Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Should I move out?

• 11-02-2013 11:47pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17

I'm 25 and living at home with my parents. I've never lived out of home. In September I started a postgraduate course that will last four years. I get paid but it's not very much, I think about minimum wage.

I'm tempted to move out of home. I have friends doing similar postgrad courses who get paid the same amount and get by. But that seems to be it, they get by. They can pay rent and have money to go out at weekends but can't save anything or go on nice holidays etc.

I get on with my parents well but I feel a bit trapped at home. I'm sick of paying for taxis and not being able to head out at night on a whim. It's also affecting my relationships as I can never bring a guy over to mine. The thought of staying at home for the next four years and turning 29 having never lived out of home is a little worrying.

But then I think of what a great opportunity I have to be able to live at home basically rent-free (I do give my parents some money). Some people tell me I would be mad to give up the money to move into the city when I can easily live 20 mins outside it.

Another problem is I have nobody to move in with. Almost all my friends live out of home but they're all settled with other friends/boyfriends/girlfriends. I'm now considering moving in with strangers but I'm worried this won't work out well.

I'd just like to know if anyone else has been in this situation and what would you do if you were? Would love to hear some different opinions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 158 ✭✭Airitech

Move out. You will enjoy the freedom and become more independent and self reliant. You will have to be careful with money and live with strangers but that's all part of life.

I take it you are doing a PhD or something similar. College isn't a time when you save lots of money for most people. You survive, you make from one year to the next until you're finished. Then you can start thinking about saving etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,593 ✭✭✭funkey_monkey

Hmmm. I presume you are at least part funding your postgrad course? If so, that is a big enough investment as is without living with others.

Living with random people can be a hassle and everyone has their issues. Although in saying that, if you find people you like, it can be a fantastic experience. You seem to be lucky in that if things do not work out, you can always see out the contract and then move home (which I would at least recommend for your last year when the pressure will be on you to complete things).

What about accommodation on campus?

My advice is, if you are going to do it do it now, but for your final year move back home where there will be minimal distractions and you can concentrate on completing your course. If you move in with strangers then it is pot luck. Most are okay, but as you can see on these boards, there are a few problem ones out there.

If it was me I would look for somewhere especially for postgrad/mature students. Does the uni have these? I had no choice other than to live in shared accommodation. It was okay, but I'm tidy, others aren't. It means a lot to not be dreading going back to a ouse with noisy, ignorant or messy people. Then again, it means a lot to be going back to a fun house with people who respect you and share interests and craic.

It really does depend on who you get in with. The older you get the more difficult it is to move into shared accommodation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 Hannah Gigi

Airitech wrote: »
    I take it you are doing a PhD or something similar. College isn't a time when you save lots of money for most people. You survive, you make from one year to the next until you're finished. Then you can start thinking about saving etc.

Yes a PhD. You're right that college isn't really a time to be saving money but I worry that the age of 25-29 is! I suppose if I really wanted to be saving money I shouldn't have done a PhD though!
    Hmmm. I presume you are at least part funding your postgrad course? If so, that is a big enough investment as is without living with others.

Living with random people can be a hassle and everyone has their issues. Although in saying that, if you find people you like, it can be a fantastic experience. You seem to be lucky in that if things do not work out, you can always see out the contract and then move home (which I would at least recommend for your last year when the pressure will be on you to complete things).

What about accommodation on campus?

My advice is, if you are going to do it do it now, but for your final year move back home where there will be minimal distractions and you can concentrate on completing your course. If you move in with strangers then it is pot luck. Most are okay, but as you can see on these boards, there are a few problem ones out there.

If it was me I would look for somewhere especially for postgrad/mature students. Does the uni have these? I had no choice other than to live in shared accommodation. It was okay, but I'm tidy, others aren't. It means a lot to not be dreading going back to a ouse with noisy, ignorant or messy people. Then again, it means a lot to be going back to a fun house with people who respect you and share interests and craic.

It really does depend on who you get in with. The older you get the more difficult it is to move into shared accommodation.

No, I am fully funded so don't have to pay anything towards the course.

I think moving back home for the final year would be a very good idea. It might be difficult to do if I get used to living out but it would be good to be comfortable and maybe save some money before I finish and have to look for a job.

I'm not too sure about college accommodation, I haven't really looked into it. But I know from undergrad, people used to say it's very expensive and there are lots of rules - I don't know if these apply to postgraduate students.

