Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

prize fighter sat night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,351 ✭✭✭djhaxman

Anything Fraudley is involved in is a joke.

I'd like to see another super 6 competition at a weight category where there are some decent fighters. The super middleweights one was very good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,447 ✭✭✭barney4001

I thought Mike Perez might have entered this one again as it would have been easy money for the likes of him,he must have packed the game in maybe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭clubwelly

Ah lads Audley sells tickets people love to see him loose.
    Yeah usually the recent heavyweights have been slow and not easy to watch.
    Would like to see Rogie do it again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,447 ✭✭✭barney4001

Quarter-final one: Martin Rogan v Albert Sosnowski
    Quarter-final two: Audley Harrison v Claus Bertino
    Quarter-final three: Ian Lewison v Tino Hoffman
    Quarter-final four: Travis Walker v Derric Rossy

Travis Walker 9/4
    Audley 3/1
    Sosnowski 9/2
    Lewison 7/1
    Rogan 9/1
    Rossi 16/1
    Bertino 25/1
    Hoffman 33/1

I haven't seen any match betting yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 879 ✭✭✭risteard7

I'ts a poor line up. I was going to say i'ts a bunch of has beens, but then again they never were.
    I'll still watch though bet ya audley will win just to sicken everybody.it'll be hilarious if he does

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭Wild_Dogger

Prizefighter is getting slated a lot these days.

I think its a great line up considering that there is only 32K prizemoney for just one fighter.

This will be a good event, with just 540 seconds fight duration I expect a lot of action as fighter race to stay on top.

I fancy Walker here if he can get past Rossy.
    My second choice is Rogan who looks confident.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,758 ✭✭✭Strongbow10

getting KO'd in round one by Audley Harrison, sweet baby jaysus

something to tell the grandkids about :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 817 ✭✭✭2old4dacold

missed start, did Rogie win?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 129 ✭✭michaelr666

he did.. facing Harrison in the semis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,351 ✭✭✭magherakid

Rogie v Harrison coming up now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,455 ✭✭✭weemcd

Very low standard, Harrison looks like he's through to the final

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭Syferus

Rogan was hopped up to hell tonight. Same old Audley, terrified of being hit. If Lewison is any good he'll beat him.

I love how the cameraman got caught out. What a joke of a decision.

It was the right decision. Rossy edged the first and third rounds no matter how one-sided the second was.

Safety First's career will continue.

Leight has a record of 140 losses out of 150 odd fights with 6 draws :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,745 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

God sky at the hype job again saying how impressive stalker is. Eh he is facing a guy with 130 or so losses you couldnt find a guy with a record worse then that

A terrible terrible night for the Brittish boxing fraternity

Can Audley save the day ?

A terrible terrible night for the Brittish boxing fraternity

Can Audley save the day ?

Do Britain have a single elite fighter? someone who can genuinely mix it with the best in their division? despite all the hype

Froch is a hard nut yeah, but Ward gave him fits

Burns is improving but largely untested

Price/Fury are both no marks

Kell Brook untested

Cleverly?? eh......no

Its a poor era in fairness.

Do Britain have a single elite fighter? someone who can genuinely mix it with the best in their division? despite all the hype

Froch is a hard nut yeah, but Ward gave him fits

Burns is improving but largely untested

Price/Fury are both no marks

Kell Brook untested

Cleverly?? eh......no

Its a poor era in fairness.
    Froch is real quality beaten some real world class fighters in my top 15 p4p in the world Burns is second best in his division behind Broner who looks the next big star Fury is improving all the time and Price will come again, Brook and Cleverly are just very hyped and i agree are quite poor

People say that about Froch, I admire his willingness to take on all comers. He has lot of names on his record yes.

A shot Jermaine Taylor completely outboxed him until he landed a lucky shot.

He outworked a very agricultural Arthur Abraham

A slightly overcooked Mikkel Kessler beat him

Andre Ward made him look silly

The Pascal and Bute win's are impressive, but froch is more exciting rather than in possession of any real quality.

Even Dirrell looked to be giving him problems and lost a contentious home town decision.

Burns is not number 2 in the lightweight division in my eyes either in fairness.

Ah sure, might as well put Audley against Vlad. A-Force 2013! Safety first!

People say that about Froch, I admire his willingness to take on all comers. He has lot of names on his record yes.

The Pascal and Bute win's are impressive, but froch is more exciting rather than in possession of any real quality.

Even Dirrell looked to be giving him problems and lost a contentious home town decision.

Burns is not number 2 in the lightweight division in my eyes either in fairness.
    I suppose Burns fight with Vazquez will tell us a lot about Burns but if he wins that he is number 2 for sure as for Froch The Kessler fight was really close and i fancy him to win the rematch Ward is a real elite talent number 2 p4p in the world Froch is a world class fighter has proven that a number of times everyone felt Bute would beat him but Froch destroyed him and gave one of the most impressive performances of the year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭megadodge

A "lucky shot" ???

Can you explain that one please?
    As an ex-boxer and coach and longterm fan I can never recall being taught, teaching someone or hearing of the teaching of how to throw a "lucky shot".
    If a boxer throws a punch with the intention of hitting his opponent - and he then hits the very opponent he meant to hit, how the hell is that "lucky"????

