Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Car window smashed - few questions

• 20-02-2013 10:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,300 ✭✭✭

Came out of the gym to find my car window smashed. It was just the small window on the right hand back door (rear quarter). Nothing stolen.
    (they also smashed the driver window of a nice Alfa two bays down).

This was at Coolmine Sports Centre between 7.30 and 8.30 this evening.

First time I've experienced my car getting damaged like this.

Few questions -

a) I take it its hardly worth reporting it to the Gardai since nothing was stolen. I did go back into the gym to give all the details. They have security cameras.

b) I have windscreen protection but does that cover damage to side windows in cases like this.

c) If not, ball park replacement cost? Its an Opel Astra hatchback

Thanks all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 545 ✭✭✭Chemical Burn

Solyad wrote: »
    I take it its hardly worth reporting it to the Gardai since nothing was stolen. I did go back into the gym to give all the details. They have security

I still would, scumbag should at least be brought to justice for what he did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 405 ✭✭shooter88

You should have reported it to gards immediately they might have caught them braking other windows,still worth reporting it now just incase

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,300 ✭✭✭PixelTrawler

Good idea about calling them. Just off the phone to Blanch Garda station there.
    They took some details to give to the patrols in the area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,088 ✭✭✭sean1141

windscreen cover usually covers all glass but check with your insurance first

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 646 ✭✭✭mccarthy37

I had my windscreen broken and reported it to the Gardai and all they asked was did I have windscreen protection. I'm glad I did but I felt it was a complete waste of time reporting this because no details were even written down.

Excellent, Garda I spoke to offered to send someone over to make a report or call to them tomorrow and do it.

I said I'd leave it til tomorrow, no point dragging a Garda over tonight.

I'll phone the insurance too, someone was telling me those little windows can be expensive to replace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

I'd still report it to the Garda, even if it was just a record of it in the event your insurance company ask.

mccarthy37 wrote: »
    I had my windscreen broken and reported it to the Gardai and all they asked was did I have windscreen protection. I'm glad I did but I felt it was a complete waste of time reporting this because no details were even written down.

What he said to me was they can't take a report (for insurance purposes) over the phone. So either they could send someone tonight to take the details (and I'm sure they have enough to be doing, its hardly an emergency) or I could drop in tomorrow, so they could enter into it onto the system.

He was pretty sound on the phone.

Has anyone used them?
    Do I need to notify my insurance first?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Has anyone used them?
    Do I need to notify my insurance first?

If you're getting the window fixed via insurance (ie. Windscreen cover), then you need to arrange this with them first and they'll probably give you an approved repair centre to use. Otherwise you'll probably end up out of pocket.

Ok perfect, I'll ring them in the morning. I have glass cover and claim protection.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

I've used autoglass before and never had any problems with them. As said you will need to ring your insurance company first as they usually have a preferred glass replacement company that offers them a discount. Otherwise they may only cover upto a certain amount with a non preferred glass replacement company.

Thanks for all the helpful posts, folks.

My insurer lists Mr Windscreen http://www.mig.ie/claim/
    So I'll give them a buzz in the morning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭ian87

Had an identical thing happen to me when I was in college. Reported to the gardai, rang insurance and the girl in axa told me to say there was attempted theft of the vehicle and it would be covered by windscreen cover. This was a Friday morning, was booked in Monday. Dropped the car in and it was done within 20 mins. Only pain was the cleaning up of the glass..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,780 ✭✭✭carzony

This happened to me except it seems to have been deliberate, My car was smashed up outside my house last halloween at 7 in the morning. Most of my neightbours seen them head directly toward my car with a brick and a steel bar. Little b*astards destroyed my car for no reason what so ever,:eek::eek::eek: I still feel paranoid leaving my car parked outside:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,793 ✭✭✭coolisin

report it to the gardai,
    Although there is feck all they can do about it right now, but at least its reported.
    But yeah call the insurance company they'll put you through to the windscreen company they prefere.
    After that there is nothing to worry about.

All done. Autoglass fixed it this morning.
    Insurance covered it. Very quick and professional.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭Sadderday

Thats cr'ap news! .... you will be worrying about your car when your parked up there again.

Little f'uckers

I know. I might have to walk to the fitness centre.. pfff, exercise who needs it

More seriously, one part of the carpark is well lit, the other is very dark (section to the right as you go in).
    They have cameras that are useless after dark.

Be warned if you use Coolmine Sports Centre.

Lads up in Autoglass were great, made me a nice cuppa and all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭Sadderday

I know. I might have to walk to the fitness centre.. pfff, exercise who needs it

More seriously, one part of the carpark is well lit, the other is very dark (section to the right as you go in).
    They have cameras that are useless after dark.

Be warned if you use Coolmine Sports Centre.

Lads up in Autoglass were great, made me a nice cuppa and all.

ye but its just stress ya dont need !!