I am worried about moving into a shared house and not getting on with my housemates. But then I think, you never know who you're going to get on with. If one of my friends was looking for a housemate, I could move in with them and it could turn out badly, like people say - you only really get to know someone properly when you live with them. So maybe that's a risk I would be taking regardless?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,673 ✭✭✭Stavro Mueller

I had to do the sharing with strangers thing when I was your age and it worked out brilliantly. What you could do is start quietly looking at places and going with your gut instinct.

First two or three places I looked at I wasn't mad about. Then as soon as I walked into the house I moved into, I knew it'd be grand. And it was - we're still friends. What I've found is that most people actually are ok to live with. Don't forget either that if you don't like it you can give notice and move out. You don't have to marry them or anything :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 548 ✭✭✭Roisy7

I am worried about moving into a shared house and not getting on with my housemates. But then I think, you never know who you're going to get on with. If one of my friends was looking for a housemate, I could move in with them and it could turn out badly, like people say - you only really get to know someone properly when you live with them. So maybe that's a risk I would be taking regardless?

It is a risk you take regardless, I've lived with friends and strangers and sometimes it works out, sometimes it doesn't. However at PhD level there is less of a chance of having to put up with all-night parties etc like at undergrad level.

Be tolerant, but not too tolerant, neat and tidy (but not too neat and tidy) and be open and friendly and you should be fine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

If you have other friends in a similar course, wait until one of them has a room free or is looking to move house and see if they want to share with you.

Personally I think that at 25 you should be really getting out into the world. Yes, things will be tough but that's life.

There is one friend who is thinking of moving out but I get the feeling they are going to be 'thinking about it' for a long time. I have been waiting for someone to have a room free but I'm sick of sitting around waiting. Actually there is another friend who may have a room free this month but I'm not sure I could live with them, sometimes when I'm around them a lot they start to get on my nerves so living with them might not be a good idea.

To be honest I'm coming around more to the idea of living with strangers. I'm an easy-going person so if I found a decent group it could be perfect. Still have to make sure I'm ok with being poor. It'll be a shock but a shock that I probably need to get. And I can always move back home if things get hard.

Maybe all it is now is deciding when to go. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 133 ✭✭labradoodlelady

I am almost 27 years old. I have lived in shared/rented accommodation since I started university. To me, living out of home has given me so much freedom, independence, maturity, responsibility, awareness etc.

The best piece of advice I can offer, is my one golden rule of never live with friends. I broke that rule twice and both times it ended badly. If you are in a house share and a clash of opinions occurs, be it over noise, houseguests, cleanliness etc, trying to raise the issue with a friend can be a minefield. All of a sudden it becomes personal. Or else, you end up skirting around the issue, trying not to upset the applecart, and it ends in agro. In addition, moving in with new people has the added advantage of broadening the social circle. In the last 2 years, I have met two very close friends through house share.

Can you afford it is the first question? You are going from paying board to your parents to paying for rent, utilities, refuse, cable, broadband, groceries. I am presuming phd salaries haven't taken a massive raise or hit, and are probably still around the 16k mark. Do out a budget, and see if you can afford to live on that and pay rent.

If yes to the first question, how will your parents take it. Your key consideration is YOU, but run it past them to say that now you're doing your doctorate you'd like to live closer to the college, or to live with other postgraduates, or you feel that you want to try a house share now you're 25.

Start looking on Daft, the sharing ads. Get a feel for what's out there and what you'll be paying. If you can afford to move then set out your ideals now, how many people you want to live with, how much you can pay, where you want to live, style of room, what facilities you want. It is unlikely you will get the perfect house at the perfect price and everything ticks the boxes. You can figure out what is important to YOU, before you start looking, and figure out what you can compromise on, so that you won't take the first place you see.

I could go on for pages here about house hunting, what questions to ask, what to look out for etc etc, but I won't bore you. Best of luck!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,957 ✭✭✭miss no stars

I'm tempted to move out of home. I have friends doing similar postgrad courses who get paid the same amount and get by. But that seems to be it, they get by. They can pay rent and have money to go out at weekends but can't save anything or go on nice holidays etc.

I'm 18 months into a funded PhD and moved out at the start of it. I rent a double room in a very nice apartment (with another postgrad and a guy he was in college with at undergrad level). I eat nice food and have a UPC tv package. I also put €150 a month (okay, not a huge amount to some people but it's 10% of what I earn) into a deposit account. I pay my own health insurance and I've just booked an all inclusive 5* holiday and can afford to pay for it (and not out of my savings! separate savings!)

