Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Can someone Bust this TCD Myth

• 16-02-2013 11:40am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 484 ✭✭

So I am a Researcher and Phd student at TCD, and I have heard some wierd rumours about some strange laws surrounding the place.

Apparently Guards can't enter the TCD campus at all, one of the guys I work with claims this, is this actually true or not?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,635 CMod ✭✭✭✭Ravelleman

Well, given that it's private property, no, they cannot just enter the campus arbitrarily. If they're called, then they can, of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

First thing Monday morning, rob the Bank of Ireland on College Green, leg it through front arch and see if they chase you. Best way of finding these things out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 239 ✭✭Gae

Gardaí can and do stroll through the campus just like members of the public can and do. I presume they cannot enter areas not open to the public (like private offices) without permission or a warrant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,445 ✭✭✭jd83

Ive often seen Gardai walking through the campus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

The Queen's visit? I'm pretty certain there was at least one Garda on campus then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

Guards are frequently on campus. They definitely had a "Meet the community Liason Officer" thing in the arts block concourse.

They'll also be knocking about when there is a dignatory visiting the old library.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 414 ✭✭DeDoc

Its not rocket science

Trinity is private property, so the same restrictions apply on the guards entering as they would do for them entering a school, office or home.

If they're invited, no problem
    If they've a warrant, no problem
    If they're pursuing a criminal suspect, (not much) problem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,097 ✭✭✭kiffer

I believe that if they were actively chasing someone and that person entered the campus they would follow and nothing would come of it.
    I seem to recall that there was an agreement in place which was basically even though they technically needed permission to enter the campus if they're in a hurry they can assume permission and if it ever came up in court TCD would say that they had granted permission... provided the gaurds weren't taking the piss.
    So for a search of a building for xyz they would have to seek permission but to chase a mugger they could just follow and assume permission was in place.

Or maybe that's not needed for that kind of thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 414 ✭✭DeDoc

kiffer wrote: »
    I believe that if they were actively chasing someone and that person entered the campus they would follow and nothing would come of it.
    I seem to recall that there was an agreement in place which was basically even though they technically needed permission to enter the campus if they're in a hurry they can assume permission and if it ever came up in court TCD would say that they had granted permission... provided the gaurds weren't taking the piss.
    So for a search of a building for xyz they would have to seek permission but to chase a mugger they could just follow and assume permission was in place.

Or maybe that's not needed for that kind of thing.

I'm pretty sure its not needed. Otherwise Joe Skanger engaged in nefarious activities could just duck into the nearest piece of property when PC Plod is in pursuit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭timmywex

Trinity is private property but a public place so they have full access/powers

Gardai regularly patrol in and around campus, and its buildings if required.

The Gardai can enter any building/property/place without warrant if they suspect a crime is being committed or has recently been committed (theres some other reasons aswell)

So yeh, basically they can come and go through campus as they wish, there is no permissions issue with TCD

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭blubloblu

timmywex wrote: »
    Gardai regularly patrol in and around campus, and its buildings if required.

I've never seen a Garda on routine patrol on campus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭timmywex

blubloblu wrote: »
    I've never seen a guard on routine patrol on campus

Really? I often see them walking around.

Saw two strolling through the Hamilton about 2/3 weeks ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭cbreeze

timmywex wrote: »
    Really? I often see them walking around.

Saw two strolling through the Hamilton about 2/3 weeks ago

they are often seen on their bicycles - just as any other member of the public would do when the gates are open

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 Edmond_Dantes

Yep I recall seeing them stroll thorough on occasion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭bscm

Saw 4 Traffic Corps motorbikes earlier speeding through campus... either it was for the Prime Minister in the GMB, or they're using campus as a shortcut from to Pearse/Westmoreland Street.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 fland

bscm wrote: »
    Saw 4 Traffic Corps motorbikes earlier speeding through campus... either it was for the Prime Minister in the GMB, or they're using campus as a shortcut from to Pearse/Westmoreland Street.
    Probably the Swedish Prime Minister's escort, he gave a short talk + Q&A at the Phil at 2, had a bit of security with him.