Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Lakes 10K 07/09/2013

• 20-02-2013 3:57pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 730 ✭✭✭

Lakeshore Striders are running The Lakes 10K in Blessington on the 7th of September.

Last years thread

Race Website

Route Map

Charity Website

Rate this based on, Scenery, PB potential, Atmosphere, Value, Organisation 17 votes

5 stars (excellent)
    0%
    4 stars (good)
    88%
    CrashKrusty_ClowngroovygheffsarmyhollypinkdavemcmahonbeertonsFiredanceBungy GirlFITZAprewpdTRRthewolf_ieWeeping Willow 15 votes
    3 stars (average)
    5%
    eyeball kid 1 vote
    2 stars (poor)
    0%
    1 star (terrible)
    5%
    Lad Of Banter 1 vote

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭eyeball kid

3 stars (average)
    Anyone else doing this? I've just signed up for it there. I've never done it before but live quite close to Blessington so it should be handy to get to.
    Judging by last years's thread, it seems to be a well run race. Looking forward to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭FITZA

4 stars (good)
    Couple of other runners (of my standard... sub 55m if we're lucky:() suggested this run (they did it last year) so I've entered it, and as live close enough had a run around the course...it's grand, couple of hills, one of them (the worse one:() approx 500m... at around 6.5k... Good luck with it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 730 ✭✭✭antomagoo

There is only 150 or so places left & we expect it to sell out so if you're thinking of doing it & haven't signed up yet you would probably want to soon.

Facebook page (still needs some work :o)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,553 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

4 stars (good)
    Looking forward to it (third year in a row!). Have managed a PB in my two previous visits, so hoping to make it a holy trinity of PBs (if I can get my limbs working properly).
    Did you guys not bull-doze that hill yet? :)

Nah, its too much fun & besides you can use it for tactical purposes, just think of it as the Mount Ventoux of the 10K circuit :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 109 ✭✭randomCluster

I'd like to run this. Sounds like a good event and gets the KC seal of approval.
    What's parking like at this event?
    Is it in a field?

I'd like to run this. Sounds like a good event and gets the KC seal of approval.
    What's parking like at this event?
    Is it in a field?

There's 2 parking areas both in fields, one has gravel access & we put down mats (for want of a better description) for the overflow car park. We've never had an issue with people getting stuck if that is what your concern is

3 stars (average)
    Looks like the weather will be wet and cold for tomorrow. Hopefully it won't be too bad!

Have only had 2 weeks of training after a injuries for most of July/Aug so won't be looking to break any records, just hoping to finish really. :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

4 stars (good)
    antomagoo wrote: »
    There's 2 parking areas both in fields, one has gravel access & we put down mats (for want of a better description) for the overflow car park. We've never had an issue with people getting stuck if that is what your concern is

good to know! especially with the rain forecast for tonight & tomorrow, was hoping for a cool dry day, maybe they got the weather wrong :-) I'm doing this for the first time tomorrow & just read last years thread, sounds like it will be a great race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 184 ✭✭Lad Of Banter

1 star (terrible)
    any public transport out there?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,642 ✭✭✭TRR

4 stars (good)
    looking forward to this. Haven't ran it in a while but was my favourite race back in 2010 when I ran it.

One question ........... will the ice cream van be at the finish line as usual? :)

any public transport out there?

Dublin Bus No. 65

TRR wrote: »
    looking forward to this. Haven't ran it in a while but was my favourite race back in 2010 when I ran it.

One question ........... will the ice cream van be at the finish line as usual? :)

I was waiting for this question, no unfortunately not :(

The ice-cream van was provided courtesy of our previous race sponsor for the last 3 years. We have tried to compensate some what with extra chocolate in the goodie bags. Also don't forget the muffins. After all that you;d have no room for ice-cream :o

Oh & we have a hill at 6K, everyone likes hills don't they? ;)

It's a wet morning down here in Blesso. Not raining at the moment so lets hope it stays that way for a few hours

3 stars (average)
    Just home from this now. Have to say, it was a really well organised race. Everything on time and well marshalled. The goodie bag at the end was full of stuff (still eating the muffin!).

The hill at 6 km killed me. I was probably running a bit too fast up til then and I knew the hill was coming but it still knocked it out of me. My watch said I did it in about 50:07 which is about a min off my previous best time. A bit disappointed not to beat 50 mins but it still a PB so delighted with that. :D

How long does it take for the official results to be up online?

4 stars (good)

How long does it take for the official results to be up online?

results are here http://www.precisiontiming.net/result/racetimer

Just back myself. Love everything about this race. Big fan of the goody bag myself. For a race that has only been on the go for 5 or so years it is absolutely brilliant and the fact it sells out every year is a testament to the organisers. What's more they donate all profits to a deserving charity. Super stuff Lakeshore Striders

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,553 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

4 stars (good)
    Third year in a row participating in the race and third year in a row it has delivered. Great organization, great route and another PB. Great idea to cancel the ice-cream van as it really wasn't ice cream weather. ;)

3 stars (average)

Thats great,thanks TRR. The chip time shows the exact same time as my watch. Finished inside the top 200. Out of 526 finisher, I'm delighted about that.

