Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fox Hunting what shells

• 06-02-2013 9:01pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭

I know this was done before but I just need a little bit of advice There is a Fox Hunt on this Coming Sunday But I own a Winchester 101 o/u old Gun and dont want to damage the barrells what are the best shells and weight for this shoot I want to ensure no damage inside thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Invincible

Tawny Owl wrote: »
    I know this was done before but I just need a little bit of advice There is a Fox Hunt on this Coming Sunday But I own a Winchester 101 o/u old Gun and dont want to damage the barrells what are the best shells and weight for this shoot I want to ensure no damage inside thanks

Check the pressure rating stamped on the barrels, might be 1050 bar, either 2 3/4" or 3". Nobel Sport make 46 gram in 2 3/4" and 56 gram in 3". Perfect for Fox in 0 or 2s. The pressure rating of the cartridge will be on the box.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭terminator2

what county is the fox drive in just curious as im going to one on sunday as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭Tawny Owl

Monasterevin meeting at 9am is it the same one if so make yourself known I'am the small one:D

somewhere near kilcullen co kildare im off to

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 961 ✭✭✭Longranger

Alphamax all the way. Lethal in either 2 3/4 or 3 inch. However,if you can get some lyalvale express 2 3/4 42gram 0's they are even better.

let me know how you get on tawny and ill post a few pics if i can remember the camera :D:D

hey tawny i own a winchester grand european , i use it for shooting clays , great gun , i hit 14 ex 15 in obt last time out , not bad for a 30 year old gun :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭ormondprop

I'm like you, i have an old Bsa sbs shotgun and don't like using heavy loads so i usually use 32-34gram bb's or anything heavier than a 4, depending on where we are hunting or what way i reckon the foxes will break, if i reckon they'll be close to me i use a lighter cartridge for more spread and a bb in the other barrel or if i'm a nice distance from the cover i use 2 bb's or 1's
    My shotgun is rarely used on anything but foxes and i have no trouble knocking them with these even though other lads recommend a lot heavier cartridges for foxes, if i use fathers beretta i use 36 gram alphamax bb's, its what my father always uses,

Thanks all I called into the local Gun Shop and he has Remmingtons I will post a few photos looking forward to see the Dogs working even if it's just for a walk for a few hours;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭Larry60

I have been doing weekly fox drives over the last number of years and most of the lads in the group seem to favour the Alphamax BB.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Invincible

Larry60 wrote: »
    I have been doing weekly fox drives over the last number of years and most of the lads in the group seem to favour the Alphamax BB.

Probably because they haven't progressed to using anything else!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭cavan shooter

Alphamax BB or AAA all the way

Thanks very much everyone we had a great day last Sunday and the shells I used were Remmington 00 Light Magnum the lads thought I was using a cannon with the noise anyway four Foxes flushed by the hounds and one hit in the arse I think there may be a few Guns for sale as the spin is that we need spirit levels on the barrells it was a terrible day of rain and we are at it again this Sunday so thanks all;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭pheasntstalker

i,d love a crack at a fox drive, never been on one before:( never here of any round my neck of the woods sounds like good craic,as for cartridges alphamax or aaa all the way:D