Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

1st time at the aviva

• 08-02-2013 11:29am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭

I'm heading down on the special rugby train on Sunday from Newry. Should be into Connolly around 12 and the games at 3. Would we be safer heading direct to the area around the aviva and getting something to eat there. The other half has suggested somewhere in temple bar but I'm not sure if we have time. Is there much around the aviva in terms of restaurants? How long does the Dart take from Connolly to Lansdowne?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

amallon wrote: »
    I'm heading down on the special rugby train on Sunday from Newry. Should be into Connolly around 12 and the games at 3. Would we be safer heading direct to the area around the aviva and getting something to eat there. The other half has suggested somewhere in temple bar but I'm not sure if we have time. Is there much around the aviva in terms of restaurants? How long does the Dart take from Connolly to Lansdowne?

The dart only takes about 15 min, but I'd add some time onto that considering it's match day. There's plenty of restaurants and bars around the area of the stadium so you'd be fine getting food there - also might be good opportunity to soak up the atmosphere.

Having said that if you're looking for a quiet bite then obviously just stay in town and eat there first. Probably best to avoid templebar tho, bit of a tourist trap regarding food!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,650 ✭✭✭ssaye

Few things, if you just want a quick burger there is all the usual places on oconnell street or grafton street. Handier to go to OConnell street and then to Connolly.

Dart takes about 10 mins but check this

http://www.avivastadium.ie/getting-here

NB*** You can not walk 360 degrees around the stadium, check what colour your ticket is, you could be 10 yards from your entrance but have to walk 15 mins around the whole stadium to enter.

http://www.avivastadium.ie/getting-here/directions-by-route-colour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

Yeah I'd avoid Temple Bar like the plague tbh. Your options are to hop straight on a Dart and head towards Landsdowne. There's a few pubs etc around the stadium that serve food and the atmosphere should be pretty good there. If you want a restaurant and a quiet lunch then you'd be as well to head to the Grafton St area. Loads of places to eat there that are far better than Temple Bar. You can hop on a 4 or a 7 bus from the front of Trinity then which will drop you off on Northumberland Road. A brief 2 minute stroll then to Beggars Bush for a pre-match pint or two and then you're 5 mins from the stadium.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,233 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

Personally I'd head out towards the Aviva there is always a great buzz around the place, depending on what you want to eat there are a few Restaurants aro und but plenty of the bars do pub grub burgers. I've found getting the train to the Aviva on Sunday can be a bit slow as they don't up the supply even though its match day, so if you miss one you can be waiting 20/25 minutes for the next one. I'd walk to the Aviva and stop along the way, somewhere like the school house is decent for food.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,997 ✭✭✭Grimebox

Personally I would eat in town prior to heading out towards the AVIVA. It might be too busy that you will have difficulty getting seated nearer the stadium, that's extremely unlikely but nothing ruins my day more than missing a meal! Temple Bar can be good but expect to pay more. I would walk from Connolly to the AVIVA and stop in a pub along the way to grab a carvery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,618 ✭✭✭Heroditas

I think the best thing is if we could find out where the OP has their ticket for, and then give some recommendations based on that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,502 ✭✭✭chris85

Not Temple Bar. My recommendation would be Farmer Browns on Bath Avenue for a bit of lunch beforehand. So close to the stadium. Also you can bring your own beer and pay small charge per person for this.

Or on Baggott St there are a few places to eat in. Or Ballsbridge would be close to the ground and has nice places.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭totallegend

A good rule of thumb is; if you're in the South or West stand, take the Dart to Lansdowne, North or East stands get off at Grand Canal Dock station. Just means you've less walking to do.

You won't have time to go to Temple Bar and there will be much better buzz around the stadium, so just get the Dart straight from Connolly to the ground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,029 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

A good rule of thumb is; if you're in the South or West stand, take the Dart to Lansdowne, North or East stands get off at Grand Canal Dock station. Just means you've less walking to do.

You won't have time to go to Temple Bar and there will be much better buzz around the stadium, so just get the Dart straight from Connolly to the ground.