As for Taylor being "shot", he had won the super-middle title in his previous bout. And though he had been KO'd by the then very impressive Kelly Pavlik, he went the distance in very competitive return and was the betting favourite for Froch's bout.

Beating Abraham in every round is now reduced to the Armenian being "agricultural" - whatever that is.

Kessler was "overcooked" (whatever that means also) in your opinion, but I think he's boxing as well as ever and has always been an outstanding boxer. He's high quality.

Ward beat him fair and sqaure and unlike most boxers Froch admitted as much and never came out with bullsh!t excuses. Ward is an outstanding talent ( he hasn't been beaten since he was 12 and won Olympic gold at a higher weight than he normally boxes in order to clear the way for Dirrell at middle) and losing to him is no disgrace.

Whatever about the above, it's your view that "..but froch is more exciting rather than in possession of any real quality" that really takes the biscuit.
    How can a boxer who doesn't possess any "real quality" be a amateur World Championship bronze medalist and two-time World pro champion??? That makes no sense whatsoever.

Whatever about young up-and-coming boxers attributes being debated Carl Froch has proven himself to be a top-class boxer and there's no disputing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,787 ✭✭✭Jayob10

megadodge wrote: »
    A "lucky shot" ???

Can you explain that one please?
    As an ex-boxer and coach and longterm fan I can never recall being taught, teaching someone or hearing of the teaching of how to throw a "lucky shot".
    If a boxer throws a punch with the intention of hitting his opponent - and he then hits the very opponent he meant to hit, how the hell is that "lucky"????

As for Taylor being "shot", he had won the super-middle title in his previous bout. And though he had been KO'd by the then very impressive Kelly Pavlik, he went the distance in very competitive return and was the betting favourite for Froch's bout.

Beating Abraham in every round is now reduced to the Armenian being "agricultural" - whatever that is.

Kessler was "overcooked" (whatever that means also) in your opinion, but I think he's boxing as well as ever and has always been an outstanding boxer. He's high quality.

Ward beat him fair and sqaure and unlike most boxers Froch admitted as much and never came out with bullsh!t excuses. Ward is an outstanding talent ( he hasn't been beaten since he was 12 and won Olympic gold at a higher weight than he normally boxes in order to clear the way for Dirrell at middle) and losing to him is no disgrace.

Whatever about the above, it's your view that "..but froch is more exciting rather than in possession of any real quality" that really takes the biscuit.
    How can a boxer who doesn't possess any "real quality" be a amateur World Championship bronze medalist and two-time World pro champion??? That makes no sense whatsoever.

Whatever about young up-and-coming boxers attributes being debated Carl Froch has proven himself to be a top-class boxer and there's no disputing it.

I'd have to agree, Froch has mixed it with the very best theres no disputing it.

I do see where the previous poster is coming from in some ways, although the lack of recognition of Froch's quality is laughable

As you point out, Froch has amateur achievements aswell. His pro career has been based on graft, doing things the hard way, actually beating guys rather than being handed promotional deals that some lesser British fighters have been given.

And he is a straight talker, I like that about him.

However, to be extremely critical I don't think Taylor was at his best when he fought Froch, sure he beat Jeff Lacy. But in my opinion he was on the wane, and managed to make Froch look average before the late stoppage.

He also lost to Arthur Abraham in his next fight, Froch beat Abraham comprehensively, but again in my opinion AA was a decent middleweight and no more.

The acid test for Froch was Andre Ward, and it was a complete shut out. A non event. Ward won at a canter.

The OP was over the top in slating Froch for sure, but to say Froch is a GREAT fighter is over the top on the other end of the scale. He is a good fighter, but not a great one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭megadodge

Jayob10 wrote: »
    I'd have to agree, Froch has mixed it with the very best theres no disputing it.

I do see where the previous poster is coming from in some ways, although the lack of recognition of Froch's quality is laughable

As you point out, Froch has amateur achievements aswell. His pro career has been based on graft, doing things the hard way, actually beating guys rather than being handed promotional deals that some lesser British fighters have been given.

And he is a straight talker, I like that about him.

However, to be extremely critical I don't think Taylor was at his best when he fought Froch, sure he beat Jeff Lacy. But in my opinion he was on the wane, and managed to make Froch look average before the late stoppage.

He also lost to Arthur Abraham in his next fight, Froch beat Abraham comprehensively, but again in my opinion AA was a decent middleweight and no more.

The acid test for Froch was Andre Ward, and it was a complete shut out. A non event. Ward won at a canter.

The OP was over the top in slating Froch for sure, but to say Froch is a GREAT fighter is over the top on the other end of the scale. He is a good fighter, but not a great one.

I never said he was GREAT.

But he's a hell of a lot better than a lot of people give him credit for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 323 ✭✭el flaco

People's performances against Andre Ward should never be used as a stick to beat them with. The guy is so far ahead that it's an unfair comparison. Not only are there no British boxers as good as him, there are very very few boxers from anywhere on the planet that can compare to him, in any weight class.