Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Warranty on BMW import

• 14-02-2013 5:27pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,858 ✭✭✭

Anyone know what used car warranty UK BMW dealers give and if that warranty is transferrable to Ireland ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭Grahamb23

I don't think its possible to transfer it to Ireland. You will find it very hard to get an Irish BMW main dealer to help you out because you bought your car in the UK. They seem to have a sour taste in their mouth when it comes to that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,858 ✭✭✭Bigcheeze

That's a pity. The 2 year warranty offered here kind of balances out any savings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,002 ✭✭✭veetwin

Grahamb23 wrote: »
    I don't think its possible to transfer it to Ireland. You will find it very hard to get an Irish BMW main dealer to help you out because you bought your car in the UK. They seem to have a sour taste in their mouth when it comes to that.

Total nonsense. If you buy a used BMW in the UK you will have the remainder of the 3 year warranty. The dealer here couldn't care less where you bought your car. He will be happy with any warranty work you send his way.

I say this from personal experience. Has this been your experience been different or were you just spoofing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

Is it BMW warranty or some dealer's warranty we're talking about?

biko wrote: »
    Is it BMW warranty or some dealer's warranty we're talking about?

I'm talking about the manufacturers warranty. Obviously a dealer warranty is just that and non transferable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

The OP mentioned used car warranty so I'd hazard a guess he means dealer's warranty.
    OP, the only person who can say for sure is the dealer in UK. And if the do offer transfer to Ireland, ask for garage name and check with them too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,479 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

In the UK BMW gave a 3 year warranty on all new BMW cars where as upto a few years ago BMW only offered 2 years in Ireland. The 3 year UK warranty broke down into 2 years from BMW and 1 year from BMW UK. As BMW Ireland and BMW UK are the same company/distributor, the 3rd year of the UK warranty was honored by BMW Ireland. Not sure if this applied to all BMWs imported or just those imported under the BMW Assured Used car scheme that Irish BMW dealers have going though.

OP needs to define if he is talking about a used BMW from a UK BMW dealer or from an non franchised dealer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,858 ✭✭✭Bigcheeze

Im looking at 3 year old cars on bmw.co.uk so I'm talking about the warranty given on BMW approved used cars, not the original warranty.

In ireland this seems to be two years but didn't see the uk equivalent.

Typical savings importing a 3 year old F10 520d look about 4-5k (before travel costs) but that's a lot less appealing if there's no warranty in ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,408 ✭✭✭whomitconcerns

well when i was looking at importing an Audi, Audi Ireland told me they would only honour 2years of the UK 3 yr warranty as it was only 2yrs in Ireland..i know its not BMW but thats what I was hold

Well I should know because im working in a garage and never pleased when someone comes in with a car they went to the uk to buy. Mainly because us and all garages are struggling to keep people employed in Ireland and when someone goes to the uk to spend their money its kinda though to take.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,268 ✭✭✭Stallingrad

Well I should know because im working in a garage and never pleased when someone comes in with a car they went to the uk to buy. Mainly because us and all garages are struggling to keep people employed in Ireland and when someone goes to the uk to spend their money its kinda though to take.

You are aware that by far the biggest importers of used cars from the UK are dealers? No disrespect but I think you need to accept it and appreciate that any work that comes through the door is just that, work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,617 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

What pissed me off is when Irish garages import from the UK then bring the car back here and jack up the price as it has a service history and a better spec.

Personally I've always gone to the uk to do my own shopping. The only time I've had problems with cars was when I bought locally

ba_barabus wrote: »
    What pissed me off is when Irish garages import from the UK then bring the car back here and jack up the price as it has a service history and a better spec.

Personally I've always gone to the uk to do my own shopping. The only time I've had problems with cars was when I bought locally

Where you buy your cars is your own business. But I would be someone that is in favour of buying locally to keep Irish jobs going. If people are to self centred to think of this our road is going to be a long one.

You are aware that by far the biggest importers of used cars from the UK are dealers? No disrespect but I think you need to accept it and appreciate that any work that comes through the door is just that, work.

Im completely aware of this fact as im working in the industry. Garages have to do this because of the lack of used cars available on the market for people that want to buy in their local garage and keep Irish jobs going.I think your missing the point im making here. when you go to the uk to buy nobody in Ireland benefits from the purchase, but when a garage buys from the uk the client benefits, the workers in the garage benefit, their families benefit, local shops benefit and so on.