Do they not shut GCD station before and after matches? Something about the footbridge/platform/stairs/something not being able for the volume of passengers....

Or did I just make that up :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,684 ✭✭✭JustinDee

I used to like a beer and a bite in the city centre, then the walk out to the Lansdowne Road environs. Part of my own ritual in the good old days. We've all got our personal faves.

But as said in other posts, there is plenty around the stadium these days. If I was a supporter in town for the day, I'd do city afterwards . . . eventually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

JustinDee wrote: »
    I used to like a beer and a bite in the city centre, then the walk out to the Lansdowne Road environs. Part of my own ritual in the good old days. We've all got our personal faves.

But as said in other posts, there is plenty around the stadium these days. If I was a supporter in town for the day, I'd do city afterwards . . . eventually.

The walk from the stadium to Kennedys is just about perfect for building up a thirst I find.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭totallegend

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    Do they not shut GCD station before and after matches? Something about the footbridge/platform/stairs/something not being able for the volume of passengers....

Or did I just make that up :confused:

Yep, Grand Canal station is closed after the games due to volume of people but not beforehand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭who_me

Grimebox wrote: »
    Personally I would eat in town prior to heading out towards the AVIVA. It might be too busy that you will have difficulty getting seated nearer the stadium, that's extremely unlikely but nothing ruins my day more than missing a meal! Temple Bar can be good but expect to pay more. I would walk from Connolly to the AVIVA and stop in a pub along the way to grab a carvery.

Generally what I do. Eat in town, then drink my way to the stadium. The walk out to LR/Aviva with the buzz building the closer you get.. often the best part of the day!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,997 ✭✭✭Grimebox

I would like to add that after dispensing this free advice, we demand a brief account of your fine day after you get back. Main points must include but are not limited to: where you ate, where you drank, how you got around and a blow-by-blow description of Ireland's trouncing of England :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,258 ✭✭✭✭Losty Dublin

OP, the North Star hotel is directly outside Connolly and you will get grub and a few pints no hassle and in some comfort; there are a few reasonable pubs close to it as well. From there you can either get the Dart across, hop into a taxi or do the old traditional thing and walk from about 2PM towards the ground.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,107 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

While its likely to be quite busy, the Brew Dock directly across from Connolly also does great food and has a an absolute rake of craft beers. Quite small though.

• Administrators Posts: 54,417 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

I would suggest that Temple Bar is a bit out of your way anyway, you're almost heading further away from the Aviva by going there.

If it were me, I'd grab food as soon as I arrived in Dublin, and then head out to the stadium. The area around the stadium is great for pints, but it would be a pain for food (cause it's find to stand up having a pint but not so much craic having to stand and eat).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

I'd definitely give Temple Bar a miss before the game.

I would suggest going straight to Lansdowne Road DART station and then go and eat in Ballsbridge / Sandymount / Baggot Street. Loads of nice places and once you're about 10 minutes walk from the stadium it wont be bad in terms of crowds.

For food, I would suggest heading to:

Sandymount Village: (10 minute walk from Lansdowne DART)
    Brownes (gourmet burgers / wine bar)
    or Dunne and Crescenzi (Italian Food and wine bar)
    or Marios (Italian - not the best food though tbh)

Ballsbridge: (5 minute walk from Lansdowne DART)
    Base Pizza Ballsbridge (only a couple of tables outside, so seating might be a problem, but if you love pizza, this is the place and there's a park accross the street if it's a nice day)
    There's also some posh places like KITES and Rollys Bistro - top food but expensive

Baggot Street: (15 minute walk from Lansdowne)
    There's a nice Chinese near the Ballsbridge end of Baggot street and also a nice pizza place a bit further up - can't remember their names, both good though.

There's also a host of hotels, such as Sandymount Hotel, Ballsbridge Hotel (I think it's called now?) Mount Herbert etc. that all do food

Wild Card option is go to the Chop House on Shelbourne Road / Bath Avenue and then for a cheeky pregame pint or two in Slatterys.

Also farmer brownes on bath avenue....

Jeez, I've gone on a food rant. Kind of hungry now...