Pity about the rain and cold this morning but you can't have everything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

Ran this today for the first time. Loved it. I'm local so I've run most of the course before today but eyes might have been bigger than my lungs. Was on for a better time at the 6k mark but the hill killed me. Didn't get back to my normal, comfortable pace until about the 8k mark. I was happy though, really enjoyable, just very cold and exposed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 851 ✭✭✭thewolf_ie

4 stars (good)
    Great to be a part of Lakeshore Striders and permitted to run the course. Took it handy until the hill. I charged the hill and came down the other side as fast as I could, the downhill took it out of me though. I reckon I took it to handy until the hill but was running with a club mate and we executed our race plan nearly perfectly. Need to practice the downhill speed a bit more now. I found the last k was when I had to dig in. Nice new PB of 39:26.

Never got to meet Krusty Clown or run afterwards. I did see an orange top disappear into the distance!

4 stars (good)
    thewolf_ie wrote: »
    Never got to meet Krusty Clown or run afterwards. I did see an orange top disappear into the distance!

The threat of your jacuzzi had him on his toes ;)

Cheers for the feedback.

Few things didn't go exactly to plan, 5 minutes late starting & the start banner collapsing. The weather didn't help with parking but it all worked out in the end.

Would be interested to hear why it got 1 vote of 2 stars, we can only improve if we know where we got it wrong.

4 stars (good)
    Really enjoyed today. Very well organised, wasn't aware it was late starting or that the start banner had collapsed! No bother with parking, lots of stewards to assist. Drummers were great... warm up was fun! Wanted to run a sub 50 10k (last 10k I ran in June was 53.10) and was delighted to finish in 49.32 today!! (following a 6 week training plan). The hill was tough but if we didn't run up it we wouldn't have had the very pleasant downhill after it!! Lovely treats after the race, muffins, fruit, chocolate, jellies, etc. Congratulations to all involved. See you next year hopefully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 911 ✭✭✭heffsarmy

4 stars (good)
    It's a geat race, well organised. Pitty the weather didn't play ball and my shoe laces, apart from that I enjoyed, will be back.

4 stars (good)
    Cheers for the feedback.

Few things didn't go exactly to plan, 5 minutes late starting & the start banner collapsing. The weather didn't help with parking but it all worked out in the end.

Would be interested to hear why it got 1 vote of 2 stars, we can only improve if we know where we got it wrong.

Honestly didn't notice late start or start gantry. Parking was grand. Looked a little tricky maybe for late comers. I think the fact 8/10 gave it 5 stars shows you most things went right. somebody will always have an issue, valid or not. My one complaint are those fecking signs on the hill at 6k, they really piss me off :)

3 stars (average)
    Cheers for the feedback.

Same here, didn't notice the late start or the banner.

When I voted earlier, I saw that the person who voted 2 star has said 'lack of atmosphere'. Can't see it now for some reason. Didn't notice a lack of atmosphere myself even though I was there by myself.

4 stars (good)
    Honestly didn't notice late start or start gantry. Parking was grand. Looked a little tricky maybe for late comers. I think the fact 8/10 gave it 5 stars shows you most things went right. somebody will always have an issue, valid or not. My one complaint are those fecking signs on the hill at 6k, they really piss me off :)

It was the one thing I said after the race....those feckin signs on the hill....wanted to kick them.....:eek::D

4 stars (good)
    The signs made me smile! That view at the top is worth it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 Weeping Willow

4 stars (good)
    Yesterday was my first 10K and a group of us did it. I thought it was a very well run and well organised race, from the marshalls at the car park, to the sign in, the drums everything. The weather didnt help but you cant change that ! It was great that there were people out to cheer us on at every KM and the locals were great to stand out in the rain and cheer & support us. I was way back at the start and didnt even know we were 5 mins late and the problems at the start gantry but really enjoyed the race. The hill wiped me but the signs were funny. We will definately be back again next year :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

4 stars (good)
    Thought the race was very well organised, likewise I didn't notice late start. Really appreciated the locals out in the rain at their gateways the whole way round. Loved the muffins at the finish & best goody bag I've ever received. Thrilled I got a PB too despite that hill! Will be back for sure thanks to all for a great race :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭wpd

4 stars (good)
    first time running it, but really enjoyed it despite the weather
    great organisation and atmosphere

Are there any photos posted??

wpd wrote: »
    first time running it, but really enjoyed it despite the weather
    great organisation and atmosphere

Are there any photos posted??

