Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Current conditions on Carrantuohill

• 11-02-2013 11:38am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,265 ✭✭✭

Firstly, we need a webcam pointing at the Reeks!!!
    I can get live pictures from the Scottish Highlands...I have to send carrier pigeons with cameras to find out the spiel in Kerry :)

Would anyone who has been on Carrantuohill over the last few days be so kind as to tell me the state of the routes? I am guessing very muddy due to lots of rainfall?

Also the river crossing for the Brother O Shea's route, will I be getting wet feet?!? The part where you have veer off right and up the first/second step.

Many thanks for anyone blessed enough to live close to our big hills!!

jusmeig wrote: »
    Would anyone who has been on Carrantuohill over the last few days be so kind as to tell me the state of the routes? I am guessing very muddy due to lots of rainfall?

Also the river crossing for the Brother O Shea's route, will I be getting wet feet?!? The part where you have veer off right and up the first/second step.

Many thanks for anyone blessed enough to live close to our big hills!!

Was up there for all of yesterday, went up An Cruach Mhor, across the Big Gun and Eastern Reeks and on to Carrauntoohil, then to Caher and Caher West before heading back to Carrauntoohil and across Beenkeeragh Ridge. Think it was the first time I did the 3 main ridges in one outing.

Anyway, snowed for most of the day so while all approaches clear at the start, the mountains were white when I descended. But very light powdery snow that wasn't really settling or forming any great drifts of depth, was looking down O'Shea's while above it and seemed fine out. Came down via Knockbrinnea so didn't pass that stream, but you should be grand, it was fine last week in much wetter conditions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,265 ✭✭✭jusmeig

Came down via Knockbrinnea so didn't pass that stream, but you should be grand, it was fine last week in much wetter conditions.

Thanks Conor. Our plan is to head up towards O Sheas, and do central gully.
    Snow.....that would be great :)
    I think its suppose to warm up a bit tho towards the weekend.

Thanks Conor. Our plan is to head up towards O Sheas, and do central gully.
    Snow.....that would be great :)
    I think its suppose to warm up a bit tho towards the weekend.

Central Gully was a bit loose last weekend, the freezing and thawing has left the soil and rock pretty brittle in parts. At one stage the soil gave and my foot went and a good sized rock above came sliding down at pace and bounced off my ankle, which led to a 10 second volley of swearing at mother nature, but no real damage done. But if a few there it might be dodgy, I certainly wouldn't go last, or at the very least be nearly head to arse.

But if a few there it might be dodgy, I certainly wouldn't go last, or at the very least be nearly head to arse.

Head to arse it is :)
    Thanks for the advice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭RamblingRuairi

Howdy all,

Looking to do either O'Shea Gully ascent/Zig Zag's descent or Coomloughra Horseshoe on Sat - any one know what the current underfoot conditions are like? Presume icy with the current cold snap. Most interested in conditions on Beenkeeragh Ridge, if anyone has further info

Appreciate any info

Looking out at it now, snow almost gone but gonna be a cold one tonight acc to

http://www.mountain-forecast.com/peaks/Carrauntoohil/forecasts/1038

Looking out at it now, snow almost gone but gonna be a cold one tonight acc to

http://www.mountain-forecast.com/peaks/Carrauntoohil/forecasts/1038

Cheers Conor!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 800 ✭✭✭niallers1

What's the reeks like today , is there much snow up there? Was thinking about doing the ridge walk in the morning . Are crampons needed or is that overkill?

niallers1 wrote: »
    What's the reeks like today , is there much snow up there? Was thinking about doing the ridge walk in the morning . Are crampons needed or is that overkill?

Did Shea's Gully and the Zig Zags yesterday. Top of the Gully to Caurantoohill was fine but the ridge from Beenkerragh did look icy. Central and Curved Gully would def need crampons, if that's any help.

Not much snow there yesterday but still a fair amount of ice around in shady/sheltered areas. I wouldn't have done the ridge without crampons. Better to have and not need rather than need and not have!

Good luck!!

It's fairly white again today. Was across the way on the Mangertons and plenty of ice there so would imagine its fairly cold and icy on the Reeks, so if you want to use crampons you're bound to get some use in Curved Gully at least.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 171 ✭✭donegaldude

Thinking of doing the 3 peaks in the morning. Anyone been up this week? Just wondering on the ground conditions especially beenkeragh ridge. Cheers

Just drove past it today, or at least the Eastern Reeks. They look pretty clear, no snow, might still be small patches of ice but would imagine conditions would be perfect, ground should be nice and dry.

Oh and wave across, will be on the ridge on Stumpa Duloigh behind Lough Duff!