Anyway, I'd go soak up the atmosphere around the stadium and get a bite to eat and a pint before the game and then enjoy the city after.

Temple Bar is a kip by the way and a tourist trap. Pints are insanely expensive and whilst it's worth checking out as a "tourist", I wouldn't spend too much time there, maybe a pint or two and then head off around Dame Street / Georges St / Aungier / Camden / Harcourt St. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 425 ✭✭CGD

Yeah I would head for Sandymount and either Browns or Mulligans would fit the bill

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 970 ✭✭✭cuddlycavies

who_me wrote: »
    Generally what I do. Eat in town, then drink my way to the stadium. The walk out to LR/Aviva with the buzz building the closer you get.. often the best part of the day!
    Yep. way to go! Go to top of Grafton St, Turn Right to Sth King St. Wagamamma usually do match day special 15% off. It's quick, friendly and delicous and it will cost you €40 or less inc drinks for two. Then just follow the crowd to Landsdowne.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭amallon

Thanks for the replies, thats the power of boards! I think after receiving so many replies its only polite to respond after the event with a description of how the day went so I will fill you in on Sunday night.

We are in the East Stand upper tier block 507 and enter via Herbert Bridge.

Might have a wait and see what the weather brings. If its dry the walk down might be nice, if its wet it might be better to eat in town and then get the dart.

We are really looking forward to it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

There are several places in and around the Connolly Station area to grab some grub. Everywhere in Ballsbridge area will be packed, so I'd eat in town first. There is no point going all the way to Temple Bar. If you are into Thai food, there is a cracking little place called Thai Spice just across the road from Connolly Station, just off Talbot St. Further up Talbot St (heading towards O'Connell St) there are several pubs that you could eat at, but the quality can be a bit hit and miss. There is also an award winning restaurant that serves French fair on Talbot St called Le Bon Crubeen. There are a couple of decent Italian restaurants a wee bit further up, as is Talbot 101, which has also won foodie awards.

Going in the opposite direction away from town, and towards the IFSC & the river, you have The Harbour Master, Ely Brasserie at Georges Dock. Milano and Kudos, Lagoona are a bit further down at Mayor Sq. There is also a Jurys Hotel there too. They serve food but I have never eaten there. Swai is right there on the river and they serve Malaysian cuisine. If the weather is nice, after you have eaten, its a nice walk over to Ballsbridge. It's a great way to soak up the match day atmosphere. You can actually see the Aviva from there. As there will be loads of match goers milling around, it will be impossible for you to get lost even if you don't know the area well. The Dart will be jam packed. It can take an age to just go 3 stops to Landsdown Rd, as each train has to unload its passengers and have them clear the platforms safely before the next one can pull in. It's much more fun to walk, as long as it's not lashing rain.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

who_me wrote: »

Fully agree.

I love the walk out to Lansdowne Road stopping off in the pubs along the way and having the crack with the rival fans. Same with Croke Park.

Its one of the main reasons I'm glad the Bertie Bowl didn't go ahead out in Abbotstown.

The pre and post match atmosphere isn't the same when arriving at the ground by car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭amallon

As promised a description of the day. Got the train out of Newry at 10:40 yesterday morning. It was a strange sight to see the wine and cheese brigade on the train. Got to Connolly and followed the crowd on foot towards the Aviva. It was raining but we had the right gear on and didn't mind. We decided to head for Farmer browns on Bath Ave but walked past it but some helpful Guards pointed it out to us. It was packed but some people were leaving and we got their table in the tent they had erected out front. We had a nice bit of grub there and a couple of drinks and then on to the stadium. The aviva is a beautiful stadium, were were high up in the east stand which made identifying the players hard. The game was very disappointing, Ireland made too many unforced errors and were too undisciplined. After the game we got the dart back to connolly and headed to the North star hotel for a few drinks before the 7pm train. Despite the result it was an enjoyable day. Thanks to everyone for their suggestions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,684 ✭✭✭JustinDee

Yep, shame about the result. Nice to see you enjoyed day out otherwise.