Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Help! External Oil Boiler Replacement/Viable alternatives?

• 14-02-2013 12:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭

Looking for some helpful advice and opinion...

Our oil boiler is no longer working, the advice from the service company is to get it replaced, it's likely 15+years old, no idea of the acual age, no documentation.

As I've no experience with these, I have to defer to the advice and get a replacement, or else the 3 kids will freeze in their beds!

Is there any viable alternatives to oil at this stage? It's probably a good opportunity to invest in something else if it's around the same price, a bit more expensive/investment in efficiency etc.

I have a feeling that a new HE outdoor condenser is the way to go, if so, is there a recommendation on which to go for, or a reputable installer to reply on to supply, fit and maintain it?

What are the pitfalls in this thing I need to avoid?

Thanks all...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,884 ✭✭✭Robbie.G

What make of boiler do you currently have?
    Why did they tell you it needs replacing what's the fault?What area are you in?
    If you are going for a new boiler go Grant Vortex.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭Lucutus

Good questions...

No idea of the make, it's an outdoor thing, galvenised casing, kindof a flue on the left side. Clearly very old. Will check when I get home.

Reckoned the problem could be the fuel pump, replaced at a cost of 250. Then that there could be another problem after that, some other component replaced at a cost of 450/500. No guarantee that either would work for any amount of time, and that replacing the lot is the way to go.

Based in Kildare.

Have read threads about Grant Vortex, is it worth calling them direct about supply and fitting? Or do they just sell the kit?

Looking around over the last while online, I see that there's a grant available if I was to buy from a registered installer with SEAI for a boiler replacement with heating controls.

Lucutus wrote: »
    Good questions...

No idea of the make, it's an outdoor thing, galvenised casing, kindof a flue on the left side. Clearly very old. Will check when I get home.

Reckoned the problem could be the fuel pump, replaced at a cost of 250. Then that there could be another problem after that, some other component replaced at a cost of 450/500. No guarantee that either would work for any amount of time, and that replacing the lot is the way to go.

Based in Kildare.

Have read threads about Grant Vortex, is it worth calling them direct about supply and fitting? Or do they just sell the kit?

Looking around over the last while online, I see that there's a grant available if I was to buy from a registered installer with SEAI for a boiler replacement with heating controls.
    I would think its repairable at less than that.Grant don't deal with the public only merchants.There are plenty of guys here that cover your area someone will comment on it later

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 kerryplumbing

I doubt very much that the whole boiler would need replacing - A new burner to supply and fit would cost approx €350.00 maybe less depending on the model

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,428 ✭✭✭.jacksparrow.

Good questions...

Based in Kildare.

If I spent 750 I would hope my boiler was working and guaranteed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,677 ✭✭✭shane0007

I would always be able to give a definite repair cost for any boiler. A simple test of individual components will suffice. Even if I mis-diagnosed & fitted a component only to find the fault in another component, it is simple to take it back out. I carry most spares & am rarely stuck.
    If you wish to PM me, I can have a look at it for you & give you a full evaluation, but it would be tomorrow PM before I could get to you. I am also a Service Engineer for Grant but if a replacement is not required/advised, that is the advice you will receive. If you wish to replace the boiler for efficiency reasons, then that will be your decision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 871 ✭✭✭TPM

You get a second opinion on your boiler (I see shane has already made an offer to look at it for you) because imo €750 is too expensive for almost any repair to an oil boiler specially with out a guarantee that it would work. For that money you in most cases you could replace the complete burner and every consumable part on the boiler (gaskets, baffles, boiler stat etc.).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,974 ✭✭✭jimf

get shane to have a look at his for you 750eu is crazy money for any repair somethings not adding up here even 250 eu to replace a pump is excessive more like 170 eu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,842 ✭✭✭Billy Bunting

Sounds like you've had Extortion Boiler Services in the door, disgracful! Shanes a Pro with a reputation he values, you can trust that.

be careful billy hes just over the man flu dont be gettin him excited :

Thanks for all the replies, especially the statements of confidence in Shane, I hope he's paying ye well!

As I got the original information second hand, I called up the company who've already seen it, and have some more information which might be relevent:
    1. It's a Ger Kross Boiler
    2. The smoke from the flue is burning black.
    3. The fuel pump isn't firing can be replaced at a cost of 230
    4. If the burner needs to be replaced, that's 400, (apparently this includes a fuel pump, previously I was adding both together).
    5. Couldn't guarentee how long it would work after that much because of the black smoke.
    6. Recommended a new boiler, which he doesn't supply and/or fit (they only do services)

So that doesn't seem too bad, the prices are a little on the higher side compared to what's been mentioned on the thread, but he's not angling for the replacement job, just doesn't think it's worth replacing parts in.

I'll be asking Shane to drop in and take a look on Monday.

if it only service he covers and cant cure a smoky boiler he doesnt know what he's doing.
    The price of 230 for an oil pump is rough take at least €50 off that.But sure not to worry shane will sort you out

I've sourced a replacement burner for 260 (inc vat) and a contact has offered to install it FOC, (well, in return for some IT support, barter system in full effect), it might get me over this bump in the road for now.

