Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Time Sheet Etiquette

• 09-02-2013 11:36pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭

Ok, I'm fairly new to playing in competition and having to put my name on the time sheet to play. I spent the last 10 years playing on Mondays and Tuesdays when the course was deserted and there was no need to book a time.

So my question is do's and dont's regarding the time-sheets.

-If I have my name down with 3 other people and I arrive at the course early and another group are going out with only 3 people and offer me to play along with them, is it bad practice to just leave my original group?
    -Likewise if i see an opening online the night before with a group i'd rather play in, is it ok to just pull my name from the original group and join a new one?
    -Do people put their name on the sheet and then just not turn up?

Might seem like stupid questions, but just don't want to start off on the wrong foot in a new club, so any other tips is great.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 802 ✭✭✭m r c

Senna wrote: »
    Ok, I'm fairly new to playing in competition and having to put my name on the time sheet to play. I spent the last 10 years playing on Mondays and Tuesdays when the course was deserted and there was no need to book a time.

So my question is do's and dont's regarding the time-sheets.

-If I have my name down with 3 other people and I arrive at the course early and another group are going out with only 3 people and offer me to play along with them, is it bad practice to just leave my original group?
    -Likewise if i see an opening online the night before with a group i'd rather play in, is it ok to just pull my name from the original group and join a new one?
    -Do people put their name on the sheet and then just not turn up?

Might seem like stupid questions, but just don't want to start off on the wrong foot in a new club, so any other tips is great.[/

If people/you put your name down to play it would nearly always be seen as bad form not to show. It'd be ok if you amended the online booking system previously but if your name is down to play at a given time and you aren't about there's no real reason for that(barring emergency)

I don't see anything wrong with amending your name the night before online either esp if you are leaving 3 players still on one line. There could be an element of bad form if you were leaving one lad on his own ie no one to mark a card. Kinda meh if that's a big deal you would be changing it the previous day.

Moving because you got an invite, that might differ between clubs/personalities. Depending on the lads it'd be a massive big deal or just hit the ball and enjoy the view. You'd never 'have it said back' if you stick to the sheet though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Thanks for that m r c, one last hypothetical, say I'm on the sheet with less than 12 hours to go, just me and one other, but there are a few 3 balls out before and after, I'd be thinking the other fella could join one of the 3 balls in the morning leaving me on my own and if the other 3 balls found a 4th, i'd be stuck.
    I'd rather play in a 4 anyway, but would it be very bad form to be the first to pull my name out if there was a few other 3 balls with a free space?

This situation did crop up last week, a mate of mine pulled out, but thankfully 2 others joined in the day before so it did end up as a 4.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,370 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

Senna wrote: »
    Thanks for that m r c, one last hypothetical, say I'm on the sheet with less than 12 hours to go, just me and one other, but there are a few 3 balls out before and after, I'd be thinking the other fella could join one of the 3 balls in the morning leaving me on my own and if the other 3 balls found a 4th, i'd be stuck.
    I'd rather play in a 4 anyway, but would it be very bad form to be the first to pull my name out if there was a few other 3 balls with a free space?

This situation did crop up last week, a mate of mine pulled out, but thankfully 2 others joined in the day before so it did end up as a 4.

This sounds like you are pulling out before someone else has the chance to pull out on you?:confused:
    If you dont want someone to do it to you, why would you do it to someone else?

Stick to the timesheet. If you are going to cancel and its short notice you should inform your playing partners via phone, mail etc.
    Also you should have a pretty damn good reason for cancelling the night before, moving to a different line is not valid reason.

Cancelling because you get an offer from someone else on the day would be very bad form and would see you banned from the timesheet in a number of clubs.

GreeBo wrote: »
    This sounds like you are pulling out before someone else has the chance to pull out on you?:confused:
    If you dont want someone to do it to you, why would you do it to someone else?

Stick to the timesheet. If you are going to cancel and its short notice you should inform your playing partners via phone, mail etc.
    Also you should have a pretty damn good reason for cancelling the night before, moving to a different line is not valid reason.

