Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Willie Mullins UK record

• 14-02-2013 8:56pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 176 ✭✭

Ok I was doing some research and it's had to believe but during the past 5 National Hunt seasons, Willie Mullins has had 161 runners in the UK.

Just 15 have won.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭ste2010

ft9 wrote: »
    Didn't he have a winner on the flat twice in Ascot last year?
    Same one simenon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,408 ✭✭✭ft9

ste2010 wrote: »
    Same one simenon

Yeah that's what I meant. I deleted the post, just realised the op was on about NH only.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,132 ✭✭✭SRFC

I'd say a fair few would be no hopers in cheltenham and a few grand national runners every year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭rossom

Yeah I've known that he's a shocking record aside from Cheltenham in NH.

Last winner he had outside of Cheltenham was Hedgehunter winning the Grand National in 2005

Simenon won twice last year at Royal Ascot whilst Sesenta won a flat handicap for him at York back in 2009.

I have a conspiracy theory about tomorrow. There trying to find out how good twigline or Utopies is so they can put quevega in te world hurdle

ste2010 wrote: »
    I have a conspiracy theory about tomorrow. There trying to find out how good twigline or Utopies is so they can put quevega in te world hurdle

Quevega is 100% not going to the WH.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭Colonel Sanders

rossom wrote: »
    Last winner he had outside of Cheltenham was Hedgehunter winning the Grand National in 2005.

Jesus I never knew that but when I actually think about it most of his NH runners run at Cheltenham in November & March

SRFC wrote: »

Quevega is 100% not going to the WH.
    Even if twigline absolutely crucifies the field tomorrow? Would it make sense to have 2 horses from the same owner and trainer in the mares if that arose

• Closed Accounts Posts: 287 ✭✭cack_handed

I'd say a fair few would be no hopers in cheltenham and a few grand national runners every year.

Good point. Actually when i saw the stats i thought they look fairly good. Mullins must run, at a guess, close to 20 horses at cheltenham every year so to keep a 9% or so strike rate is very respectable. Wonder what his UK strike-rate would be if, like elliott and one or two others he was bothered to target the smaller meetings

Why would he bother? He cleans up over here. The reason Elliott et al go across the Irish Sea is because they know it'll be far easier with the Mullins operation out of the picture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 nevis7

i will be taking on twigline tomorrow. utopie des bordes has a rating in france making her amongst the top ten jump mares in france over the last 12 years. that is some position given the overall strength of french form. if you take the trouble of going onto french galop and view the video of her grade 1 win in november, what sticks out is the manner she picked up fago and left him standing when running strongly to the line. sandown is made for her, and with 17 previous starts as opposed to a few for twigline, in the forecast conditions i dont see the winner of a weak fairyhouse maiden hurdle defeating a rival, off levels, who has amassed just under 400,000 euros in prize money. if in france it would be 1/4 v 7/2, here we get 5/4 v 6/4.

nevis7 wrote: »
    i will be taking on twigline tomorrow. utopie des bordes has a rating in france making her amongst the top ten jump mares in france over the last 12 years. that is some position given the overall strength of french form. if you take the trouble of going onto french galop and view the video of her grade 1 win in november, what sticks out is the manner she picked up fago and left him standing when running strongly to the line. sandown is made for her, and with 17 previous starts as opposed to a few for twigline, in the forecast conditions i dont see the winner of a weak fairyhouse maiden hurdle defeating a rival, off levels, who has amassed just under 400,000 euros in prize money. if in france it would be 1/4 v 7/2, here we get 5/4 v 6/4.

She did that over fences so I wouldn't take that form as literal. Clearly a very talented horse and started her hurdling career well for Henderson.

I wasnt impressed with the Henderson mare last week in Doncaster,she was pushed out to beat a horse of Kings who was a good bumper horse but is very average over hurdles,she was pushed out but not butchered the extra 4furlongs will be right up her street,her demolition of fago is serious form and off levels Twigline will have to jump slick and prove her reputation,I heard two years ago she was beating everything at home but last I heard they werent happy with her when the mares yard had a virus a few months ago but hopefully she wins tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭faoile@n

I wasnt impressed with the Henderson mare last week in Doncaster,she was pushed out to beat a horse of Kings who was a good bumper horse but is very average over hurdles,she was pushed out but not butchered the extra 4furlongs will be right up her street,her demolition of fago is serious form and off levels Twigline will have to jump slick and prove her reputation,I heard two years ago she was beating everything at home but last I heard they werent happy with her when the mares yard had a virus a few months ago but hopefully she wins tomorrow.

Utopie Des Bordes british hurdles debut was over 2 miles which is clearly too short for her. She had to work for me she looked a stayer that day and the 2m4f will be ideal for her.

I was impressed with Twigline but she really shouldn't be that short against a mare as good as Utopie Des Bordes.

If Twigline was trained with anybody else she'd be 5/1.