If it doesn't work out, I'll be onto shane for sure.

I've sourced a replacement burner for 260 (inc vat) and a contact has offered to install it FOC, (well, in return for some IT support, barter system in full effect), it might get me over this bump in the road for now.

If it doesn't work out, I'll be onto shane for sure.
    Your eating your money unless this contact can set up and commission a burner right .The burner has to be set for the boiler output using pressure gauge correct size of nozzle then tested with smoke pump and finally fuel air ratio set by use of flue gas analyser.Make sure your man has all this gear and can set up as subscribed your wasting your money

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,097 ✭✭✭Dtp79

Robbie.G wrote: »
    Your eating your money unless this contact can set up and commission a burner right .The burner has to be set for the boiler output using pressure gauge correct size of nozzle then tested with smoke pump and finally fuel air ratio set by use of flue gas analyser.Make sure your man has all this gear and can set up as subscribed your wasting your money
    Exactly what robbie said. Just because its a new burner dosent mean all you gotta do it a quick changeover.

Good to know, I'll make sure to check that with him, thanks for the heads up.

Thanks for all the replies, especially the statements of confidence in Shane, I hope he's paying ye well!

As I got the original information second hand, I called up the company who've already seen it, and have some more information which might be relevent:
    4. If the burner needs to be replaced, that's 400, (apparently this includes a fuel pump, previously I was adding both together).
    5. Couldn't guarentee how long it would work after that much because of the black smoke.
    6. Recommended a new boiler, which he doesn't supply and/or fit (they only do services)
    So that doesn't seem too bad, the prices are a little on the higher side compared to what's been mentioned on the thread, but he's not angling for the replacement job, just doesn't think it's worth replacing parts in.

I,m sure he had his call out charge, Guy sounds like a joke, perhaps he had his best cloths on,:P is he Oftec registered ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 871 ✭✭✭TPM

This whole thing doesnt add up

There is black smoke but they say the pump isnt "firing up"

They have seen it but cant say if it needs an oil pump or a complete burner

the black smoke they are so worried about and prevents them from
    guaranteeing the new burner is only and completely down to the burner being working properly and properly set up.

I still think you should get someone to look at it that knows what they are doing(Shane or someone else) they will be able to tell you exactly what you need to do. (At this stage I would completely disregard everything that company have told you)

If the boiler does actually need to be replaced there would be no point you buying a new burner and getting a friend to install it.
    If the burner does need to be replaced they will be able to set it up properly.
    Maybe it only needs a small part which would turn out to be much cheaper than a new burner or even a pump.

Agree totally.

If the burner is producing black smoke then the components on the burner are working and its more than likely a simple service and FGA to put right.

I,m sure he had his call out charge, Guy sounds like a joke, perhaps he had his best cloths on,:P is he Oftec registered ?

In fairness to him:
    • He didn't take a penny, just left the options with herself.
    • He is Oftec registered (Just checked there)
    • He judged the black smoke part based on the black marks on the white wall beside the flue. i.e. It isn't firing up at all.

as its 15 years old replacing a pump 170eu

fit a new burner 350eu

i am always very slow to put this amount of money into an old burner and i explain in great detail the reasons why no guarantees that the motor wont seize in a few months time then all of a sudden you are into the price of a new burner

but as its the customers money at the end of the day they make the decisions they pay our wages and it maybe easy for me to say but their is a big difference between 170 and 350 eu i know if it was me i would avail of shanes generous offer and have him give you his opinion

Aye, I'll be calling Shane today for that very reason, I reckon it's worth the 50 quid callout to get him to have a look at the least before buying a replacement burner, even if the price is good.

Bit of feedback to round out the thread.

Shane called out to the house, diagnosed and fixed the problem in under an hour.

I was at work, but herself tells me we will still need a new boiler as the old one probably wont last too much longer.

Thanks Shane, appreciate your help and you've saved me some cash in the short term, (and long term considering the loan I would have had to get!)

thats good news nothing like a happy customer and money saved as well

well done shane

What was the craic with this Shane, you get dirty ?

hope he remembers to send on the commission for all the nice things we said about him what you think billy will we ever see it ????

he'd get dirty just walking over the the boiler, nevermind working on it, back garden is a mess!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,677 ✭✭✭shane0007

I'm afraid this boiler needs a priest to administer the Last Rites! Boiler water jacket is leaking. Door seals gone. Flue seals gone. Poorly insulated/missing.

How a new burner was suggested I do not know. Full pump pressure. Solenoid coil active. Solenoid stem opening. Removed nozzle. Fuel behind it. New nozzle. Away she went!

A lot needed to be spent on the boiler to even get operational but with the boiler leaking water, it will pack in very soon & cause even more issues.

Miserable to heat also. Circulating pump should be on X Factor. Singing away at me.

Oil tank too low. It needs a Tiger Loop.

Only 3 core to the boiler so no frost stat wiring available so it will need to be rewired from the timeclock in kitchen to the boiler, which has no spur & spur required.