Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Friday 15th February

• 14-02-2013 6:34pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭

2.45 Fakenham

Fairy Rath 8/1 NAP

I think the price about Special Robon is absolutely ridiculous given that he is out of the handicap, upped in class and yet to get within 15L of winning over fences and resultantly I quite strong fancy Nick Gifford's 7 year old gelding who most definitely seemed on the upgrade before finishing lame after his last start in December and if recovering from that unfortunate incident I think he could be very difficult to beat off just a 5lb higher mark than he scored off 2 starts back. After showing some very useful form in a bumper behind the talented duo of Moscow Mannon and Joxer when trained in Ireland Paul Cashman. He was subsequently picked up by current connections for £60,000 and after 3 decent enough runs over hurdles last Spring he was put away for the summer. This season began with his chasing debut at Fontwell in October over 22f where he finished 4th behind 3 very useful sorts and later that month he made his handicap debut over fences off a mark of 111 where he clearly ran in a very hot race to finish a 9L beaten 3rd over an extended 2m3f at Chepstow. Held up towards the rear of the field by Tom Cannon where he raced keenly earl on, Fairy Rath made some good progress to track the leaders and as the extremely well handicapped Marshal Zhukov eased into the lead he was pushed along after 4 out and although he never troubled the leader he did stay on to push for 2nd at the finish. The form of that race looks very strong given that Marshal Zhukov was clearly a handicap blot as he comfortably disposed of what looked a strong contest off a 13lb higher mark subsequently and he was beaten less than 6L in a Grade 2 chase on his latest start. In addition, the 5th Plein Pouvoir has come out to win since and it wasn't a bad effort in the slightest.

Kindly dropped 1lb for that effort to a mark of 110, Fairy Rath shed his Maiden tag at the 3rd time of asking over fences with an impressive victory over 2m5f at Wincanton back in November under todays jockey Denis O'Regan. With nobody seemingly wanting to make the running, O'Regan decided to take it up and the switch of tactics worked wonders as he made all from pillar to post to score by an always holding 1.25L from Henry San (who had finished just ahead of Fairy Rath on their previous starts). In the closing stages, Fairy Rath showed a really likable attitude to repel his only challenger despite making a couple of errors at the last 2 flights as the front two finished 21L clear of the remainder. Although Henry San has yet to race again, considering the pair reaffirmed their earlier form by the well handicapped Marshal Zhukov leads me to believe they were both well handicapped animals and it was a fine performance. Additionally, the comprehensively beaten 4th has since scored impressively by 7L off a 4lb lower mark to solidify the form and it was a really nice effort. On the back of his victory, I think the handicapper was pretty lenient in raising Fairy Rath just 5lb to his current mark of 115 and you've got to put a line through his latest performance as he finished lame. He's been given 70 days to recover from that issue which should be more than enough and I see now reason why he can't resume his progression over fences. I definitely feel his current mark is well within his scope of ability and I think it going to be very interesting decision about tactics tomorrow. Looking through the opposition, quite a few of these horses like to lead or be prominent and given the switch of tactics to make all were employed to success it will be interesting if O'Regan is allowed to dictate things from the front. However, I really hope they don't start cutting each others throats out in front by going off to quickly and it is a concern I have for this afternoon's contest. Nick Gifford has his string in fine form at the moment and Fairy Rath shouldn't have any issues with these race conditions. If fully recovered from his lameness, I definitely feel Fairy Rath is primed to take another step forward in his career off a mark I think he's certainly capable of winning off and if all goes to plan hopefully he does just that at a price that was bigger than I was expecting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 895 ✭✭✭Mocha Joe

Pay day tomorrow aswell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,285 ✭✭✭Oscars Well.

Mullins sends Twigline over to Sandown for a mares hurdle.Only sends a handful over to England every year apart from Cheltenham.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

Mullins sends Twigline over to Sandown for a mares hurdle.Only sends a handful over to England every year apart from Cheltenham.

Seen that.
    What price?

Seen that.
    What price?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

13/8. I'll be backing her. Wasn't too impressed with the Henderson horse on its UK debut, has cracking form in France but its all over fences.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

rossom wrote: »
    2.45 Fakenham Fairy Rath 8/1 NAP. Write up to come

One that might be worth looking at as a wee saver is THREE CHORDS at around 10/1, while not doing well on return, the fact they are putting it out again makes me think they might of solved the problem, like everything else tis just a punt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭rossom

Last winner he had in England outside of Cheltenham was Hedgehunter winning the Grand National in 2005

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,564 ✭✭✭kiers47

Even though McCain is out of form as such and up against the 2 big guns. I quite fancy She Ranks Me at the prices. Is more exposed than the top 2 in the betting and carries a penalty but is an out and out grinder and what you see is what you get.

7.20 Dundalk

Elusive Prince 20/1

Although a risky proposition, I think its worth having a small play on this former David Barron sprinter who looks a very interesting acquisition for Tom Hogan on what will be his stable debut on the back of a 181 day absence. A very horse for Barron, Elusive Prince showed a high level of form throughout his career with his last win coming off a 3lb lower mark under an excellent enterprising ride by Franny Norton in first time blinkers in July last year as he made all to score by a comfortable 1.5L with the front two 5L clear of the remainder. The runner up franked the form by scoring NTO and although it looked as if he could continue his progression he was a tad disappointing on his final two starts for Barron, finishing well beaten in a couple of very hot handicaps. The last of those came last August and although he's going to have to defy a career high mark of 91 to land this on his stable debut, his latest victory was a career high winning mark so there is every possibility the change of scenery could see him improve again. Interestingly enough, this will only be his 2nd start on the AW and he is the clear class act in the field. He's going to have to give a load of weight away to the rest of the field and even including the talented Conor Hoban's 5lb claim he'll still have to carry 10-1 if he's to be successful. He has carried 9-8 & 9-7 for two of his wins which is a definite positive and I'm not concerned about the long absence as he has won impressively from an even longer one in the past. Given his liking to lead or at least get very close to doing so, I don't think he'll have an issue from stall 7 given that he breaks quickly and ideally I'd like to see him in front after 1f on the fence. Conor Hoban's 5lb claim could prove invaluable to offset his hefty burden and I'm really hoping class shines through and he scores on his Irish debut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,547 ✭✭✭droidman123

Steps to freedom goes in the 9.20 at dundalk!