Cancelling because you get an offer from someone else on the day would be very bad form and would see you banned from the timesheet in a number of clubs.

On the first one, i meant if the other player decided in the morning just to join a 3 ball, (but maybe that's never done), again I dont know how it works so i'm wondering do people try and make up 4 balls rather than four 3 balls and a two 2 ball heading out one after another?

New to the club so don't have many contact details for anyone. If I'm not heading out with friends, I think I'd just leave booking until the night before, don't really want to ever pull out at last minute, but with my work I could find I have to work with only 12hr notice.

Thankfully I've only had to pull my spot once and that was when i found out i had to work but 24hrs in advance, still left 3 on the sheet. Second comp I was in was horrific weather and none of my 4 ball came out, thankfully the 3 before asked me to join at the clubhouse, when it looked like I was on my tod.

Thanks for the replies, anything time sheet related?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭onlyfinewine

Reading through your postings and the types of questions you are asking it is more than obvious that you are thinking about the effects of your actions on other people.

This is the kind of golfer that any club should welcome so I don't think you have anything to worry about. I would suggest that you have a quiet word with a committee member as to the correct procedures based on your circumstances and take it from there.

Suggestions as to "pretty damn good reason for cancelling" and implied threats of being banned from the time-sheet and possibly also get a damned good thrashing are over the top and I would stay well clear of anyplace so obviously stuck in the past with such throwback attitudes.

Modern living and improved communications allowing more latitude and flexibility is one of the advantages of the better communications these days.

Do unto others...........is always good advice, but you already know that. Enjoy your golf.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,091 ✭✭✭Peterdalkey

Your club probably has specific rules for handling timesheet rules, ask what they are. On top of that there is the wider issue of ettiquette if you become known as a timesheet flitter it will not make you popular with some. I tend to agree with Greebo on this one.
    Late movements/withdrwals on the timesheet can lead to others on the line taking it as an affront to them.
    Occasionally, we all have circumstamnces that mean we have to change our booking or even cancel. Just make sure you contact your opponents and explain properly, it is only good manners.
    Up to say 48 hours before tee time, it is generally accptable to delete/move wiothout explanation.
    Cheers

Peter

its more important that everyone gets out than have a full line.
    stick to the sheet unless someone is left on their own.

btw, this is less important for a casual timesheet, but in competition is very bad form to leave someone in the lurch.

Thanks for the replies everyone, we had our captains drive in today, now the weather was rubbish, but there was about 120 who put their names down for the draw, for a shotgun start at 10.30. At 10.30 it was quickly realised that there was no-where near 120, so they had to do the draw again with the people that were there. Even at that, one person was missing from my group and it was a classic:rolleyes:

Very bad form but I'm too new to say anything.
    Regarding the time sheet, if I don't have a group organised, I think I'll just book at the last minute, save hassle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭Felloffmebike

Use common sense. There are always some changes for a variety of good reasons. But if you get a reputation as someone that regularly messes people about on the time sheet then pretty soon you'll be the one on your own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭vedwards

The introduction of the on-line tee booking system for members (and visitors) brought the time-sheets into the 21st century. As with most inventions, man found a way to cunningly use (or abuse), the system. I'd agree with an OP, if you're down on the time-sheet with another member/visitor that as long as you don't leave that member/visitor by themselves.

Here we go...what grinds my gears...is the member who books himself/herself with guest and no intention of bringing a guest, and does so only to block the tee-time so no one else can book on the same tee-time slot with them (and sometimes their golfing buddie).

Now this is very bad 'Time Sheet Etiquette'..in my opinion. If you're new to the time-sheets...please...please...do not adopt this procedure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 812 ✭✭✭For Paws

vedwards wrote: »
    The introduction of the on-line tee booking system for members (and visitors) brought the time-sheets into the 21st century. As with most inventions, man found a way to cunningly use (or abuse), the system. I'd agree with an OP, if you're down on the time-sheet with another member/visitor that as long as you don't leave that member/visitor by themselves.