Will do! Hope to be starting around half nine and be off the hills by 6.30-7pm at the latest.

Had a great day out did the horseshoe in 5.5hrs good ground, light winds, perfect day out!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 banditmorris

Is there any hiking groups on boards.ie..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,238 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

Headed up there today,one of the worst days up there, made it halfway up the devils ladder which was essentially a waterfall and another group of 7 was coming down just above so we decided to halt it there.
    You know it's bad enough when you only see people descending! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 501 ✭✭✭Aiel

Did Carrentouhill 2 weeks ago,it was eerily calm up on top,no wind at all which is a very rare thing i know.We went up and down Devils Ladder,not for the faint hearted.No videos or pics do it justice,its down right dangerous,but fun:).We advised 3 women heading up The Ladder who were only wearing Asics Runners and flat shoes not to go up but we think they went anyway:mad:.

BUMP..., anyone been out recently on Carrantuohill?
    Any snow/ice in the gullies?

Aiel wrote: »
    Did Carrentouhill 2 weeks ago,it was eerily calm up on top,no wind at all which is a very rare thing i know.We went up and down Devils Ladder,not for the faint hearted.No videos or pics do it justice,its down right dangerous,but fun:).We advised 3 women heading up The Ladder who were only wearing Asics Runners and flat shoes not to go up but we think they went anyway:mad:.

The Ladder is a filthy dirty root, it should be fenced off :)

BUMP..., anyone been out recently on Carrantuohill?
    Any snow/ice in the gullies?

Check out Kerry Climbing on Facebook (Piaras is running up and down the mountains at the moment and posting regularly)

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Kerry-Climbing/110552822352912?fref=ts

Check out Kerry Climbing on Facebook (Piaras is running up and down the mountains at the moment and posting regularly)

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Kerry-Climbing/110552822352912?fref=ts

This is excellent, thanks for this.
    Lots of snow it seems!

Thick snow today on Carrauntoohil, thick on Purple Mountain and Tomies, Broaghnabinnia, across the Eastern Reeks etc. Hope to get out the this weekend.

Last Sunday, bet Curved Gully and Howling Ridge...

1925265_713843975322763_1371137914_n.jpg

1904154_713843945322766_1622104689_n.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭boxty

Does anyone have an update on current conditions on carrauntoohil? (Am thinking about doing it this weekend if weather is ok)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,778 ✭✭✭✭fits

It was covered in snow yesterday. I wouldn't be going up without winter equipment and knowledge.

Kerry Climbing on Facebook probably have the most accurate description/photos of current conditions. I know Piaras is running a winter skills course today (ice axe and crampons) in Curve Gully.

The weather is to stay dry up until Sat evening and the winds are turning SW andas fits says above, I wouldnt be going up with the correct gear and knowledge. Have seen way to many inexperienced people wandering around the mountain over the last few weeks.

Yep, covered. Ask on the FaceBook page of Cronins Yard on Friday and they might give you an up to date idea of conditions then.

Lads this is a good site for the "mountain" weather :)
    http://www.mountain-forecast.com/peaks/Carrantuohill/forecasts/1040

If you notice the freezing point is above 1000m from pm today.
    So by the weekend a lot of that snow will probably be gone :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,499 ✭✭✭✭Alun

Lads this is a good site for the "mountain" weather :)
    http://www.mountain-forecast.com/peaks/Carrantuohill/forecasts/1040

If you notice the freezing point is above 1000m from pm today.
    So by the weekend a lot of that snow will probably be gone :(
    yr.no is another good one.

http://www.yr.no/place/Ireland/Munster/Carrauntoohill/hour_by_hour_detailed.html

Alun wrote: »

Thanks for sharing, had never heard of that one!
    I thend to take a mean from a couple of sites...then discard this information as its Ireland ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,499 ✭✭✭✭Alun

Thanks for sharing, had never heard of that one!
    I thend to take a mean from a couple of sites...then discard this information as its Ireland ;)
    I find it pretty accurate for the timing of when changes (rain, change of wind strength or direction) are likely to occur especially if you look at it the same morning. If you hover the mouse over the temps it gives you a "feels like" temperature as well.

The only snag is the exact spelling of the locations can be a bit haphazard so you sometimes have to be a bit inventive to find them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭boxty

Any recommendations for a good value guide for the current conditions?

boxty wrote: »
    Any recommendations for a good value guide for the current conditions?

kerryclimbing.ie, but just don't book them for Saturday, because they will hopefully be busy bringing a group of us up Howling Ridge :):)

Also Outdoorireland, very good.