Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

"Children's children"

• 07-02-2013 12:44am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,695 ✭✭✭

Why not just say grandchildren? It's so fùcking pretentious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Children once removed!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

You sound like my mother's mother

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Yep some grandparents just can't handle the idea of being Nanny or Grandad must be an ageism stigma yes mammy and daddy your getting feck that you are old get used it ,cause it doesn't last too long

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

Thinly veiled "I know old people" thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Fruit of my loins, fruit of their loins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,281 ✭✭✭Gmol

Fruit of the fruit of the loom.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

soundbites nyeh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

Its a phrase my father used, and his father before him...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,302 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Why not just say grandchildren? It's so fùcking pretentious.

Children's children is used many times in the Bible. Whereas the use of grand in front of child, mother etc only came into the language around 1200 AD.

The use of grand- in compounds, with the sense of "a generation older than, or younger than," is first attested c.1200, in Anglo-French graund dame "grandmother." Latin and Greek had similar usages.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

Senna wrote: »
    Fruit of my loins, fruit of their loins.
    Buford T Justice, what a man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,302 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Its a phrase my father used, and his father before him...

Reminds me of the joke about the official who called to a house out the country and in conversation with the oul fella who live there asked him if he ever got married. The oul fella says Me father never got married and his father before him never got married so I never got married.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Where To wrote: »
    Buford T Justice, what a man.

remind me when we get home I'm gonna hit yo momma soo hard!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,476 ✭✭✭✭Jordan 199

That's preposterous. Get out! You're banned from this Historical Society. You, and your children, and your children's children! ... for 3 months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Alright Reg, don't labour the point!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,880 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

Gatling wrote: »
    Yep some grandparents just can't handle the idea of being Nanny or Grandad must be an ageism stigma yes mammy and daddy your getting feck that you are old get used it ,cause it doesn't last too long

Maybe it's the number of grandparents we have today that are in their mid 30s that causes the embarrassment?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

That's quite possible in saying I didn't become a dad till I was 31 and yet I've friends who are already granddads or nanny's

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭ITS_A_BADGER

The little bastards of the future

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 721 ✭✭✭fastrac

I have a cousin living in the U.S.A. who describes herself as a Glamma. No doubt it will be here shortly.