Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Crazy People At Work

• 07-02-2013 7:38pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,815 ✭✭✭SimonTemplar

Most workplaces have a wide variety of people, so there is bound to be conflicts of personality and the occasional argument.

But is there anyone you work with whose behaviour is truely at odds with normality. The type of person who does things that are so strange or irritating it deeply affects your day.

**A manager asking you to stay late or a person not empting the office dishwasher is not the CRAZY I'm talking about. Think Dwight Schrute or Gareth Keenan levels of annoyance!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭OneArt

I work with this complete nutjob. Just talks to himself all day, as loud as he wants. If it's too warm, he won't wear a shirt. It's a pretty liberal work place, but he just takes the piss. He seriously worries me.

Maybe it's time I stopped working for myself...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,026 ✭✭✭0ph0rce0

A guy that opens every window in every room in the morning, and walks out, toilets, canteen, everywhere....

Changes the radio station everytime you walk out of the room to what he wants.

Turns the A/C down to the coolest every time everyone leaves the room.

Makes coffee and leaves all the rubbish everywhere and never cleans up.

Brings in a Vice Grips so he can turn off all the radiators in the building.

Burps in your face and farts all over you.

The thing is because he is so busy trying to do all this ****, he never does an ounce of work. Mongo of the highest order

I ****ING HATE THIS MAN

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

There's this guy in HR down in the annex who is just the worst.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭ITS_A_BADGER

0ph0rce0 wrote: »
    A guy that opens every window in every room in the morning, and walks out, toilets, canteen, everywhere....

The thing is because he is so busy trying to do all this ****, he never does an ounce of work. Mongo of the highest order

I ****ING HATE THIS MAN

Are you sure hes not the janitor?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 448 ✭✭tunedout

I ****ING HATE THIS MAN

I'd say that guy don't like the heat.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

The person (we have unisex toliets) who eats their lunch in the cubicles. Ugh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

My workplace is a vertible who's who of crazy people.

There's one guy who despite holding a fairly high profile position, always dresses in pink and has the general scruffiness of a waster. Meant to be a bit of a boyo when it comes to avoiding paying tax too.

Then there's another guy who has a sick fascination with the Ming dynasty, is a big hash head and has even admitted to taking harder stuff too. Not too fond of the gardai either, but then again not many stoners are.

There's another guy constantly shouting and roaring about the state of the company whose image was apparently banned from British telly for years.

And another lad who has an almost sexual working relationship with a top client in Germany.

But then again, I'm the boss and just happy to be in charge

Yours,

Enda.

Im very sure, and thats only a small list, the manager had to step in between us one day cause i was going to pummel his smelly knacker face into the wall.

I just stay well clear now for fear of getting sacked

fairly sh*t janitor if he is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 510 ✭✭✭CdeC

I ****ING HATE THIS MAN

Is it this guy??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 CK75

I work with normal people ....... one of them is hot hot hot though.

I cant make him love me, I can only stalk him and hope for the best ;)

oh no - does this mean im the crazy one :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭ITS_A_BADGER

old hippy wrote: »
    The person (we have unisex toliets) who eats their lunch in the cubicles. Ugh.

For a second i though you meant the cubicles as in at the workstations like at a callcentre, but then i seen the unisex toilets bit.... who the hell eats lunch sitting on the toilet? i mean unless you're being extreamley efficient by combining eating and pooping into one activity :confused:

My workplace is a vertible who's who of crazy people.

There's one guy who despite holding a fairly high profile position, always dresses in pink and has the general scruffiness of a waster. Meant to be a bit of a boyo when it comes to avoiding paying tax too.

Then there's another guy who has a sick fascination with the Ming dynasty, is a big hash head and has even admitted to taking harder stuff too. Not too fond of the gardai either, but then again not many stoners are.

There's another guy constantly shouting and roaring about the state of the company whose image was apparently banned from British telly for years.

