Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ear to the ground

• 14-02-2013 8:33pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭

On now folks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

mf240 wrote: »
    On now folks

I wonder when they're brainstorming for ideas for the show do they come on here to have a look at what people are talking about? :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭mf240

reilig wrote: »
    I wonder when they're brainstorming for ideas for the show do they come on here to have a look at what people are talking about? :D:D

All about dehorning next week:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,408 ✭✭✭ft9

Could do with a bit of dehorning myself after watching Ella McSweeney for half an hour. Savage!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

ft9 wrote: »
    Could do with a bit of dehorning myself after watching Ella McSweeney for half an hour. Savage!
    You made my evening:D:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

looks up the damien on the lotto on Wednesday, she isnt my cup of tea

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,754 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

reilig wrote: »

+

=

A very interesting show on in the next few weeks so:D:D:D

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭rayzorsharpest

bob charles r u 4 real?? shes savage!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,332 ✭✭✭razor8

i'd love to choke McCullagh with his fancy scarf's

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

looks up the damien on the lotto on Wednesday, she isnt my cup of tea
    Was it a Damien or Ella you looked up . How could she not be your cup of tea ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

brillant:D:D:D

although i dont know about savage, wouldnt kick her out of the cot

moy83 wrote: »
    Was it a Damien or Ella you looked up . How could she not be your cup of tea ?

Ella on the lotto on wednesday. big bump

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Ella McSweeney, well, I wouldn't. Mind you she probably wouldn't either so....:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭jfh

razor8 wrote: »
    i'd love to choke McCullagh with his fancy scarf's
    funny i used to be the same, altough i'm coming around to thinking hes alright..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,099 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

Have to agree with Bob, she's gettin roundy , maybe she overdid the selection boxes at Christmas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

Have to agree with Bob, she's gettin roundy , maybe she overdid the selection boxes at Christmas

Maybe she was with Hugo or somebodyelse in the cot :eek:

cant beat a bit of comfort, I spent too long chasing greyhounds before I copped on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

cant beat a bit of comfort, I spent too long chasing greyhounds before I copped on

What's that one bob, "built for comfort not for speed":D

Or plenty of cushion for pushin

Did anybody watch it this evening ? There was a fella on it that hoped to reach 28 sucklers ,selling all his weanlins . He currently had debt of 300,000 between sheds and stocking loans :eek: Did I hear this right ?
    I rewound it there and he said land was also included in those borrowings

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

did i miss part of it but was there supposed to be a section of tonight's programme on dehorning?

I saw no de horning anyhow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 243 ✭✭badshot

classic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

I saw no de horning anyhow

Thanks Moy,

I was half dozing and thought I may have missed it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Did anybody watch it this evening ? There was a fella on it that hoped to reach 28 sucklers ,selling all his weanlins . He currently had debt of 300,000 between sheds and stocking loans :eek: Did I hear this right ?
    I rewound it there and he said land was also included in those borrowings
    That's what I heard. His also has little or no single payment and they said the single payment is the only profit suckler farmers make. He must be farming for fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 802 ✭✭✭oldsmokey

Ear to the Ground wouldn't have a nasty topic like dehorning on..its a LIFESTYLE programme lads...any allusion to farming is purely coincidental..bring back Landmark!!!and the big fat lad who used to give the cattle prices...can you imagine that on RTE in 2013!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 461 ✭✭mikefoxo

They should split it into two programmes - one that has the lifestyle stuff, countryside as an amenity and all that; and one that is PURE farming, talking about best practice for different things (like dehorning;)) what's happening with CAP etc. That way you know what you're getting

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

will miss this tonight so please let me know wha ye think of my 2 local guys

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

spotz.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

Muckit wrote: »
    spotz.jpg

I know some people call it a beauty spot but it always annoys me. Maybe it's her calling card. Makes her stand out from the crowd. To be fair she is the best journalist on the programme.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 826 ✭✭✭ABlur

mikefoxo wrote: »
    They should split it into two programmes - one that has the lifestyle stuff, countryside as an amenity and all that; and one that is PURE farming, talking about best practice for different things (like dehorning;)) what's happening with CAP etc. That way you know what you're getting

Its fairly ****e tonight 20 mins on horse racing if I want to see geegees Id watch Ted walsh. This show has nothing to offer us farmers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 592 ✭✭✭maxxuumman

whelan1 wrote: »
    will miss this tonight so please let me know wha ye think of my 2 local guys

The two guys had a great setup. Obviously very like minded people. Their system seems to be really working for them. I would say its very rare to see two neighbours that could pull off what they have done. Seem to have spent alot of money, and have a fantastic setup. Looks like its working for them

P.s. what breed were the cows. Are they Norwegian crosses. Nice type

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

ABlur wrote: »
    Its fairly ****e tonight 20 mins on horse racing if I want to see geegees Id watch Ted walsh. This show has nothing to offer us farmers.

That jockey is fairly full of himself. He called himself good looking:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

maxxuumman wrote: »
    The two guys had a great setup. Obviously very like minded people. Their system seems to be really working for them. I would say its very rare to see two neighbours that could pull off what they have done. Seem to have spent alot of money, and have a fantastic setup. Looks like its working for them

P.s. what breed were the cows. Are they Norwegian crosses. Nice type
    he was using alot of norwegian red and jerseys recently, just watched ettg now... came across ok i thought

• Closed Accounts Posts: 360 ✭✭Bactidiaryl

Just saw the repeat. Was there supposed to something on about dehorning?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭mf240

This is all my fault, rellig was wondering if the programme makers look on here for ideas.

At the same time there was a big debate ongoing in chit chat about dehoring which was getting slightly heated, so as a joke I said it would be about dehorning the following week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭Dunedin

mf240 wrote: »
    This is all my fault, rellig was wondering if the programme makers look on here for ideas.

At the same time there was a big debate ongoing in chit chat about dehoring which was getting slightly heated, so as a joke I said it would be about dehorning the following week.

there was supposed to be a bit about fodder shortage last week........ i didn't see any - well except in my yard:D:D