Here we go...what grinds my gears...is the member who books himself/herself with guest and no intention of bringing a guest, and does so only to block the tee-time so no one else can book on the same tee-time slot with them (and sometimes their golfing buddie).

Now this is very bad 'Time Sheet Etiquette'..in my opinion. If you're new to the time-sheets...please...please...do not adopt this procedure.

Yep, completely agree. Have seen this a time or two & people have commented on those who do it. Committee won't act on it, as they are long time members.

Worse I ever saw was arriving out to course on a Bank Holiday morning when I hadn't expected to be able to play. Hung around 1st tee, and with start of play delayed, waited until a 3 ball enquired as to whether I'd join them. Said thanks and teed my ball up.
    Next thing, their 'fourth' raced up (at this point 20 mins after their booked tee time), and the lads said like
    'Ah here's Mick after all, we didn't think he was coming' ahem ahem

I backed out, rather than spend 4 hours with guys who didn't want me there.

Had a word with a Committee member who asked their names and said he'd bring it up at the next meeting. Never heard any more.

vedwards wrote: »
    As with most inventions, man found a way to cunningly use (or abuse), the system. I'd agree with an OP, if you're down on the time-sheet with another member/visitor that as long as you don't leave that member/visitor by themselves.

Personally I would consider leaving a line because you have a "better" line as abusing the system, "you" probably wouldnt do it if it wasnt so easy to do online.

Leaving someone on their own, unless in an emergency, is the height of ignorance, even if you are leaving 2 people you should inform them if its short notice and unlikely they will get a partner (which you can usually check by looking at the waiting list)

I think the reason some people dont want to inform their partners is that they would be embarrassed to explain why they are leaving the line...

Brought this topic up this a.m. with a customer of mine with whom I'd always 'talk golf'.
    (Must see if I can get one of those 'Golf spoken here' signs for the office).

Anyway, he related this one to me. New(ish) member in his club puts his name down besides 3 others in the empty fourth slot for a 4ball Competition. On the evening before the round he checks the booking online and sees he's on his own on the line, and the 3 names have 'migrated' to another time slot which also has the fourth slot taken.

As a result he doesn't get out in the comp. but later mentions it to a friend who said 'take it to the committee'.
    So he does, and the 4 lads who dumped him lost booking rights for 2 weeks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,557 ✭✭✭sydneybound

For Paws wrote: »
    As a result he doesn't get out in the comp. but later mentions it to a friend who said 'take it to the committee'.
    So he does, and the 4 lads who dumped him lost booking rights for 2 weeks.

Thats a hard line to take by the committee but I very much agree with them, wish others were so proactive. Until these matters are confronted head on they will never be tackled. Most people have been the 'new' guy in a club at some stage of their lives so they will face this issue. As an established member you shouldn't manipulate the timesheet like that three ball did. Look, fair enough you might want to stick with your normal three ball but you should have the decency to houour the game to whoever joins you. It comes down to common sense at the end of the day.

This is a problem I find, I don't want to join a 3 ball if they would prefer to play as a 3 ball (not wanted), I'd much rather start with my own line and hope others will join, but to do that I'd need to book early and with work commitments I'd be scared of starting a line early, have someone join, then have to pull out because of work, which working in hotels can happen.
    I know its the "new guy" problem and I've already got to know a few players and I have some mates that play here, but some weeks just don't work out.

Look if 3 guys want to go out a have a nice friendly chat for a few hours
    they can go to the pub.

It's always been the case that you're 'honor bound' as a 2 or 3 ball to invite a lone golfer to join ye. If you think back to how you ended up with your 'usual 4 ball' group it probably started out that way.

I've never regretted inviting a single golfer to join up.
    If he / she turns out to be a pain in the wedge, well you're not marrying them, so chill.
    Club golf is a social game, we're not out there practicing for our next
    appearance on the main Tour ffs. :)