And another lad who has an almost sexual working relationship with a top client in Germany.

But then again, I'm the boss and just happy to be in charge

Yours,

Inda.

I thought India was the name of a country.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

CK75 wrote: »
    I work with normal people ....... one of them is hot hot hot though.

I cant make him love me, I can only stalk him and hope for the best ;)

oh no - does this mean im the crazy one :pac:

i bet he's not hot in real life.Sometimes when you work the most average people for a long time,you start fancying the arse off them.

tunedout wrote: »
    I thought India was the name of a country.

You should post that in the "my news" thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

Not so much crazy but more insane, people who think once the clock hits a particular time they just stop working, like a robot with a built in time slot, I work with a guy and it does not matter what we are doing he will down tools,

I try to tell him it is important to finish the job before we go for tea, his reply is I am thirsty I need some tea, on the other hand the chef for some strange reason feels the need to snot into his cooking, he says " they need to taste my food so they need to taste me, that is all.

Not so much crazy but more insane, people who think once the clock hits a particular time they just stop working, like a robot with a built in time slot, I work with a guy and it does not matter what we are doing he will down tools,

So this is guy is normal then, Finish time = Finish work

For a second i though you meant the cubicles as in at the workstations like at a callcentre, but then i seen the unisex toilets bit.... who the hell eats lunch sitting on the toilet? i mean unless you're being extreamley efficient by combining eating and pooping into one activity :confused:

Maybe they are shy about eating in public but the hygiene! The hygiene!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Ruudi_Mentari

Thas the kind of job i'd end up in, crazy people uncomfortable with their own craziness and thus accusing everyone else of being crazy I hate fcuks like that.

But yeah, maybe some crazy old dude who had beadle hand but still had one good hand to handle the crank. No-one could handle that crank though and he'd ride a fold-up bycicle to work, one-handed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

I worked with this one bloke briefly in Smyths Toys years ago. He would never shave his neck. It was mental. Imagine a person with a thick heavy growth on them. They regularly shave their face (cheeks, chin, mouth you get the idea) but would never shave his neck :pac:

So he'd be walking around with a big beard on his neck. It was fucked up looking :pac:

And before someone says "oh he might of been muslim" or "had a rash" ... he had no rash and was just your average irish college student. lol. Mad bastard looking back :pac:

So this is guy is normal then, Finish time = Finish work

Wrong, Finish time is for finlanders, we are not in Finland, that is all.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 28 onerone

yeah some that dont know how to relax in a cushy number always running around have to be doing something

onerone wrote: »
    yeah some that dont know how to relax in a cushy number always running around have to be doing something

Do you have a cushy number?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 289 ✭✭ashers22

Think it might be me. Colleague was handing me a few items today and while we were chatting she asks me quite seriously do I have OCD, took a minute to realise what she was after asking so I asked her why, she pointed at the pile of items I had unconsciously stacked neatly on the desk that were all now facing the right way up and aligned to the millimetre. I'm not crazy though. :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,058 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

I once worked with a lad who made oxtail soup for his lunch every single day and broke chocolate Goldgrain biscuits into it. Used to make me puke as he eat it at his desk.

As he ate it, but more than likely slurrped it, that is all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 93 ✭✭Pessimist

Yeah this guy that ends all his statements with 'That is all'. Sometimes, we'd be lucky and he'd say 'Simples' instead...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 915 ✭✭✭judgefudge

My supervisor keeps telling me to "liaise" with people.

Just say meet or talk you poncey yoke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,557 ✭✭✭madalig12

I work with someone who fits six of eight signs of being a psychopath, he annoys most of his workmates for some self satisfying reason. He also shaves off his eyebrows. I'm thinking of going to HR but don't think they would do anything about him.

The word being used these days for redundancies.

"Efficiencies" :mad::mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

judgefudge wrote: »
    My supervisor keeps telling me to "liaise" with people.