I do this in Dublin where rents are high, as does everyone else in my department. Seriously, think there's only 1 postgrad living with parents. You can afford to move out and live fairly well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭doubter

oh a new adventure..heck, close your eyes and JUMP! you'll never regret it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,036 ✭✭✭Shelga

OP, I'm the same age as you and the idea of living at home until I'm 29 is pure and utter hell to me :eek:

I moved out almost two years ago, as soon as college was wrapped up and I got myself sorted job-wise. It couldn't come soon enough for me, but you seem to be missing that genuine hunger to live away from home. I absolutely love my independence! You come and go as you please, stock the fridge however you want, come home at 4am, or don't come home at all, :p answer to no one! And my parents are perfectly nice and laidback, it's not like they watched my every move, but nothing compares to having your own place.

The only thing stopping you is money. As someone else said, that's life. The gains in personal development far outweigh watching the pennies. Also, I don't want to sound mean, but if I was a guy, the idea of a 25 year old woman with an income voluntarily living with her parents would be deeply unattractive to me. Also, I disagree with another poster who said don't live with friends- I live with my best friend and it's great! Just go into any arrangement with your eyes open.

Do it OP and never look back!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,230 ✭✭✭Merkin

I think moving out of home and into shared accommodation is an essential right of passage, one most people undertake at 18 or 19. While I understand things are cushy at home, if we all thought like that we'd all still be at home! You're essentially missing out on becoming a responsible and self-sufficient adult if you are still relying on parental help for food and board. Forging your own path, building your own identity and being wholly responsible for oneself is what makes people an adult. Sure you're going to be skint and won't have spare money but so what, you'll be having fun and living a life that befits your age.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭luvnit!

Look if you can stick it at home then fair play to you! I couldn't, I love my parents to bits but no way.
    We're the same age, I haven't lived at home since I was 18. Your parents must be more laid back about boyfriends etc. Tbh I am guilty of giving out about people who don't move out of home. I see people, boys in particular still doing the shopping with their mother in there late 20's and think my god, move out!!!
    Your gonna find it hard paying bill etc for the first time but we've all been there! You won't know yourself.

Shelga wrote: »
    I moved out almost two years ago, as soon as college was wrapped up and I got myself sorted job-wise. It couldn't come soon enough for me, but you seem to be missing that genuine hunger to live away from home. I absolutely love my independence! You come and go as you please, stock the fridge however you want, come home at 4am, or don't come home at all, :p answer to no one! And my parents are perfectly nice and laidback, it's not like they watched my every move, but nothing compares to having your own place.

I suppose I don't really have a strong hunger to move out - but then that makes me think I need to move out even more. It's like it's a mark of my immaturity. I worry about missing my mother and sister but I think it's a little unhealthy for that to hold me back. I also worry about my mother and how she'd take it (sister is emigrating sometime this year) but I know that shouldn't hold me back either.
    I'm 18 months into a funded PhD and moved out at the start of it. I rent a double room in a very nice apartment (with another postgrad and a guy he was in college with at undergrad level). I eat nice food and have a UPC tv package. I also put €150 a month (okay, not a huge amount to some people but it's 10% of what I earn) into a deposit account. I pay my own health insurance and I've just booked an all inclusive 5* holiday and can afford to pay for it (and not out of my savings! separate savings!)

I do this in Dublin where rents are high, as does everyone else in my department. Seriously, think there's only 1 postgrad living with parents. You can afford to move out and live fairly well.

This is great to hear!
    I could go on for pages here about house hunting, what questions to ask, what to look out for etc etc, but I won't bore you. Best of luck!!!

Some tips would actually be brilliant if you had a minute! I really have no idea.

You're just postponing the inevitable by not moving out now. And it could be harder for you to move out if you kick this particular can down the road. When I was 18 I moved away to college which was a massive change in my life at the time. I had to deal with the double-whammy of living away from home and starting at a college where I knew absolutely nobody. By moving out now you only have to deal with the moving out bit. Your ordinary day to day life will be largely the same and that has to be a comfort.

Someone on one of these forums posted about how they were postponing breaking up with their girlfriend because it was their anniversary or something like that. One of the replies went along the lines of 'there'll always be something'. It's too near her birthday/Valentine's day/a family wedding/Christmas/granny's anniversary mass/exams. You get the gist. You're better off just grasping the nettle and getting it over and done with. Your mother will be fine. It's not as if you'll never see her again or anything or that you'll never again sleep in your old bedroom at home.

