Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

World's Oldest Marathon Runner retires

• 24-02-2013 1:42pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,821 ✭✭✭

101 year old Fauja Singh retires after only taking up the sport at the grand oul age of 89. Fair play to him although I'm sure it is exaggerated slightly for publicity.

http://www.scmp.com/news/hong-kong/article/1157566/worlds-oldest-marathon-runner101-shines-last-race

But it has got me thinking, without injuries, when will/would you hang up the marathon runners?

I can't see myself going past 35/40 if I'm completely honest! I know that won't go down well with a few around here!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭DogSlySmile

blockic wrote: »
    I can't see myself going past 35/40 if I'm completely honest! I know that won't go down well with a few around here!:D

Reading this I am reminded of a quote from Born to Run...

- "You don't stop running because you get old, you get old because you stop running"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

101 year old Fauja Singh retires after only taking up the sport at the grand oul age of 89. Fair play to him although I'm sure it is exaggerated slightly for publicity.

http://www.scmp.com/news/hong-kong/article/1157566/worlds-oldest-marathon-runner101-shines-last-race

But it has got me thinking, without injuries, when will/would you hang up the marathon runners?

I'll take the bait :P Dying to know why you think that? Why would you want to stop at that age? Do you think you'll be bored of it by then? Do you currently love running?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Reading this I am reminded of a quote from Born to Run...

- "You don't stop running because you get old, you get old because you stop running"

Harry Gorman still 'runs' around the Phoenix Park. Proving this to be true. :D When you think about it it would be pretty awesome to still be capable of running, jogging or shuffling in your 80s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,821 ✭✭✭blockic

Ososlo wrote: »
    I'll take the bait :P Dying to know why you think that? Why would you want to stop at that age? Do you think you'll be bored of it by then? Do you currently love running?

Haha, first off, my opinion could change over time of course but at the moment that's how I feel about things.:)

I've nothing against people running marathons beyond that age, completely the opposite in fact. I just feel that I personally will have ticked all the boxes I want from running marathons at that point. Will have done a good few marathons in a number of different places. The initial question is just focused on marathons, I would still keep up shorter distances without a doubt.

Do I love running? Yes, but in particular the racing and the competitive aspect of it. That's what I live for really. Also love the relaxation/getting away from everything else side of things.

Do I love running 6/7 days a week...with some of those runs being over 2 hours....not so much...but to get the marathon times I'm aiming for/ want...this is the amount of training I will have to put in. Of course if I was handed that time on a plate now If all I had to do was run 6/7 days a week, I'd take it with open arms! :D I could also be the fact that I do 95% of my training on my own. Joining a club could change this.

I just feels it is a big commitment over a long period of time. That is why after a few years (that is 10-15 years time!:eek:), I'd probably look to focus on shorter distances (5k-10k) rather than the marathon.

No doubt I'll eat these words in years to come so make sure you bookmark this post! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

Haha, first off, my opinion could change over time of course but at the moment that's how I feel about things.:)

I've nothing against people running marathons beyond that age, completely the opposite in fact. I just feel that I personally will have ticked all the boxes I want from running marathons at that point. Will have done a good few marathons in a number of different places. The initial question is just focused on marathons, I would still keep up shorter distances without a doubt.

Do I love running? Yes, but in particular the racing and the competitive aspect of it. That's what I live for really. Also love the relaxation/getting away from everything else side of things.

Do I love running 6/7 days a week...with some of those runs being over 2 hours....not so much...but to get the marathon times I'm aiming for/ want...this is the amount of training I will have to put in. Of course if I was handed that time on a plate now If all I had to do was run 6/7 days a week, I'd take it with open arms! :D I could also be the fact that I do 95% of my training on my own. Joining a club could change this.

I just feels it is a big commitment over a long period of time. That is why after a few years (that is 10-15 years time!:eek:), I'd probably look to focus on shorter distances (5k-10k) rather than the marathon.

No doubt I'll eat these words in years to come so make sure you bookmark this post! ;)

Bet you'll change your mind ;) Think of all those marathon best in age category prizes to challenge you!
    Personally, I look forward to running in my 40s, 50s, 60s, 70s and who knows after that! Maybe I'll take up golf at that point :D I always wonder why you see so few OAPs out training and participating in races. Why stop when you get to a certain age? Are all the ex-runners banjaxed with bad knees and backs :(

Ososlo wrote: »
    Are all the ex-runners banjaxed with bad knees

This is also something I forgot to mention that is another part of the reason for the plan to packing in the long distances at a reasonable age. Pounding roads with serious mileage for 30/40 yrs would increase risk of knee issues later in life. Something I want to limit if possible!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 875 ✭✭✭scriba

Pounding roads with serious mileage for 30/40 yrs would increase risk of knee issues later in life. Something I want to limit if possible!

