Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Which Is You're Second Favourite County In Hurling And Football?

• 09-02-2013 09:44PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,202 ✭✭✭

It's Waterford and Limerick as joint second favourites for me in hurling and football.I have a fondness for Waterford based on family reasons and the whole glorious failure thing and i also have a fondness for the Limerick hurlers and footballers.I'd love to see Limerick and Waterford win a hurling all ireland so long as it's not at Corks expense and the Limerick footballers deserve credit for coming back from disappointment year after year to put it up to ourselves and Kerry most of the time.Tom Ryan is also a gas man.:pac:

Cork 1990 All Ireland Senior Hurling and Football Champions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭Ryu Hayabusa

Galway hurling and Dublin football

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,527 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

Any county that are playing against Tipp :D:D :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,636 ✭✭✭feargale

Always for David against Goliath.
    HURLING: 1. Antrim ( and Ulster generally, ) 2. Carlow, Westmeath, and all other counties that have yet to win Liam McCarthy. Also a soft spot for Waterford, very sorry that Mullane, Dan the Man etc. didn't win ultimate honours. Also, hurling needs Dublin. Let's hope a disappointing 2012 for them was only a blip.
    FOOTBALL : Leitrim, Fermanagh, Wicklow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 482 ✭✭Treble20

Mayo in football and Wexford in hurling.

I'm a student up in Carlow so i have a soft spot for them except for last week in the football. That said they played really well and deserved their win.
    I always like to see the underdog win. Of course while we mightn't consider ourselves an underdog given our history, at the same time we cant consider ourselves favourites in anything these times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

I have to say I have divided and joint loyalties when it comes to hurling. The only reason I ever got into the sport was spending my Summers in Waterford (I'm a Dub born and bred, with a Grandfather from Waterford) and I had a Waterford jersey over a decade before a Dublin one. But being into hurling and living in Dublin meant that I got into Dublin hurling, and I get to most Dublin games every year, including Wexford tomorrow. I feel no shame in it, and am quite happy to have a strong connection with Waterford. Will always cheer for them, but when it comes to Dublin v Waterford I'm always a bit torn.

More than anything, it is a love for the sport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,848 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Down in football and Galway in hurling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭Ando's Saggy Bottom

Waterford man - Dublin hurlers and Kerry footballers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,202 ✭✭✭Straight Talker

Growing up inches away from the Waterford border i have to say i have a special relationship with Waterford.I always enjoyed our games with Waterford especially when we won and when we lost you'd be hurt and upset but you'd get over it after a week.There was this fella i knew who was a huge Waterford fan.He didn't have much time for Corks hurlers it was sort of a more begrudging respect but he was a massive Cork football fan.Whenever Waterford inevitably exited the football championship at an early stage he was fully behind Cork.According to him Larry Tompkins was the greatest player he ever saw in the Rebel Red and he was also a huge Stephen O'Brien fan.I have to say off all the other counties fans i get on the best with Waterfords.That's what i love about this rivalry we are the best of enemies when the teams clash but we are the best of friends outside of that.

Any county that are playing against Tipp :D:D :pac:

Even Cork!:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Clare in hurling and Meath in football.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 sophielou77

Tipp in hurling and Tyrone in football

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,236 ✭✭✭Dr. Kenneth Noisewater

Donegal in football as I lived there for 2 years and herself is from there, we go to a lot of the games when we can.

Galway in hurling are my main team in championship hurling seeing as Roscommon dont compete, Offaly my second team because my mam is from there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 CorkWalsh2012

Tipperary in football and Limerick in hurling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,527 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

Even Cork!:pac:

Yep! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭Syferus

Kildare for me, the Dermot Earley connection is very strong in West Roscommon in particular. Johnny Doyle and Anthony Rainbow plenty of other Kildare players have been friends to Roscommon and I can't help but cheer them, I even braved their bitter demolition of Sligo at the Hyde last year, even though my alligience was tore that day.