As for looking for somewhere to stay, I can't give you any particular tips other than to only move into a place if you're happy with it. Start looking on Daft to see what's available and what falls within your budget. Don't think that just because you look at a room that you feel obliged to rent it. Far from it. Take your time. At your stage in life I'm sure you're well able to size people up and decide whether you'll like them or not. So go look at some houses, have a chat with your potential housemates and see what you think. Good luck!

Oh, and there is a sticky in the Accommodation and Property forum which has some great information in it about renting. It's worth a read.

cymbaline wrote: »
    You're just postponing the inevitable by not moving out now. And it could be harder for you to move out if you kick this particular can down the road. When I was 18 I moved away to college which was a massive change in my life at the time. I had to deal with the double-whammy of living away from home and starting at a college where I knew absolutely nobody. By moving out now you only have to deal with the moving out bit. Your ordinary day to day life will be largely the same and that has to be a comfort.

Someone on one of these forums posted about how they were postponing breaking up with their girlfriend because it was their anniversary or something like that. One of the replies went along the lines of 'there'll always be something'. It's too near her birthday/Valentine's day/a family wedding/Christmas/granny's anniversary mass/exams. You get the gist. You're better off just grasping the nettle and getting it over and done with. Your mother will be fine. It's not as if you'll never see her again or anything or that you'll never again sleep in your old bedroom at home.

As for looking for somewhere to stay, I can't give you any particular tips other than to only move into a place if you're happy with it. Start looking on Daft to see what's available and what falls within your budget. Don't think that just because you look at a room that you feel obliged to rent it. Far from it. Take your time. At your stage in life I'm sure you're well able to size people up and decide whether you'll like them or not. So go look at some houses, have a chat with your potential housemates and see what you think. Good luck!

Oh, and there is a sticky in the Accommodation and Property forum which has some great information in it about renting. It's worth a read.

Thanks, I've started looking at Daft and hopefully go view some places soon.
    As luck would have it, a friend got in touch a couple days ago to say her roommate is likely emigrating this year and she'll have a room free in Sept/Oct if I want it. Don't know if I can wait that long now though!

Thanks for all the advice anyway, I think you're all right in that it's about time I got out :)

Right, this is just going from personal experience, both looking for a house and showing rooms when people are moving out:

1. Look on Daft to get a feel for prices in the area you want to live in.

2. Ring to make appointments for viewings. I've had a half dozen ads over the years and I rarely remember to reply to those who text or email.

3. Ask when you're moving in if the person showing you the room is the one moving out. Ask what the atmosphere is like in the house, You could ask if any of the others are around to meet. You can ask what everyone else does. You don't need to interrogate, but you can build a picture pretty quick as to whether it suits.

4. Is the house clean when you are viewing We all have different standards of cleanliness, but if there's a stinky bin, dirty counters etc when a house is being shown, you can imagine what it's like the rest of the time.

5. A room without an ensuite. How many sharing the bathroom? Is shower electric, power shower etc?

6. Parking. If it's a housing estate, ask what the story is with parking. How many spots with house, any free spots, any issues with parking. If possible view around 7 in the evening. You'll see a residential car park at peak times.

7. Ask how much the bills are usually and just confirm how they are split. When you have moved in, just confirm if you need to do anything for bills. Preferably get a meter reading. I moved into a house share with 2 friends for 2 months, the meter had never been read, and suddenly upon reading, I was being asked to contribute 300 quid to an electricity bill. When we let rooms now, I take a photo of the meter on moving in day to avoid any issues which may arise.

8. Ask how long the lease is for. Is it let to a landlord or agency. Do you need to sign a lease, or are you being reassigned the part of the lease from whomever is leaving. I know a girl who wanted to move out and move in with her boyfriend with 3 months left on a lease and didn't specify that to anybody looking at it.

9. Under no circumstances hand over a cent to someone at the door when you decide to take a place. I've seen people pay the deposit in cash at the door, to let's face it a complete stranger whose word they are relying on. Preferably pay to letting agency or landlord. Make sure you get a receipt. If you're paying it to a tenant, probably preferable to pay via bank transfer or cheque, than cash.

10. Ask if the landlord or letting agency are quick at attending to any maintenance issues.

11.I don't know where you are based, but I know of a number of people who had houses broken into when people were away at the weekends. You can ask of there are keys for the rooms if you don't see them in the back of the door. Also, when you're arriving at the door or they are letting you out, just observe if front doors are being unlocked to let you in and locked when you leave.

Last tip, invest in a good cook book if you don't already cook!