Where you buy your cars is your own business. But I would be someone that is in favour of buying locally to keep Irish jobs going. If people are to self centred to think of this our road is going to be a long one.
    I'm not self centred. I'm a realist. Why on earth would I pay more for less? Just so some thick can keep a job selling overpriced cars he imported himself or 'Irish' cars with low mileage, poor spec and no service history.

It's all about service and the cost of it. For years Irish garages took orders and refused discounts. Now that the tables have turned they are out with the poor bowl hoping people will go out and get loans to keep them in business.

Now I'm not running every garage down, I know of some excellent garages offering excellent service but the same old problems are all still there as witnessed recently when my mother decided she wanted a new car. Only one garage and one salesman out of dozens actually treated her correctly. And even then he tried to sell her a car she clearly didn't want from the outset.

I'm not self centred. I'm a realist. Why on earth would I pay more for less? Just so some thick can keep a job selling overpriced cars he imported himself or 'Irish' cars with low mileage, poor spec and no service history.

It's all about service and the cost of it. For years Irish garages took orders and refused discounts. Now that the tables have turned they are out with the poor bowl hoping people will go out and get loans to keep them in business.

Now I'm not running every garage down, I know of some excellent garages offering excellent service but the same old problems are all still there as witnessed recently when my mother decided she wanted a new car. Only one garage and one salesman out of dozens actually treated her correctly. And even then he tried to sell her a car she clearly didn't want from the outset.

Sorry to hear your mother got treated badly but you being such an expert on the whole thing you should have gone with her! You refer to thicks being the irish worker I assume? and not just the salesman of the owner of the garage. because their the thicks that employ people and create jobs. either way the only thick is the yokes that spend their money out of the country and expect the local dealer to stand on their heads for them when they come in with a problem. What a joke and im sorry but you really sound self centred.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

Can we keep this civil please.

Sorry to hear your mother got treated badly but you being such an expert on the whole thing you should have gone with her! You refer to thicks being the irish worker I assume? and not just the salesman of the owner of the garage. because their the thicks that employ people and create jobs. either way the only thick is the yokes that spend their money out of the country and expect the local dealer to stand on their heads for them when they come in with a problem. What a joke and im sorry but you really sound self centred.
    I did go with her.

I never asked anyone to stand on their heads for me. I went and selected the right car at the correct price. I still don't understand why I need to pay a premium to a local garage for doing work I could do myself.

It's hardly a joke. Someone who doesn't understand competition and works in a competition based industry shows a lot more wrong with the car sales sector than me wanting my money to go as far as possible.

to stand on their heads for them when they come in with a problem.

I don't expect special treatment, but I do expect them to do their job and fix what is broken. Workwise, if you are in a position to turn work away because of some ethical issue relation to car purchasing then you are in the minority.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 207 ✭✭SGKM

To answer the OP’s question; yes the used BMW warranty is valid in ROI. I bought a 2010 E90 in a UK dealer last year and have since had warranty work done in Dublin.

For the record I fully support buying cars in Ireland and supporting local dealers too but mine is a 330 and generally bigger engine cars just aren’t available in ROI so I was forced to go to the UK.

I did go with her.

I never asked anyone to stand on their heads for me. I went and selected the right car at the correct price. I still don't understand why I need to pay a premium to a local garage for doing work I could do myself.

It's hardly a joke. Someone who doesn't understand competition and works in a competition based industry shows a lot more wrong with the car sales sector than me wanting my money to go as far as possible.

Glad to hear you went with her, fair play. Yes I do understand competition and I enjoy healthy competition from other dealers in the locality but it still doesn't justify you going to another country to buy a product that is available in your own country. even if you are getting it a little cheaper. What you fail to realise is that when you go to sell your car that you imported you will not get the same value as you would if you had bought an original Irish registered car. But what would I know ah? Im only another thick!!

I don't expect special treatment, but I do expect them to do their job and fix what is broken. Workwise, if you are in a position to turn work away because of some ethical issue relation to car purchasing then you are in the minority.

Sorry to break it to you but im an the majority. Clearly you think that you know better so I will leave you off with it.

What you fail to realise is that when you go to sell your car that you imported you will not get the same value as you would if you had bought an original Irish registered car. But what would I know ah? Im only another thick!!
    So why do Irish dealers charge a premium when they import it and offer a lower value when its traded back in?

