Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What do those who dislke working in Practise do?

Options
  • 10-02-2013 1:05am
    Registered Users Posts: 28

Hi,

I am a recently qualified ACCA accountant and want to get out of Practise.
    This is a abroad topic where Im looking for advice from like-minded souls who dislike working in practise, especially Audit, and see what roles do they perform & even enjoy!

Comments

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 10,000 Mod ✭✭✭✭Jim2007

Hi,

I am a recently qualified ACCA accountant and want to get out of Practise.
    This is a abroad topic where Im looking for advice from like-minded souls who dislike working in practise, especially Audit, and see what roles do they perform & even enjoy!

Well I left a big four and accounting within weeks of qualifying and got involved in designing and writing simulation software - I liked the application of math to business problems. I worked mainly on warehousing and logistics problems.

Another colleague became a potter and later I believe a professional fiddle player!

Yet another left to become a sheep farmer in north Donegal (he was originally from Dublin)

A more recent one has signed up to learn how to be a watch maker...

Find something you are passionate about and do that! Life is more interesting that way.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,470 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Never worked practice, never will. have been employed in retail, gambling and manufacturing sectors since started ACCA both with large companies (13,000 people plus) and small one (12 people)

• Registered Users Posts: 28 MagicWanderer