Re your friend's place. If it suits, go for it. Sept is a long time away, but it might be good to live with friends for your first time moving out. Why not see if you can save what you would be paying in rent and still survive.

Just to clarify, my rule on not living with friends works for me. For plenty of people they might have a rule not to live with strangers. There's no right or wrong, and each to his own. I have just found that tiny things like issues with cleaning, locking doors, making noise, paying for bills are a lot harder to raise with someone you know as a friend, and for me arguments have been created over minor issues like this. In addition, incidents like having a bad day and wanting to curl up by yourself with a book; friends can sometimes see this as you not wanting to be around them, someone you don't know that well won't bat an eyelid. And, as said it can be a great way to meet new people and make new friends, simply by moving into a house share with strangers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,861 ✭✭✭IrishEyes19

I'm 25 and living at home with my parents. I've never lived out of home. In September I started a postgraduate course that will last four years. I get paid but it's not very much, I think about minimum wage.

I get on with my parents well but I feel a bit trapped at home. I'm sick of paying for taxis and not being able to head out at night on a whim. It's also affecting my relationships as I can never bring a guy over to mine. The thought of staying at home for the next four years and turning 29 having never lived out of home is a little worrying.

But then I think of what a great opportunity I have to be able to live at home basically rent-free (I do give my parents some money). Some people tell me I would be mad to give up the money to move into the city when I can easily live 20 mins outside it.

Another problem is I have nobody to move in with. Almost all my friends live out of home but they're all settled with other friends/boyfriends/girlfriends. I'm now considering moving in with strangers but I'm worried this won't work out well.

I'd just like to know if anyone else has been in this situation and what would you do if you were? Would love to hear some different opinions.

definately move out. you need this sort of experience and by that I mean learning how to budget, scraping pennies, living with new housemates. ect. dont be worrying about whether you will get along or not with them. I've lived with great ones and really bad ones. nearly everyone has a story of the nightmare housemate. doesnt mean you stop your life because of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,264 ✭✭✭mood

Move out if you feel living at home is preventing you for having a proper adult relationship with a guy.

Right, this is just going from personal experience, both looking for a house and showing rooms when people are moving out:...

Thank you so much for this.

I've started looking at places but I know now if I find somewhere I'm going to be torn between going for it and waiting til my friend's room is free. Agh why is September so far away! I'd love to be out during the summer!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 Loreida

I would agree that it is a bad idea to live with friends (I've had some goddawful experiences!). Also, people have different ways of living. In my flatshare, we try to be quiet and clean, which we both agreed to at the beginning.

Thank you so much for this.

I've started looking at places but I know now if I find somewhere I'm going to be torn between going for it and waiting til my friend's room is free. Agh why is September so far away! I'd love to be out during the summer!

Could you not move out now, see how it goes and then think about moving into your friend's room in September if it doesn't suit?

cymbaline wrote: »
    Could you not move out now, see how it goes and then think about moving into your friend's room in September if it doesn't suit?

That's the plan now! As long as I'm out for the summer I'll be happy, and then I'll have the option to move in with my friend after summer if I want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,024 ✭✭✭Redpunto

yes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,204 ✭✭✭FoxT

OP, I am a parent of sons that are close to your age. We get on very well, and my wife & I love them, deeply. If they were living at home at 25, I wouldnt ask them to move out - but I'd certainly chat with them about the idea of it.

I think that it is good for young people to establish themselves & learn first hand to deal with rent/utilities/finance/insurance & all the nitty gritty of standing on their own feet.
    Also, young adults need some private space where they can develop relationships with others,and a bit of space to grow & mature.

I know that both our sons (aged 20 & 22) will want to move out soon-ish (Next year or 2). As a parent I see that as a healthy sign, and, while I would miss them, I certainly would not feel rejected etc. In fact,we have already had some chats about it.

If things were tight financially, and one of our boys wanted to move out, (assuming it was to pursue further education or similar) I'd consider renting his bedroom at home, perhaps to another student, then using that rent to help fund some of his living expenses.

Have you ever discussed this with your parents? I think that would be a positive first step.

