Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

OU in IT

Options
  • 12-02-2013 8:24pm
    Registered Users Posts: 189 ✭✭

I am currently in DIT. I don't see myself sticking it out. I'm only in first year but I have done another year in another college doing computer science and now I'm doing more or less the same.

it is something I want to study but the whole college thing/learning environment just isn't for me. I've learnt more by myself from books, youtube and especially thenewboston channel on youtube then I ever have in college which is why I think maybe the OU is for me.

Would a degree from the OU give me a good chance of getting a job or would you think I'm better off sticking to DIT?

Also, the first thing I'm looking at is "My Digital Life" I'm not 100% sure of the specifics but hopefully I can get some exemptions due to the amount of exams I have passed already in Java Programming, Object Oriented Programming etc. Is that possible?

Last question is...emigration has always been on my mind. I've family in Australia and I've been many times and would love to stay there but I cannot afford the international student fees. Would it be possible to sign up for the english OU and study it over there? And continue to do so or are there things I need to attend in Ireland/UK?

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 68,499 ✭✭✭✭L1011

If you've already done a programming course, My Digital Life will have you wanting to murder people. Its designed for morons, to be brutally honest about it.