I think you have single handily proved my point that I'm better off just going to the UK and buying a better specced product for a few grand less initially than paying a premium here for a poorly specced car with no history.

Btw I've never had a problem selling a UK car in Ireland once I'm done with it.

Once I take the time to research it correctly and buy at the correct price I see no reason for issues.

Anyway as you have pointed out you are in a position to turn away business based on a cars original point of sake so you must be doing well for yourself so what difference if I don't want to put myself into debt to help keep you in business

Sorry to break it to you but im an the majority. Clearly you think that you know better so I will leave you off with it.

You should post who you are, I'd hate to run the risk of offending you with work. :)

Is it possible to be racist about a cars point of original registration?

Should we call it regalism?

So why do Irish dealers charge a premium when they import it and offer a lower value when its traded back in?

I think you have single handily proved my point that I'm better off just going to the UK and buying a better specced product for a few grand less initially than paying a premium here for a poorly specced car with no history.

Btw I've never had a problem selling a UK car in Ireland once I'm done with it.

Once I take the time to research it correctly and buy at the correct price I see no reason for issues.

Anyway as you have pointed out you are in a position to turn away business based on a cars original point of sake so you must be doing well for yourself so what difference if I don't want to put myself into debt to help keep you in business

Ok clearly its a little thing you have about garages or maybe its a little chip on your shoulder but your once again missing my point here. So let me water it down for you.

1 garage buys uk car
    2 garage sells uk car
    3 garage pays worker
    4 worker buys in local shop
    5 local shop pays worker
    6 shop worker buys in another shop
    7 you must see where im going with this?????

I wouldn't refuse business and never would. But why would I help you with a problem before I can help a person that bought a car from my garage? also the history on every car I sell is far more clear than the poor soul your floging your import to.

Ah sur im far to busy to be dealing with time wasters anyway:D

Is it possible to be racist about a cars point of original registration?

Should we call it regalism?

LOL like that one..... Might even use it I you done mind!:rolleyes:

Glad to hear you went with her, fair play. Yes I do understand competition and I enjoy healthy competition from other dealers in the locality but it still doesn't justify you going to another country to buy a product that is available in your own country. even if you are getting it a little cheaper. What you fail to realise is that when you go to sell your car that you imported you will not get the same value as you would if you had bought an original Irish registered car. But what would I know ah? Im only another thick!!

So competition from a local garage is ok but if it's from accross the border or 90 minutes ferry ride away then it's unethical or unfair?

Of course you are justified going to another country for better value. I bought a 1 yr old E61 a number of years ago from Manchester. I first went to three local dealers who had similar stock. Best price I could get was €41k. I cleared a better spec lower mileage model from a main dealer in Manchester for €34.5k incl vrt and travel. Now how was I not justified? The dealers here were all importing used cars and slapping €10k on €30k cars.

The argument that imports sell for less that original Irish reg cars is bs also. I paid far less for my car than an Irish car do if I get a little less for my better spec lower mileage car when I sell that's ok.

Also you should tell us what garages do not want to work on uk imports? I've been to 2 of the main dealers I originally went to and received excellent welcomes from both. As I said before they don't care where u bought your car from. They are happy to do any servicing or warranty work.

Actually I'm not flogging cars. First of all I buy them with a full service history including receipts for work done. This history is then verified with a call to the garage.

Next up I do a background check on the car including crash history, warranty work completed, any outstanding claims or finance etc etc. again this is all printed out so there is a verifiable paper trail for the next owner.

I continue to keep and father paperwork after I take possession of the car so the next owner knows what has been done and exactly when it was done.

I'll break the economics but down for you:

1: I save money or take a loan in a local bank
    2: I book plane ticket with Ryanair or Aerlingus
    3: I buy car
    4: I book an Irish Ferries trip home
    5: I begin to repay loan or begin to amass saving again
    6: I pay vrt, tax and NCT
    7: I pay insurance locally
    8: I get my local mechanic to service the car with parts for local motor factors
    9: I fuel car from local filling station
    10: I buy consumables for the car locally
    11: I spend the €€€€€ I saved in local shops and businesses

Any questions?

Just because I choose not to buy locally doesn't mean my money saved isn't entering the local economy.

