Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gardai App Project

• 13-02-2013 10:47pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 966 ✭✭✭

Hi

I'm currently in my final year in NUI Maynooth and I'm studying innovation and we have to pick a company/organisation and see how they could be more innovative so we thought of doing the Gardai and the introduction of an app for them and we also would be updating there website cause we think its very badly designed with far too much going on on the main page.

However I'm just trying to get some feedback.I thought this would be the best place to get that feedback. Would you download the app? Would you pay for it? Is there any features you would like to see in the app?

Other Police forces already have like the NYPD and London Police so it has potential?

Any feedback would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 979 ✭✭✭POGAN

heffo500 wrote: »
    Hi

I'm currently in my final year in NUI Maynooth and I'm studying innovation and we have to pick a company/organisation and see how they could be more innovative so we thought of doing the Gardai and the introduction of an app for them and we also would be updating there website cause we think its very badly designed with far too much going on on the main page.

However I'm just trying to get some feedback.I thought this would be the best place to get that feedback. Would you download the app? Would you pay for it? Is there any features you would like to see in the app?

Other Police forces already have like the NYPD and London Police so it has potential?

Any feedback would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Well there is (third party) Gardai app already with station numbers address links, google map to find your close station and links to the Facebook page & twitter feeds within the app

What you thinking for the app? Have you contacted the it branch or press office?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 966 ✭✭✭heffo500

POGAN wrote: »
    Well there is (third party) Gardai app already with station numbers address links, google map to find your close station and links to the Facebook page & twitter feeds within the app

What you thinking for the app? Have you contacted the it branch or press office?

Thanks for the reply

We were thinking of having the following features:
    Find your local station (since some have closed down)
    Breaking News in your Area i.e Car Stolen
    Crime Prevention Videos
    Links to the forms you need i.e passport forms etc so you could print tem off and maybe a checklist of everything you need to bring for each application
    Report Suspicious activity
    Crime Statistic
    Links to facebook and their twitter etc
    SOS Button

I had a look at the paid app but ours wouldnt be a 3rd party one more made for the Gardai and would be free

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 979 ✭✭✭POGAN

Thanks for the reply

Crime Prevention Videos
    Links to the forms you need i.e passport forms etc so you could print tem off and maybe a checklist of everything you need to bring for each application
    Crime Statistic
    SOS Button

I had a look at the paid app but ours wouldnt be a 3rd party one more made for the Gardai and would be free

Great idea would be great helping tool but I don't think AGS Managment will be to hot on the idea, I would download it along with alot of people I would think

Wishing you luck on this project and great idea

POGAN wrote: »
    Great idea would be great helping tool but I don't think AGS Managment will be to hot on the idea, I would download it along with alot of people I would think

Wishing you luck on this project and great idea

Why do you think they wouldnt up for doing it? Not that it matters we won't be actually making an app.

We think it could help Gardai use their time better wisely and more effectively. Thanks to the app.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 265 ✭✭Tyron Jara

Really good idea. Have ye met with anyone in AGS yet?

:mad:
    Tyron Jara wrote: »
    Really good idea. Have ye met with anyone in AGS yet?

Thanks for the reply. We're hoping to get as many replies as possible so we can get a broad spectrum of ideas.

We never really thought of meeting with AGS Management because its a only a project. We've only started this week so we still have bit to go. Do you think we would gain much from contacting them? If so how any ideas? Who should we contact if we do decide to contact them?

We had look at other apps and we think the Mnchester Police is probably most like what we would like to achieve.

241026.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 265 ✭✭Tyron Jara

:mad:

Thanks for the reply. We're hoping to get as many replies as possible so we can get a broad spectrum of ideas.

We never really thought of meeting with AGS Management because its a only a project. We've only started this week so we still have bit to go. Do you think we would gain much from contacting them? If so how any ideas? Who should we contact if we do decide to contact them?

We had look at other apps and we think the Mnchester Police is probably most like what we would like to achieve.

241026.jpg

It might be a good idea to try get AGS aboard. I would think the IT section in AGS but how you will make contact with them I do not know. Maybe try meet with the local district officer or community officer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,381 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Contact the Press Office and they might be able to point you towards whoever you'd need to talk to.

Garda Press & Public Relations
    Garda Headquarters
    Phoenix Park
    Dublin 8

Tel: +353 1 6662032/34/35
    Fax: +353 1 6662033
    E-mail: pressoffice@garda.ie

As for management not going for it, it's because the majority of them are technophobes, and barely trust email, let alone an App.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 895 ✭✭✭zapata

Did you make any progress with this App?

Or does anyone know of a Garda station App that would locate the nearest stations to you anywhere in the country with phone numbers, opening times etc.
    The info is public knowledge so I doubt there would be an issue with AGS.

We didnt make the actually app because we felt the app wasn't innovative enough, we did some screen shots however.

These are copyright of NUI Maynooth and Daniel Jackson so please don't use them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭Liamos Dubs

Thanks for the reply

Crime Prevention Videos
    Crime Statistic
    SOS Button

Fair play looks like a great idea don't know if this is something that could be incorporated into an app

http://www.muintir.ie/CommunityAlertTextAlertScheme/tabid/1179/language/en-US/Default.aspx

Fair play looks like a great idea don't know if this is something that could be incorporated into an app

http://www.muintir.ie/CommunityAlertTextAlertScheme/tabid/1179/language/en-US/Default.aspx

We have a crime alert section I just didnt bother putting it up here.

Thanks by the way it did turn out well but I can't take credit I wasn't the one who created it, it was the product design student in our group.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,540 ✭✭✭freeze4real

We have a crime alert section I just didnt bother putting it up here.

Thanks by the way it did turn out well but I can't take credit I wasn't the one who created it, it was the product design student in our group.

you guys really went for it. You will definitely get good marks for having a mock up of what the app would look like.