work to stay there.

Anyway, if i was you, id mark it down as experience, you weren't hurt, your bike sounds like its ok. Onwards and upwards!

As for my own race today, Traders cup in Dundalk, lumpy circuit, felt quite good, although there was one swords guy (lusk doyle) who just kept riding in front of me. It was like he anticipated every line I wanted to take and was just in front of me for most of the race :p
    I rolled in in the front bunch.

Hah! I dragged your a$$ and that of all the group around the circuit with Hmmzis and a few others be the only ones doing work. We are racers, the rest are not!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭colm_gti

Lusk Doyle wrote: »
    Hah! I dragged your a$$ and that of all the group around the circuit with Hmmzis and a few others be the only ones doing work. We are racers, the rest are not!

You should have done nothing so we could have caught ya a bit earlier! Or at least have the decency to drop back and drag me up to the A4 bunch!

colm_gti wrote: »

You should have done nothing so we could have caught ya a bit earlier! Or at least have the decency to drop back and drag me up to the A4 bunch!

I laughed at the stickybottle "the a4 group worked well as a unit." It did in its a$$. 6 or 7 at the front doing all the work.

hahahahaha. your dellusional. you were crying like a little girl.

@colm_gti - dont mind him, he did actually do nothing. he was nearly as good at doing nothing as me.

edit - it seemed like the a4 group decided that it wouldnt work cos there was no point, cos we were gonna be caught.

lennymc wrote: »
    without wanting to sound like an ass, what you describe sounds like a racing incident. You were going up a steep hill, the chaps chain broke. If your going up hill even a small dab of the brakes will stop you. Maybe he should have reacted differently. Maybe you should have reacted differently (IMHO squaring up to people is not worth it, eventually you will meet a nutter!!).

IIRC this was your second race, (ned flanagan last week being your first) so I think its a bit unfair calling A4 racers rubbish and questioning their experience, id wager a lot of them have a similar amount of experience to you, and quite a fair few of them have more. If you are worried about the riding in the peloton go towards the front of the pack, a lot less erratic riding happens there. You are a lot less likely to be involved in any argy bargy (until there is a sprint) but it takes a good bit more work to stay there.

Anyway, if i was you, id mark it down as experience, you weren't hurt, your bike sounds like its ok. Onwards and upwards!

You misunderstand me (or, more likely, I didn't explain clearly). It wasn't yet that steep as far as I recall and it was clear he braked quite hard. He would have rolled on a fair bit if he'd left the brakes alone. Or putting his hand up would help.

I didn't pick a fight. I did shout a bit, then he stepped into me, then I shouted more and explained what he should have done. After which he hadn't much to say. I didn't take part in any sort of pre-fight behavior, aside from shouting (if you want to call that pre-fight behavior, or whatever). I had no intention of fighting anyone, but was certainly going to confront him about his behavior, and I really didn't fancy pussy-footing around.

That's where I sat for most of the remainder of the day, aside from trying to break a few times. I missed all the crashes because of it, so that was grand.

Definitely will be chalked down to experience.

One thing I learnt is how much you really have to bury yourself to make a break stick. It's attack, attack, attack: constantly!

Onwards to Broadford! :)

edit - it seemed like the a4 group decided that it wouldnt work cos there was no point, cos we were gonna be caught.

You see, I can't understand that crappy, defeatist attitude. If you ain't going out to give it your all then stay at home. That group would not have been caught if even half a dozen more riders committed to ride positively.

This!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,099 ✭✭✭morana

You misunderstand me (or, more likely, I didn't explain clearly). It wasn't yet that steep as far as I recall and it was clear he braked quite hard. He would have rolled on a fair bit if he'd left the brakes alone. Or putting his hand up would help.

I didn't pick a fight. I did shout a bit, then he stepped into me, then I shouted more and explained what he should have done. After which he hadn't much to say. I didn't take part in any sort of pre-fight behavior, aside from shouting (if you want to call that pre-fight behavior, or whatever). I had no intention of fighting anyone, but was certainly going to confront him about his behavior, and I really didn't fancy pussy-footing around.

That's where I sat for most of the remainder of the day, aside from trying to break a few times. I missed all the crashes because of it, so that was grand.

One thing I learnt is how much you really have to bury yourself to make a break stick. It's attack, attack, attack: constantly!