Visually Utopie Des Bordes beating of Fago in France was quite eye-catching, but so was Twigline's victory at Fairyhouse even if the bare form is nothing special. Also not convinced Fago paid Utopie a compliment when falling at Warwick the other week, watching the race at the time had the feeling the Nicholls gelding was approaching the end of its tether and might not have won in any case. To be fair I may be in the minority on that one!

Anyway, given that WM doesn't sent a huge amount of horses over to the UK, beyond the biggest meetings, it's hugely interesting that this mare will take her chance today. Will wait a while to see how market moves, but will not be opposing her one way or the other

Visually Utopie Des Bordes beating of Fago in France was quite eye-catching, but so was Twigline's victory at Fairyhouse even if the bare form is nothing special. Also not convinced Fago paid Utopie a compliment when falling at Warwick the other week, watching the race at the time had the feeling the Nicholls gelding was approaching the end of its tether and might not have won in any case. To be fair I may be in the minority on that one!

Anyway, given that WM doesn't sent a huge amount of horses over to the UK, beyond the biggest meetings, it's hugely interesting that this mare will take her chance today. Will wait a while to see how market moves, but will not be opposing her one way or the other

Fago would have bolted up sure he still hadnt pushed it out when it fell the 2nd horse could barely get over the last it was walking.

This is a race basically class v potential,its interesting twigline takes her chance as willie had a few entered in warwick and had a mare of ricci's entered in this,on form Hendersons deserves to be favourite an the twigline is a joke price with some bookies at 6/4 if anyone else was training id say 7/2 at least,2/1 or bigger I might back her.

Well, you can never be absolutely sure how a race would have panned out had a horse not fallen especially on bad ground. At the time i just remember thinking Fago might be emptying on the run towards the second last, just not convinced she would have bolted. Like i said, just a hunch on my part and if i'm wrong, i''ll likely lose cash today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,142 ✭✭✭akelly02

i think she ranks me will beat the other two mares. 4/1 a very fair price considering she clearly has achieved the most over hurdles

akelly02 wrote: »
    i think she ranks me will beat the other two mares. 4/1 a very fair price considering she clearly has achieved the most over hurdles

Dont agree think she has no chance unless the front two fall,the horse who was 2nd to her last time was butchered to win around newcastle last week and the 3rd of tom symonds is useless got beaten in uttoxeter in a mares handicap of 115 by a horse rated 102 previously beaten in a selling hurdle so on that she wont be winning,her beating of Ma FILLEULE looks good form but it was fluke the hendersons was in front too long she would never beat her again imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,564 ✭✭✭kiers47

Dont agree think she has no chance unless the front two fall,the horse who was 2nd to her last time was butchered to win around newcastle last week and the 3rd of tom symonds is useless got beaten in uttoxeter in a mares handicap of 115 by a horse rated 102 previously beaten in a selling hurdle so on that she wont be winning,her beating of Ma FILLEULE looks good form but it was fluke the hendersons was in front too long she would never beat her again imo.

Can't agree with this the form is a long way better than what either of the other 2 have achieved. It is very easy to say it was a fluke beating ma filleule was a fluke by she has had some respectable form before that and won the last day nicely again.
    The penalty and McCain's form are quite off putting. But IMO the value is with this mare and I'll have my only(all be it small) bet of the day at 5/1 on this mare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,932 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

A 12% strike rate from Cheltenham isn't bad. A lot of his runners at Aintree were probably for the National. He has never had much success with horse over the 3m mark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,838 ✭✭✭Nulty

I remember pointing this out when he sent Some Target over for the National Trial last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,932 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

Oh dear, what was Ruby doing? The horse was pulling like mad and Ruby was beating it as it approached the fence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,142 ✭✭✭akelly02

well i think that doesnt make sense now, tha mccain mare ran very well and was well worth her place in that line up

Twigline would have won there imo he hadnt hit the thing once before it fell she ranks be was well and truly put in her place would have only been 3rd another faller for ruby this year :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,564 ✭✭✭kiers47

Twigline would have won there imo he hadnt hit the thing once before it fell she ranks be was well and truly put in her place would have only been 3rd another faller for ruby this year :mad:

The horses must jump the obstacles. Was held alright but jumping is the name of the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Put in her place? :rolleyes: She was giving weight all round, I thought she ran a cracker. Was on Twigline myself but don't know how anyone could say she definitely would have won, nobody knows what she would have found off the bridle, it doesn't matter anyway as jumping is the name of the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

Johner wrote: »
    Put in her place? :rolleyes: She was giving weight all round, I thought she ran a cracker. Was on Twigline myself but don't know how anyone could say she definitely would have won, nobody knows what she would have found off the bridle, it doesn't matter anyway as jumping is the name of the game.

Of course she would have won, she is trained by Willie Mullins shur ;)

When they win it was nailed on and me bucko got word from the lads and when they lose it was generally a 'fluke' :p

Anyone who thinks twigline wouldnt have won that needs glasses it wasnt hit once with the whip before it fell the winner was being scrubbed along she ranks me would have been a well beaten 3rd dont think Hendersons is up to much wont be winning any mares hurdle look forward to seeing it over fences though,Nice win for tominator got my money back thank god.