Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Looking for my lost love

• 22-02-2013 11:41pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭

Hello all, first time posting in this forum so any help is appreciated.

I was searching a thread around here before Christmas, I thought it was the "Post pics of your watch" thread, and I came across a beauty of a watch, but for the life of me I can not find it again. It may not have even been the post pics of your watch thread.

Anywho, the watch in question was a German, I believe, although I might be wrong. It had a black face with a black leather strap and it was a chronograph style. Price was in the regions of €350.00.

From that very brief description can anybody here help me find my lost love??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭smokey20

Thanks for your considerations, however unfortunately it was neither.

It didn't have the white thread in the strap, I don't believe it was that brand and it wasn't a link to eBay.

Any other ideas greatly appreciated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,263 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

Could it have been a Junkers like this one? More here. Definitely wasn't a Zeppelin like this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭Lex Luthor

Those Junkers have some nice watches

Thanks Eoin, some really nice watches there, but alas none of them are my baby.

My love may not have had as many, if any, mini dials on the face.

Thanks for all the suggestions so far and if anything if I don't find my true love, I might get one of the alternative suggestions on the rebound.

Price of true love is about €350-370.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

The only watch that I can remember being talked about as German and costing threefiddy is the STEINHART ...but that's no chronograph

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,253 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

The only other "German" watch I can think of that kinda fits might be the Heuer Bundeswehr supplied to the German military, but you won't get much change out 2 grand for one these days.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

Thanks to Wibbs and Peasant for there contributions.

My true love was not like any of those, it was a little more refined with the class of an IWC Portugese but without the price tag.

Don don don... I found her... Originally posted by Darwin in the wish list thread back the end of Nov '12 but I can't post a link to that so will post a link to the website instead

https://fromanteel.nl/online-shop/the-generations/johannes-white/

The white face and black face ones in the centre, yum yum.

I now understand that my description was well off the mark, it's not a German but from Holland. I told one poster that it didn't have white thread in the strap, but she does. I also said that she may not of had many dials on the face, if any, alas she has 3 beautiful dials on her frontage.

Sorry for such misleading detail but thanks for all the suggestions, the Junkers are lovely.

Back to my Mrs, does anyone have any thoughts on the loyalty of such a fine specimen, will she leave me when the going gets tough or is she a strong reliable keeper?

Apologies the link in the above post was my mistress and this link is in fact my true love as originally posted by Darwin... I'm easily sidetracked.

https://fromanteel.nl/online-shop/the-timemachine/timemachine/_watch_this/

Seems to be the same movement that's in the Tissot PRC200 which is a nice watch. I'd have been all over that Johannes white watch if it was an auto - very nice. Haven't a clue about the brand though, but that's not saying much - haven't a clue about most things!

I really do like this forum and have been viewing it quiet a lot recently, however I really must study up on my watch lingo.... "Movement" no idea what this is, and "auto" don't know what this means either..

My watch knowledge is limited. I have had the attached G Shock for the past 6 years and have loved it for its look alone. I have no idea how it works and unfortunately each time the clock goes forward or back it needs to be manually set, which I can't do, so I have to get bro in law to set.image.jpg

After looking thru this forum I'm gonna start collecting watches, with the watch in one of my previous posts, ie "my true love" been my next watch, with the ultimate aim to some day get a IWC.

The "movement" is the engine of the watch. A quartz one means it's battery powered. An automatic one is powered by the movement of your wrist. A hand-wound one is what it sounds like. Then there's solar powered ones and I'm sure a good few other variations too.

Cheers Eoin, genuinely that is huge help, my true love is a quartz therefore battery powered and therefore a negative mark against it.

My G Shock has not needed a battery since I've had it which is 6 years and therefore I am now led to believe that it is an auto movement and does not have a battery. I've been telling everyone how great my watch is not needing a battery in 6 years, and what ever watch enthusiast has heard me say that must of been laughing to him/herself.

smokey20 wrote: »
    ... unfortunately each time the clock goes forward or back it needs to be manually set, which I can't do...

you might also be interested in a radio controlled chronograph, like this CITIZEN for example ...that even does the time change automatically :D

PS

Your G-shock is definitely battery powered

Cheers peasant, that Citizen is nice but I'd imagine quiet costly with it been titanium...