Thats why its important to be at/near the front when you get to hills esp in A4. lots of new guys going into the hill in the wrong gear, fluffing changes, stopping on the hill etc.

Broadford has a decent hill so we expect a different tale next week!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭Hmmzis

... One thing I learnt is how much you really have to bury yourself to make a break stick. It's attack, attack, attack: constantly!...

+100, and you need LOTS of help in order to make it stick or be in a class of your own and just ride away solo to the finish.

About my own race today, did the Traders Cup. Was very cold, it snowed for a bit.

The organisation of the event was very good and nobody got led the wrong way (unlike last week). The handicaps were quite generous in my opinion though with the attitude of the A4 bunch even that was not enough.

Anyway, after a nice stroll to the start line we were called to the line and off we went. The pace initially was kind of OK but it soon settled and we were into club spin territory. Wiggled my way to the front and saw a familiar bike and club kit, introduced myself this time properly to Lusk Doyle, had bit of a chat and went for my first stint at the front. Was dead set on not going for a solo this time so kept the jumps under control (well, most of the time, think I opened a gap once or twice later on).

There were a few of us keeping the pace up for most of the time, a very impressive performance was shown by a lad in black (white number) on a steel framed bike. When none of the usual suspects were at the front the pace slowed considerably, at one point I looked down at the speed and it read 34km/h and that's with a tail wind. When Lusk Doyle or any of the other suspects went to the front the pace went up and we made a good few attempts to get a gap going but either I jumped too quickly and was alone or the bunch just somehow hung on. I remember one attempt quite vividly, went to the front and just started pulling like I meaning it, speed went up to about 50km/h (we had turned into a mild headwind by that time) one lad was trying to go over but apologetically said he can't get there (I know the feeling, had it last week during the 5 man break, want to but can't). On the return leg we had a tail wind again and I was actively looking for anything that even remotely resembled a drag or anything that even hits of an upwards slope and tried to get some attacks going, nothing was working. On the way back I was again a bit at the front an nobody coming over and I just started to slow the pace intentionally just to see at what point I'll get someone to the front. If I'm not mistaken that magic number was 30km/h.
    After the last turn we got reeled in by the A2/3 bunch and the pace went up a bit but not roaring like last week. Introduced myself to Colm_gti and continued on. Had a quick chat with a fellow club member (A3) who had just arrived and started to make my way to the front. That was much easier said/thought than done. The constant surges and swerves in the pack made it very difficult, at one point a lad almost took me out from behind, just ploughed straight through me like I wasn't there at all. Somehow stayed upright and was thinking of having a word with him but a gap opened up to the right and went for that instead. With about 10k or so to go some attacks were launched by the A2/3s, bridged over to some but none got anywhere. Then started some attacks of my own, one got a small gap going up a short drag but when the road evened out we got swamped again. Tried to get back to the front again. With just a few kms to go the attacks came one after another and the pace shoot up. Before I know it I saw yellow signs with numbers on the side of the road and some people standing at the side of the road, finish and there was a gap in front of me. Mustered every single ounce of power I had still left and sprinted like trying to save my life. From the finish photo it looks like I might have got to the second line in the bunch.

After the finish was approached by a Bray Wheelers lad who very politely introduced himself while somehow he already knew my name (another boardsie maybe :confused:). He explained to me that in one of my jump attempts I had shifted back and almost caused an incident. Felt very bad about it, apologised about it. I've been on the receiving side of some silly stuff and it sucks but being on the cause side feels a lot worse. He showed exactly what the move was that caused the lads behind me to step on their brakes, we had a short chat and parted ways. Thankfully no harm done.

Was very delighted to have been able to hang in there with the bunch and even more so with still being able to launch some attacks or bridge over to breaks so far into the race. I still have a long way to go get into the placings but today showed me that it is possible given the right circumstances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 215 ✭✭Woody_FX

hahahahaha. your dellusional. you were crying like a little girl.

@colm_gti - dont mind him, he did actually do nothing. he was nearly as good at doing nothing as me.

If the majority is that slow, why cant the 6 at the front agree to attack together and drop the rest of the A4 pelo and leave them struggle at there own slow pace?

Surely a small paceline working together could ride away from the group with ease?

Woody_FX wrote: »

If the majority is that slow, why cant the 6 at the front agree to attack together and drop the rest of the A4 pelo and leave them struggle at there own slow pace?