I know its only evens but Relax in the 1.50 at Sandown looks a good un to me.

And i also fancy Geraghty to get a short priced double in the shape of Master of The Game & Utopie Des bordes.

May be worth a small treble if you dont want to steam in to all 3.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 567 ✭✭✭stretchaq

Last winner he had in England outside of Cheltenham was Hedgehunter winning the Grand National in 2005

he had winners on the flat at royal ascot i think didnt he???

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,132 ✭✭✭SRFC

Patsy Byrnes horse will win if he has the money on TOMINATOR,2/1 on betfair at the minute to beat Masterofthegame,Both won of bangor's 2m1f and note tominators time was much faster than the favs so for that reason ill be backing him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,285 ✭✭✭Oscars Well.

stretchaq wrote: »
    he had winners on the flat at royal ascot i think didnt he???

Simenon won twice last year and Sesanta won the Ebor a few years ago. I think Rossom means NH winners though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

Lads I really like Home Secretary in the 8.50 at Dundalk 16/1.

Had my biggest ever win when he won over course and distance in December 2011 following a big drop in the weights (strong form, the runner up won handy next time out). That victory was off a mark of 75. Was off for a year and has three subsequent runs, first time out in a really competitive race off 75 and was never involved next time out when dropped 2 pounds. Was well backed last time and looks to be working his way back to fitness, again never really involved but he has been given a huge chance by the handicapper, running off a mark of 66 with Megan Carberry taking off four pounds. His last two wins were off a mark of 75 and 78 and goes really well around here, massive each way chance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 399 ✭✭liamoreilly

2.45 Fakenham

Fairy Rath 8/1 NAP

I think the price about Special Robon is absolutely ridiculous .

..I think the bookies read this, 7/2 with pp now...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,666 ✭✭✭Howjoe1

Slattsy wrote: »
    I know its only evens but Relax in the 1.50 at Sandown looks a good un to me.

And i also fancy Geraghty to get a short priced double in the shape of Master of The Game & Utopie Des bordes.

May be worth a small treble if you dont want to steam in to all 3.
    Odds on and beaten.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭Theborderfox81

I have Utoipe Des Borders doubled with Free thinking since last night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 895 ✭✭✭Mocha Joe

Doubled Relax with Fairy Rath. Jaysus.

Fairy Rath was a bit odd. He got very tired late on and O'Regan took care of him. Probably went off too hard out in front?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,564 ✭✭✭kiers47

Fairy Rath was a bit odd. He got very tired late on and O'Regan took care of him. Probably went off too hard out in front?

Presented a good back to lay proposition went to 2.5 or less in the run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,931 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

Looked tired to me as well. Thought Aspell rode a canny ride by keeping The Black Baron out that little bit wide.

I'm going to give Leviathan another chance here at Sandown at 8/1.

Johner wrote: »

Now thats a kick in the nuts. Game performance, perhaps if he didn't make the mistake 2 out he might have gained another couple of lengths on the them as he jumped really well apart from that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭Theborderfox81

I have Utoipe Des Borders doubled with Free thinking since last night.

Grand job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,016 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

I like toberton e/w in the next at dundalk, 12/1

Small stakes on Ruby Flipper for me at 14/1.

Hulk Hands wrote: »
    I like toberton e/w in the next at dundalk, 12/1

Well done Hulk, nice winner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 878 ✭✭✭sonnky

Anyone fancy Muizenburg Nights in the next at Dundalk. Lordan chooses it over the favourite and money has come for it as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 878 ✭✭✭sonnky

Connacht Council 20's into 8's in the last few minutes

sonnky wrote: »
    Anyone fancy Muizenburg Nights in the next at Dundalk. Lordan chooses it over the favourite and money has come for it as well.

I do, I thought it would be fav.

Don't think it should have been fav, it would need to be decent to beat a 89 rated horse. Another first crop winner for Henrythenavigator

Elusive Prince goes straight into the notebook. Missed the break badly after rearing at the start but showed some good late headway.

Don't think it should have been fav, it would need to be decent to beat a 89 rated horse. Another first crop winner for Henrythenavigator

I just thought with jockey bookings that it might be favourite.

Carlito Brigante goes in the 8.50 at Dundalk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭Colonel Sanders

Carlito Brigante goes in the 8.50 at Dundalk.

Very weak on Betfair

That definitely would have put me off. Was Ana O'Brien was just done at the floor price or did she hang on. My horse must have ran **** I just had the BF prices up

She swooped late to win.

Steps of Freedom is strong here in the betting, thought the trip might be too short for him but he'll probably be a bit too classy for these. no bet in the race for me though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

Elusive Prince goes straight into the notebook. Missed the break badly after rearing at the start but showed some good late headway.

Unfortunately the horse misses the break more often than not rossom, but agreed that when he gets it right he will be a big player, hopefully at a big price :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,132 ✭✭✭SRFC

Runs tomorrow first race Plumton surely it jumps out makes all nothing like tominator in the race to pick him up.