Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Debra Ireland Wicklow Mountain Half / 10km - 02/03/2013

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭The Davestator

I did it last year and the day was glorious - nicest run I've ever done.

Can't do it this year, as it clashes with my training for Paris mara, but would highly recommend it. Very tough

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,658 ✭✭✭Halloween Jack

Anyone signing up for this years Debra Ireland Half Marathon / 10k?

https://www.debraireland.org/events/event-item/?guid=ecc991d5-5207-4b43-a4eb-47c773a06012

Few lads from working doing the half. Our first time up this neck of the woods and for some of us our first half!

Any idea if the route has been destroyed but the recent weather?

I was up in the hills near enough there hiking last weekend. Conditions are ok, bit boggy in parts, but im sure organisers will be aware of that and adjust the route accordingly. Any of the established trails i was on were in fairly good nick.

Its beautiful up there, if its clear and dry you wont even notice the miles going by, would do it myself but for other obligations.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,307 ✭✭✭T runner

Anyone signing up for this years Debra Ireland Half Marathon / 10k?

https://www.debraireland.org/events/event-item/?guid=ecc991d5-5207-4b43-a4eb-47c773a06012

Few lads from working doing the half. Our first time up this neck of the woods and for some of us our first half!

Any idea if the route has been destroyed but the recent weather?

Im running this. Id treat it with caution if its your first half. If you look at the profile, the 2nd hill ends at about 8.5k. You need to be in good nick at the top of this with 13k left to run. Needless to say if you storm up the first hill
    youll have a long hard day on the hills. First hill is for warming up. Hope ye have a god one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭thirstywork2

T runner wrote: »
    Im running this. Id treat it with caution if its your first half. If you look at the profile, the 2nd hill ends at about 8.5k. You need to be in good nick at the top of this with 13k left to run. Needless to say if you storm up the first hill
    youll have a long hard day on the hills. First hill is for warming up. Hope ye have a god one.

looking forward to this race myself,went wrong two years ago :(

Last hill is very tough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,742 ✭✭✭ultraman1

looking forward to this race myself,went wrong two years ago :(

Last hill is very tough.
    will u be changing the route markers on this one:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,348 ✭✭✭ErinGoBrath

T runner wrote: »

Thanks for this, will proceed with caution!

Looking forward to this, hope we get the weather.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭RoverHogan

Looking forward to this, we should be getting good weather. Anyone know what the underfoot conditions are like? Would it be possible to use the runners rather then the trail shoes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,348 ✭✭✭ErinGoBrath

RoverHogan wrote: »
    Looking forward to this, we should be getting good weather. Anyone know what the underfoot conditions are like? Would it be possible to use the runners rather then the trail shoes?

Their Facebook page said soft to firm and that was on Wednesday. Conditions should be perfect, looking forward to getting my first one under the belt.

Good luck