Re my G Shock, why have I not needed to change the battery for 6 years would you know?

Some quartz watches come with long-life batteries, I think I've heard up to 10 years mentioned.

As a rule of thumb ...anything that has an LCD display and/or lights is not powered by a mechanical/automatic movements. Springs and gearwheels just can't do that:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,775 ✭✭✭Zagato

I'm pretty sure your G-Shock is not an Auto.
    Unless you think it's got something like this in inside it:
    ETA2824-2.jpg

Batteries can certainly last as long as 7yrs and possibly longer, or it could have a battery which is recharged by solar energy.

Ok the fact that my new watch, (il stop referring to it as my true love from now on, cause quiet frankly it is a bit cheesy) is a quartz and has a battery than could potentially last 10 years is now not a negative mark against the watch.

Eoin, or anyone for that matter, why did you say you would be all over the white faced watch if it was an auto? What is the positives of an auto compared to a quartz?

Generally people who collect watches tend to prefer mechanical movements either handwound or auto.
    They are not better watches, they are not more accurate, but people who enjoy watches tend to enjoy the fact that the inner workings of their watch depend on a series of gears, cogs and a spring, rather than the oscillations of a quartz crystal.
    It's important to remember that mechanical watches will also require a bit more love in the form of servicing every 3-5yrs or so

Oh right, so you guys believe that beauty is more than just on the surface, ye enjoy the soul of the watch as well.

I will be the watch collector that is concerned solely with the look of the watch and doesn't really care if its powered by a gerbil on a wheel or a battery, as long as I don't have to go opening it up and servicing it and the likes.

So it is quartz all the way for me... The odd battery change every 5-10 years.

I also forgot to mention the sweep second hand
    It's very difficult to enjoy a quartz watch with a jump second hand after you've worn the former

Zagato wrote: »
    I also forgot to mention the sweep second hand
    It's very difficult to enjoy a quartz watch with a jump second hand after you've worn the former

I hadn't a clue what you meant by that until I googled it and seen a YouTube video of the sweep action and yes it does look very impressive and smooth I must say, compared to the jump hand on a quartz where each second movement is a violent assault of a jump.

As much as the sweep is impressive and strangely enough quiet mesmerising to look at, I think I'm gonna be a quartz collector for the moment due to the fact that there is no servicing required.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭blindsider

I hadn't a clue what you meant by that until I googled it and seen a YouTube video of the sweep action and yes it does look very impressive and smooth I must say, compared to the jump hand on a quartz where each second movement is a violent assault of a jump.

As much as the sweep is impressive and strangely enough quiet mesmerising to look at, I think I'm gonna be a quartz collector for the moment due to the fact that there is no servicing required.

Ah, if only it was that simple!

I have one of these:

http://www.breitling.com/en/models/professional/aerospace/presentation/index.php

which is quartz

and one of these:

http://www.chrono24.com/en/omega/constellation--id2212331.htm?manufacturerIds=187&models=60&picnum=3&tab=pics&urlSubpath=%2Fomega%2Fpre-owned-constellation-watches--mod60-used.htm

which most definitely isn't quartz.

One of these is fast approaching its 50th birtrhday, and hadn't been worn in 15 years. Before I got it serviced, it was losing about 2 mins per day, now its good for <30 secs per day. (This was a basic service locally costing €60, not an Omega-approved service.)

The other needs a new battery every 5 yrs and a service to maintain water-proofing etc. watchrepairs.ie offer a very good and keenly-priced service.

If you thought that you would like your kids to have your watch(es) once you shuffle off this mortal coil, then auto/mechanical are your best bet.