Surely a small paceline working together could ride away from the group with ease?

We tried it a few times but it appeared that the only time the rest of the group worked was to close it down and then wait for the next attack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭jimbobaloobob

Another aspect you should take as experience is, chains break, people fall. Get over it, no one needs your opinion on the side of the road. Especially the lad thats going to be already annoyed his chains broken.
    If your only good for the climbs focus on your weaknesses so that your able to form and work groups on the flat and put yourself in a safer place.

You'd also be surprised how many of those you describe as rubbish will mostly likely have you eat humble pie at somestage of the season.
    Respect for fellow racers, lack of it leads to a swollen ego and careless riding that will be someone elses downfall someday.
    Everyone has a bad day be thankful yours wasnt today.

Hmmzis wrote: »
    +100, and you need LOTS of help in order to make it stick or be in a class of your own and just ride away solo to the finish.

Was very delighted to have been able to hang in there with the bunch and even more so with still being able to launch some attacks or bridge over to breaks so far into the race. I still have a long way to go get into the placings but today showed me that it is possible given the right circumstances.

You have performed very strongly in both races so far. Maybe in the next one, there will be more like minded individuals who will a) be able to and b) want to jump onto a wheel and contribute to a break! I'm interested to see what you can do in the A4 only races later on. They should prove to be a doddle for you and I suspect you will be making the transition to A3 quite quickly. Hopefully, I'll be joining you!

as woody says, maybe there should have been more communication up front and a proper attack organised. Hindsight is a wonderful thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭colm_gti

I like to think of it more as a steady state of constant suffering :P

It's hard to know what will be THE break, a lot of them are usually sucked back in, and it's hard to chat with a few lads and convince them to go with you when you're already breathing heavily and when people are afraid to burn themselves out too early by committing to a potentially unsuccessful break. It's all about persistence, eventually one of them is bound to stick. You know that saying, if you throw enough sh1te at the wall....

Sometimes you'll get lucky and it will stick, other times not, and sometimes it's good to watch for a bit, see if the lads that went off are working well and then try and bridge across to them.

The worst thing is when you get across to them after busting yourself and they all sit up, or half of them decide they don't want to work anymore, but when you get into that one break that works well and stays away, it is a fantastic feeling, well I'm sure it would be if you could get over the agony :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 623 ✭✭✭J Madone

Hmmzis wrote: »

About my own race today, did the Traders Cup. Was very cold, it snowed for a bit.

The organisation of the event was very good and nobody got led the wrong way (unlike last week). The handicaps were quite generous in my opinion though with the attitude of the A4 bunch even that was not enough.

Anyway, after a nice stroll to the start line we were called to the line and off we went. The pace initially was kind of OK but it soon settled and we were into club spin territory. Wiggled my way to the front and saw a familiar bike and club kit, introduced myself this time properly to Lusk Doyle, had bit of a chat and went for my first stint at the front. Was dead set on not going for a solo this time so kept the jumps under control (well, most of the time, think I opened a gap once or twice later on).

There were a few of us keeping the pace up for most of the time, a very impressive performance was shown by a lad in black (white number) on a steel framed bike. When none of the usual suspects were at the front the pace slowed considerably, at one point I looked down at the speed and it read 34km/h and that's with a tail wind. When Lusk Doyle or any of the other suspects went to the front the pace went up and we made a good few attempts to get a gap going but either I jumped too quickly and was alone or the bunch just somehow hung on. I remember one attempt quite vividly, went to the front and just started pulling like I meaning it, speed went up to about 50km/h (we had turned into a mild headwind by that time) one lad was trying to go over but apologetically said he can't get there (I know the feeling, had it last week during the 5 man break, want to but can't). On the return leg we had a tail wind again and I was actively looking for anything that even remotely resembled a drag or anything that even hits of an upwards slope and tried to get some attacks going, nothing was working. On the way back I was again a bit at the front an nobody coming over and I just started to slow the pace intentionally just to see at what point I'll get someone to the front. If I'm not mistaken that magic number was 30km/h.
    After the last turn we got reeled in by the A2/3 bunch and the pace went up a bit but not roaring like last week. Introduced myself to Colm_gti and continued on. Had a quick chat with a fellow club member (A3) who had just arrived and started to make my way to the front. That was much easier said/thought than done. The constant surges and swerves in the pack made it very difficult, at one point a lad almost took me out from behind, just ploughed straight through me like I wasn't there at all. Somehow stayed upright and was thinking of having a word with him but a gap opened up to the right and went for that instead. With about 10k or so to go some attacks were launched by the A2/3s, bridged over to some but none got anywhere. Then started some attacks of my own, one got a small gap going up a short drag but when the road evened out we got swamped again. Tried to get back to the front again. With just a few kms to go the attacks came one after another and the pace shoot up. Before I know it I saw yellow signs with numbers on the side of the road and some people standing at the side of the road, finish and there was a gap in front of me. Mustered every single ounce of power I had still left and sprinted like trying to save my life. From the finish photo it looks like I might have got to the second line in the bunch.