I do see plenty of Mayo because the border is so close so unless they're playing Sligo or Leitrim I'd wish them well.

In hurling it's Galway and no one else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,247 ✭✭✭Justin10

No one & No one :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭KielyUnusual

It would have to be Kildare in the football and Limerick in the hurling. Stretching back to the Lilly Whites campaign in '98. Glen Ryan, what a man! Then poor old Limerick in '94 and '96. I'm a big fan of glorious failures it seems.

Last year was a poor one but twice in two weeks we got that feeling of seeing the red and white run out at croke park knowing we were 70 minutes away from an all Ireland final.And although it didn't work out, in my life we've had that experience in 1983,1990,1999,2005, 2006,2008,2010 and 2012. I know great GAA people who'd sell their firstborn for that opportunity once, ever in one code.

Not proud just grateful.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 677 ✭✭✭phkk

Kildare in football, Limerick in hurling for me too!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Dub supporter myself but have a sneaky respect for Tipperary in hurling & minor football, Mayo in S football.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,134 ✭✭✭Tom Joad

Will always shout for Ulster teams (except Tyrone) - other than that Kildare as I played ball there for a while and the Dubs because I lived there for a good few years.

Always had a soft spot for Wexford and Clare in the stickfighting :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,500 ✭✭✭ReacherCreature

Limerick in hurling and I don't really follow the football but based on University connections, I'd keep an eye on Cork.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 874 ✭✭✭Deskjockey

Waterford Fan. Second team is Galway in hurling and Kerry or Donegal in football ( family connections)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 265 ✭✭TBP

Clare in the hurling and I'm not really that much into the football but I do like watching Kerry play, I think they play a nice brand of football.

It would have to be Kildare in the football and Limerick in the hurling. Stretching back to the Lilly Whites campaign in '98. Glen Ryan, what a man! Then poor old Limerick in '94 and '96. I'm a big fan of glorious failures it seems.

That was some Limerick team you had some great players on it like Iron Mike Houlihan,Gary Kirby,Ciaran Carey,Dave Clarke,Mike Galligan,Stephen McDonagh etc.They switched off in the 94 all ireland final when they thought they had the game won and they were unlucky in 96 as well.They won two munster titles in a time when winning munster meant a hell of a lot more than it does now and two league titles in 92 under Phil Bennis and 97 under Tom Ryan before he was kicked out.They were involved in brilliant games like the 92 league final,that game against us in the gaelic grounds in 94,the clare game in 96 and the drawn munster final that year against Tipp.It was a disgrace the way Tom Ryan got shafted.Tom is a legend Cregan made a right dogs dinner of the job when he got it!

btw I love the story Mike Galligan told about the Cork game in 94.I was still rounding up the cattle in rourkes cross with less than an hour to go.I was even at that late stage yet to leave the house to go into the city for the match!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

I dislike everyone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 595 ✭✭✭cormac halpin

How can anyone have a second favourite team? Freakish in the extreme.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,041 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

Galway for Hurling and Football for me, helps that my mother is a Galway woman

• Closed Accounts Posts: 265 ✭✭TBP

How can anyone have a second favourite team? Freakish in the extreme.

And if you're born to a parent that hails from another county which I imagine a lot of GAA fans are? I wouldn't consider wanting your mothers or fathers native county to do well freakish. I wouldn't consider a lad that comes from a county that doesn't really compete at a high level but likes watching one of the counties that do compete at a high level that freakish either. Nothing freakish about having a 2nd favorite team in any sport as long as you support your own.

TBP wrote: »
    And if you're born to a parent that hails from another county which I imagine a lot of GAA fans are? I wouldn't consider wanting your mothers or fathers native county to do well freakish. I wouldn't consider a lad that comes from a county that doesn't really compete at a high level but likes watching one of the counties that do compete at a high level that freakish either. Nothing freakish about having a 2nd favorite team in any sport as long as you support your own.
    Love/Hate. Win/Lose. I could have a passing fancy, but nothing more. Each to their own however.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

In hurling its Kerry. I am engaged to a south kerry woman and spend a good bit of time down there. I have gotten to know fairly well several lads over the years that are involved in (and passionate about) the club hurling scene in Kerry. In a football county where hurling is firmly in the minority I like to hear them doing well for lads like that.