A nice watch witha display back is a thing of beauty:

http://www.google.ie/imgres?imgurl=http://i15.photobucket.com/albums/a374/jmsrolls/watches/Speedypro/threebacks.jpg&imgrefurl=http://forums.watchuseek.com/f20/see-thru-moon-watch-3572-50-good-original-3570-50-a-32946.html&h=503&w=800&sz=102&tbnid=WkSGR3FkA9mvvM:&tbnh=76&tbnw=121&zoom=1&usg=__FvtIZO9fWnxCTJLY2Ckxxs-b3eg=&docid=rOUI3Br_5PFbNM&sa=X&ei=Tw4qUfenMpGYhQeM6YDIDg&ved=0CDsQ9QEwAg&dur=316

so, maybe you shouldn't discount auto/mechanicals just yet.

I DO like that Fromanteel BTW - the black Johannes is my own pick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

Oh right, so you guys believe that beauty is more than just on the surface, ye enjoy the soul of the watch as well.

I will be the watch collector that is concerned solely with the look of the watch and doesn't really care if its powered by a gerbil on a wheel or a battery, as long as I don't have to go opening it up and servicing it and the likes.

So it is quartz all the way for me... The odd battery change every 5-10 years.

Perfectly put
    I will probably quote you every now and then
    Perhaps after setting my autos by using my g shock

Tigger wrote: »
    I will probably quote you every now and then
    Perhaps after setting my autos by using my g shock

I don't know what you mean by that, but fear that I may be getting ridiculed in some covert way?

You're not being ridiculed at all, I think it's just that a few of us think we can change your mind :)

Yea I probably am for changing alright... Restricting myself to quartz alone would count out a lot of truly sexy watches, such as the truly beautiful IWC Portugese (not 100% sure if the IWC is auto but I'd imagine something that beautiful has a super sole).

Blindsider posted above that a service would only be bout 60e every few years so I guess I could get over that as well.

That amount applies to a run of the mill watch being serviced by an indie watchmaker (and it may be a tad low)

But you'd be utterly stupid to drop thousands of Euro on a Portuguese and then potentially get it scratched and/or damaged by someone who doesn't know what they're looking at. Even if they do a perfect job, high end watches need to be serviced within the brand network to keep their value (and re-sale potential) ...and that won't cost 60 euro, No Sir :D

But I'm beginning to suspect that you are the one who is having us on here ...G-shock to IWC Portuguese in 5 easy steps, eyh ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,046 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

Smokey- welcome to the forum. You have a posting style which is most enjoyable to read. Dig in, ask questions and I'm sure in no time at all the good folk here will have you filled with lots of ideas on what you may want to buy next. Around here there's no such thing as one watch too many.

peasant wrote: »

But I'm beginning to suspect that you are the one who is having us on here ...G-shock to IWC Portuguese in 5 easy steps, eyh ?

Ha ha yes that is quiet a ludicrous thought, however I assure you I will be the proud owner of such a watch within the next ten years and it will be a proud moment to post the pic of said watch upon my hairy wrist. I hope your here to see.

Cheers Kintara.

My next watch will be the Fromanteel Time Machine previously posted a few posts back.

Would you or anyone have any thoughts on that or would you prefer the Fromnteel Johanees?

Yea I probably am for changing alright... Restricting myself to quartz alone would count out a lot of truly sexy watches, such as the truly beautiful IWC Portugese (not 100% sure if the IWC is auto but I'd imagine something that beautiful has a super sole).

Oops!!! Need to be careful here - I nned to clarify....that was a local and 'interim' service, not a full service.

Ideally, I'd like to have the Omega serviced full etc and that will cost me €500 I expect. BUT, that will add to the value of the watch, as well as prolongong its lifespan considerably.

Like a good car, agood watch needs to be looked after - and if you aspire to an IWC Portuguese, then you'd better start saving for the service costs pretty soon.