After the finish was approached by a Bray Wheelers lad who very politely introduced himself while somehow he already knew my name (another boardsie maybe :confused:). He explained to me that in one of my jump attempts I had shifted back and almost caused an incident. Felt very bad about it, apologised about it. I've been on the receiving side of some silly stuff and it sucks but being on the cause side feels a lot worse. He showed exactly what the move was that caused the lads behind me to step on their brakes, we had a short chat and parted ways. Thankfully no harm done.

Fair play to you V, you were going very well, and I was being nice to you, when you were about to launch an attack at the finish you stood up out of the saddle but didn't pedal for a couple of seconds, hence going briefly backwards and caught the guys behind by suprise!
    Keep up the good work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭1750W

This is quite reminiscent of a post I read last year about a4 racing. It seems to be mostly very negative. The best answer I can give you is when you're caught attack again again again. Works for me! I found last weeks a3 race very negative too but bottom line is if you a strong you will tire the others out.

1750W wrote: »
    This is quite reminiscent of a post I read last year about a4 racing. It seems to be mostly very negative. The best answer I can give you is when you're caught attack again again again. Works for me! I found last weeks a3 race very negative too but bottom line is if you a strong you will tire the others out.

Hear, hear! That's what I was trying to do yesterday but it wasn't working. Maybe down to my lack of breakfast that I just didn't have enough to keep the tempo high enough for long enough to get away. Note to self - get up in time and eat breakfast!

FTP=PTF

And I'm not talking about functional threshold power;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,306 ✭✭✭dave_o_brien

Fine. I'm sorry that I worked hard for the first 20km, mainly with the guy in black on the (lovely) steel Condor bike, and continued to contribute until about 40km in, only to think it wasn't worth it what with the lack of effort from others and allow myself to sit in to the group then.

Enjoyable, all the same. Well, it was until I started getting this guff from yer man.

Fine. I'm sorry that I worked hard for the first 20km, mainly with the guy in black on the (lovely) steel Condor bike, and continued to contribute until about 40km in, only to think it wasn't worth it what with the lack of effort from others and allow myself to sit in to the group then.

Enjoyable, all the same. Well, it was until I started getting this guff from yer man.

It's always worth it. Even if it doesn't end in the result you want. It's all about improving your ability to Race

I don't include you in the non workers category. You did your bit!

1750W wrote: »

FTP=PTF

And I'm not talking about functional threshold power;)

More a case of fail to wake up when the alarm goes off!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 pmurp141

hi lads
    realatively new to boards and cyling, did maybe 10races last season and traders cup was my second this season, i'm presuming ye're all from different clubs so are essentially alone on the day, why not team up, as boardsies and ride together to get a break, have to admit my input was minimal yesterday, due to a number of reasons. at NF went in a break of maybe 5/6 in the first circa 15km, gap went out to couple 100 meteres did 2-3 hard pulls in succesion then buried myself at the front when no1 was pulling through, looked back and group had pulled us in, totallly blew up and out the back, decided not to make same mistake in TC, surley if we all teamed up either by attacking in groups of say 3 and have another 3 to bridge over once break is established or else just get a paceline at the front and try burn the tyre suckers, i'm in a club but no fellow racers for A4, usually wearing FDJ gear was riding old Look 96(must bring up my race bike in time for summerhill, compact shouting out for more gears! )

My Race:

Woke at 7am had oats for breakfast along with a nice mug I coffee. Sat in bed for about another hour just relaxing. Got up and got my bag packed and put on my gear. Race wasn't too far from home. I was going to try a set of carbon wheels but decided not to as I didn't want to delay arriving at the race any further.