Ha, that's what my gf told me today. I said that I mightn't be around to have bad knees if I didn't do all this running anyway, so it's a pay off, should bad knees occur down the road. By then I'll have my own jetpack anyway, so it won't matter. :)

Fauja Singh must have played a hell of a lot of GAA to start running marathons at 89.

scriba wrote: »
    Ha, that's what my gf told me today. I said that I mightn't be around to have bad knees if I didn't do all this running anyway, so it's a pay off, should bad knees occur down the road. By then I'll have my own jetpack anyway, so it won't matter. :)

Fauja Singh must have played a hell of a lot of GAA to start running marathons at 89.

This made me laugh!!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭TFBubendorfer

Pounding roads with serious mileage for 30/40 yrs would increase risk of knee issues later in life.

If I got a Euro every time I heard that nonsense I would be a rich man.

My dad has had knee problems all his life (at least the part of his life I have been around to witness). As far as I know, he has never even run a single mile in one go. By contrast, my knees are fine despite having a lot more road miles in them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,852 ✭✭✭ncmc

I agree with this I have to say. While I love running (it’s taken me a few years to say those 3 words and actually mean it!) I don’t think running marathons into my 40’s and older is something I would be interested in (and I’m a lot closer to that age than Blockic is!) I too have certain marathon goals; I want to do a sub 3:30 marathon and I want to race London Marathon, and hopefully I will hit those targets in the next few years. But after that, I don’t think I would be willing to put in the time that is needed to run a marathon in a way that I know is within my potential. I personally find it quite a substantial time commitment to train for a marathon and there are other things that I would like to do before I hit 40, don’t laugh, but I want to learn French and learn how to play the guitar!

I will definitely always be a runner and I can’t ever see a time when I would give that up willingly, but marathon running and training is not something I can see myself doing continuously as I get older. Though that said, I might find I take a break for a few years and return to marathons, so I suppose never say never!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 930 ✭✭✭jeffontour

I'm 36 and only started with my running.

This is one of my heroes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

ncmc wrote: »
    I agree with this I have to say. While I love running (it’s taken me a few years to say those 3 words and actually mean it!) I don’t think running marathons into my 40’s and older is something I would be interested in (and I’m a lot closer to that age than Blockic is!) I too have certain marathon goals; I want to do a sub 3:30 marathon and I want to race London Marathon, and hopefully I will hit those targets in the next few years. But after that, I don’t think I would be willing to put in the time that is needed to run a marathon in a way that I know is within my potential. I personally find it quite a substantial time commitment to train for a marathon and there are other things that I would like to do before I hit 40, don’t laugh, but I want to learn French and learn how to play the guitar!

I will definitely always be a runner and I can’t ever see a time when I would give that up willingly, but marathon running and training is not something I can see myself doing continuously as I get older. Though that said, I might find I take a break for a few years and return to marathons, so I suppose never say never!

You do realise that to achieve your potential at 5k/10k, you would still need to run 6/7 days a week? The difference in time and mileage commitment for top 5/10k runners and marathon runners is very little. Top 5/10 guts would still run well over 100 miles per week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,742 ✭✭✭ultraman1

jeffontour wrote: »
    I'm 36 and only started with my running.

This is one of my heroes.

loads clicked on dat hoping it was them...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,852 ✭✭✭ncmc

menoscemo wrote: »
    You do realise that to achieve your potential at 5k/10k, you would still need to run 6/7 days a week? The difference in time and mileage commitment for top 5/10k runners and marathon runners is very little. Top 5/10 guts would still run well over 100 miles per week.

To be honest, I don't think I'd be that enthused about shorter races. I think it would be nice just to run for the sake of running, when and for how long you feel like, rather than always training for something. But then I say that now being in the middle of a training programme. I'd probably get bored after a few months of having nothing to aim for!

Maybe just one marathon per year ;)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

menoscemo wrote: »

Even some(most?) distances on the track would do more miles than some marathon runners would do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 930 ✭✭✭jeffontour

ultraman1 wrote: »
    loads clicked on dat hoping it was them...

We all need heroes...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,087 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

There'll always be someone to race to the line against!

542814_423957077689670_1475961013_n.jpg