[This watch collecting thing..it's a bug..you've been bitten..it happens...it's not so bad...put away a few quid...make sure she doens't find it...she does it herself anyway...enjoy the guilty pleasure...;)]

blindsider wrote: »

[This watch collecting thing..it's a bug..you've been bitten..it happens...it's not so bad...put away a few quid...make sure she doens't find it...she does it herself anyway...enjoy the guilty pleasure...;)]

I like your style and coincidentally enough that was my very thought (hide some money to buy watches... Hide watches whenever she's around)

500notes for a service, that is expensive... However it's all proportionate. When I can afford the IWC, I will be in a position not to worry about service costs!

thanks Smokey - re costs..they vary..IWC are never going to be cheap, however http://www.watchrepairs.ie/prices.html ..not so bad.

Re your Fromanteel choice - they are essentially the same watch - movement, dimensions etc are identical, so it's basically the aesthetics or design that are in question - and they are (IMO) def a personal choice.

Whichever you go for, enjoy!

BTW - once you've acquired the Fromanteel, have a look at a Seiko SKX007, and a Flieger (Flier) by Stowa.de or Laco.de

They're different, and will give you options when the Fromanteel needs a rest.

Yes, after looking through this forum the last 2 months I have noticed and marked down the following watches to my to have list:

Seiko SKX007
    Balyrhy posted the following picture in another thread and I must say I really, really like it.
    The strap really makes a positive difference to it compared to the rubber strap or steel braclet that I usually see on them.
    As it is a relatively well priced watch, it is one that I will be getting in the very foreseeable future... Does anyone know where I would get the strap as there is not an option for that strap on the Creations website?

242292.jpg

The Flieger by Stowa
    Another fine watch and yes Im now aware that it is mechanical. I am now over my short lived mechanical/auto phobia.
    Question on this tho... the Steigler on the Stowa website is priced €690.00 without the Stowa logo and €630.00 with the logo - I felt this odd to be charging more for a watch that does not bear their logo?

Laco
    Nice watches, however I do favour the other Germans - Stowa & Steinhart.

Steinhart
    Yes, most certianly on my to obtain list.

General question about the brands of Stowa, Laco and Steinhart... they to me (a very untrained eye) look to be very similar in face design with all 3 of them having the triangle shaped 12 marker.

Is there some copy right infringement litigation under way or is this just a mark of Germanisity?

General question about the brands of Stowa, Laco and Steinhart... they to me (a very untrained eye) look to be very similar in face design with all 3 of them having the triangle shaped 12 marker.

Is there some copy right infringement litigation under way or is this just a mark of Germanisity?

start your reading here:

http://www.calibremagazine.com/node/305

peasant wrote: »

Brilliant, excellent post peasant, great stuff.

That article could not have possibly answered my thoughts any better.

Great stuff.

Very interested to read of the origin behind such things as the big onion winder and the triangle 12 marker. Interesting to know the Fuhrer was so much of a driving force behind the success of the likes of IWC, Stowa, etc.

I have taken the plunge in to the world of autos and have ordered the skx007 from creations today

http://www.creationwatches.com/products/seiko-divers-60/seiko-automatic-divers-skx007j1-skx007j-skx007-200m-made-in-japan-watch-837.html?currency=EUR

This purchase is the start of my watch collection (which consists of a whole 2 watches at the moment). I must admit it is an expensive habit... Watch €168.00, Mrs's hair €140.00.. €308.00 for a Seiko skx007, scawldy!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭Mitch Buchannon

I have taken the plunge in to the world of autos and have ordered the skx007 . I must admit it is an expensive habit... Watch €168.00, Mrs's hair €140.00.. €308.00 for a Seiko skx007, scawldy!!

In fairness there are more expensive habits out there. I can't believe ye got stung for the Mrs hair though.. €140.00 jaysus. That hair doo will be all washed out this time next week, the 007 you will have in 50 years if you take care of it.

The 007 is a great watch, We want pics when the watch arrives. :-)

Photos will def be posted, looking forward to getting it now...

I will be getting the brown Hirsch Liberty strap, which Ballyhyh86 has on his/hers, for it as I feel it transforms the watch for the better... However the strap will have to wait, as Peter Marks has put a dent in my wallet.