Short drive to the start signed on got on the bike for a 45min warm up. Worked in around LT for about 5-6 mins. Race started at 10.32 (a4) I was waiting another 5 min before scratch group started. We set off at a steady pace all 20riders in the group rode through steady.
    After 10/15 l the attacks started covered them well and got into the main break that was ultimately reeled back in. Rode aggressively for the whole race (always keep the anger for the pedals). I put in a big effort with about 15k to go and was joined by one other we were brought back.

All in all I reckon I attacked 15 or more times. With about 3k to go I had to chase a few riders who were still quite fresh. Barely made it so just focused on recovering for the sprint. There were 3 a4 who managed to not get caught so I decided to put in a good sprint but not an all out race winning break the bike effort. Finished 5th overall. I was tired. Rode back home 21k nice to get a long cool down and chat with some of the other lads that raced.

pmurp141 wrote: »
    i'm in a club but no fellow racers for A4, usually wearing FDJ gear was riding old Look 96

I really must apologise again for hitting you in the face, it was purely unintentional. Thanks for not hitting me back :)

*There was an obstacle on the road up ahead on the left, and in the process of
    warning the riders behind me, i inadvertantly hit a rider in the head!! (im assuming it was pmurp as he was the only one i saw in fdj gear on a look bike!!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,450 ✭✭✭Harrybelafonte

pmurp141 wrote: »
    hi lads
    realatively new to boards and cyling, did maybe 10races last season and traders cup was my second this season, i'm presuming ye're all from different clubs so are essentially alone on the day, why not team up, as boardsies and ride together to get a break, have to admit my input was minimal yesterday, due to a number of reasons. at NF went in a break of maybe 5/6 in the first circa 15km, gap went out to couple 100 meteres did 2-3 hard pulls in succesion then buried myself at the front when no1 was pulling through, looked back and group had pulled us in, totallly blew up and out the back, decided not to make same mistake in TC, surley if we all teamed up either by attacking in groups of say 3 and have another 3 to bridge over once break is established or else just get a paceline at the front and try burn the tyre suckers, i'm in a club but no fellow racers for A4, usually wearing FDJ gear was riding old Look 96(must bring up my race bike in time for summerhill, compact shouting out for more gears! )

I remember you from Ned Flanagan, or at least, I remember the bike. You shouldn't be racing on that old thing, sell it to me and I'll retire it for you.

Bet you've never heard that one before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭manwithaplan

Very few successful breaks in A4 in flat races. The hills will make a huge difference. The only real chance of a successful break on the flat is if riders from a few different clubs get involved and their team mates block, chase, disrupt and generally slow things down for a while. There is very little chance of this happening. The reality is that those working are not necessarily the strongest in the bunch - they are just the most willing. If the others are determined to keep things together, they probably will.

I really must apologise again for hitting you in the face, it was purely unintentional. Thanks for not hitting me back :)

ha ha that was me alright, lucky i have the reaction time of a wealterweight boxer!!not!!
    good to know a face or too might know when a break is worth commiting to! if near the end in bunch finish look for me (if i've not blown!) and i'll give a lead out if able!! i think its worse to finish in top 20 with some in the tank than blowing early in the race!

I remember you from Ned Flanagan, or at least, I remember the bike. You shouldn't be racing on that old thing, sell it to me and I'll retire it for you.

only use it as a training bike compact for the hills, still have to get home (west!) to bring up my normal racer, bought the frame maybe 2 years ago, supposedly she won the isle of man rr in '92, (it must have been the man cause it's not won f*all since!!)

I don't include you in the non workers category. You did your bit!

Phew! I can rest easy now knowing I have your approval!

No resting! I'll be on your case if I see you missing turns!

Were you not paying attention to the second half of the race then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 496 ✭✭elchupanebrey

On the descent in Loughrea yesterday I looked right at one point and there was a poor buck sliding down the road on his chest. He nearly passed me out. I hope he's ok.

OP should have known where climb started if this was his aim and made it his business to lead the group up the hill. Hard to expect a guy to raise a hand in the middle of a peloton going uphill when his chains broke. If he had done that and fallen off you'd be giving out about guys taking hands off their bars. One of our lads chains broke towards the end and he came off, it looked like it jammed. Maybe the same thing happened here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,315 ✭✭✭chakattack

Why so many broken chains?

