Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Strange light from plane

• 14-02-2013 9:10pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 669 ✭✭✭

Hi,A plane just passed overhead me with a large orange light on the undercarriage. I never seen a plane at night with this light on it and looked quiet strange as it approached me .The plane was at cruising altitude and was passing over the Clare coast heading out to sea.Could they have left some light on or is it special type of aircraft?.

The plane didn't show up on any flight tracking website but I am listening to shannon atc hoping I might get a call sign.Anybody any ideas?

Edit-Anybody with an Airnav Systems check their logs to see if the have any unusual aircraft around 9 passing over Clare?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,009 ✭✭✭Storm 10

If not on a flight tracking site then perhaps it is Military, otherwise maybe you just seen the red flashing light that is normally under aircraft usually centered on the aircraft belly between the wings/gear locations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 669 ✭✭✭Ilyushin76

Storm 10 wrote: »
    If not on a flight tracking site then perhaps it is Military, otherwise maybe you just seen the red flashing light that is normally under aircraft usually centered on the aircraft belly between the wings/gear locations.

No I could see the navigational lights flashing as well.This was quiet bright and I could see the orange light a good bit off before it passed overhead.I have seen 100s of flights at night and never seen anything like this.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,381 ✭✭✭Doom

Its the extraordinary rendition of horses plane.....:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,553 ✭✭✭Dogwatch

Sunset reflection considering his height???????

Dogwatch wrote: »

No this was definitely a light on the aircraft.Could they have left their landing lights on I wounder ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,780 ✭✭✭jamo2oo9

Perhaps it was the ISS. NASA reported to me that it was to appear SW and disappear ENE of my position in Cooley, NE Louth at 19:55 this evening. It was white and I thought I saw a bit of orangeness on it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

Dogwatch wrote: »

Or maybe swamp gas ? you get a little bit of gas over here and you get a little bit of gas over there and when they both meet, they create an unusual craft with a plasma field. Maybe it was a UFO. Well it is if you don't know what craft it was. Was it's sound similar to a jet aircraft ?.

Ask any pilot and i'm sure they will tell you in private that they see strange light-balls and such while flying. It's a shame the pilots are afraid of the detriment it will have to their careers if they say a thing.

Secret military craft from the UK or Europe over Irish airspace ?.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,941 ✭✭✭pclancy

Maybe it was still below 10,000ft meaning it would have still had its landing lights on?

jamo2oo9 wrote: »
    Perhaps it was the ISS. NASA reported to me that it was to appear SW and disappear ENE of my position in Cooley, NE Louth at 19:55 this evening. It was white and I thought I saw a bit of orangeness on it.

Thats what I thought at first when I seen it in the distance but when it came closer I could hear the engines and see the navigational lights.I spend most clear nights out side so I know most things in the sky and this was definitely a plane but had a light on it I never seen before at that altitude. I listened to atc and heard a few planes give estimates for Malot which weren't showing on the usual flight tracking websites so probably one of them.

Does anybody know if it would be possible for a pilot to forget to turn off the lights after takeoff or would there be a warning ?
    zenno wrote: »

Secret military craft from the UK or Europe over Irish airspace ?.

But why would you want a large orange light showing your top secret aircrafts location to everybody :D It wasn't traveling faster than any other plane you would see at that altitude either

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

Ilyushin76 wrote: »
    Thats what I thought at first when I seen it in the distance but when it came closer I could hear the engines and see the navigational lights.I spend most clear nights out side so I know most things in the sky and this was definitely a plane but had a light on it I never seen before at that altitude. I listened to atc and heard a few planes give estimates for Malot which weren't showing on the usual flight tracking websites so probably one of them.

Does anybody know if it would be possible for a pilot to forget to turn off the lights after takeoff or would there be a warning ?

But why would you want a large orange light showing your top secret aircrafts location to everybody :D It wasn't traveling faster than any other plane you would see at that altitude either

I was only pulling your leg. Yeah, i'd recon it was just a military aircraft we are not accustomed to here. There again, i would be interested to know if a light like this would be enabled if an aircraft needed to dump fuel on it's way to the sea ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,231 ✭✭✭MuffinsDa

pclancy wrote: »
    Maybe it was still below 10,000ft meaning it would have still had its landing lights on?

This sound like simplest and most plausible explanation! If you could hear the engine it would have been flying low.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,984 ✭✭✭Stovepipe

It could also have been a reflection of an aircraft's logo/colour scheme by the landing light/wing inspection light. Aircraft do not need lights on to dump fuel and only do so in emergency.

regards
    Stovepipe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 708 ✭✭✭A320

Ilyushin76 wrote: »
    large orange light on the undercarriage.

Im gonna go with lower anti collision light,not all of them are same and not all aircraft show up on flight radar,ie a lot of B767 don't have ADS-B

• Site Banned Posts: 15 sittinduck7

Would it have been someone with one of the <snip>, there great craic in the north Dublin area , thought it was only us that had em up here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,561 ✭✭✭andy_g

Would it have been someone with one of the <snip>, there great craic in the north Dublin area , thought it was only us that had em up here.

Discussion of illegal activity is not permitted on the forum, you were warned before about this on the thread for airwaves.

Ban for that fella.

Storm 10 wrote: »
    Ban for that fella.

Do you want to go down the route of back seat modding? We have procedures in place.

Storm your around long enough to know our rules please abide by them.

Sorry twas said in jest

• Site Banned Posts: 15 sittinduck7

awlrite lads i only said what i thought it was , its been in the papers an on the radio anall about what goes on at the bak a the airport. didin know it was not legal ta mention whats really goin on thats all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 425 ✭✭deecom

awlrite lads i only said what i thought it was , its been in the papers an on the radio anall about what goes on at the bak a the airport. didin know it was not legal ta mention whats really goin on thats all.

Dear god, what ever happened to the English language...

No idea what you have said thankfully. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 613 ✭✭✭Snowc

Anyone got any details on the site thats supposed to be streaming Garda comms on a website?
    Supposed to be some kind of a spotter site for followers blue lights and the rescue services.

Strange your ability to spell seems to come and go.Did you ever get that pilots shirt ;)

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 6,522 Mod ✭✭✭✭Irish Steve

Please don't feed the troll

Shore, if it was easy, everybody would be doin it.😁

Guys please dont feed the trolls if you simply ignore them it causes them more pain and suffering,
    Cant have little green guys on the flightdeck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 613 ✭✭✭Snowc

andy_g wrote: »
    Guys please dont feed the trolls if you simply ignore them it causes them more pain and suffering,
    Cant have little green guys on the flightdeck

Sorry was just trying to catch him.

Snowc wrote: »
    Sorry was just trying to catch him.

That would be my job please report the post instead, Its more helpful that way.

Also cuts out me banning and warning other users and my ban hammer is soon in for replacement for the new shiny one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,321 ✭✭✭Foggy43

There are aircraft that have a warning light in the wheel wells. It is usually red and flashes on/off when the landing gear doors open and stays active until the gear is fully up. It has been years since I did gear retraction tests. I'm pretty sure the B757/767 has this feature.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 708 ✭✭✭A320

Foggy43 wrote: »
    There are aircraft that have a warning light in the wheel wells. It is usually red and flashes on/off when the landing gear doors open and stays active until the gear is fully up. It has been years since I did gear retraction tests. I'm pretty sure the B757/767 has this feature.

only aircraft iv'e seen that has a red light near a gear/wheel well is the APU fire warning on a Boeing