Also why should I be supporting an area of the economy that is being oversupplied? You said you understand economics so surely you're familiar with the principals of supply and demand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭rocky

Ok clearly its a little thing you have about garages or maybe its a little chip on your shoulder but your once again missing my point here. So let me water it down for you.

1 garage buys uk car
    2 garage sells uk car
    3 garage pays worker
    4 worker buys in local shop
    5 local shop pays worker
    7 you must see where im going with this?????

I wouldn't refuse business and never would. But why would I help you with a problem before I can help a person that bought a car from my garage? also the history on every car I sell is far more clear than the poor soul your floging your import to.

When he goes to the UK to buy, this is what happens:

1 buyer gets uk car
    4 buyer buys in local shop, more buys with more savings
    5 local shop pays worker

So it's only the garage/garage worker that doesn't get paid, serves them right for being uncompetitive...

Actually I'm not flogging cars. First of all I buy them with a full service history including receipts for work done. This history is then verified with a call to the garage.

Next up I do a background check on the car including crash history, warranty work completed, any outstanding claims or finance etc etc. again this is all printed out so there is a verifiable paper trail for the next owner.

I continue to keep and father paperwork after I take possession of the car so the next owner knows what has been done and exactly when it was done.

I'll break the economics but down for you:

1: I save money or take a loan in a local bank
    2: I book plane ticket with Ryanair or Aerlingus
    3: I buy car
    4: I book an Irish Ferries trip home
    5: I begin to repay loan or begin to amass saving again
    6: I pay vrt, tax and NCT
    7: I pay insurance locally
    8: I get my local mechanic to service the car with parts for local motor factors
    9: I fuel car from local filling station
    10: I buy consumables for the car locally
    11: I spend the €€€€€ I saved in local shops and businesses

Any questions?

Just because I choose not to buy locally doesn't mean my money saved isn't entering the local economy.

Also why should I be supporting an area of the economy that is being oversupplied? You said you understand economics so surely you're familiar with the principals of supply and demand

Im sure if you could manage to get everything you need in uk you would. Anyway this is clearly gong around in circles so time to leave it I think. best of luck with all your future purchases.

If it helps competition locally than yes. Although I have a very good garage that do my servicing who offer a high quality and standard of work at a competitive cost. However even he went to the UK for his last car.

Everyone benefits from competition in the long run thankfully

Anyway this is clearly gong around in circles so time to leave it I think.

I am sure there is no harm posting where you work for those that want to support such a principled stance.

Didn't think so.

Meanwhile imports will continue, VRT will be paid, going back into the economy helping to pay for things like the Scrappage Scheme, ludicrous number plate changes and so on.

ludicrous number plate changes and so on.
    I'm going to email SIMI and point out that registration plates should be made seasonal so we can have 4 new car registration periods a year.

I am THE SAVIOUR of the Irish motoring industry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,479 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

I have to laugh at the comment around uk imports being worth less here when you go to sell them on. My ex UK BMW is higher spec, has a fully documented service history with receipts for all work and is generally in better condition than most Irish spec models. I have already turned down good offers for it too as it doesn't suit me to part with it at the moment. I just could not see someone paying more for a rough basic spec Irish model with no evidence of any service history unless they were an idot.

Just sounds like typical SIMI scaremongering to me. I buy where I can get what I want at the price I want. If that happens to be in the UK then so be it, I owe nobody over here any loyality and that doesn't just apply to cars either.

I am sure there is no harm posting where you work for those that want to support such a principled stance.

Didn't think so.

Meanwhile imports will continue, VRT will be paid, going back into the economy helping to pay for things like the Scrappage Scheme, ludicrous number plate changes and so on.

Surprised you want to support an Irish business!! anyway why would I want keyboard warriors such as yourself for clients I have enough honest hard working people coming into me willing to buy and not time wasters. :P

There you go again with the assumptions, about your customers and the cars they drive, how do you get any work done making all these judgment calls? :pac:

And I bought my car in an Irish VW dealer here. Turns out the bloody thing was made in Germany! :)

I don't know where you find the time to come on here to put us all straight.

I also love how you run away and refuse to continue an argument when people post sense.

I don't know where you find the time to come on here to put us all straight.

I also love how you run away and refuse to continue an argument when people post sense.

nobody is running young man. and for people posting sense !! that has to be a joke. I suggest if your looking for a sensible argument you should look elsewhere lol :eek:

I find the time from the same place as you !! dossin'

There you go making assumptions again