In football its Mayo and Limerick. Both based on having friends that are stone mad about football from these counties. Good banter when we play the but other than that I like to see them doing well when we're not playing them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 197 ✭✭PaurGasm

Westmeath in football only because I have the jersey haha

PaurGasm wrote: »
    Westmeath in football only because I have the jersey haha
    Does the jersey not count for hurling also?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

Ok I will admit I have a soft spot for Clare hurling but more often than not I find it hard to support any other county than my own (Meath) by virtue of the fact that I rarely encounter anyone who supports us when we play.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,134 ✭✭✭Tom Joad

iDave wrote: »
    Ok I will admit I have a soft spot for Clare hurling but more often than not I find it hard to support any other county than my own (Meath) by virtue of the fact that I rarely encounter anyone who supports us when we play.

Not feeling the love Dave? I would support Meath if they were playing England if that helps??:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭STIG83

Galway for hurling.
    Kerry or Mayo for football

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,999 ✭✭✭WesternZulu

Roscommon in the football.
    Dublin in hurling.

Also have a bit of a soft spot for Wexford footballers.

Does anyone else have a soft spot for Cork!:D:):pac:

Oh its soft alright :D

Tom Joad wrote: »
    Not feeling the love Dave? I would support Meath if they were playing England if that helps??:)

I don't mind Meath they were was a bit of needle in those Cork and Meath games in the late 80's up to 1990 but that was all forgotten about when Mick McCarthy and John Kerins passed away.We both spoiled the pro Kerry and Dublin medias party that time.:pac:

Oh its soft alright :D

121 all irelands across all codes of the gaa not bad going.:D

Yerrah tis grand like. Their haul in football given the size of the county is quare underachieving though.

Cork football is caught in a pincer movement.You have Kerry on the one side and the Cork hurling snobs on the other who say what's Eoin Cadogan and Aidan Walsh doing wasting their time with the f****n footballers?Football is for bad hurlers etc.There's a good team there at the moment but they'd want to stop the sideways basketball routine!There's also huge doubts about whether Conor Counihan can find some new tactical ideas to compete with the Jim McGuinesses of this world.

Cork football is caught in a pincer movement.You have Kerry on the one side and the Cork hurling snobs on the other who say what's Eoin Cadogan and Aidan Walsh doing wasting their time with the f****n footballers.Football is for bad hurlers etc.There's a good panel team there at the moment but they'd want to stop the sideways basketball routine!There's also huge doubts about whether Conor Counihan can find some new tactical ideas.
    Counihan should have walked or been walked. There is fantastic talent there in Kerrigan, Kelly, O Connor, Sheehan, O Neill etc to rival any other County forward line, but Counihan seems stuck to his bloody basketball style. Baffles the hell out of me. For what its worth I look forward to Walsh concentrating on hurling sometime soon, but I get the feeling there's an explosion going to come out of that hurling camp any day now.

121 All Irelands, and its never boring in Cork boy. :p

Counihan should have walked or been walked. There is fantastic talent there in Kerrigan, Kelly, O Connor, Sheehan, O Neill etc to rival any other County forward line, but Counihan seems stuck to his bloody basketball style. Baffles the hell out of me. For what its worth I look forward to Walsh concentrating on hurling sometime soon, but I get the feeling there's an explosion going to come out of that hurling camp any day now.

121 All Irelands, and its never boring in Cork boy. :p

There was an issue with JBM and one of his selectors before christmas but it's sorted now.As for this talk about strikes etc i think it will take the departure of he who shall not be named for that to be consigned to history.Personally myself i think JBM needs to be allowed do his job without his motives being called into question.