Just say meet or talk you poncey yoke.

You could 'link in' with them...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭branie

Ever get religious crazies?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16 Parsandeman

One lad in my office is a serious prankster. Took pictures of the boss emptying himself one day. Stood on toilet and took the picture over the cubicle wall. Then posted them on Facebook.

I hate this guy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,578 ✭✭✭monkeysnapper

One lad in my office is a serious prankster. Took pictures of the boss emptying himself one day. Stood on toilet and took the picture over the cubicle wall. Then posted them on Facebook.

I hate this guy

and...

whats wrong with that....

efb wrote: »
    You could 'link in' with them...

The borg comes to mind, that is all.

branie wrote: »
    Ever get religious crazies?

Yup. As pious as you like and bigotted, too. It's like working with a saintly Alf Garnett (if that's not too much of a contradiction)...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

Dunno about workers , but customers.

One lad was having a **** reading a nuts magazine, then another lad was going around unaware his flute was hanging out and his bags around his ankles.

msg11 wrote: »
    Dunno about workers , but customers.

One lad was having a **** reading a nuts magazine, then another lad was going around unaware his flute was hanging out and his bags around his ankles.

nakedness is not all it is cracked up to be, that is all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Half my workplace are sound, the other half are some of the sneakiest little ****ers I've ever had the displeasure of working with.

pragmatic1 wrote: »
    Half my workplace are sound, the other half are some of the sneakiest little ****ers I've ever had the displeasure of working with.

Sleep well, but wear the mask tomorrow, that is all.

bluewolf wrote: »
    You should post that in the "my news" thread

Done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,682 ✭✭✭Kat1170

I worked with this one bloke briefly in Smyths Toys years ago. He would never shave his neck. It was mental. Imagine a person with a thick heavy growth on them. They regularly shave their face (cheeks, chin, mouth you get the idea) but would never shave his neck :pac:

So he'd be walking around with a big beard on his neck. It was fucked up looking :pac:

And before someone says "oh he might of been muslim" or "had a rash" ... he had no rash and was just your average irish college student. lol. Mad bastard looking back :pac:

This him by any chance :D:D:D:D Stolen from The WTF ????? thread

http://i1339.photobucket.com/albums/o714/sp17ud/nk49_zps18d3c2a6.jpg

The big bang is, was created by an old universe imploding creating matter to create a new solar system, this theme will happen again and again at times leisure, that is all.

I remember my first spliff, too ;)

old hippy wrote: »
    I remember my first spliff, too ;)

I do believe we are not talking about yesterday, that is all.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

Im very sure, and thats only a small list, the manager had to step in between us one day cause i was going to pummel his smelly knacker face into the wall.

I just stay well clear now for fear of getting sacked

Just tell the prick to wash instead of getting rid of his smell out the window.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,557 ✭✭✭madalig12

Really....not one comment about the guy who shaves off his eyebrows!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 986 ✭✭✭joe stodge

I used to work with a deaf/mute lad who big into the booze, he used to cycle to the pub for lunch everyday and sink a few brandies. He was also big into pornography and gambling.

He used to give one of the European truck drivers money every week to bring back the filthiest of porn from the continent. I worked there for 3 years and I never seen a week when he didn't get a video/dvd back.

Very very strange lad.

We called him harpo after harpo Marx and when ever someone new would start we use to send them over to him to tell him he was wanted on the phone in the office. He was never happy about that one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,518 ✭✭✭stefan idiot jones

When I was an apprentice there was a joiner who would wear yellow oil skins and a balaclava all year round. He would not stop for lunch and many the time would lock him in the building at finishing time.
    He would also watch his television through a mirror because of the 'rays'. His wife eventually left him.
    We also had a sawyer who had quite a few fingers missing through work and the second world war, some of the crueller lads would ask him when was the last time he fingered his missus and if he wanted a game of cricket so he could be the stumps !!!!!!!!!!!!!!