Cheers wpd, I haven't got the photos yet, will post up link as soon as I get them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭hollypink

4 stars (good)
    Just to echo the positive feedback above, I really enjoyed this race, well organised and lovely how local people came out in the rain to support, and the muffins and goody bag were very welcome. I was a bit worried about parking in a field when it was such a wet morning but it was absolutely fine. Would definitely do it again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭Bungy Girl

4 stars (good)
    Thanks to the organisers for a great race. It's my third time to do it and I think it's hard to beat for organisation, atmosphere and goody bag. 5/5 from me, will be back next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,198 ✭✭✭✭Crash

4 stars (good)
    Just wanted to add to the thanks - it was a really great and well organised race, the atmosphere was great, between other runners and the locals cheering people on. Will definitely do it again next year.

4 stars (good)
    My race report can be found at the following link; http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=86437758&postcount=166

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,143 ✭✭✭outforarun

From my race-report:

"Have to say thanks to Lakeshore Striders for an excellently organized race. Quick registration, simple bagdrop, compact ‘race-centre’, drummers, orderly marshalling, simple pace cards, good signage, KM markers along the route, well measured route, water in bottles, good run off area, friendly volunteers, chip times quickly posted, quality t-shirt, generous goodie bag, bananas, muffins and hot tea on a cold and wet morning. I finished thinking I can’t wait to run this race again next year. 5 out of 5."

Full race report here:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=86443446&postcount=779

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 ftoolio

Hi All,

Just to add my tuppance worth, fantastic race, it was my first time doing it. Extremely well organised, from registration to marshalling to the finish. I had heard there was a "bit of a hill" at 6km, bloody hell that knocked the stuffing out of me.

Was there a free T-Shirt??? I got the goodie bag alright.

Fergus

4 stars (good)
    ftoolio wrote: »
    Hi All,

Just to add my tuppance worth, fantastic race, it was my first time doing it. Extremely well organised, from registration to marshalling to the finish. I had heard there was a "bit of a hill" at 6km, bloody hell that knocked the stuffing out of me.

Was there a free T-Shirt??? I got the goodie bag alright.

Fergus

If you registered by a certain date (August 1st I think!) you had the option of ordering a T-Shirt. Was disappointed I hadn't ordered one when I saw them on Saturday.:(

Thanks for that! Cracking race, ill be back next year to try knock a few seconds on this years time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 184 ✭✭Lad Of Banter

1 star (terrible)
    great race, definitly do it again next year.

Can someone explain the difference between gross result and net result? (Sorry, first time doing something like this)... :confused:

Gross is the time from when the race starts, net is from when you cross the start line.

Net is your finish time! Never worry about gross time.

Make sense?

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,223 ✭✭✭✭beertons

4 stars (good)
    My first proper 10k race too. I really enjoyed it. The signs for the hill were a laugh, even though I felt like turning back. The t shirts are lovely, will definitely be wearing them out training on the roads. Will definitely be signing up for it again next year. Got a great time too, hopefully by next year, I'll be breaking 45 minutes.

4 stars (good)
    Anyone find any pics of the day
    I know last years are on the website so was hoping for some of this year

4 stars (good)
    wpd wrote: »
    Anyone find any pics of the day
    I know last years are on the website so was hoping for some of this year

I read on The Lakes Facebook page that pics might be posted last weekend...I haven't seen any yet! Great pics from other years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭groovyg

4 stars (good)
    Photos ??? Seriously, why would anybody want photos of themselves running on what was a miserable day in terms of weather. At least with previous years the sun was shining but this year it was sh1t. The course was accurate, fast and the organisation was top notch. What more do people want?

Besides are the people who turn up at races and take photos not just people who are interested in photography and it is generally done on a voluntary basis?
    They are not obliged to upload all their photos to Racepix and other social media outlets. Some of the pics that are uploaded to those sites are just plain awful.
    Jeeezus christ no matter how well something is organised, people always find something to complain about.:mad:

4 stars (good)
    I was not blaming organisers on lack of photos

would like to see how tired and wet i look at finish

Looking forward to doing it again next year

Photos haven't gone up yet as I have not got them yet.

This is the 1st year we've a had facebook page & I'm the only one on the race committee with a facebook account so it falls solely to me.

Photographer was there on voluntary basis, he & I both have full time jobs. I was up to my eyes last week (wife away & minding baby & working) & racing in Athlone on Saturday so you'll excuse me if putting photos on Facebook was down my list of priorities.

If it's going to be something that disappoints you about a race you are going to be very disappointed from some races out there that have a higher standard than ourselves.

We try to deliver a good quality event on the the day & something like getting photos up is not a priority, rightly or wrongly.

Photos haven't gone up yet as I have not got them yet.

This is the 1st year we've a had facebook page & I'm the only one on the race committee with a facebook account so it falls solely to me.

Photographer was there on voluntary basis, he & I both have full time jobs. I was up to my eyes last week (wife away & minding baby & working) & racing in Athlone on Saturday so you'll excuse me if putting photos on Facebook was down my list of priorities.

If it's going to be something that disappoints you about a race you are going to be very disappointed from some races out there that have a higher standard than ourselves.

We try to deliver a good quality event on the the day & something like getting photos up is not a priority, rightly or wrongly.

Might be a bit disingenuous with this comment, I'll withdraw it.

4 stars (good)
    Just checked your website....great photos...well done!