-FoxT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

I would move out of home as I think every chick needs to leave the nest.
    You learn more about yourself, you learn to budget, make new friends and can have a proper personal life.
    I had a friend who stayed at home in her 20's due to family reasons.
    My friend is now in her late 30's listing to her mother making comments about why she not married unlike family members and the people she was in school with.
    She is working long hours in a job that she hates and spends her free time doing house work and helping out family members.
    She has missed out so much in not leaving home and that is why I am advising you to leave home.
    Meanwhile I left home, did some traveling ( not as much as I like due to financial reasons) and now own a home. Living away from home was the best thing I did for my own life as I learned a lot about myself and grew up. Also I could have a boyfriend with out my mother thinking I need to buy a new outfit, asking marriage questions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

If you can get by and afford it definitely move out even if it means sharing with strangers or friends for the first time living away from home but I be in the same view either share with strangers (you meet new people and make new friends maybe) then again maybe student accommodation might suit you better, there might be suitable ones for those doing postgrad study.

To live on your own might be too expensive but its something I would rather do or go for student/postgrad accommodation, if I were to go back to college again, I did that myself when I did a postgrad a few years ago and lived in postgrad accommodation. Worked out well enough for me.

Speaking from experience I didn't leave home till I was 23 after I finished my degree and to leave home for a job and it was the best thing I ever did, I was ready so that helped me to make that decision and I've never looked back but for circumstances of no job and barely able to afford a place is the reason why I lived away from home for a year and a half and it flew. You could always move back home again if it didn't work out for you? Knowing you have somewhere to go back to and won't upset your routine too much. Though the longer you leave it the harder it get as you get older.

Try it out is all you have to do, trying is worth the risk that not going for something that is a challenge and new experience! That all it be a new experience and change for you and people need that, a change of scenery and a new experience in life, its how we develop and grow into mature people I suppose and helps with lifes mysteries along the way! Its all part of growing up I suppose! Everyone experiences it at some point but if you don't do it at some point you keep it hanging on and you might never take that risk.

I moved back home but I know myself I'm in my late 20's now and feel its time again to move out and to do so permanently next time with or without a job/course even if it means just to get by!! I've a car which will help with location so my world is my oyster as to what city/town I could move to as where I am living isn't helping matters for me to mature even more than I did when I left home.

Be sure to budget and be careful with your money, spend it wisely and have some saved for both essentials and for the nights out/clothes. I find save some away so you have enough for a night out. Sometimes best things happen when you live outside the family home, have your own independence to do what you want to do and you learn to stand on your own two feet. You can learn a lot from living away from home.

As other posters have mentioned, get a cook book, you be amazed what you can learn! I wasn't the best at cooking and since moving back have found myself that I have improved and would much rather cook my own dinner! it starts at home, so maybe try and learn a few dishes before moving out of home can make a huge difference as it can be costly to go out for meals and buy some foods. Cooking in batches can help and you could put in a freezer. So just a matter of maybe heating things up. Slaving over a hot stove you be sick of it something that is easy and quick to make but that is healthy and nutritious is doable. Start with something simple. Takes time and practise but knowing what you like and how you like it cooked can help you make dishes your own way.

I do agree in what posters have mentioned on here, and would say you are missing out on things and that you be amazed that having the freedom can make you a better person! Going out of your comfort zone can do the world of good!

I highly recommend daft but know what you are looking for, and how close or far from college you want to be, transport and so on. Being close to shops to get groceries and so on. Try not to worry do your own thing or just move out if things don't go well with housemates, you meet all sorts of people in all walks off life, life isn't meant to be perfect or set in stone. It might be an idea to go for student accommodation you be with like minded people. Then again maybe try out moving in with those who might be looking for a housemate to finish a lease?

Might be an idea to try living with someone during the summer months see how you get on and then see where you might like to live when you go to college but the thing about student accommodation you need to apply before certain dates. Last minute could cost you a place to live. Research thoroughly! Have a map ready as well when looking at places, ask as many questions as you can to find out about the place, value for money and location I'd imagine be important.

Its a positive thing that you are even thinking about it, just to take that step!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 Socorro

Sorry to hijack thread, but I have a similar question as the OP.

I'm moving out of the place I'm currently in as soon as possible. Been looking at places for about a month. I had been planning on finding a room in an apartment share. At first I was worried about moving in with strangers but I came round to the idea and now I quite like the thought. There's the possibility of making new friends, also the option to do my own thing, etc.

Just last week a girl I work with told me she was looking for a new place as well and we decided we'd start looking for a place together. This girl only joined my work in January and I get on very well with her, she's a lovely person so at first I was delighted. But now I'm a little worried. We work in different areas but in the same office so we'd really be seeing each other 24/7.

I can see the pros and cons of both situations and I don't know what to do - find a room on my own or find an apartment with this girl. I don't even know if I can back out of moving in with her now, I don't know how I'd explain it if I got a room on my own elsewhere.

What should I do?! :)