Bike should be in good nick for racing and not ready to fall apart. Saw one guys crank come off with 500m to go last year..that was "fun"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 496 ✭✭elchupanebrey

Some guys don't look after their bikes i suppose. He was trying to power out of a corner so a weakness was probably stretched to breaking point

I would also like to thank the Orwell rider who lent me his track pump after I punctured in my warm up.

I would also like to thank the posse of riders from Drogheda Wheelers who shouted tough luck at me while laughing as I put in a new tube in Blackrock village after I punctured in my warm up. Nice one, lads.

Also, puncturing in your warm up when you only brought one spare tube is sh*t.

OP should have known where climb started if this was his aim and made it his business to lead the group up the hill. Hard to expect a guy to raise a hand in the middle of a peloton going uphill when his chains broke. If he had done that and fallen off you'd be giving out about guys taking hands off their bars. One of our lads chains broke towards the end and he came off, it looked like it jammed. Maybe the same thing happened here.

Was just going to leave this alone. But anyway, to clarify for those who don't want to actually read my post: his chain didn't break, it came off. Pretty sure he got back on. Secondly, we weren't on the hill yet, but arriving to it. I found it very easy to push start myself, get my feet clicked in etc. so he COULD have freewheeled and kept his hand up for a few seconds before coming to a stop. I did say all that before. :)

Yes, ideally being at the front would have been best. But I couldn't position myself at the front at the start, and I didn't want to be in the forward-middle of the bunch because it was really dodgy, so I kept near the middle and back where I had a bit more space. I knew it would blow up quickly and I was told it was a 5km climb, so I thought there'll be space and it'll be long enough to sneak through towards the front and into position to do whatever. That's all lads. :) Lessons learned, and all that.

Did anyone hear anything about the rider in Loughrea who was thrown into a 10ft ditch? Hope (s)he's OK!

Very few successful breaks in A4 in flat races. The hills will make a huge difference. The only real chance of a successful break on the flat is if riders from a few different clubs get involved and their team mates block, chase, disrupt and generally slow things down for a while. There is very little chance of this happening. The reality is that those working are not necessarily the strongest in the bunch - they are just the most willing. If the others are determined to keep things together, they probably will.

Yea, the lads from Neenagh tried that last week at Ned Flanagan once. It worked for a while as a few got away and some more of us bridged over and stayed away a while.

Were you not paying attention to the second half of the race then?

Too busy with the head down ploughing away to notice!

Lessons learned, and all that.

This is the important bit :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 MartMc

Like CaoimH_in I took part in the A4 race in Loughrea.

The race started off nice and fast (at least compared to the Ned Flanagan, only other race I've done), however with the exception of some club in a white Jersey and blue writing there was not much support for any rider front rider and through my own inexperience I did way to much work at the front, lesson learnt.

To confirm speculation about what a hill can do, this race had one decent drag/hill and by the top the field split into one lead group of about 25 and the rest of the field stretched out. I wasn't in the 25 and spent the next 15/20km in a small group, that started with 5, attempting (really hard) to make 300 meters to the 25. The group had one natural leader who was pushing us all on but we just couldn't catch the 25 and eventually lost sight of them, I never knew that 300 meters was so hard to gain!. Another lesson learnt.

Surprisingly the roads west of the Shannon are pretty good to cycle on too, in places the best surface I've ever cycled on. Great race thanks to West Coast Wheelers, I'll be back next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,569 ✭✭✭harringtonp

MartMc wrote: »
    Like CaoimH_in I took part in the A4 race in Loughrea.

rest of the field stretched out. I wasn't in the 25 and spent the next 15/20km in a small group, that started with 5, attempting (really hard) to make 300 meters to the 25. The group had one natural leader who was pushing us all on but we just couldn't catch the 25 and eventually lost sight of them, I never knew that 300 meters was so hard to gain!. Another lesson learnt.

That was probably John Colleran, he shouts at us in Dolmen all the time too ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 MartMc

That was probably John Colleran, he shouts at us in Dolmen all the time too ;-)

Didn't get to thank him after the race and can't even remember the club jersey he was wearing, pretty sure his race number was 217 or 271.

Either way without him I would have fallen further behind, so thanks to all the John Collerans that bark out that great mix of encouragement with brutally honest assessments of race position.